Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

December 2017 babies club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭donkey10

Milly33 wrote: »
    The PHN said to me the guideline was not before 4months and no later than 6months.. Then from other bits and bobs they say when they aren't as satisfied with the bottles anymore then it is time, or when they start paying more attention to you eating.. Hard again but id say if you think they are ready after the 4 month guideline then go for it.. All the bits and pieces I have read kinda say if they aren't ready then they wont take the food, so tis a bit of sure give it a go and if it works it works...

Herself has been really interested in us eating and would be drooling looking at you for the last 2-3 weeks so said feck it wed try her..

Made the first purees tonight, lovely apple tried carrot but me thinks I lost patience waiting for it to cook more and made it too runny but sure twill do for the first week..
    Back to work great stuff it will be nice to get back I am sure and wont be long coming about

Do you reheat what you have made in the microwave or can you do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,662 ✭✭✭Milly33

They say not to reheat in the microwave incase it is heated unevenly, I put in a little of the hot milk from the bottle in the baby rice and for the puree I just popped it in the bowl of hot water to heat it up.. She took the rice and carrot mix today heated not a bother she loved it but wasn't too made on the apple which wasn't heated.. so fussy haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭donkey10

They say not to reheat in the microwave incase it is heated unevenly, I put in a little of the hot milk from the bottle in the baby rice and for the puree I just popped it in the bowl of hot water to heat it up.. She took the rice and carrot mix today heated not a bother she loved it but wasn't too made on the apple which wasn't heated.. so fussy haha

Thats great! It mist be great tryin out new foods. All trial and error ! Must start shoppin for a good high feeding chair

Was looking around for ages and got really annoyed at Argos as thought we had a bargain there on an Mimzy chair but sure they just give you a different one... Ended up getting a Mammia highchair 2nd hand and I must say tis quite sturdy, seems to have everything too you can lower the seat on the frame, tilt the chair it has a 5 point harness.. Quite impressive little yokes not sure how much they are new but got ours for €30 second hand..

For anyone else up for the 4month vaccines too their poor legs where they get the shot goes a little red, id say tis like a mini bruise to them her face when you touch of it, a look of shock and pain.. Pooped a lot also yesterday and she is sleeping that little bit extra too this morning that's after going back to bed at 7.. Was going to wake her there and just thought oh if you were feeling ****ty wouldn't you like to lie in for a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭lashes34

Pocos wrote: »
    lashes34 wrote: »
    My girl has improved massively thanks to Lucy Wolfes book. She slept last night 2110 til 0745!

Hi lashes

How old is your LO? I got that book but kinda felt she was only dealing with babies over the 6 month mark so I haven’t read it fully!

What have you done differently that has made such a dramatic change??

Shes 18 weeks now but I started using the tips around 15 weeks and it helped massively. Before I was letting her lead with regards sleep but I now know she needs to be put to sleep, shes not one to just sleep when shes tired. Used to feed to sleep a lot or she'd sleep when out on walks etc. Wouldn't sleep in her crib under any circumstances and stopped sleeping in her moses basket downstairs months ago.

Now she gets 4 naps, 3 of them are usually in her cot upstairs and one while I go for a walk. Its a stay and support system, it was to train me as to what to do as I hadn't a clue. My nephews would just go to sleep when tired and thats all I knew. Its a gradual approach, first few days I stayed with her until she fell asleep. Rubbed her belly, talked quietly to her. Then gradually pulled back on the interaction. Now she still sometimes needs help but a few naps a day I can just put her in and she'll fight it a minute or twp but generally falls asleep pretty quick.

She does have suggested timetables based on age. Im still going by the 2-4 month one mainly because shes not great at taking bottles so dont want to put her put to 4 hour feeds yet so she gets up at 730, gets her reflux meds at 740 then bottles at 8,11,2,5&8. Bed around 9/915.

I thought it was just for over 6 months too but said I would get it to be prepared but from the first day trying the techniques it has worked for us. Took about 2 weeks for her to sleep through the night fully but she of the last 10 nights she has only woken for more than a couple of minutes 2 or 3 nights. Otherwise sleeps about 10 hours.

