Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

farming bargains / deals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Muckit wrote: »
    My father never had or used one of them. Twas all ms barbed wire then. Make a loop and lever it tight with crow bar. Drive staples in til they newrly came out the orher side of the stake!! :D plenty of silage pits made in the corner of the field and had to be fenced off every year!!

I did a stint then one summer with a professional contractor. Had to unlearn all the 'bad' habits and picked up some new tricks.

When u are using Ht wire and have proper strainers, a chain wire strainer is a necessity IMO. I love fencing, always did. Have 2 hayes wire strainers. They were expensive but thry will do any fenci g l have to do and hopefully (please God) lll pass them on down to one of my lads. I still have the oul lads crowbar! But it's only used now to make holes!

Hide them for some h##re will borrow them and not bring back as they did with mine and now I have to borrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Have a Haynes strainer here, must be 25 years old, an absolute gift putting up wire, there's something oddly satisfying about fencing, there's no better job about the farm than putting up a good fence on a fine sunny day. The strainer will leave wire singing.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Have a Haynes strainer here, must be 25 years old, an absolute gift putting up wire, there's something oddly satisfying about fencing, there's no better job about the farm than putting up a good fence on a fine sunny day. The strainer will leave wire singing.

Same here, have a pair that are at least 20 years of age.
    Bought the second pair to make it easier to strain HT sheep wire more evenly.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,848 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Do they work with barbed wire too?

squinn2912 wrote: »

Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Lidl have a new range of power tools with interchangeable batteries in next Thursday. Cordless angle grinder for 40, impact driver for 30 and sabre saw for 35.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,927 ✭✭✭enricoh

Lidl have a new range of power tools with interchangeable batteries in next Thursday. Cordless angle grinder for 40, impact driver for 30 and sabre saw for 35.

Got there Parkside cordless a few years ago, charge battery for an hour, lasts about 2 minutes putting in corrugated sheets. I'd read reviews first

• Registered Users Posts: 6,138 ✭✭✭emaherx

enricoh wrote: »
    Got there Parkside cordless a few years ago, charge battery for an hour, lasts about 2 minutes putting in corrugated sheets. I'd read reviews first

Had it ni-cad or lithium ion batteries?

• Registered Users Posts: 38 5 wheel drive

Any good Black Friday deals out there??

• Registered Users Posts: 21,500 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Here is one from Boards today. A DeWalt 18V drill for €209

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057931784

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭invicta

squinn2912 wrote: »

A brilliant tool!

And the safest way to bring down a cranky tree is with a long rope, hayes straner, and a long chain secoured around a solid anchor!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,848 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Looking to buy a cattle weigh bridge. Where is the best value to be got? I spoke to a guy from O’Neills 18 months ago butgot no further. Overpaid a loan and got some money back so that’s what I’m going to put it into.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Screwfix.ie are having a sale on Milwaukee gear

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

ganmo wrote: »
    Screwfix.ie are having a sale on Milwaukee gear

Went on line there and says nothing about a sale. Was it just for Saturday?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Went on line there and says nothing about a sale. Was it just for Saturday?

Ah feck it's toolfix.ie not screwfix sorry

ganmo wrote: »
    Ah feck it's toolfix.ie not screwfix sorry

You just cost me over €500. SDS hammer drill, a jig saw and small bits and pieces.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,449 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

You just cost me over €500. SDS hammer drill, a jig saw and small bits and pieces.

Oh yeah like it's HIS fault

• Registered Users Posts: 11,165 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Mitchells in Tullamore were €100 cheaper than them for a 180amp welder last week.

wrangler wrote: »
    Mitchells in Tullamore were €100 cheaper than them for a 180amp welder last week.

I had the exact items already priced on-line and in 2 stores, one local, one northern Ireland. €80 of a saving. Not massive saving but its still approx 15% so I'll take it

Reggie. wrote: »
    Oh yeah like it's HIS fault

Well I'll have to blame someone when herself see the new kit.
    I fell in with a bad crowd (boardies), i was led astray by older kids, etc etc.
    God forbid I'd have to take responsibility for my own action.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,449 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Yeah like that will ever happen. It doesn't work btw.....I tried it

• Registered Users Posts: 11,165 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I had the exact items already priced on-line and in 2 stores, one local, one northern Ireland. €80 of a saving. Not massive saving but its still approx 15% so I'll take it

Just after pricing mine online in mitchells at 466 +vat,
    I paid 280 inc vat and HD CABLES

https://www.mitchellsindustrial.ie/pages/bakery/jasic-arc-180-dual-voltage-inverter-mma-1824.php

Can't beat being at teh counter obviously

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

I would'nt pay anything over €300 for an 180amp stick welder, not unless you're using it every day or you intend to burn 4mm rods.
    Look for duty cycle, that's the biggest clue into how much quality is in the machine.
    The above welder can be got for less than €400 inc VAT just type the name into google.

I've bought a few Milwaukee tools recently, most of then i bought on ebay off of US sellers, even when you factor in delivery and import charges it works out much cheaper than anywhere in Ireland or the UK, the only downside is if something goes wrong it's covered under warranty in the US and not Europe so i don't know how that would work out.
    Any online store here is charging twice the price for the same tools, madness.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭The Rabbi

Do you think that you are employed by the government?In charge of all things important,but not responsible for any of your obvious fook ups.

The Rabbi wrote: »
    Do you think that you are employed by the government?In charge of all things important,but not responsible for any of your obvious fook ups.

Its my dream job. Someday i will be a civil servant...

Lidl have wheel-barrow wheels in stock at the moment, 9.99 for complete rim (plastic) two ply tyre and tube.
    No bearings in those plastic rims, but could be worth a try.
    last time I bought a tube in our local tyre place, he charged me 8 euro!

They also have "O" ring sets for 2.99, might get you out of a fix some evening..

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Alfie1

This might be of interest to some of the locals, VAT amount off in Atkins Bandon this week in the Farm Shop, see attachment for full details:

PSX_20190410_165930.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,138 ✭✭✭emaherx

https://www.groupon.ie/deals/timbertech-hydraulic-workshop-press

Not sure about quality but could be hand for small jobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Was quoted 300 for a scales for the lambs so took a punt on this crane scale on Amazon for £80 delivered and it's worked a treat for the first day out. Hopefully it will stay weighing true.

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭richie123

Was quoted 300 for a scales for the lambs so took a punt on this crane scale on Amazon for £80 delivered and it's worked a treat for the first day out. Hopefully it will stay weighing true.

Looks a good job.