Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trevor Deely - Second Man

• 14-04-2017 5:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭

I appreciate that there have been two threads locked on this case in recent times but I think the more discussion the better when it comes to unsolved cases such as these. Mods will take their own view but hopefully we can keep up the attention on this case.

I saw this on youtube and am completely baffled. It seems like there were actually two men at the gate of BOIAM, not just the one highlighted by the Gardai recently after the enhanced footage was released. This is based on the original CCTV footage which was included in the Donal McIntyre documentary last year. He incorrectly assumes the second man is Trevor but when you look at it in light of the enhanced footage and time stamps etc. you can see that it's clearly not. The video below explains it all better than I can and would encourage people to look at it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7Iv4rCw9I4

I'm really puzzled and can't understand how something so potentially significant seems to have been missed here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I find it baffling that the guards couldn't put together a video like this guy's

He's used Google Street View to show the front of the building where the CCTV footage was taken, and followed the path on Google Maps. Was it really beyond the capabilities of the Gardaí to put together something like this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Why don't they show where the mib went too after Trevor went in?

Or the second mib?

Which direction did they walk?

If you look through that video above, he draws a line through the locations where the cameras were and the full path to Trevor's apartment. I cant work out exactly where camera 3 is though.

Below is a link to the Trevor's work place on Google Street View, where the first two CCTV cameras are. You can do the full walk down to Ballsbridge and follow the path that he would have taken.
    https://www.instantstreetview.com/@53.332492,-6.252011,314.06h,-6.24p,1z

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

This is a really important development that has been completely missed. The Garda handling of this video is pathetic.
    They have missed a second man waiting outside the BIAM building in the pouring rain at 3:45 am. As a previous poster has asked above - why couldn't the Guards put together a clear and explanatory video with clear timelines.

What a bunch. Poor Trevor's family. The frustration must be immense.

If you look through that video above, he draws a line through the locations where the cameras were and the full path to Trevor's apartment. I cant work out exactly where camera 3 is though.

Below is a link to the Trevor's work place on Google Street View, where the first two CCTV cameras are. You can do the full walk down to Ballsbridge and follow the path that he would have taken.
    https://www.instantstreetview.com/@53.332492,-6.252011,314.06h,-6.24p,1z

Camera 3 is above the ATM on Harrington Road.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 T88

Camera 3 is from the the former BOI building on Baggot St Bridge-Haddington Rd, now Milanos Restaurant.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 T88

As Leroy Blevins stated in the two videos he made about TD- there's more to the story than we (the public) know, for now. The police are very tactical not releasing full footage, and cutting parts out (evidence). With the newly enhanced footage, the police may know now what happened to TD and why 'foul play' is suspected instead of an 'accident'.

The other thread has a photo with three people outside the gate

T88 wrote: »
    As Leroy Blevins stated in the two videos he made about TD- there's more to the story than we (the public) know, for now. The police are very tactical not releasing full footage, and cutting parts out (evidence). With the newly enhanced footage, the police may know now what happened to TD and why 'foul play' is suspected instead of an 'accident'.

Big assumption, I'm afraid. I doubt they know anything more than they have released - and what has been released is inadequate.
    The edited footage is misleading. For example, there is no logical reason for the final section of footage to be speeded up as it is. It distorts the gait of the man potentially following Trevor.
    The edited footage makes it look like there is only one 'man in black' and that's all they mentioned in the press conference when they released the footage.
    The reality we now know is there is 2. That's highly significant.

T88 wrote: »
    Camera 3 is from the the former BOI building on Baggot St Bridge-Haddington Rd, now Milanos Restaurant.

Oh okay, that makes sense. I know the area pretty well, I was in Milanos a while back. But I couldnt work out where the camera was.

