Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else hate Dublin?

• 05-04-2017 1:34am
    Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭

I seem to be the only person living in Dublin who absolutely despises it. There are several reasons for this, take them as you may.

1) A lot of people here seem to not be very nice at all, in stark contrast to people from, let's say, anywhere in the West of Ireland, who seem much friendlier and don't seem as pretentious as quite a lot of people from Dublin.

2) It's absolutely filthy. Everywhere I go, Lusk, Rush, Skerries, Swords, Dublin City, etc. is absolutely filthy and disgusting just to be in. The ground is constantly full of litter.

3) Dublin City. Don't get me started on Dublin City; it's a nightmare. It's an absolutely disgusting place and I never ever go there unless absolutely unavoidable.

I want to move to the West somewhere and unless someone can give me at least 5 good reasons why I'd want to stay here I'm leaving this utter kip.

Off you go then. Bring that chip on your shoulder with you.

Cuddles,

A proud Dub.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,508 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'm from the West of Ireland - please stay where you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

mrhoppy wrote: »
    I seem to be the only person living in Dublin who absolutely despises it. There are several reasons for this, take them as you may.

1) A lot of people here seem to not be very nice at all, in stark contrast to people from, let's say, anywhere in the West of Ireland, who seem much friendlier and don't seem as pretentious as quite a lot of people from Dublin.

2) It's absolutely filthy. Everywhere I go, Lusk, Rush, Skerries, Swords, Dublin City, etc. is absolutely filthy and disgusting just to be in. The ground is constantly full of litter.

3) Dublin City. Don't get me started on Dublin City; it's a nightmare. It's an absolutely disgusting place and I never ever go there unless absolutely unavoidable.

I want to move to the West somewhere and unless someone can give me at least 5 good reasons why I'd want to stay here I'm leaving this utter kip.

Don't let the door hit you on the way out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

You won't get cheaper Linden Village anywhere else in Ireland.

/Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

The country is awash with rubbish thanks to fly tipping. Blaming Dublin is hardly fair since most of the population lives there. In fact it's arguably worse per capita in the west.

Granted you will get a wave or a nod and a greeting from everyone you pass in the countryside but there's nothing to stop you from initiating it with your fellow dubs. I religiously say hello to everyone I meet in Dublin (that I see regularly) and now most of my neighbours reciprocate. Although they tend to still ignore other fellow dubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I don't find people any less friendly in Dublin. It's nonsense to suggest that strangers out west give you wave and/or say hello noticeably more than they do in Dublin.

Maybe in a village where everyone sort of knows everyone anyway you might.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

We're a filthy nation unfortunately. It's not just the Dubs, though they can certainly be pretty bad. Poor upbringing and a lack of civic mindedness, I say.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Absolute bollocks! Skerries is filthy & disgusting? It won the Tidy Towns last year! Other towns in the north county are also very well kept & largely litter-free.

Admittedly, there are litter black spots in the city, but if that's a topic for the Dublin City forum.

And as for friendliness - if you are going around sporting that sort of nonsense attitude I'd say it is probably you, not us.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

One post ever?? Clearly a Troll

I do always find it funny when i read these posts, why are these people living here?

Absolute bollocks! Skerries is filthy & disgusting? It won the Tidy Towns last year! Other towns in the north county are also very well kept & largely litter-free.

Malahide also got a gold medal in the TT last year.

naughtb4 wrote: »
    One post ever?? Clearly a Troll

I do always find it funny when i read these posts, why are these people living here?

Hostages, clearly.

I knew people in college that just wanted to get their degree and move home. They had some notion that Dublin was so much worse than home because they were comparing it to a small village.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

JayZeus wrote: »
    Off you go then. Bring that chip on your shoulder with you.

Cuddles,

A proud Dub.

What are you proud of???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Well there is a large number of people from outside Dublin living there, so you cant blame all these perceived failings on the Dubs either. I agree with the point about the lack of civic mindedness, but that is just a failing of the Irish in general tbh.

People from the country say hello buy mainly because they generally know each other, or someone connected to them etc, and so they have gotten into the habit. On the flipside they spend a lot of time wanting to know each other business, particularly any sort of scandal etc. Very often assumptions are made to fill in the blanks in in such stories and completely untrue tales go around as gospel, so there are two sides to that.

