Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

December 2017 babies club

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Justwhatithink, my second was horrendously windy!!!She was the noisiest sleeper.she would sleep soundly initially then after she woke for the first night feed she would grunt and groan all night until she woke herself up every night.Most nights she started the night in her basket, and then from 1/2am she was on her tummy lying on my chest.Not ideal but it was the only way I could get sleep, lying on her tummy seemed to help her digest and sleep ok.When she was tiny I didn't want to put her on her tummy in her bed, so that was why I put her me.She continued to be very bothered by her wind until she was well over 1, if she hadn't got a burp up or had eaten something that was tough to work through her digestive system, she would be awake on and off all night til she worked it out.Definitely talk to the PHN but it may just be him...:eek: If I had a euro for every night I spent an hour or so at 3am massaging her tummy, bicycling her legs and turning her from sids to side I would be wealthy!Pharmony gripe water worked for her when I was desperate.The wind thing actually just kills.me, it"s so frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭Milly33

Had a visit from the nurse today, typical herself had just got sick all over herself so was just out of the shower trying to get ready.. Always rushing, I really cant wait to have this schedule down, sleeping in an hour makes everything askew...Poor mite was very stuffed up last night and we didn't sleep well checking on.. Have to say the snot sucker is the job, and I hate snots but it does give her great relief..

I asked the nurse Justwhatithink about pains, and she said that yep some pains on one side is completely normal and to have the doc check at the 6 week check up if they are still there,, She did mention sharp stabbing pains is very bad might need to be checked earlier.. Perhaps twud be an idea to call to the GP just to be sure to be sure...Thank god the scare is healing up fine, have been putting a little Aloe on it.. It is trying to get rid of all the stickie stuff is a pain...

Our little lady farts a lot too, from day one.. The doc and the nurse said tis grand that any dispel of wind, be it from their bottom or mouth is good...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

We had the PHN as well today and the little fella is heavier than he was when he was born so delighted. I did feel like the breastfeeding was going OK but it’s such a relief to get the confirmation.

Fantastic bee06 well done to you, ye must be delighted...

Thanks Milly, I am alright. Low iron can impact supply so I was a bit worried that I would have issues and it’s important with the jaundice that he’s getting enough milk to get rid of it. I’ve had a tough time with the iron issue and the stitches so it’s good to get a win on something.

And a winner it is...You should be well proud of yourself, especially for keeping up the breastfeeding through all of that...

Have you tried expressing bee? Just wondering I'm still on the debate of am I actually producing enough milk... I tied expressing and can do it twice a day and get just under an once from both breasts.. My boobs don't even leak or anything... Just wondering is that it then.. Might just stick to the breast for the day and maybe night feeds

No, I haven’t bothered Milly. I don’t have time to fit it in really with all the feeding he’s doing. I have read that you’ll always get less milk when expressing than feeding because the baby is much more efficient at getting the milk out than a pump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Ladies how long would you leave them when they haven't pooped? I think she's a wee bit constipated since I've started giving her some of the hungry baby aptimal.
    She had a really good poo Sun eve and a little one yest but nothing today.
    I gave her some cool boiled water earlier.
    I know they can have days where they don't have a dirty nappy.
    But don't want to leave her too long without going.
    She's doing little farts here and there. I'm massaging her tummy and doing bicycle legs to try and help her but nothing yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭justwhatithink

andreac wrote: »
    Ladies how long would you leave them when they haven't pooped? I think she's a wee bit constipated since I've started giving her some of the hungry baby aptimal.
    She had a really good poo Sun eve and a little one yest but nothing today.
    I gave her some cool boiled water earlier.
    I know they can have days where they don't have a dirty nappy.
    But don't want to leave her too long without going.
    She's doing little farts here and there. I'm massaging her tummy and doing bicycle legs to try and help her but nothing yet.

ive been referencing the HSE website as a guide Andrea http://www.hse.ie/eng/health/child/cfyb/0-6mths/everydaycare/. Our fella went 36 hrs without a poop a few days ago, then delivered just as I was about to give him the boiled water. Today we've had no poop since 2am lastnight. He's struggling a bit with digestion too, lots of wind and slow to poop but Public Health Nurse was not concerned with him todate as long as he's not in distress and is still feeding. If he goes past 48 hrs without a poop I'll get more concerned or if he gets into distress crying for long periods. We're doing the bicycles and belly massage regularly too, we sound like we've similar hungry babies. My friend put her baby on Aptimal hungry formula before and it constipated the baby so you could be right about that. My PHN said don't change formula yet when he's feeding, keeping up his weight and not in distress...

