Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Munster Team Talk Thread VI - Stander Up and Fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,377 ✭✭✭✭phog

And all players are involved in AIL....

No they're not - any of top tier players in the 4 provinces don't play AIL unless they're returning from along term injury and they can game time at an AIL game otherwise they're nominally attached to a club and never feature for the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

A new born king to see POM POM POM POM POM
    phog wrote: »
    No they're not - any of top tier players in the 4 provinces don't play AIL unless they're returning from along term injury and they can game time at an AIL game otherwise they're nominally attached to a club and never feature for the club.
    I meant the second tier guys.
    I thought it would be very obvious that top contracted players dont play club rugby
    I know full well that players are nominally attached to clubs and rarely feature for that club bar exceptional circumstances

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,208 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Psycho Killer - "Hands Away" (Prop-Prop-Prrrroppp-Prop, Prop-Prop-Prop-Prrrrrrop-Prop)
    Latest injury update.
    JJ and JOD are back in training.
    Conway is back in training.
    TOD had an operation to repair his AC joint.
    Sammy Arnold has a hairline fracture of the fibula.
    Beirne is still rehabbing.
    https://munsterrugby.ie/2019/02/11/squad-update-pre-southern-kings/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

TOD rehabbing a shoulder and ACL post surgery?

Psycho Killer - "Hands Away" (Prop-Prop-Prrrroppp-Prop, Prop-Prop-Prop-Prrrrrrop-Prop)
    razorblunt wrote: »
    TOD rehabbing a shoulder and ACL post surgery?

The AC joint is in the shoulder. The ACL is in the knee.

Complete misread!
    I was wondering what the hell happened since he went off with the shoulder injury!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Good news for JJ , JOD and Conway. Hopefully Arnold and TOD not out for too long.

Officials for Friday evening

DzJW8PEX0AE-_yy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Guess Who's Back, Back Again? JJ's Back, Tell a Friend
    I hope the teams and officials know the game is in Cork :/

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭yerrahbah

https://twitter.com/Munsterrugby/status/1095260073927024641

We all dream of a team of Scannell bros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭purpleisafruit

Guess Who's Back, Back Again? JJ's Back, Tell a Friend
    yerrahbah wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/Munsterrugby/status/1095260073927024641

We all dream of a team of Scannell bros
    Need Baby Scans to switch to prop! If we can convince Rory to bulk up, we could have a front row full of them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Need Baby Scans to switch to prop! If we can convince Rory to bulk up, we could have a front row full of them

Or get Rory to drop the 1 from his 12. Then they can start 1, bench 1 and have 1 in reserve. Always have a scannell at 2. Think of the savings to be made by bulk ordering the Jersey with the name on!!

Good to see Cloete and JJ back. Few released from Ireland too. Decent team overall. Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Tyler Bleyendaal (C), Neil Cronin; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Fineen Wycherley, Chris Cloete, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Liam O’Connor, Stephen Archer, Darren O’Shea, Gavin Coombes, Alby Mathewson, JJ Hanrahan, Dan Goggin

Eod100 wrote: »
    Good to see Cloete and JJ back. Few released from Ireland too. Decent team overall. Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Tyler Bleyendaal (C), Neil Cronin; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Fineen Wycherley, Chris Cloete, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Liam O’Connor, Stephen Archer, Darren O’Shea, Gavin Coombes, Alby Mathewson, JJ Hanrahan, Dan Goggin

Nice team to have for a Pro14 game in the international window

Definitely. Thought Johnston might get nod over TB when he was in front of press during the week.

Wonder what will happen TB contract? Guess Matthewson is finishing up at end of March unless extended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Stone Gossard

Definitely. Thought Johnston might get nod over TB when he was in front of press during the week.

Wonder what will happen TB contract? Guess Matthewson is finishing up at end of March unless extended.

Might be conditional upon going further in the Heineken cup

I think Tyler will be offered a contract.

I'd love to keep Alby but doubt we'll be allowed to keep him.

