Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garmin Edge 500 Issues.

Options
  • 06-04-2017 10:39am
    Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭

I'm having some issues with Garmin Edge 500 last few days. Hoping someone can give me any advice if I can do anything more to fix it.

Firstly, it recorded my ride last week but there was no display visible.

I did a master reset and all working again or so I thought.

Last night, it recorded everything on the bike fine. Distance, Av speed etc were all the same as it's the same route I do on Wednesday evenings.
    When I went to upload to Strava the activities folder wasn't in the file. Later on I found the folder but no ride was recorded.

I did another reset and then connected to Garmin express for a FW update. All is updated.

I used it this morning driving into work as a test. The ride was in the activities folder as normal.

Could this be the start of this giving up on me though? It's about 6yrs old.

Not sure should I just get a new one now. Will test it again this evening on the bike.

Thanks for any advice.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭nordicb

You may be looking at a file system corruption. Just make sure you always stop the device before taking it out. If you are deleting old activities, it is more important than ever as this may brick it.

I would also never ever attempt to write anything on it, it is however doesn't mean that some other software doesn't do it in the background.

Would also avoid updating the firmware if everything works fine for you.

Just following these simple things, me, seems, was quite immune for any problems with it so far...