Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭raddo

Ford Focus 1.8 TDCI Estate NCT till Sep 2019 and Tax till May 2019
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-tdci-style/20804871
    Any opinions on this lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭1874

raddo wrote: »
    Ford Focus 1.8 TDCI Estate NCT till Sep 2019 and Tax till May 2019
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-tdci-style/20804871
    Any opinions on this lads?

1.8 TDCi, what were they like? I lost track, I think the TDDi were the older (more agricultural) engine, I presume at 08 this has dpf, any issues generally, looks like low tax, seems low enough miles and looks clean. Keep humming and hawing about changing my Octavia, its 01 so not sure what Id get for it, but till now gives no real problems, but if you can ask 500 for a 98 primera, maybe theres hope for me.
    Looked in the boot of one of these and plenty of space, with the seats downlooked nearly as big as my car.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Nice Honda CR-V II. 240k miles. 1 owner.

Great machines all year round. No DPF. Hydraulic clutch on the 4wd. 16" wheels so s better drive and cheap to buy a winter set of alloys.
    As I have done. Unstoppable in last March's snow.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2005-honda-crv-2-2-diesel/20789122

• Registered Users Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Many peeks but never posted. Here goes...
    https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/fiat-punto-elx-27-000-miles/20737475

'00 Punto, 1 owner, 27000 miles.

Surely worth a look

• Registered Users Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Decent looking Golf will probably be bought for close enough to €500

Taxed until the end of April, so still 3 and half months tax, and NCT until June
    Looks clean too, although front passenger wing looks sprayed

M2JjOWNmYTZlNDIxM2NmOTQwMWVjYjI2ZmZiMDg4MGaYkE2OfG1foE3uTBgDqX_xaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMTM1MzYyMzF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭gooner99

05 Civic, 6 months test, low mileage. Thoughts?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic-1-4l-petrol/20819622

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

gooner99 wrote: »
    05 Civic, 6 months test, low mileage. Thoughts?

https://www.donedeal.i...1-4l-petrol/20819622

Your link doesn’t work.

Ah, see you’ve fixed it

Grand for the money I suppose. Think johnboy used to say the gearboxes and power steering gave issues in them. They’ve aged terribly at first glance but they’re abound an awful long time when you think about it.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Your link doesn’t work.

Sorry. Fixed

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭Heiser

Your link doesn’t work.

Ah, see you’ve fixed it

Grand for the money I suppose. Think johnboy used to say the gearboxes and power steering gave issues in them. They’ve aged terribly at first glance but they’re abound an awful long time when you think about it.

Ah OK. Didn't know the issues. Looked clean and low mileage. The search goes on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Many peeks but never posted. Here goes...
    https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/fiat-punto-elx-27-000-miles/20737475

'00 Punto, 1 owner, 27000 miles.

Surely worth a look

Is it a wee bit young to be putting in the vintage section?

It may just be the way the sun is shining on it but in photo #1 it seems the offside front door is a different shade to the back door. If they are it may well just be cosmetic damage at some stage. Nonetheless it looks clean and I wouldn't doubt that the mileage is genuine. Could be a great run around for someone if insurance due to the age is not a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

No NCT on the Punto so not bangernomics, but still nice. Wouldn’t mind it if it was a few hundred cheaper

Ah OK. Didn't know the issues. Looked clean and low mileage. The search goes on.

I’m not sure how common those issues are. I sold a few of them back in the day and never had one in for warranty work.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,809 ✭✭✭Old diesel

All cars can have issues.

The best way is to find out what the symptoms of the issues are and just keep an eye out for them when looking at the car.

The Civic is probably still a better bet if in good condition then the majority of cars of that age.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/04-mercedes-benz-ml270-cdi-nct-05-19tax-09-18/19873297

ODI1ZTczYTM1ZmE0ZTY1ZTJkZDNhY2E1OTMxYmZjOTJSRFd0o9qp_6YCwwxNzeDLaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMTMzMjc2MjR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

6 months test, 9 months tax, diesel, heated leather, 4x4 - €2k

Looks better than most Mk1 MLs out there, if you're in the market its surely worth a look
    I don't trust the miles on this at all. Not with the number of owners and that steering wheel.thr wear on the wheel and the 'great for towing' and the fat they've owned it for 3 years means it's been used for towing cars and the wheel's been well worn by active and dirty hands (ooh Matron!).
    Just my take.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,243 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I’m not sure how common those issues are. I sold a few of them back in the day and never had one in for warranty work.