Not for next season, but I'd be surprised if he isn't extended until the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,145 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

CJ and Jean Marié are having a baby in August. There's been a lot of Munster babies lately. Bodes well for 2038 or thereabouts!

https://www.the42.ie/chris-cloete-munster-ireland-interview-4457184-Feb2019/?amp=1

A good little read about Chris Cloete and his journey here

The referees have been appointed for the HEC quarter finals. Munster get Pascal Gauzere.

Garces for sf if we get there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Think I’m going to be able to make the quarter final coming from Germany after all.

Is there any particular area of the stands that the Munster fans seem to be in?? Too late to get tickets through supporters club I guess and plenty still up on the sru site.

Stay for full weekend in some hostel and enjoy all the rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Is there any particular area of the stands that the Munster fans seem to be in??

The west stand only opened in last day or two so I'd imagine most people bought before then and are in East Stand and corners

Keatley staring for London Irish tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Kirk Van Houten

Seems Mathewson is wanted back in Toulon but wouldn't be overly surprised to see him in Limerick next season if he doesn't go to France.

As much as I'd like to seem him kept, I'd say there's no chance of him being here next season

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Not a hope of him being retained with McCarthy on the way. As good as he has been, it would be a bit mad to keep a 34 year old who plays in a specialist position as a back up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Not a prayer the IRFU would sanction Mathewson being kept on, nor should they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

Zzippy wrote: »
    Not a prayer the IRFU would sanction Mathewson being kept on, nor should they.

I would be fairly pissed off to be losing a player like McCarthy only to seem him outside of Munster's first 23. I'm sure he would be too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

troyzer wrote: »
    I would be fairly pissed off to be losing a player like McCarthy only to seem him outside of Munster's first 23. I'm sure he would be too.

It'll be between him and Cronin for the sub spot, I'd imagine. Cronin has done well in parts this season when not injured. Craig Casey as well in the academy seems to be getting great reviews at the moment (heard he was very good for the Ireland U20s last weekend).

All of that points to Matthewson not being kept on.

• Registered Users Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Kirk Van Houten

Hart is gone, Williams now seems likely to go as well. Murray will barely see game time outside of Europe and knockout games and people think that McCarthy Cronin and Casey who I think have less than 10 senior starts at 9 between them will suffice for an entire season?
    Good thing Munster and the IRFU are looking at this and not some lads who have read an article from the Mole and know everything.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Hart is gone, Williams now seems likely to go as well. Murray will barely see game time outside of Europe and knockout games and people think that McCarthy Cronin and Casey who I think have less than 10 senior starts at 9 between them will suffice for an entire season?
    Good thing Munster and the IRFU are looking at this and not some lads who have read an article from the Mole and know everything.

Ah here, where did I proclaim to know everything or that that was definitely gonna happen? I was just offering my opinion, and that's specifically why I put "I'd imagine" in my post.

In the seasons that followed the last two RWCs, Murray played 8 and 6 Pro14 matches respectively which is pretty much in line with what he normally plays.

Maybe Munster will be allowed to sign Matthewson for another season. It would contradict what we've seen in the past though. He's at the end of his career, can command a relatively decent salary by virtue of his test caps, plays in a specialist position and won't be first choice. Munster have also signed two young(ish) Irish scrum halves in the past year and have two more going into their final year of the academy.

Nick McCarthy has already occupied the role of back up scrum half in knock out European competition albeit due to his coaches preferring to play Lowe and Fardy rather than JGP against Saracens. Munster will have one NIQ spot left to fill for next season. I'm sure there are other areas of the pitch where they could sign someone who would have a bigger influence than Matthewson.

