Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭buzzinfly83

Bluemallon wrote: »
    Waterford AI minor champs 2013 AI U21 champs 2016. With 7 off those 2 panels on the current senior panel . Beating Galway in both finals , would say they have no fear for Sunday week.

This is true but I don't see it having a big bearing in the final. I doubt either team will be afraid of the other in this game and will go down to who's better on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I wonder will Ed Sheeran send a message showing his support for the Galway team ???

That's motivation for Waterford there lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭MfMan

If Ed promised to retire from singing and move to a Tibetan monastery should Galway win, it would be cast-iron motivation.

What on earth was Cummins talking about last night regarding the way he lined up his predicted Waterford 15 ??? It was named arseways Philip Mahony in the forwards ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

PTH2009 wrote: »
    What on earth was Cummins talking about last night regarding the way he lined up his predicted Waterford 15 ??? It was named arseways Philip Mahony in the forwards ???

He's a big fan of ...........himself :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Motivator wrote: »
    I think people dismissing Waterford's chances haven't got the first clue what they're talking about. Twice today I had people tell me Falway would win because "everyone is tipping them. Waterford can't beat them".

It's a myth that there's loads of people dismissing Waterford's chances. Most neutrals I know are either 50-50 or maybe leaning slightly towards Galway, and most of us Galway supporters see Waterford as presenting a major challenge.

I can see why the bookies would have Galway as favourites but to me this one could go either way and I don't think anyone would be overly shocked if it's Waterford walking up the steps of The Hogan on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Tickets got pressure off I can enjoy the build up now without the stress of maybe having to drive the country next Friday/Saturday to get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

What chances we'll see "plan b" on Sunday? Think its the first time a long wait will end since they banned the pitch invasions, in hurling anyway

aidan24326 wrote: »
    It's a myth that there's loads of people dismissing Waterford's chances. Most neutrals I know are either 50-50 or maybe leaning slightly towards Galway, and most of us Galway supporters see Waterford as presenting a major challenge.

I can see why the bookies would have Galway as favourites but to me this one could go either way and I don't think anyone would be overly shocked if it's Waterford walking up the steps of The Hogan on Sunday.

I suppose it's the margin the bookies have Galway to win by. They are 1/2 on the last time I checked. That would sway a lot of peoples opinions. I think most people see at as close game with the majority of them giving Galway the nod to win it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

I suppose it's the margin the bookies have Galway to win by. They are 1/2 on the last time I checked. That would sway a lot of peoples opinions. I think most people see at as close game with the majority of them giving Galway the nod to win it.

That's simply because the majority of people don't understand odds and how to interpret them, even at 1/2 the odds still say that Waterford will win 33% of the time, which sounds about right to me, the handicap has been set at 3 points, again not exactly dismissive as some would have you believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭cascade12

danganabu wrote: »
    That's simply because the majority of people don't understand odds and how to interpret them, even at 1/2 the odds still say that Waterford will win 33% of the time, which sounds about right to me, the handicap has been set at 3 points, again not exactly dismissive as some would have you believe.
    Paddy Power odds Galway 1/2, Draw 9/1 and Waterford 9/4. Implied probability percentage from that equates to Galway 66.7%, Draw 10% and Waterford 30.8%. Which when added up comes to 107.5%, the 7.5% being the Bookmaker profit on a balanced book.

Decent odds for anybody thinking about having a bet on Waterford. Great value in a two horse race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Decent odds for anybody thinking about having a bet on Waterford. Great value in a two horse race.

Absolutely. If you have any belief that Waterford could win in a tight game then there's some value to be had. I backed Galway at 7/1 to win the AI just before the league final with Tipp, so I'm hoping that nothing of the sort happens, and that Galway had it sown up by half-time!

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Bluemallon

Absolutely. If you have any belief that Waterford could win in a tight game then there's some value to be had. I backed Galway at 7/1 to win the AI just before the league final with Tipp, so I'm hoping that nothing of the sort happens, and that Galway had it sown up by half-time!

What planet are you living on. There's one bet that's not coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,915 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

He mentioned two bets there. One where Waterford win and another where Galway do. Which one is the stupid one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,915 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

He mentioned two bets there. One where Waterford win and another where Galway do. Which one is the stupid one?

My comment is not aimed at the bets but him hoping Galway has game wrapped up by half time, hence his bet won't be coming in.

I've Galway backed to win the AI, at a lovely 7/1. Not to have it won by half-time. I'm hoping it is all done and dusted by half-time, so I can enjoy my bottle of 7UP during the second half instead of trying to chew the bottle cap.

Exactly what planet are you living on ????

And you could still get 7/1 on Galway AFTER the league final on Bet365.