Never thought Id be able to say that as at the worst of it she was waking every 20 minutes some nights. Getting her napping properly during the day makes a world of difference to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭justwhatithink

Shes 18 weeks now but I started using the tips around 15 weeks and it helped massively. Before I was letting her lead with regards sleep but I now know she needs to be put to sleep, shes not one to just sleep when shes tired. Used to feed to sleep a lot or she'd sleep when out on walks etc. Wouldn't sleep in her crib under any circumstances and stopped sleeping in her moses basket downstairs months ago.

Now she gets 4 naps, 3 of them are usually in her cot upstairs and one while I go for a walk. Its a stay and support system, it was to train me as to what to do as I hadn't a clue. My nephews would just go to sleep when tired and thats all I knew. Its a gradual approach, first few days I stayed with her until she fell asleep. Rubbed her belly, talked quietly to her. Then gradually pulled back on the interaction. Now she still sometimes needs help but a few naps a day I can just put her in and she'll fight it a minute or twp but generally falls asleep pretty quick.

She does have suggested timetables based on age. Im still going by the 2-4 month one mainly because shes not great at taking bottles so dont want to put her put to 4 hour feeds yet so she gets up at 730, gets her reflux meds at 740 then bottles at 8,11,2,5&8. Bed around 9/915.

I thought it was just for over 6 months too but said I would get it to be prepared but from the first day trying the techniques it has worked for us. Took about 2 weeks for her to sleep through the night fully but she of the last 10 nights she has only woken for more than a couple of minutes 2 or 3 nights. Otherwise sleeps about 10 hours.

Never thought Id be able to say that as at the worst of it she was waking every 20 minutes some nights. Getting her napping properly during the day makes a world of difference to her.

That sounds great Lashes, well done.
    We’re on reflux meds too and have feeding challenges at times also, no inclination to take bigger bottles either so I think we’d have similar circumstances. Can I ask does she sleep then for long for her naps during the day? I can get my fella down (in the crib) a few times a day but sleeping more than 45min-1hr is the challenge cause he wakes up and I can’t get him back to sleep. Also does it mean you find you only get out of the house when you’re doing your walk? I find it hard to figure out how I’d nap him and then get out of the house without him falling asleep again in the car and messing up the whole routine.

Naps are between 30 and 90 minutes. Sometimes she'll sleep 1.5 hours and I'll have to wake for the next bottle. The last nap is usually 30 minutes, just a little catnap before last feed and bed.

For the first few weeks I stayed home as much as I could to get her used to the schedule. Now I go out more often and she'll nap in the car or the buggy.

Another pre warning, I am just after googling it so tis fine.. But gave herself banana today and when poop time came there were all these black lines in the poo looks like small little worms... Really odd but sure two and two together twas the banana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Pocos

Thanks lashes for your advice! I think I might start that approach! My little one won’t go down to the cot but will happily go into her bassinet and drift off! Must start with the cot this week!

Read again the approach in the book! Thanks for answering my questions! :)

The weaning is going great herself loves the food.. Just gave her apple and pear and it went down great no stopping her..

If there is any crafty people out there too, was a bit sad after going looking for a few new toys for her recently and then going into a second hand store and seeing all the toys. We have so much waste, and stuff that you buy that just gets used once of twice..

So looked up toys to make online. Made one of these string boxes https://theimaginationtree.com/4-diy-baby-and-toddler-toys-for-motor/. They are great you can just see her trying to figure it out...

Found this one too for the next project https://theimaginationtree.com/4-diy-baby-and-toddler-toys-for-motor/

Oh the poor child, before twas the dog I used to make random toys for

Hello ladies,

Just looking for some advice! My husband, little one and I are off to costa del sol for ten nights end of May! Baby will be 20 weeks and I won’t have started solids, she is EBF. So from a feeding perspective there isn’t anything I need to bring..

Does anyone have any advice on bringing small babies abroad? I’m not sure are we mad but I can’t wait to get 10 days of sunshine and for my husband to be off and helping me mind baby for ten full days! That’s the best part :)

Thanks in advance all advice greatly appreciated

Sounds amazing Pocos! Feed during takeoff and landing, get to the airport early so you're not stressing and rushing. Dublin airport have a family lane so can be quicker going through there at security. Some airlines let people with kids on first, flybe definitely do.