On the general topic, would people from Dublin notice any difference between themselves and people from rural places, bar obviously their accent etc.? Id have noticed that country people would generally wear their heart on their sleeve a bit more, whereas friends from Dublin would generally be that bit more socially aware as regards what they might say etc. That probably comes from attending bigger schools growing up, with far more diverse social backgrounds etc. Curiously enough, Id also find that people from rural places would tend to laugh at themselves a bit more, while Dubs would take themselves a bit more seriously and spend more time on their image etc. Maybe that is down to rural people tending to socialise more with older generations as they grow up? Hard to know really.

One thing I don't like is the divide between 'culchies' (Ive always found that term quite derogatory, there is connotations of ignorance and stupidity attached to it) and 'Jackeens'. Christ sake, we are around 100 miles away from each other at the furthest point - we cant be that dissimilar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭gizmo81

I lived in Dublin City Centre for 10 years. The change in it in the last 4-5 years is horrendous.

Too many people falling through the cracks for mental health services ending up on the street.

No Gardai to be seen.

Too many 'student visas' permitted, it's like little brazil. I'm not against immigration but we have no room and we just don't have the services to police mass immigration.

People don't care, from playing music on buses, renting on Air BnB, the city has exploded and it hasn't grown in size or services.

I can't wait to get out to be honest and I thought I'd never leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

gizmo81 wrote: »
    I lived in Dublin City Centre for 10 years. The change in it in the last 4-5 years is horrendous.

Too many people falling through the cracks for mental health services ending up on the street.

No Gardai to be seen.

Too many 'student visas' permitted, it's like little brazil. I'm not against immigration but we have no room and we just don't have the services to police mass immigration.

People don't care, from playing music on buses, renting on Air BnB, the city has exploded and it hasn't grown in size or services.

I can't wait to get out to be honest and I thought I'd never leave.

But it is obvious that far too much has been centralised in Dublin. Our governments seem afraid of moving anything away from there and the end result is what you are describing - to Dublin's detriment at this stage. Limerick or Galway are only down the road. We are actually in a great position to have a number of small, well balanced cities a short distance away from each other, yet we have done the opposite. We are going to have to see something like a lower corporation tax for these areas to attempt to sort this issue.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

I looooove Dublin, both city and county. I was born in the city suburbs and have lived in the north county for all of my married life. Like anywhere else it has its problems but the positives far outweigh the negatives, for me anyway. Litter problem? In the beautiful North County? How very dare you!! :eek:

I find that wherever you are, if you're friendly with people the vast majority will reciprocate.

OP - if you hate Dublin then Dublin doesn't suit you. I won't be giving you five reasons to stay ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

mrhoppy wrote:

Are you for real?? Walking around nodding and saying hello to every person you meet is all well and good in BallyBackOfNowhere where you might meet a handful of people in a couple of hours but are you seriously suggesting in a built up area everyone should be stopping and greeting every person they meet? You'd lose days walking across the city. As many have mentioned already, off with ya now. The culchies won't take your crap for too long let me tell ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭99problems

I loved it when I lived there , but I moved six years ago and I hate going back.

A friend of mine from home can't fathom how I survive in Dubalin with it being so built up and child-unfriendly.

Or at least he couldn't until I told him about the four playgrounds within 20 minutes walk of home and the indoor playgrounds not too far beyond that. And being able to play in the back garden.

I'm from the country but I love Dublin. I get that people don't and they have their reasons but I have an issue with people who live in Dublin and give out about it and then suggest that the problems X, Y and Z should have us all unhappy to be here because it's so much better everywhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭PWEI

The litter problem is getting worse though & the powers at be seem to be turning a bind eye.
    It's not just fly tipping but random bits of rubbish thrown on the streets.
    A big problem in my neighborhood in Swords, is people throwing empty drink cans & bottles on the streets.
    Only last night when I was putting out my bins, I picked up 3 empty cans on my road.
    I really don't understand why they can't bring in a deposit and refund scheme here for all cans & bottles.
    In countries where they have this like Denmark for EG, even the the people who never recycle bring their cans and bottles to the bottle banks to get their refunds.