If I had a healthy bank balance there was an obvious bet and lay option there as the rest cut it to joint/outright favourites after that game.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

For the good of the game I hope galway win and derek can go and join mickey harte under the blanket.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 jkiamasnake

What planet are YOU living on!! He has already explained that he has bet that Galway will win. He's just hoping the game will be over as a contest by half time. What's not to understand - or are you just too stupid to understand it?!

dubcat51 wrote: »
    For the good of the game I hope galway win and derek can go and join mickey harte under the blanket.

Sorry Dub we are talking hurling here light years ahead of your boring HANDball. Un like Tyrone can't yOU see we have perfected the sweeper game.

And you could still get 7/1 on Galway AFTER the league final on Bet365.

If I had a healthy bank balance there was an obvious bet and lay option there as the rest cut it to joint/outright favourites after that game.

Ya, but the thing is that I'm happy enough to had Galway backed at the price. Gave me a great summer of excitement so far. I'd be following them anyway. Laying it off just before the Tipperary game, or taking 'value' on the margins of Cork/Waterford might appeal to degenerate gamblers, but I'm happy enough to have surfed the wave with a monkey riding on next Sunday.

Please please please don't be a draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Cake Man

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Please please please don't be a draw
    I know what you mean with regards to another scramble for tickets, more money being forked out etc. but to be fair, if it's the 72nd minute and we're down by 3pts and are awarded a penalty, you'd be praying to every and any god up there to let the net ripple! pacman.gif

What planet are YOU living on!! He has already explained that he has bet that Galway will win. He's just hoping the game will be over as a contest by half time. What's not to understand - or are you just too stupid to understand it?!

So sorry you'll be dissapointed Sid

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Sorry Dub we are talking hurling here light years ahead of your boring HANDball. Un like Tyrone can't yOU see we have perfected the sweeper game.
    So sorry you'll be dissapointed Sid

Some sort of system error in progress here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Your village need you back asap .........

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Person registers a weeks before the All-Ireland and starts posting patent nonsense and people still fall for it. Interesting....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Best of luck to both teams on Sunday. I've no affiliation to either county so I'll be watching as a true neutral, here's hoping for a classic that's still in the melting pot come the 70th minute.

Laying it off just before the Tipperary game, or taking 'value' on the margins of Cork/Waterford might appeal to degenerate gamblers.

Surely this would be the exact opposite of a degenerate gambler??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

How are ye finding the ticket hunt this year? I got one in upper hogan but it's not great. Seems to be big demand.

• Registered Users Posts: 580 ✭✭✭puzl

Have mine in my hand since this afternoon. Was really starting to panic... The guy I got it off said he has never seen so many neutrals interested in going to croker on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭timmyjimmy

Any sound neutrals out there willing to sell a ticket to a Waterford/Galway couple?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

There's no such things as a bad ticket for this one I'd say.

danganabu wrote: »
    Surely this would be the exact opposite of a degenerate gambler??

I think he took me up wrong anyway.

What I meant was you were able to take the 7/1 AFTER the league final and you could have layed it off immediately as the true odds were much lower.

There was a window to make immediate profit immediately after the match on B365 as they left the AI odds up while PP etc had already cut Galway by then.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭spideyman92

There's no such things as a bad ticket for this one I'd say.

Sister was telling me she was talking to a lad who told her he had tickets in his hand for section 336 in the Hogan and they weren't good enough for him so he wouldn't take them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Stuck for a ticket and getting nervous. If anyone has any spares I'd gratefully hoover them up!

Huge neutral interest around the country, and a lot of football people seem to have been caught up with the hype also.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

The closer this game gets the more confident I'm getting. Because of waterfords system it means we will end up having a sweeper aswell and fortunately for us Aidan Harte is brilliant in this role so their sweeper doesn't worry me at all.

The main reason I'm confident is I just think we have significantly better forwards who will be much more capable of taking the chances that come their way, ultimately this will be the difference. Added to this Waterford haven't come up against a backline anywhere near as strong as ours all year so I think they'll find scores hard to come by on Sunday.

The one thing we have struggled with this year is scoring goals but when you have forwards good enough to hit 25+ points every day they go out goals take on less of an importance so we may not even need one Sunday.

I also think Conor Gleeson is a huge loss as he would have been ear marked to follow Joe everywhere so now they need to find another solution to try to contain his influence.

Galway by 6.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Moggy13

The closer this game gets the more confident I'm getting. Because of waterfords system it means we will end up having a sweeper aswell and fortunately for us Aidan Harte is brilliant in this role so their sweeper doesn't worry me at all.