Bring a backpack rather than the traditional shoulder changing bag so you have your arms free. I put a change of clothes and everything for a nappy change in the pocket at the front so no need to root around if u have a need to change clothes. Few rattles, toys to keep them occupied.

Good luck!

Sounds amazing Pocos! Feed during takeoff and landing, get to the airport early so you're not stressing and rushing. Dublin airport have a family lane so can be quicker going through there at security. Some airlines let people with kids on first, flybe definitely do.

Bring a backpack rather than the traditional shoulder changing bag so you have your arms free. I put a change of clothes and everything for a nappy change in the pocket at the front so no need to root around if u have a need to change clothes. Few rattles, toys to keep them occupied.

Good luck!

Thanks lashes for replying all sounds like great advice! I had heard of the feeding during landing and taking off!

I’m sure I’ll make tons of mistakes but I hope to learn for future trips! I can’t wait for some sunshine :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Our daughter is now 4 and a half months. 7/8 hour night sleeps since day 1. I am lapping up every minute because it'll probably change. Sitting up and rolling over. No issues with illness and vaccines were grand. She's a very happy baby, always smiling and laughing even with strangers. She's discovered her voice in recent days so she's doing a bit of squealing :)

We haven't started the solids yet as she's not completely sitting up, and she's not been fussy on the bottle yet either.

Is'nt the time flying! Great that she is doing so well and lovely to hear she is so happy.. The smiles and the giggles are the best!!!

Herself is the same with the voice and having mad chats with her toys. I thought she was upset the last day but tisnt she is like you say squealing at her toys, and also the last few days she seems to have discovered she can move her tongue more, she is sticking it out kinda twisting it..

Tried her on peas today and well they didn't go down well at the start, himself reminded me of something we read about babies being wary of green foods for some reason. So gave her the bottle first and then tried again with the pea, but showed her the spoon and then I ate some and then she took it. Very weird not sure if tis an old wives tale or not I must go look it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭LittleBoBeep

Our little guy is 5 months next week and I’m thinking of starting him on solids. He’s only going 3 hours between feeds during the day and taking 6-7oz each feed. We can stretch him at night from about 11pm -6am but he does wake a lot eating his hands. We can push him out using the soother but obviously it has an impact on sleep for him and us.

We started sleep training him and the past 2 nights he wall has went down without us beside him which is brilliant. Finally starting to see a bit of a routine forming.

Hello ladies,

Just looking for some advice! My husband, little one and I are off to costa del sol for ten nights end of May! Baby will be 20 weeks and I won’t have started solids, she is EBF. So from a feeding perspective there isn’t anything I need to bring..

Does anyone have any advice on bringing small babies abroad? I’m not sure are we mad but I can’t wait to get 10 days of sunshine and for my husband to be off and helping me mind baby for ten full days! That’s the best part :)

Thanks in advance all advice greatly appreciated

A tip a lady gave to us recently too was if you have to bring the car seat for the baby just pop it into the buggy when boarding (even as such if it doesn't fit into the buggy once tisnt a huge one) you get away with it. And also for really warm hotel rooms or just for lets say a dark room that often the bathroom is the best place for the baby to sleep. Sounds bad at the start but then when you think they are the darkest rooms and normally the coolest.. Was going to take herself on holidays next week only to the UK but have gone against it as tis only a short break

Hi ladies,

I think my LO is going through that 4 month regression!!! :( we had 14 nights of full nights sleeps it was heaven! I was like yes we have cracked this.. now the past 5 nights the middle of the night wakings have begun again! I mean middle middle talking 2am ish!! :(

Had vaccinations and it’s been all down hill from there! Anyone else experience anything like this???