As was said above, I think the guards have made a balls up of this case. It seems to me like they were not giving the whole story to the public for "operational reasons", and have ended up just leaving people confused. I think they have additional information that they are not releasing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭jenny smith

Another know all playing at being a cop when he does not have any access to what the garda  know and loves himself so much he has to have his face in front of the footage. He does not know that the guy was hiding from the cctv, that is speculation. Maybe he had his head down as people do in the rain

In another vide he claims trevor was not taken by car because the umbrella would be crushed and there would be pieces on the ground. He says that as fact but he does not know if the people who may have taken him in  car may have first taken the umbrella and folded it and taken it. They would be more likely to if they had planned to taken him to also take the the umbrella as in a planned scenario they would not mwant to leave evidence. What a muppet.

The big deal about how long he took to walk between cameras. maybe he was drunk and stumbled. maybe he had to urinate. He also claims to know where trevor would have been taken if taken by car. Not in areas of embassys as there would be cameras he says. But he does not know if there was a cctv camera in the area he claims was safe to take him. How could he know all the cctv cameras that were in dublin 17 years ago? It is pure bs speculation

Link removed -wrong thread

In another vide he claims trevor was not taken by car because the umbrella would be crushed and there would be pieces on the ground.

While I agree that he certainly took a number of leaps of faith with regard to the actions of the guys on the CCTV and other things, I think overall he has made a decent contribution. I mean this is the first time that I'm actually aware of where the building is, and the location of the two cameras in relation to each other. Also he went to the effort of drawing the path on a map.

As I said above, I am just baffled as to how something like this was not put together in 2001. Obviously google earth/map were not available then, but it would have been sooo useful if they had walked the path Trevor took with a camera, and shown the route he would have taken on a map.

A lot more than leaps of faith. He tries to claim he knows where all cctv camera were in dublin 17 years ago. He could not know that. Building a theory on such a claim is laughable. You do not know if the garda did something like that or not or walked the route with a camera or not. They do not tell what they do for operational reasons. They would have had pros not an amateur / narcissist playing a being a cop

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭justo

Can we return to the OP?

Why has the person that seems to be wearing glasses (McIntyre mistakenly thinks he is TD leaving the gate) not been identified?

If he has been identified, has he been questioned? He stood beside the MIB so surely he would have interesting things to say?

If he was an employee of the BOIAM why was he there? Where was he before? If he was at the party, he was essentially with TD, as he arrived just 2 minutes later. What are the chances of 2 employees leaving a xmas party and going to the office at the same time, at that time of the night? Does this shed new light on why TD went to the office?

Why are the Garda not drawing any attention to the guy in glasses?

I think Leroy Blevin has made a good contribution. He can only speculate but I think he provides good evidence for his stance. For example he gives good reason to think that the MIB in the 3rd camera is not the MIB at the gate which is at odds with the Garda position.

Another know all playing at being a cop when he does not have any access to what the garda  know and loves himself so much he has to have his face in front of the footage. He does not know that the guy was hiding from the cctv, that is speculation. Maybe he had his head down as people do in the rain

In another vide he claims trevor was not taken by car because the umbrella would be crushed and there would be pieces on the ground. He says that as fact but he does not know if the people who may have taken him in  car may have first taken the umbrella and folded it and taken it. They would be more likely to if they had planned to taken him to also take the the umbrella as in a planned scenario they would not mwant to leave evidence. What a muppet.

The big deal about how long he took to walk between cameras. maybe he was drunk and stumbled. maybe he had to urinate. He also claims to know where trevor would have been taken if taken by car. Not in areas of embassys as there would be cameras he says. But he does not know if there was a cctv camera in the area he claims was safe to take him. How could he know all the cctv cameras that were in dublin 17 years ago? It is pure bs speculation

How can anyone looking at this (including the Gardai) do anything but speculate? Blevin speculated, for example, that the MIB was hiding his face from the cameras for the first 30 mins at camera 1 and later at camera 2, by locating himself behind the pillar. Belvin was speculating based on his read of the evidence in from of him... he was deducing. What else can people do?