Think the longest herself went with out the poop was 1day and halfish...

Id say maybe leave it two and if nothing happens ask the doc just for reassurance.. I found massaging her belly worked to get things moving, it was when she wasn't getting enough feeds that she wasn't pooping, in saying that too the nurse mentioned they were more concerned about wet nappies that poop... She has been pooping constantly for the last day and a bit, but tis a different poop so it must be changing..

Thanks Bee too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

We just had a mega poo so all good. The massaging and bicycle legs must have helped along with the water. Hopefully she's ok now.
    Thanks for the advice ladies.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Just to note some breastfed babies don't poo for a couple of weeks at a time:eek:But you get used to your baby's patterns.

YEAHH for poo

It'll be your hot topic for the next few years, believe me!!!

All today now after ye talking about it, herself poop is changing and I think she is blocked up today.. We are actually excited about the fact it is changing haha and here we thought we were sad with the cat

Yeah the little Miss is putting on weight1 160 in three days, so she is well on the way.. Delighted as tis worrying so the feeding plan of breast and bottle is working out which is super too as I didn't want to give up the breast feeding fully.. especially as she has a cold and maybe the breast milk would help her on the mend better... Nurse said she is very alert for a baby her size (I heard scientist) super happy

All clear from the nurse today, little miss is above her birth weight so tis great news. How is everyone getting on..

We have got into the barf zone, she was very good didn't spit up an awfull lot. Now with the formula and breast she seems to spew up an awful lot... So frustrating as tis always where you don't want her to spew

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭LittleBoBeep

All good here too Milly, little man is 1 month old today. Can’t believe how quick it’s went. He has reflux and gets fussy in the evening. We brought him to Rory Murphy and seems much better. He spits up the odd time after a bottle now but doesn’t seem to be in any discomfort thank god.

Does the public health nurse come out automatically at 1 month or do you go to them?

I was just going to say 1 month seems like ages, but sure she will be the same tomorrow !! Tis flying by already...Glad to hear all is going ok...

Reflux doesn't sound nice, thank god tis only in the evenings. Id say it is very hard on both, as in listening to the cries and the pain for him.. Is Rory a specialist or something? Incase you were looking I read somewhere they are suppose to be good for reflux Lidl have those wedge cushions on sale for €6.99 much better that the €60 price in most shops. I was tempted to get one for herself but thought she was better with the spewing, thinking twice now about it. She seems to be much happier sitting up a bit..

Our nurse came to us, but then they were tracking her weight as she had not put on enough.. She said the next app with her would be 3months, and that they would contact me for this one.. Then there is the 6 week checkup for both of us with the GP. Not sure who contacts who there, but id say tis me contacting them for it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭lashes34

Our PHN said she didnt need to see her until 3 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭LittleBoBeep

He’s actually a Chiropractor, I’d heard great things about him and my dad was in getting his back done and noticed a mountain of babies there so he asked and was told he cured reflux/colic, seemingly it’s a big thing now with osteopaths/chiropractors. He did something to the little mans neck and it took 2 visits but i notice a difference.

We spent a lot of nights up with him walking the floor where he just wasn’t sleeping. He could go 6 hours with no sleep and it was tough. It’s amazing the effect lack of sleep has on you. We had to wake each other up to take over where the crying was just so hard. I must invest in the wedge, I’ve a towel propping up the head in the Moses basket but I’d prefer something more gradual.

I might ring them tomorrow and see what we need to do. We only registered him last Friday.

LittleBoPeep see if you can get him into a sling during the day too, it helps a lot to keep him upright.

Glad to hear there is an improvement with him..Sleepless nights, its like being pregnant again :)... I find it all amazing really what we put ourselves through for babies and how we just do it automatically... Really think Mr Saigon should have written a book on this one too :)...

