Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

December 2017 babies club

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Milly33 wrote: »

Just heard on the radio there that they might have to cut down on the annomoly (cant spell it or say it) scans in UHG, I hope they don't it was such a great thing to have done, and a reassurance as such..

Why is that Milly? God that's nearly the most important one to get done.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Had an antenatal class today and the midwife recommended the website spinning babies for positions to move the baby out of breech.

If Galway is anything like the other hospitals in the country it's down to resources for the anomaly scan. I think you have to be a specialised sonographer and it's a special machine as well and there aren't enough trained people in the hospitals.

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭lashes34

Thanks Milly, thats very kind but I should be ok. Hubby is picking up the slack!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,651 ✭✭✭Milly33

Great lashes well if you change your mind think were heading to Galway town Sunday.. A trip to boots is in order.. Just went for walk in the woods and was delighted it all started off well, half an hour later and it was like man I need a nap haha...

They said on the radio it was due to the lack of staff alright.. Now it said they are only thinking about when the full piece came on, so silly the reporter that announced it said they were cancelling it,then when the full report came on it said that they would have to consider it due to the lack of staff.. I was wondering when they said that as whenever we were there, there was no big backlog of patients, sounds about right that they would only have one trained person to use the machine, just like when the MRI's came in

Did the hospital tour yesterday in the Coombe. Found it really good actually. They brought us in step by step from the front door so you know exactly where to go and where you will be brought etc.

Saw all around the wards and delivery suite etc. Was great. Found it very helpful and also got to see some new babies that were on the wards, so cute!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

we just got to see the delivery suite in the Rotunda the other day. didn't give us a full on tour def made things a bit more real. Im home sick today was in alot of pain the last 2 days with piles. got my cream and witch hazel and been treating it. seems a bit better today but still a bit uncomfortable. hope it clears up soon as ive had enough of having one prob after another.

Oh no Molly, not nice. Hope you are feeling better soon.

My lower back is starting to niggle at me the last couple of days so im hoping it doesn't get too bad. I have a minor issue with it which hasn't given me any trouble yet during the pregnancy so hopefully it's not going to get worse.

It must be a last trimester thing, with all the aches and pains and things happen.. Nearly there Molly you can do it...Herself was flipping around like a loon last night, I'm sure at one point she was crossways across my belly, I hope she hasn't turned.. feel whacked today all buggered up but nearly there, nearly there think only happy thoughts

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭justwhatithink

Things sound tough for you lashes, if you can manage to get fully signed off then don't hesitate to take it and get your rest now. We're all probably getting wrecked at this stage but put pain on top of that and it's draining. I was admitted on Thurs for the night for pain management (back problems) and stayed on the Antenatal Admissions ward. Women in early labour who were not ready to move to the labour/delivery ward were also on the Admissions ward and there was no sleep been gotten. Don't underestimate how tired we are going to be (obv the length of our labour will impact that too), but the hospitals are so noisy, even with ear plugs in and getting drugs that make you drowsy I barely slept at all (by comparison the drugs completely knocked me out no problem at home last night for 6 hours straight!).
    It was a great introduction to some of the goings on of labour that I've read about ... eek! But I feel a little less nervous now I'll have some familiarity with the event and hospital.

I feel bad coming on to excited when ye are all going through so much!! Hope ye are all ok... Sounds like an eye opener justwhatithink... Brings to mind what the Tara just said about when to go to hospital..

We had our Antenatal Class or more like day with Tara Durkin today and I have to say, wow I'm just delighted we did.. Felt very unsure of the classes (from the point of view of would you learn anymore) but was more pushed towards private ones, so my husband would be included in them.. Think it is very bad that they aren't more included in all.. I can highly recommend them, so much more informed about our choices and why they should be made, and also different types of pain relief.. Was surprised about the placenta birth injection, I hadn't even heard about it and well if I was asked on the day itself I would have said yes to it, but id be thinking more about it now..

For us it was fantastic, just incase anyone else is looking into them and worried is it worth it, they are

Great that you found it beneficial Milly. Makes it more real!

Went to an Osteopath this evening (thanks for the recommendation Spottybanana!) and I have SPD. No improvement in pain yet but she said it can sometimes take 24 hours to see any improvement but its usually straight away. Just hope it does help.

Have my consultant appointment tomorrow to check if baby is still breech. 5 weeks to go from Wed!

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭tea_and_cake

lashes34 wrote: »
    Great that you found it beneficial Milly. Makes it more real!

Went to an Osteopath this evening (thanks for the recommendation Spottybanana!) and I have SPD. No improvement in pain yet but she said it can sometimes take 24 hours to see any improvement but its usually straight away. Just hope it does help.