The gardai will be speculating from a position where they have many more facts than blevin. he does not know weverthing and thegrdai do not release all info. I would put mcintyre inthe same position laughable with his 'team'

But Blevins called out McIntyre for mistaking the man in glasses as TD leaving. All Blevins has is the video stills and CCTV. I thought it was interesting that he said the MIB was not the same person following (if he was being followed) TD in the last CCTV footage. Blevins picked up clues from the comparison of the two images. Food for thought at the very least.

@jennysmith - was the MIB still at the gate when TD left the BOIAM? If so why is the fact he was loitering for close to an hour not publicised? If he was not, how long after TD entered the BOIAM, did the MIB leave?

What is the purpose of the Gardai leaving this gap in information?

Why is all the CCTV footage rolling except the part with the man in glasses?

What are your views on this?

But Blevins called out McIntyre for mistaking the man in glasses as TD leaving. All Blevins has is the video stills and CCTV. I thought it was interesting that he said the MIB was not the same person following (if he was being followed) TD in the last CCTV footage. Blevins picked up clues from the comparison of the two images. Food for thought at the very least.

@jennysmith - was the MIB still at the gate when TD left the BOIAM? If so why is the fact he was loitering for close to an hour not publicised? If he was not, how long after TD entered the BOIAM, did the MIB leave?

What is the purpose of the Gardai leaving this gap in information?

Why is all the CCTV footage rolling except the part with the man in glasses?

What are your views on this?
    I did not see all of blevins or any mcintyre so did not know about mistaking the man in glasses as TD leaving. Bleveins is a pain to watch. His claim to know where trevor would have been taken as there were no cameras -plus the umbrella claims-shows enough of his thinking. His does not know where all the cctv camera in dublin were 17 years ago.
    I have seen mcintyre before and do not consider him worth watching. A news paper report said he had nothing new
    I do not know what you mean by why the cctv is rolling in most parts. I imagine the problems with it is it is old vhs cctv. a lotof cctv even today is very poor. A supermarket i go to has a monitor over the checkout where the movements of people on it are all jerky. in 2017.
    I do not know about the MIB. My thinking re gardai is they are very careful what they put into the public domain. Somethings are always held back. One reason is in case of people falsely confessing. The garda want to see if the person has all the info. There could be any number of reasons -including possible legal reasons- why gardai do what they do and they do not share their information with the public and with people like blevin

@justo If you tell me where in the video McIntyre  mentions the man in glasses as TD leaving  I will have a look. Not going to watch all of mcintyre and his silly egotistic nonsesnse about how wonderful he is. i looked at some of mcintyre .donal and his team of "unrivaled specialist investigators".lol.how many times does he need to say "my cold case team" and "my experts. he is well matched with blevins - two insufferable clowns.

@justo If you tell me where in the video McIntyre  mentions the man in glasses as TD leaving  I will have a look. Not going to watch all of mcintyre and his silly egotistic nonsesnse about how wonderful he is

@justo see screenshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

The man in glasses (mistakenly identified as Trevor in the McIntyre doc) and the man with the umbrella are both identified as Trevor's colleagues. It is only the MiB by the side of the gate that the Gardai are hoping to identify.

The colleague was returning to collect a bag. He has been interviewed and reinterviewed, he has no recollection of the MiB and is quite distraught about it.

rawn wrote: »
    The man in glasses (mistakenly identified as Trevor in the McIntyre doc) and the man with the umbrella are both identified as Trevor's colleagues. It is only the MiB by the side of the gate that the Gardai are hoping to identify.
    where does he mistakenly identify the man in glasses as TD. I can't upload the screenshot. is the man in glasses the one on the left of screen?

I'm trying to post a link but it won't let me! There is a broadsheet article called "enhanced confusion" that clears it up.

