Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

December 2017 babies club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭lashes34

Did you buy stair gates for this baby? It will be a year before you need them, I would imagine there will be one or two Aldi/ Lidl sales in that time!

No my 18 month old nephew will be at ours for Christmas so need them for that. Also have dogs so be good to have the stairs blocked off once this baby comes.

Phew. I thought I was organised but then I saw these posts!

Im also lazy and dont want to have to go back just for the gates again! Although there was only a couple of euro difference between them and Smyths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,662 ✭✭✭Milly33

Himself just sent me a pic of the stuff he got today in Aldi, im just weak.. Wish I was there to see him getting the stuff as we havent really gone shopping yet for bits... Daddys little princess me thinks...

Congrats Figrolls!! Think tis really up to yourselves when ye want to start shopping.. We didnt start until after the anomoly scan as such.. I had everything listed what we needed, buggy investigations done as to what we wanted. So after the scan I put a deposit down on a few bits we needed in Tralee Nursery, we got the buggy in a bargin on done deal and then today the little bits in Aldi.

Just thinking now actually haha I had the car seat too, as we got it free and lots of clothes but these were all freebies or good deals.. The only thing we have left to get is the monitor and the cot bed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Sorry i got gates as i have 4 dogs in the house, lol. So it's more for the dogs, than the baby for moment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭simply_dee

Just out of Aldi. Got 3 packs muslins, 2 blankets, 2 hooded towels, 4 bottles and pack of spare teats, a cute bamboo dinner set (couldn't resist) and 280 nappies 😲. Was tempted by some of the bigger items, but didn't know what we'll really be needing yet...

Also finally managed to have a look at the Uppababy Vista and loved it! I thought I was set on the iCandy Orange, but now I'm back to square one... So many decisions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Gemma1982

I'm in from the November group. Like poster above I have been similarly torn between icandy orange and uppababy vista but have almost decided on the icandy orange. It's so new that I don't know anyone who has used it in real life yet! I love the built in buggy board.

I got the vista, I did like the iCandy but found it very heavy for lifting in and out of the car. Even the carrycot on its own was a bit of a struggle. Im not the strongest obviously but preferred the vista overall too. Dont think the Orange was out when we were looking so it might be lighter than the others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Gemma1982

Yep think it is lighter than other models. Both it and the uppababy vista are about 12.5kgs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

I'm due Christmas eve. I had my anomaly scan today and the little one was breech so they couldn't see the spine. Everything else looked ok though. So I am booked in for another scan next week. Has this happened to anyone else?

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,989 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I'm due Christmas eve. I had my anomaly scan today and the little one was breech so they couldn't see the spine. Everything else looked ok though. So I am booked in for another scan next week. Has this happened to anyone else?

I had that on my last pregnancy, baby was very deeply head down, so I was sent off for a walk and told to get a bottle of cold coke and drink it and hopefully that'd make the baby move, if not I'd be called back. Luckily the coke and walk did the trick and they were able to get the head measurement that day. It's pretty common AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭missjuly

Second time round here! Have a soon to be 3yr old who was a caesarean delivery. To be honest my chances of a successful vbac are quite low, went 11days over, failed induction -2cm after 24hrs, biggish baby 8lb1oz for my 5ft 8.5st (normally) frame so pretty sure we're going with the planned section route. Like that I know the date and all especially with Christmas & hoping recovery will be quicker with a planned c section. Didn't find it bad on my 1st anyway. I do envy my friends who have gone naturally though!

I feel like if I had of had a failed induction I would definitely want to have a planned c section to avoid an emergency one. I
    I was overdue had high blood pressure and gestational diabetes (have it again). Doctor examined me and said he could barely reach my cervix it was so far back and completely closed, head wasn't engaged at all and baby was face presentation. He basically said he could induce me but he thought it would fail but I could do a trial. The fact that he said it might fail made me choose a c section. I suppose I'd love to just go into labour myself and everything go great but in case of that not happening maybe a book a c section as a back up...just don't want to be induced.

Milly it is nice to have nice things indeed. Get the pram you want!! Also I completely get what you mean about clutter! We are redecorating the house before baby comes ( was in need of doing anyway this has just given us a timeline really) but we are getting a skip and I can't wait to get rid of loads of stuff. Actually I'm in a dilemma myself pram wise..if any of you could be bothered look up the venicci pure in grey denim and the venicci gusto navy and tell me which is nicer. I think I prefer the carrycot on the pure and the pram bit on the gusto. I feel like maybe the gusto is more under stated and slightly more sophisticated.. but then maybe the pure is nicer and better for a baby girl....first world dilemma eh!

Just looking the two up missjuly, tough call indeed. The denim at least would be easier to clean, but the pure has that nice classy touch to it... Id go with the Pure thought for looks wise..

After a bit chat about it all now and we are going sensible so we are, we are thinking we shall instead get a new cot bed which was on the list, but I was going second hand.. The buggy we have the one we wanted, just second hand, and it is perfect just not brand new, so we shall keep that. That's us all sorted then Yeppee, bar the breast pump and bottles but that's waiting on himself to see what he wants, well sterliser wise.. Got the babies room tidied up at the weekend and cleared the wardrobe, oh it looks so cute with all the stuff in there. Done the first few bits of washing like socks and hats.. Weak so I am they are so tiny. Himself got some lovely bits in Aldi (all pink) and they are lovely. The little owls if anyone sees them are well worth it, they light up and play music...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭missjuly

Yeah the pure is really nice and I am afraid to the gusto would be a bit too boyish for a girl...I genuinely am the most indecisive person! Though you are the thire person who said the pure.The mini gt is a really good buggy and it probably does make more sense getting the cotbed you will be sorted for all big stuff then. I got my toddlers cot bed in Tralee nursery, a couple of years ago now, but think they did a good deal with a spring mattress and free delivery. I just ordered it all online I have never been to Tralee.

