Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Galway deserving winners.

Waterford's older lads got very tired, and Austin Gleeson decided to behave like a petulant child for the last 20 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Apologising for Hanbury lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Well done Galway.

I know there were only 3 points in it but it never really looked like Waterford were going to win, the match felt more like a 8 or 9 point winning margin than 3 points.

Feel sorry for Austin Gleeson, he's a great player but on the biggest day of his career he was very poor, he had zero impact on the game at all and that last free from him was just a completely stupid thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

Well done Galway. Waterford have no one to blame but themselves some horrible wides.

They always seem to hit a lot of wides

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Donoghue dropped the F bomb on Radio one... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭blackcard

Galway a young team and winners of minor today and 2015. They should be around for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,541 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Big turning point was Morans wide. Very deserved for Galway, thought they'd be a bit more comfortable today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Way the better team,even though the score line made it look tighter,Galway abu

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Well done Galway.

I know there were only 3 points in it but it never really looked like Waterford were going to win, the match felt more like a 8 or 9 point winning margin than 3 points.

Feel sorry for Austin Gleeson, he's a great player but on the biggest day of his career he was very poor, he had zero impact on the game at all and that last free from him was just a completely stupid thing to do.

I don't have much sympathy for him. Shouldn't have been there in the first place.

Delighted for Galway, a very solid side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,251 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Just pressed the mute button for the speech.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,025 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Joe Canning is some gentleman, out on the field with the Keady family instead of up with the the lads in the stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,397 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I know it's 29 years but could be they not thank waterford ?

Could happen to a bishop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Itssoeasy wrote: »

He'll get there eventually. This could go on for a while, I wouldn't rule out a poem yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

F*cking disgraceful behaviour.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,178 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Hon Galway.

• Site Banned Posts: 103 ✭✭UncleAlbert00

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Give him a chance FFS!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭blackcard

Is there anyone he hasn't thanked?

Joe Canning is some gentleman, out on the field with the Keady family instead of up with the the lads in the stand.

He definitely is,lovely gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

He might as well thank the Atlantic while he is at it... Fair play hahaha

Michael D. really is a deadly looking President!!

Jaysus, Coppers will be shut by the time he finishes.

He'll get there eventually. This could go on for a while, I wouldn't rule out a poem yet.

This is like the golden cleric award ceremony speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭klose

Well deserved Galway, joe canning has his celtic cross at last. This is some speech christ almighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

This is one long speech.... I wonder will he be finished by 6pm for the RTÉ news :D

Well done Galway!

He will be thanking the Papa John's Pizza delivery man shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

And now, on to the liars...

blackcard wrote: »
    Is there anyone he hasn't thanked?
    He hasn't thanked the parish priest yet.

It's just not the same when the crowd aren't on the pitch.

Bullsh1t from the GAA!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I hate that 'Three cheers for.....' bollox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Fine speech to be fair. Lot of pain for Galway hurling in the last few decades. They deserve to drag this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,954 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

And the Saw Doctors at the end to top it all off! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Am I the only person he hasn't thanked yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭LENNY86

Its never complete without complete without the sawdoctors

It's just not the same when the crowd aren't on the pitch.

Bullsh1t from the GAA!

Rubbish. The players, the people who break their bollox to get there, can actually enjoy it without the fans on their pitch and aren’t sprinting for the sidelines to get off it as soon as the final whistle goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,780 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Jesus ye're a miserable shower, will ye let him say his piece he's well earned it!

Mars Bar wrote: »
    And the Saw Doctors at the end to top it all off! :D

The M17 coming soon:D

I hate that 'Three cheers for.....' bollox

Yeah, I always feel a large applause would be more appropriate. Imagine listening to that as a Waterford player

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Congrats to Galway they were 6 or 7 points the better team today and it looks like the best team they beat was Tipp.

Commiserations to the Decie who are a sterling bunch of lads but let there be no doubt the finest side in the land in 2017 have won the All Ireland. Congratulations to Galway. Great performance

keane2097 wrote: »
    Jesus ye're a miserable shower, will ye let him say his piece he's well earned it!

I think posters are just having a joke! I don't see anyone begrudging it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

What choons had Croke park lined up if Waterford had won?

myshirt wrote: »
    And now, on to the liars...
    I see some familiar faces in the crowd, some welcome, some not so welcome.

jojofizzio wrote: »

Crystal Swing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

A bit of Brendan Bowyer, Hucklebuck most likely

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,338 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I think it's great the fans stay in their seats, it really does give the Players a chance to enjoy it and go around the pitch with their family, kids, wives, dad's etc

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I think it's great the fans stay in their seats, it really does give the Players a chance to enjoy it and go around the pitch with their family, kids, wives, dad's etc

It may be safer which is obviously the main benefit of it but it lacks the insanity and passion of the pitch invasion days, very sedate way to end the year in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

MC Pat Flynn

A bit of Brendan Bowyer, Hucklebuck most likely

In that case, Thank **** Waterford didn't win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

It may be safer which is obviously the main benefit of it but it lacks the insanity and passion of the pitch invasion days, very sedate way to end the year in my opinion.

Plus it looks fairly miserable to have the stewards holding up the blue netting in front of the fans.