@justo If you tell me where in the video McIntyre  mentions the man in glasses as TD leaving  I will have a look. Not going to watch all of mcintyre and his silly egotistic nonsesnse about how wonderful he is. i looked at some of mcintyre .donal and his team of "unrivaled specialist investigators".lol.how many times does he need to say "my cold case team" and "my experts. he is well matched with blevins - two insufferable clowns.

@justo If you tell me where in the video McIntyre  mentions the man in glasses as TD leaving  I will have a look. Not going to watch all of mcintyre and his silly egotistic nonsesnse about how wonderful he is

It's at the 22 minute mark here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vvOvkVb6jrM

Also pretty clearly explained here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWX1owMUA6E

I'm trying to post a link but it won't let me! There is a broadsheet article called "enhanced confusion" that clears it up.
    see this screenshot http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=22gqe&s=9

Something wrong with site cannot upload jpeg or quote

Yes - that is the man in glasses. Not TD as McIntyre claims.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭franciscurragh

I'm surprised that this thread is still here as there is a very active on the Trevor Deely case with more than 3000 posts and all of the issues raised here have been addressed there.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057729470

justo wrote: »

Yes - that is the man in glasses. Not TD as McIntyre claims.
    Oh I see now. i wondered why he was referencing TD when showing that clip. So hard to see i thought maybe was TD closing the gate. Thanks for the two links

thanks will check "enhanced confusion"

I'm surprised that this thread is still here as there is a very active on the Trevor Deely case with more than 3000 posts and all of the issues raised here have been addressed there.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057729470

I have read those threads but they don't focus on the topic of this thread in detail.

I did not see all of blevins or any mcintyre so did not know about mistaking the man in glasses as TD leaving. Bleveins is a pain to watch. His claim to know where trevor would have been taken as there were no cameras -plus the umbrella claims-shows enough of his thinking. His does not know where all the cctv camera in dublin were 17 years ago.
    I have seen mcintyre before and do not consider him worth watching. A news paper report said he had nothing new
    I do not know what you mean by why the cctv is rolling in most parts. I imagine the problems with it is it is old vhs cctv. a lotof cctv even today is very poor. A supermarket i go to has a monitor over the checkout where the movements of people on it are all jerky. in 2017.
    I do not know about the MIB. My thinking re gardai is they are very careful what they put into the public domain. Somethings are always held back. One reason is in case of people falsely confessing. The garda want to see if the person has all the info. There could be any number of reasons -including possible legal reasons- why gardai do what they do and they do not share their information with the public and with people like blevin

When I say 'rolling' I mean there are many frames and movement. The pic of the man in the glasses in just that - a pic. I'd love to know if the CCTV of the whole hour exists or not. Do the Gardai know when the MIB left the gate at camera 2?

All of the questions raised here have been covered on the other thread including the second person at the gate, the third person at the gate etc, Leroy's videos etc.

Of course, there are over 3000 posts in that thread and it's easier to start a new one...

When I say 'rolling' I mean there are many frames and movement. The pic of the man in the glasses in just that - a pic. I'd love to know if the CCTV of the whole hour exists or not. Do the Gardai know when the MIB left the gate at camera 2
    I understand rolling now. I do not know if the CCTV of the whole hour exists or not. I doubt very much everything was released.Gardai never do that. There is always something held back

I cannot see glasses on the man said to have them. i see what apears to be some sort of hat? A baseball cap with the peak sideways? Or also looks like a tam https://www.google.com/search?q=tam+hat&client=firefox-b&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiL4ITxzMTTAhXI6RQKHTmXDDAQ_AUICygC&biw=1280&bih=546&dpr=1.25#imgrc=v1Vo8STeeDSKTM:

Can anyone see that? Can anyone blow up the face in photoshop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Claonadh1 wrote:
    I saw this on youtube and am completely baffled. It seems like there were actually two men at the gate of BOIAM, not just the one highlighted by the Gardai recently after the enhanced footage was released. This is based on the original CCTV footage which was included in the Donal McIntyre documentary last year. He incorrectly assumes the second man is Trevor but when you look at it in light of the enhanced footage and time stamps etc. you can see that it's clearly not. The video below explains it all better than I can and would encourage people to look at it.