Am I right in thinking we'll have more than 1 slot? Kleyn becomes IQ just before the WC

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Am I right in thinking we'll have more than 1 slot? Kleyn becomes IQ just before the WC

Current NIQs

Botha

Klyne - August 2019 Qualified

Cloete

Marshall - November 2019 Qualified

Matthewson - No Contract

Taute - No Contract

You are indeed correct. I imagine it's probably done on a case by case basis at this stage. Leinster, for instance, could certainly survive without another NIQ player to replace JGP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Mathewson was signed as a medical joker on a short-term contract to cover Murray's neck injury. Munster had several scrum halves already on the books. It's no surprise that a medical joker with an AB cap would prove an improvement on the reserve 9s already in place, but that does not mean he should be kept on at the expense of developing those reserve options. That goes for all provinces. He was signed for a specific purpose and duration, which purpose is now over now that Murray is fit again.

Also, I haven't read the mole in years. Is he still blogging?

Tomtom364 wrote: »
    Current NIQs

Botha

Klyne - August 2019 Qualified

Cloete

Marshall - November 2019 Qualified

Matthewson - No Contract

Taute - No Contract

Cloete IE in 2020. Says he wants to play for Ireland in that 42.ie interview

• Registered Users Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭slingerz

Buer wrote: »
    In the seasons that followed the last two RWCs, Murray played 8 and 6 Pro14 matches respectively which is pretty much in line with what he normally plays.

Maybe Munster will be allowed to sign Matthewson for another season. It would contradict what we've seen in the past though. He's at the end of his career, can command a relatively decent salary by virtue of his test caps, plays in a specialist position and won't be first choice. Munster have also signed two young(ish) Irish scrum halves in the past year and have two more going into their final year of the academy.

Nick McCarthy has already occupied the role of back up scrum half in knock out European competition albeit due to his coaches preferring to play Lowe and Fardy rather than JGP against Saracens. Munster will have one NIQ spot left to fill for next season. I'm sure there are other areas of the pitch where they could sign someone who would have a bigger influence than Matthewson.

A lot depends on Ireland's progress in RWC. The season will see Champions Cup commence the week or two after the RWC final. If Ireland are in that, then you can expect the front liners not to be released for that stage of the season. In Munster's case, Murray is a vital component of their squad and will want a higher level alternative than Cronin/McCarthy

• Registered Users Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

Zzippy wrote: »
    Mathewson was signed as a medical joker on a short-term contract to cover Murray's neck injury. Munster had several scrum halves already on the books. It's no surprise that a medical joker with an AB cap would prove an improvement on the reserve 9s already in place, but that does not mean he should be kept on at the expense of developing those reserve options. That goes for all provinces. He was signed for a specific purpose and duration, which purpose is now over now that Murray is fit again.

Also, I haven't read the mole in years. Is he still blogging?

I'd say the reason he was kept on was because he was helping Carbery develop (in a similar way that Pienaar was helping Paddy Jackson in Ulster), not forgetting JJ and Bill Johnson.

https://twitter.com/SimonZebo/status/1096460217095778305?s=19

People can call him what they wish, but Zebo is a class act, very well done indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,998 ✭✭✭leakyboots

He's always been brilliant with the fans, since the very start. Very good with kids too. That girl has CF.

I think because he doesn't seem to take it all so earnestly as others project and is a bit confident in himself he runs people up the wrong way

https://twitter.com/SimonZebo/status/1096460217095778305?s=19

People can call him what they wish, but Zebo is a class act, very well done indeed

In the Examiner today fundraising for cancer charity too I believe

https://twitter.com/orlaacollins/status/1096119417178595329?s=21

Mortified for this fella. I used to work with a guy who tried this in a club in Limerick during college one night, caught out by Killian Keane as he was friends with the girl. No twitter back then, thankfully for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Yes McCarthy, Cronin and Casey should do for the season. Its a world cup season so huge number of games will have weakened sides with so many players gone on international duty. Yes we should use these for the season. They'll all get plenty games/experience and we do much better from this than anything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Keatley scored a try 2 minutes into his London Irish debut

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Didn’t realize he was already gone till I saw that on Twitter.

Think he will do well for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,998 ✭✭✭leakyboots

According to people on the Twitter machine (too hungover to check) we've the best defensive record in the Pro14 for points conceded and second best for tries conceded behind Leinster and Ospreys.

In the Heineken were top for both.

Chapeau Monsieur Ferreira and co.