The main reason I'm confident is I just think we have significantly better forwards who will be much more capable of taking the chances that come their way, ultimately this will be the difference. Added to this Waterford haven't come up against a backline anywhere near as strong as ours all year so I think they'll find scores hard to come by on Sunday.

The one thing we have struggled with this year is scoring goals but when you have forwards good enough to hit 25+ points every day they go out goals take on less of an importance so we may not even need one Sunday.

I also think Conor Gleeson is a huge loss as he would have been ear marked to follow Joe everywhere so now they need to find another solution to try to contain his influence.

Galway by 6.

Galway haven't come up against a backline as strong as Waterfords either though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,113 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Just looking at Galway's record in finals, they've lost 19 finals and only won 4 times not to mention losing their last 6. That's one awful record. Unlikely to have any bearing on Sunday against Waterford but sometimes tradition can get into the psyche.

Still looking for tickets myself, think my best bet would be outside quinns on Sunday.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Just looking at Galway's record in finals, they've lost 19 finals and only won 4 times not to mention losing their last 6. That's one awful record. Unlikely to have any bearing on Sunday against Waterford but sometimes tradition can get into the psyche.

Still looking for tickets myself, think my best bet would be outside quinns on Sunday.

Since joining Leinster,it has been the turning point for Galway hurling as far as experience and tactical nous has been concerned.Up to this it was a semifinal to be ready for which always had a huge element of surprise for any team playing Galway.
    Invariably Galway caught most opposition by surprise but with only one game played before the final lack of game time,match cuteness and the ability to weather any bad 5 or ten minute spell would led to panic and doubt would set in.Also performances wise Galway had to be at 110% fitness wise and intensity for a semi which would always lead to a drop off in the finals they contested.
    So been in Leinster has now given Galway the game time to realise that they can trust in themselves with thier fitness,tactics and coaching ability to belief in themselves to win sticky matches as the last 3 semis have proved a point either way.Coens pass the Canning against tipp shows the difference between now and then,belief and confidence to trust each other's ability.

Tyson Fury wrote: »

To be fair those stats are somewhat skewed by the period when they were outside of Leinster and straight into a semi each year. And since then they have been unlucky to face the greatest team ever in two of those finals and the only one that I would consider that they probably should have won was the 2001 final against a bang average Tipp team (albeit excellently managed).

Even if events the majority of which took place before any of this years team were to have any effect, its not as if Waterford exactly have a great record either, they have been in far less finals and have lost 66% of those they were in.

If either team was playing one of the traditional big three then yes it might play some minor psychological part but the truth is that both counties are in a similar space in that regard.

With the exception of Limerick and Dublin every other top tier county has won at least one AI since either of this years finalists took top honours, it really is piss or get off the pot for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Sister was telling me she was talking to a lad who told her he had tickets in his hand for section 336 in the Hogan and they weren't good enough for him so he wouldn't take them.

He doesn't deserve one at all with that attitude!

aidan24326 wrote: »
    He doesn't deserve one at all with that attitude!

He will have a grand seat on a barstool where he can pontificate about how he was a better hurler that any of them lads until he got a bad injury......you know the type :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I don't mind who wins Sunday, love see Waterford do it as they been great value and they had some great Hurlers past 20 years who sadly never won a AI, but then you have a player like Joe Canning and one greatest players still missing that AI medal.

I just think Galway will have too much and don't forget Cork were on top of Waterford for much the game till silly individual mistakes. Can't see Galway doing that and as easy to do it over like Cork did.

Galway by 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

I am getting nervous now (Galway man) but it should be a cracking final. I really see it as a 50/50 game, despite the odds, because anything can happen in a final. They are 2 fine teams. And we must remember that Waterford almost put Galway out of the league competition just a few months ago.

I am still marked with how flat Galway were in the 2nd half of the 2015 All Ireland final. God only knows what went on in the dressing room at half time.

I actually expect a sending off or two on Sunday. I hope not but with all that power in defence, something has to give!

It's funny to see so many use the minor final of 2013 as some kind of barometer for this game.

Looking over both teams there's not half as many involved than there was in the semi final of 2009 which Galway won handily.

From those teams I count 6 and 5 from the starting teams who are prominent squad members... the only anomaly is D.Glennon who's appearances have diminished as of this year but he's still knocking around.

That game has as much bearing as 2013 though.. slim to none.
    The majority of both sets of players have under age titles and have played against each other winning them.

Development or lack thereof between minor and senior kills that fact line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,269 ✭✭✭threeball

Galway are the better balanced team. Most teams have an excellent forward line but inferior backs or vice versa but theres very few teams that have a very strong back and forward 6. If Galway get over the line, as I expect them to, l believe they could become a serious force in hurling over the next few years. They remind me a little of kk in the early part of this decade.