Claonadh1 wrote:
    I'm really puzzled and can't understand how something so potentially significant seems to have been missed here.

There is, in all probability, no significance whatsoever attaching to these images. The most likely cause of Trevor Deely's disappearance is drowning - whether by accident or design and without the involvement of any third party.

I agree. If TD felt threatened when leaving the bank why would he delay to zip up his jacket and then again to put up the umbrella? TD seems to stumble in the last shot. Did he have something other than tea in the bank and then fall in the canal?
    No one knows it was missed. Just because the gardai did not publish it does not mean it is importand. They may have reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,247 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I find it baffling that the guards couldn't put together a video like this guy's

He's used Google Street View to show the front of the building where the CCTV footage was taken, and followed the path on Google Maps. Was it really beyond the capabilities of the Gardaí to put together something like this??

I watched this yesterday and found it informative. i particularly liked how he stuck to what could see in front of him. It does look very suspicious when you see the guys hanging around outside. Do we know the significance of the email he went to check ??? They don't look like homeless people, and have a menacing look about them. I have no idea what happened. I hope his family find out soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Messengers

I watched this yesterday and found it informative. i particularly liked how he stuck to what could see in front of him. It does look very suspicious when you see the guys hanging around outside. Do we know the significance of the email he went to check ??? They don't look like homeless people, and have a menacing look about them. I have no idea what happened. I hope his family find out soon.
    What guys ? Two of them were work mates. Only one man in unaccounted for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Claonadh1

All of the questions raised here have been covered on the other thread including the second person at the gate, the third person at the gate etc, Leroy's videos etc.

Of course, there are over 3000 posts in that thread and it's easier to start a new one...

Just to clarify, this post was started after the second Trevor Deely thread had been locked in After Hours. So when the OP was posted, no thread was open.

The AH thread was subsequently re-opened and has by now addressed the points raised in my OP.

chicorytip wrote: »

I would have thought that too, but one of the most important points that this guy makes is about the mobile phone. The phone was live for SEVEN DAYS after he went missing. If Trevor had fallen in to the Canal, then the phone would have stopped responding immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Messengers

I would have thought that too, but one of the most important points that this guy makes is about the mobile phone. The phone was live for SEVEN DAYS after he went missing. If Trevor had fallen in to the Canal, then the phone would have stopped responding immediately.

No it wasn't.

Messengers wrote: »
    No it wasn't.

The sister was ringing it for seven days and leaving voicemails.

Could a moderator please close this thread as all of these issues have been discussed for the past two weeks on the main Trevor Deely thread?

The sister was ringing it for seven days and leaving voicemails.

She is unsure if it rang or not.

Okay, well the guy on the video was speaking pretty definitively about that, but maybe he's wrong. He stated categorically that the phone MUST have been on for seven days for it to ring, and that after seven days the calls went straight to voicemail which he took as an indication that the battery had died.

This thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057729470 has almost 4000 posts, is currently active and is up to date. There are a lot of mistakes on some of the videos that have been produced about this case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0812/896866-trevor-deely/

"Gardaí investigating the disappearance of Trevor Deely, who went missing almost 17 years ago, are carrying out a search in south Dublin.

The 22-year-old Bank of Ireland employee from Naas in Co Kildare was last seen in the Baggot Street Bridge area walking home from a Christmas party in December 2000.

Detectives from Pearse Street Garda Station have never closed the file on Mr Deely and hope this development will lead to a breakthrough in the case.

Last December, officers began a cold case review which included reviewing evidence gathered and looked at CCTV footage again.

Today a search will take place in south Dublin.

Mr Deely was last seen walking down Haddington Road, close to Baggot Street Bridge, in the early hours of 8 December 2000.

Numerous appeals for information over the years failed to establish what happened to him.

The Deely family have been notified of this latest development."