Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

December 2017 babies club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭lashes34

bee06 wrote: »
    I was told 24 weeks for the GP as well (in Cork). It does seem like everywhere is different.

Hard to keep track! Im in Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Im doing combined with my consultant and i was told to go this week. Then anomaly scan next week and back with consultant in September again. Yeah maybe it just differs. I haven't been at the hospital since 7th June.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 crestedten

crestedten wrote: »
    Anyone else going semi-private in the Coombe and know when the patient fee is due? It says on their fees page it's due on booking, but I've no idea what that means. We've already met the mid-wife and consultant and had the first scan, any of which could have been consider the "booking" appointment.

Just to answer this question for anyone else that might come searching this forum later, we got a letter today ( a week after first consultant appointment ) with a bed booking form and a request for payment for the antenatal fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭spottybananas

Yes you'll see/hear heartbeat at anomaly scan.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭justwhatithink

I'm going to GP at 22 weeks - consultant said 6 weeks from first appointment with him which was at 16 weeks.

I wish they'd give you a schedule of expected appointments just based on weeks so you'd know what was supposed to happen in advance. When yer a first timer there should be an induction or orientation to tell us how this all works, the things you're supposed to do and when to do them rather than wandering along blindly tying to find out bits & pieces as you go along. Wishful thinking :-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

I wish they'd give you a schedule of expected appointments just based on weeks so you'd know what was supposed to happen in advance. When yer a first timer there should be an induction or orientation to tell us how this all works, the things you're supposed to do and when to do them rather than wandering along blindly tying to find out bits & pieces as you go along. Wishful thinking :-0

There was a chart in the examination room during one of my hospital visits last week and I tried to get a good look at it but forgot most of the info. It basically just had the amount of weeks pregnant and which to visit so "24 weeks GP, 26 hospital" etc. (As an example- I can't remember anything!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I'm going to GP at 22 weeks - consultant said 6 weeks from first appointment with him which was at 16 weeks.

I actually have all my appointments now. 24 and 28 weeks for the GP then 32, 36 and 40 weeks at the hospital. It's different between hospitals though which annoys me.

I have to book an anomaly scan because they don't do them in Cork but the only place that does them booked out until September. I'm raging. Have to go to Limerick now for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭justwhatithink

There was a chart in the examination room during one of my hospital visits last week and I tried to get a good look at it but forgot most of the info. It basically just had the amount of weeks pregnant and which to visit so "24 weeks GP, 26 hospital" etc. (As an example- I can't remember anything!).

Interesting, I must have a nosey around the next day I'm in - I'm in for a scan in Merrion Fetal next week, might go for a wander in Holles St before and see can I find anything or ask at reception. If I find anything I'll post it, though it does seem to differ from one case to the next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭Milly33

I got to hear the heartbeat at the last visit with the GP which ws 17 weeks, I think tis just when the appointments come up.. It was such an ease to hear it as really I wasn't feeling any different at the time or feeling any movements. Maybe you could ask to make an earlier appointment...

Cant wait for Monday we have the anom (I cant spell it or pronounce it :) ) all excited... Do you think you need to bring a sample to this one, I was thinking not but then I thought that the last time too...

Milly33 wrote: »
    Cant wait for Monday we have the anom (I cant spell it or pronounce it :) ) all excited... Do you think you need to bring a sample to this one, I was thinking not but then I thought that the last time too...

I have my anomaly scan Tuesday too! I was wondering that, are we just being scanned or is there anything else? I think just a scan?

lashes34 wrote: »
    I have my anomaly scan Tuesday too! I was wondering that, are we just being scanned or is there anything else? I think just a scan?

Mine is also Tuesday next week :D

I have a feeling it's just a scan?

Yeah i was thinking just a scan too, mind the last day all I had to do was drop paper work in and I had to go through the whole shebang.. Exiting times, are ye planning to find out what ye are having..