A tip a lady gave to us recently too was if you have to bring the car seat for the baby just pop it into the buggy when boarding (even as such if it doesn't fit into the buggy once tisnt a huge one) you get away with it. And also for really warm hotel rooms or just for lets say a dark room that often the bathroom is the best place for the baby to sleep. Sounds bad at the start but then when you think they are the darkest rooms and normally the coolest.. Was going to take herself on holidays next week only to the UK but have gone against it as tis only a short break

Thanks milly for the advice! Yes the bathroom sounds like good advice! Weird sounding but you are right the bathroom is usually the darkest and coolest room in a hotel!

Luckily we don’t need a car seat but a good tip to know for the future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Hi ladies,

I think my LO is going through that 4 month regression!!! :( we had 14 nights of full nights sleeps it was heaven! I was like yes we have cracked this.. now the past 5 nights the middle of the night wakings have begun again! I mean middle middle talking 2am ish!! :(

Had vaccinations and it’s been all down hill from there! Anyone else experience anything like this???

Yep, a month of waking every 2 hours or more often! The last few days have improved though so it does end.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Pocos it's probably one of the worst sleep regressions of all but if you can crack it, you actually set them up to have good habits and make any further ones a wee bit easier!!it does end, promise!

With my little fella it was the opposite. He got his vaccinations last week (@4.5 months) and that was the first night of better sleep.

We went through 5 weeks of constant waking but the last 2 weeks shes sleeping through again. Complete torture.

Well at least we aren’t the only ones! I just can’t believe it! We had 2 weeks of a lovely routine and it’s just gone! Those aches and constant slight headache are back from lack of sleep... :(:(:(

Any advice on how to improve on it? Or do we need to just ride it out? I suppose I should be thankful it’s only once a night but she could be up 2 hours!!! She barely lasts 2 hours between naps during the morning...

OSI wrote: »
    Heh, snap! Went from full nights sleep (bliss) to waking up a couple of times a night and needing a lot consoling to get back to sleep. Also changed the day he got his vaccines. I remember after the 2 month one's he had really bad wind from the Rotavirus vaccine, so I think it's tied to that.

Funny you should mention wind as that’s what wakes her at night! Trying to pass wind! I wonder is there anything you could do to help???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Oh thank God I'm not the only one. She has been waking during the night for the past week or so, which has been very difficult because she was sleeping through the night from about 5 weeks on!

What works for us is swaddling her up again and turning her onto her side. Not recommending this for any of ye but, in our case, this helps her to drop off again. I am not keen on giving her a bottle as its not a habit i want her to get into.

Any advice on moving her into bigger cot? She's still in moses basket, about to burst out of it, but her big brother is only ready to move out of his cot now. She really sleeps better when she's swaddled but with the wriggling its not as easy now. Would a sleep sack work?

heldel00 wrote: »
    Oh thank God I'm not the only one. She has been waking during the night for the past week or so, which has been very difficult because she was sleeping through the night from about 5 weeks on!

What works for us is swaddling her up again and turning her onto her side. Not recommending this for any of ye but, in our case, this helps her to drop off again. I am not keen on giving her a bottle as its not a habit i want her to get into.

Any advice on moving her into bigger cot? She's still in moses basket, about to burst out of it, but her big brother is only ready to move out of his cot now. She really sleeps better when she's swaddled but with the wriggling its not as easy now. Would a sleep sack work?

Based on what I’ve read it’s developmental because there is so much going on around 4 months so I’m just riding it out.

We did move him from the cosleeper to the cot about a month ago because he outgrew the cosleeper and kept hitting the sides but it didn’t make a difference with the sleeping. I still have the cot side-carred onto the bed so its just a big cosleeper.

This article helped me https://sarahockwell-smith.com/2013/08/29/help-my-4-5-month-old-is-sleeping-like-a-newborn-again-aka-as-the-4-5-month-old-babies-from-hell/amp/

heldel00 wrote: »

It is nice to hear it’s not just you!!! Our little one wakes with dirty nappies so we need to change them is our problem :(

Do ye keep track of the leaps with the app, tis nearly spot on... Herself is mad sticking out her tongue now she is like a little lizard...

How are all the babies handling this heat.. We have moved herself into a travel cot in our own room as the heat in her own room is mad.. 23.6 tonight (must say the gro egg is great) She seems to be spewing an awful lot more in the last few days too which I am putting down to just being off with the heat..