Have my consultant appointment tomorrow to check if baby is still breech. 5 weeks to go from Wed!

Lashes I find it can sometimes take 2-3 days to see relief because the work is painful. The relief is amazing though, hope you get relief soon.

Gave up trying to sleep. Jes no matter what why I turn there is no comfort. Just got cozy and the stuffiness starts, oh dear cant wait to sleep again haha...

No relief from the pain but I did sleep most of last night after two nights of getting none so thats something.

Baby isnt breech, they had to scan to make sure as its an awkward one apparently that you cant feel the position of!

Yeah that is great news Lashes34 are ye delighted? Darn with the pain, is there any change those tens machines would work with the pain. Good on the sleep it hopefully will make things easier..

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭simply_dee

Hi ladies, would anyone have an idea where I could get custom Moses basket dressings made? We've inherited a family heirloom basket from my OH's parents. It's lovely, but ENORMOUS! I've finally found a mattress to fit it, but any dressings I've bought have been way too small...

Pesky moses baskets, they have me addeled att the moment.. Have you looked on adverts to see perhaps or get a recommendation for a good seamstress in your area, they should be able to make one no problem.. I know of a good one in Loughrea that's it

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭simply_dee

Thanks Milly, I'm in Dublin so hopefully we'll find someone to make it. Almost wish we could just buy a new one, would be much less hassle!

I know but even at that, it seems very hard to find nice covers. I was looking for a standard moses basket and while we found one in Guinneys it just didn't sit right, and then the hoods are really flimsy.. best of luck with it

• Registered Users Posts: 36 decmum

Hey ladies I haven't been on in a while, feeling crap, can't sleep and I'm huge I was never this big with my other two and all I can do is eat. How are you all feeling, due the 18th of December but having a section. Not back to the consultant till the 28th of the month so I will get my date then hopefully the sooner the better I'm wrecked really feeling this pregnancy at 38 years old ðŸ™

I'm the same today. Feel so tired and exhausted. Got to go home early from work as we had a mad morning.
    I'm Due the 15th Dec and like you in 38 and feeling it. Only my first so nothing to compare it to but looking forward to getting back to normal and able to walk properly and put on my socks etc without hassle ha ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 decmum

andreac wrote: »
    I'm the same today. Feel so tired and exhausted. Got to go home early from work as we had a mad morning.
    I'm Due the 15th Dec and like you in 38 and feeling it. Only my first so nothing to compare it to but looking forward to getting back to normal and able to walk properly and put on my socks etc without hassle ha ha.

Struggling to put on my trousers never mind the socks they are a whole new level lol, my youngest is 6 and I don't remember being so sore turning over in bed

Yeah we are not alone, I know I must be really annoying but not working and well boards is kinda the only place to chat.. With ye due the 11thish and cant sleep at night, but jaysus snozzed on the couch three times yesterday, then last night slept got up and slept more.. Eating stuff too like there is a crisis coming..

Got delivery of the last few items from Tralee nursery but himself is away, I'm made to get the cotbed up and have a snoop at the travel cot but holding off until he is home

So the swelling in the feet has started aaahhhh.

Feet up from now on..Man was nearly crying in the shop there, didn't know whether I needed to pee more or eat while trying to buy sandwich fillers.. It was painfull

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

Has anyone else experienced leg cramps? I've started getting them. Worse than any cramps I've ever had before.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭coffeyt

Hi, not pregnant but I used to be woken up with horrendous leg cramps at night in the late stages of both my pregnancies, my mum advised eating a banana before bed (assume it's an old wives tale), she mentioned it can be caused by low potassium but whatever it was the banana worked a treat!

I've had a few episodes of leg cramps too. Not nice at all. They say tonic water with the quinine in it helps too.

Ladies any tips on swollen fingers and trying to get my engagement ring off?
    I got my wedding ring off few weeks ago but my engagement ring was still ok so I left it on. But the last day or so I've started swelling a bit. I'm hoping I'll get a day where I'm not as swollen and can get it off.
    I've tried putting ice pack on it this morn and fairy liquid etc but not happening.

Have you tried kinda excercising your fingers first (sounds bad I know :) ) and then hold your hands up, maybe they might de-swell a bit.. Or go for a bath and put some oil on it... Havent worn my in ages felt naked the first few weeks, actually cant wait to wear then again. Himself said I had sausage fingers this morning haha

I was hoping that they might go down swelling wise. I was thinking maybe some days are worse than others so hopefully I'll get a day where they aren't as swollen.
    I've been at them most of the day so I think I need to leave it be for now and maybe if my hands get cold they won't be as swollen.

Just hope I can get it off. I've seen a trick with dental floss so might give that a go in a couple of days if I'm not having any luck with the swelling.