No i don't want to find out. He does, but i said not a hope as he will only tell me and everyone else lol :D

Very true best both of ye not knowing.. I was up for having a surprise and then himself said he would like to know, so I said grand.. Then today he said maybe a surprise would be nice :), not a hope of that happening now I'm all geared up to find out..Best of luck with the scans ladies, I must say I'm wishing the weekend away already

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Lainey_b01

Hi ladies, remembered my doc showing me a schedule, looked like this http://www.johnstownmed.ie/pregnancy-and-antenatal-care-combined-care-scheme.html

Basically doc/hospital appointment every 4 Weeks till 28. Every 2weeks then until ur last month, is weekly then until baby hello day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭shortstuff!

My combined care card has a schedule but says it varies by area and can be changed by gp/ob. I was in the hospital at 16wk and anatomy scan isn't til 23wks so I think I'll go to GP at 20wks. Haven't been to GP at all as I was seeing a specialist for the 1st 9wks and consultant said to hold off til after 17wks so they'd be able to get the HB.

24wks -GP
    28wks -GP or hospital for 1st preg
    30wk-GP
    32wk- Hosp
    34wk -GP
    36wk-Hosp
    37wk-GP
    38wk-Hosp
    39wk-GP
    40wk-Hosp

Lads the heartburn :(

I dont think we will find out. Im undecided and hubby doesn't really mind but would prefer to wait so think we will wait.

Oh no lashes. Not good. I get that the odd day but haven't had it too much thankfully.
    Put a deposit down in Tony kealys on our buggy and travel system today. Went for the Bugaboo Buffalo. Love it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

We're not going to find out anyway. I've been surprised at how many people have been surprised that we aren't. I didn't think it was that common to find out here. My sister in law nearly fell off the chair! But how will ye know how to decorate the room she says ... errm I don't think the baby will care if they have a cream bedroom for a few years.

I've my head wreaked over buggys! Spent all day on the internet looking at them. I can't get my head around the money they cost!

We're planning on ordering the buggy next week once we hopefully get the all clear at the scan. We will go for the Vista I think. Seen the Cameleon andreac but not the Buffalo. Do you know the difference between those two?

The money side is crazy

The buffalo is just a bit more robust. Wheels are bit stronger for going over different terrains etc. That's all really. I walk a lot with my dogs so just wanted to get something a bit more robust and the buffalo in the Bugaboo is good for that. That's all really.
    Yeah heard about the Vista too. It really is a minefield. It was himself that was mad to get the Bugaboo as he has heard great things about it lol.
    Tony kealys do good packages with car seat and isofix etc if that's what you need.

Well well we had the anomaly scan today, still laughing as the lady in reception must think I am off my game as I was trying to mutter anomaly, as I cant pronounce it properly and she could not hear me. She just kept saying scan at me, scary lady she was anyway, met her twice and she was as miserable the first time too.. Anywho the scan went great, the nurse was so nice...

It is great to see how the baby has developed so much! Really magical so it is... All is great thank god and we found out that or instincts were right and we are having a girl.. Shed a tear in all it was just fantastic.. Best of luck ladies getting yers tomorrow.. It was great as there was no long que or anything we were seen very fast..

You could call it the anatomy scan if you can't say anomaly? :)

Ah that's great Milly. Glad to hear all is good. Mine is tomorrow at 2.30 in the Coombe. Bit anxious about it so hoping all is good.
    Still not showing that much but it has started a little bit but I still feel I should be showing more lol.
    Anyway I'll know more tomorrow.

Andrea everyone's body and pregnancy is different, I'm due mid November and am barely showing, same as my first pregnancy. It's not really an indication of baby's growth etc so I wouldn't worry about it.

Glad it went well Milly and good luck andrea.

Have mine at 11:30 today. Just hope all is ok.

Best of luck lashes. Hope all goes well.

Best of luck Andreac and Lashes! It is so refreshing after it...Haha I cant pronounce words that just look wrong or with too many lls or n's it just does not work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Best of luck Andreac and Lashes! It is so refreshing after it...Haha I cant pronounce words that just look wrong or with too many lls or n's it just does not work...

My dog has epilepsy and my elderly neighbour thinks its hilarious that a dog could have "ELIPEPSI"!
    I swear to god he has the wrong way in my head now and the vets laugh every time i ring! So i feel your pain!!!

Scan went well thankfully, so glad its over and she said all was measuring normally.

Got the cutest pic of him/her sucking their thumb!