Id say the wedge would work alright, like you I have her head propped up with the blankets too (started running out of blankets then haha) but wanted something more sturdy if we were to keep using it.. She seems to be sorted now so no need.. let me know if you cant get it where you are, would be more than happy to call to the store here for you to see if they have it.. Gort seems to be rather good with well selling stuff before the deal dates and having a good stock of stuff.. The slings too like shesty says, anything to keep them up right.. Actually I think Lidl were doing one of those bigger feeding pillows too, they work great for kinda propping them up when they are being watched of course...

Oh lashes she was only seeing herself kinda every week due to the weight, she said the same now it will be months time...

Very bold today and had snuggles with herself so kinda slept in a bit, but they are so cozy and warm.. Cant wait to get out and about again, the weather is just so crap and cold.. Two more weeks to driving cant wait..

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭justwhatithink

Good to hear everyone's surviving. It's been a tough two weeks trying to figure things out and settle in. The little fella is still suffering with wind no matter how much we wind him (and he winds well during feeds). We changed to Dr Browns bottles, have the crib tilted, bicycle his legs, massage his belly etc but there's always more wind. Does anyone have any opinion on using Infacol? I hate that at 3 weeks old I'm considering dosing him with medicines already. He's not crying that much so I wouldn't say you'd label him as colic, but he's awake/half awake at night for hours sometimes grunting & groaning trying pass wind and move his poop through. And it goes on during the day sometimes too that he's grumpy. PHN and GP said he's grand, it's just what happens with babies. Think we got some improvement lastnight as I bought a Sleepyhead Pod and put it in the Next to Me and he slept much better (until 5.30am, then the grunting & groaning started again). He definitely was finding the crib too big and not cosy enough. I'm already feeling nervous about tonight and how it'll go.

Recovering well from the section. I'm lucky my husband is still on paternity but I need to start getting out more, the miserable weather certainly isn't very motivating.

Has been an emotional rollercoaster, the inbuilt guilt is a killer!

I feel your pain .... you are bringing back memories :eek:

Go for it with the Infacol, it won't hurt anyway. Unfortunately.....it may just be a case of waiting for him to grow out of it after that. You'll learn a few little tricks as he gets bigger that work for him. And he starts to move more and kick his legs himself more, it will become easier for him to work it through.But time is one thing I have learned (the bitterly hard way!!) sorts almost all small baby problems out, you just have to repeat the mantra of "it doesn't last forever" in your head (no help at 4am when you are walking round trying to get wind out of an unsettled baby I know - but it really doesn't last forever).

Maybe have a bottle of Pharmony gripe water on standby too, in case you get very desperate. I used to have no.2 in a sling a lot during the day when I could - partly because I had a toddler but also because it helped with the wind.

Someone remind me why I am doing this again........:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭Pocos

Hi all, baby 17 days today and starting to find it hard to get wind and poo through! Awful seeing them in pain anc crying! I wouldn’t call in colic and reading these posts makes me think it’s just a phase.

I am breast feeding and wondering when do people recommend expressing milk and giving a bottle? I would love my husband to take over for one or two nights?

Pocos wrote: »
    Hi all, baby 17 days today and starting to find it hard to get wind and poo through! Awful seeing them in pain anc crying! I wouldn’t call in colic and reading these posts makes me think it’s just a phase.

I am breast feeding and wondering when do people recommend expressing milk and giving a bottle? I would love my husband to take over for one or two nights?

Th advice would be to wait until the baby is 6 weeks. At that stage your supply will be established and you reduce the risk of nipple confusion with the bottle.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭Pocos

bee06 wrote: »
    Th advice would be to wait until the baby is 6 weeks. At that stage your supply will be established and you reduce the risk of nipple confusion with the bottle.

Thanks bee06 I was afraid if that!! The famous 6 weeks.. feels like a million years away when all I want to do is sleep!!!

Pocos wrote: »
    Thanks bee06 I was afraid if that!! The famous 6 weeks.. feels like a million years away when all I want to do is sleep!!!

I know, it’s very tough at times! It will be worth it in the end though. I just keep reminding myself of how quickly the first 3 weeks have gone in the scheme of things even if it didn’t feel like that at 2am after feeding for the bones of 5 hours one night!