Raging I missed all the good stuff in Aldi I didn't get in till the Friday there wasn't much left, just got two cellular blankets. Ah that's so adorable you have the room all set I can't wait till I do....it's half painted at the moment!! I have the avent microwave sterliser it is so quick and handy and think it was only 30 euro when we bought it three years ago.

I have been getting weird crampy feelings the last few days I assume maybe Braxton Hicks?! Kind of freaks me out. Have a hospital appointment this week hope they do a mini scan!

Hey ladies, woke up to a lovely email this morning. I signed up for a Gentlebirth raffle while I was at a Mothercare event last week, and it turns out we won a free workshop!! I never win anything :D. Not something I could've afforded/justified to myself, so great to have the opportunity. Has anyone ever done one before?

Would recommend the MC open mornings actually - good talks, 10% discount and there were only about 10 couples there, so good odds of winning a prize!

Buzzing! :)

simply_dee wrote: »
    Hey ladies, woke up to a lovely email this morning. I signed up for a Gentlebirth raffle while I was at a Mothercare event last week, and it turns out we won a free workshop!! I never win anything :D. Not something I could've afforded/justified to myself, so great to have the opportunity. Has anyone ever done one before?

Would recommend the MC open mornings actually - good talks, 10% discount and there were only about 10 couples there, so good odds of winning a prize!

Buzzing! :)

Congrats! I havent been but have read up on it. Not sure I can justify the expense and I dont think its completely me so it would likely be a waste.

Hoping to go to the MC event in Oct, hubby is working for the next one on Sept 3rd. They are giving away a travel system so worth a shot!

lashes34 wrote: »
    Congrats! I havent been but have read up on it. Not sure I can justify the expense and I dont think its completely me so it would likely be a waste.

Hoping to go to the MC event in Oct, hubby is working for the next one on Sept 3rd. They are giving away a travel system so worth a shot!

That's a great prize! I'll keep my fingers crossed for you lashes!

Congrats Simply Dee loverly prize to win.. Lucky you..
    Miss July you should go back to the shop and take them both for a cruise and see which one makes you go Yeppee!!!

I had the pleasure of talking to David in Tralee nursery the last day was in knots with him funny chap, but I could see why people might think he is not so friendly... Could luck with the doc I am sure tis just the baby getting comfy in there or moving around more...I'm off to enter lots of competitions now

simply_dee wrote: »
    That's a great prize! I'll keep my fingers crossed for you lashes!

Aw no that is the Sept prize, will see what the Oct one is!

Has anyone come across the V shaped maternity pillow, covers.. I have one but wouldn't mind a new cover for it. Was thinking it might be cheaper to buy than make a new one..

Forgot to say, I asked the GP to take a look at the skin tags on the nips and all is good, she said they are perfectly normal and will most likely bugger off after the little miss arrives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭shortstuff!

missjuly wrote: »

I have been getting weird crampy feelings the last few days I assume maybe Braxton Hicks?! Kind of freaks me out. Have a hospital appointment this week hope they do a mini scan!

Have awful cramps in my left side and back today, not nice at all!

Someone mentioned about a breast pump. From a BF page I'm on, loads rave about the Haaka pump, it's manual but works based on suction so you don't have to pump yourself, it's around €35 on the U.K. Website, just got mine. I have a double medela pump which I found good but it's not a closed system (so not meant to use on 2babies), I'm going to get new tubing and take apart to make sure there's no mound and will use again I think. I'll have a look at getting it serviced. Wasn't heavily used on my last so certainly can't justify a new electric one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Milly33 wrote: »
    Has anyone come across the V shaped maternity pillow, covers.. I have one but wouldn't mind a new cover for it. Was thinking it might be cheaper to buy than make a new one..

Pretty sure I saw them on Amazon

Another reason for a trip to Ikea, I so want to go but himself keeps saying no, it would in fairness be dangerous.. Thanks I shall check it out and Amazon

Had my 24 week GP appointment and got to hear the heartbeat for the first time! Everything was perfect as well which was great. I was a bit worried I wasn't gaining enough weight because everyone keeps saying how small I am.

Anomaly scan now tomorrow. Will be glad to get it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭spottybananas

bee06 wrote: »
    Had my 24 week GP appointment and got to hear the heartbeat for the first time! Everything was perfect as well which was great. I was a bit worried I wasn't gaining enough weight because everyone keeps saying how small I am.

Ignore people saying how small you are, everyone carries differently and some ridiculous people expect you to be huge. My mil was nearly hysterical with how small I always was with my son, he was 7lbs 7ozs three weeks early so he was clearly fine! Unless youre seriously underweight it isn't cause for concern.

Best of luck with the scan tomorrow!!! It is great to get it done, I didn't realise how much we were both thinking about it until after... Sure look around tomorrow when you are there at all the different types of bumps there are so many...

Have the glucose test tomorrow and so not looking forward to getting up that early

Milly33 wrote: »
    Have the glucose test tomorrow and so not looking forward to getting up that early

I booked mine today for 4 weeks time. I'm really not looking forward to fasting from 8pm to 10am. I'll be ravenous!

Does everyone have to get this glucose test? I'm back with my consultant on the 11th Sept so I might mention it then. Or is it only if they have an issue with you that you get it?

It's only if you have one of the risk factors. I have PCOS so have to do it.

Ah ok. Thanks