PWEI wrote: »
    The litter problem is getting worse though & the powers at be seem to be turning a bind eye.
    It's not just fly tipping but random bits of rubbish thrown on the streets.
    A big problem in my neighborhood in Swords, is people throwing empty drink cans & bottles on the streets.
    Only last night when I was putting out my bins, I picked up 3 empty cans on my road.
    I really don't understand why they can't bring in a deposit and refund scheme here for all cans & bottles.
    In countries where they have this like Denmark for EG, even the the people who never recycle bring their cans and bottles to the bottle banks to get their refunds.

That's not a Dublin problem. It's a people problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Was in Dublin for 20yrs. As the nations capital and home to 1Ml people you have to expect all the social as well as anti-social stuff. A lot has to do with your own perception though.
    It took a while for me to warm to Dublin but I did.
    I loved the anonymity of Dublin. But at the same time the familiarity with the people in the same routine every day as myself. Dubs are no less friendly than anywhere else in the country. I know some snooty Kerry folk.
    The city centre is a kip at the moment, but wait until the luas starts running proper and all the construction is complete.
    As for the growing number of druggies and winos, well that is as someone mentioned a failing in our health and mental health services to tackle the increasing problems there.
    I'm whest now and people can be just as unfriendly. but life is different. Pace is slower, we can walk everywhere and we have a garden for the kids. But as with anywhere there are negatives as well as positives. How you choose to view it is down to your own perception.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭firemansam4

Why get onto a Dublin thread and moan about it? its your opinion and you are entitled to move out of Dublin if you don't like it there.

I got into a bit of a debate with someone from Dublin recently who came onto a Sligo thread and stated that the standard of living in Sligo was horrific compared to Dublin. I took the bait and started listing off bad points about Dublin, which I really shouldn't have done.
    I lived in Dublin for many years and now I live in Donegal, personally I would not like too move back to Dublin, but that's my own personal opinion.

The truth of the matter is that there are many advantages and good reasons to live in Dublin compared to rural Ireland, and there are also many dis-advantages. I'm sure there are many people from Dublin and from rural Ireland living in Dublin now who would hate to move out to rural Ireland.

I think there are just some people who like city living and some people who don't, this is not just an Irish thing....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭gizmo81

I love City living but Dublin has changed so dramatically in the last 4 years. Gardai allow drug users to openly do drugs on the streets, even on your front door step. Air BnB has brought a huge burden on tenants with anti-social behaviour.

I feel Dublin has become a lawless city but at the moment it's my only option to live here.

Why get onto a Dublin thread and moan about it? its your opinion and you are entitled to move out of Dublin if you don't like it there.

I got into a bit of a debate with someone from Dublin recently who came onto a Sligo thread and stated that the standard of living in Sligo was horrific compared to Dublin. I took the bait and started listing off bad points about Dublin, which I really shouldn't have done.
    I lived in Dublin for many years and now I live in Donegal, personally I would not like too move back to Dublin, but that's my own personal opinion.

The truth of the matter is that there are many advantages and good reasons to live in Dublin compared to rural Ireland, and there are also many dis-advantages. I'm sure there are many people from Dublin and from rural Ireland living in Dublin now who would hate to move out to rural Ireland.

I think there are just some people who like city living and some people who don't, this is not just an Irish thing....

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭GypsyByName

I generally find that the fashion is a bit backwards outside Dublin. Ive been staying in a Mullingar a bit lately and there are lads going around with elastic on the bottom of their jeans like its 2007!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

New account - check
    Start Dub rant in Dublin forum - check
    Jackeens go nuts and lashes out at culchies - check

8/10 will read again

• Registered Users Posts: 24,239 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It depends on where you are in Dublin tbh. Where I live in the North County is fairly rural tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Couldn't wait to leave. I know some places in Dublin are nice, but generally it's dirty and overcrowded with third worlders. Parts of the inner city look more like Somalia than Ireland. Seeing women in the full length burka is depressing. Junkies are everywhere too, openly dealing and taking drugs, sometime with their kids in tow. Horrible, filthy city.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Have you tried crossing over the bridge to the south of the city OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Work in north inner city and it is a hellhole. Filthy knacker ridden kip.

And the op is correct pick and irish town out at random and 9/10 it will be nicer than the north inner city.