The father had a 03 Civic hatch 1.4 and the gearbox was starting to get very notchy and a bit whiny before he sold it. Bearing failure is a known issue with those gearboxes alright.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/cheap-impreza-rx-150bhp/20257731

Y2FiY2M5YmVhYTk5MTEwZTUwNDM5OTE4MTQ4Njc5MzE_6Pb1OjnB5joLCEvLuDdCaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMTIyMjY5NDR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Short on test but just about meets criteria (April 19), tax till February, claimed FSH, €2k

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-159-nct-and-tax/20820877

M2E2NDRiNDMyNGM2OTI0NDRmYjczNTBmNjFlNTc2MDB9txWIkn2whbbGfr4lIUnzaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMTY1ODU1Mjh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Petrol 159, NCT to October, tax to March, €900

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-159-nct-and-tax/20820877

Petrol 159, NCT to October, tax to March, €900

Some people on this forums mention that Alfa Romeo's are unreliable and then all hell breaks loose with people replying going absolutely nuts and saying its all down to people neglecting on maintenance, if you don't service them on time every time with the correct grade oils and consumables that's when you get costly and serious problems etc. So I'll put a few questions over in a manner that I hope won't upset the sensitive souls out there..... Are these Alfa Romeos expensive to maintain (if you are to maintain them to the t) relative to other brands? Also, if you do maintain them to the t are there any other note worthy expensive problematic areas associated with them? (as all marques have certain issues which at least some of their models are known to be susceptible to)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

I've owned 2 156's, a 146 boxer, a GTV and a 166 and the main fault I had with any of them was generally stupid electrical gremlins

The T Spark engine can get rattly and sound like a diesel when the variator gives trouble, and the service interval for the timing belts is generally quite short (about 30k), but having said that, yes, if they are looked after, kept serviced etc, and correct oil used, they aren't really any more troublesome than most cars

I totally moved away from them over the last 8 or 9 years and went BMW and VW, but both herself and myself are kinda contemplating a return to Alfas again. It's a sickness! :D

I have totally lost touch regarding the more modern engines, and the cars in general, so wouldn't know anything about the 159, Brera, GT etc

(EDIT) Oh! I forgot...I also owned a 1.6 147!(/EDIT)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

The 2.0 TS 156 seem to drink oil, and this means much more likely to run low on oil.
    I know someone who had this issue, low pressure light might come on on a bend then out again.
    Engine completely lunched itself after about 4 years.
    The manual gearbox totally failed also
    Someone else had electrical gremlins with wiring around the seats.

I like them but you'd need to know what you are getting into. AFAIK the newer models are fairly well sorted bar electric gremlins

• Registered Users Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Repost

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Been mentioned here already. No NCT apparently. And to be honest, it's rather over priced

I dunno, these were everywhere back in the day, but good ones are getting rare. It’s hard to take in that that’s nearly a 20 year old car, and to be fair it would be worth keeping. With a test I don’t think it’d be a bad buy.
    That said I got an 02 back in 08 with similar mileage for similar money.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/bmw-e36-compact-1owner-24k-miles/20835250

ZTUyYzM2NWRhZTM0MDNmZWJmOWMzZGRmMTBiZmJjYmbiFvEtfR7Go815AwU6wE0GaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMTY2ODg5NTB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

1 owner, 24k miles, NCT till 2020, looks very tidy, €1450

Expensive but a nice example no doubt. I would!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

That beemer should look like brand new inside with that mileage.

Great find if genuine.

It is a 2 owners car now, but we all know it means nothing. Sold in November last year. To an individual.

To be fair it looks good inside from the photos. Original drivers side floor mat, no bolster wear etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I'd love that. Drop a 2.8i engine in and you'd have something very cool!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

To be fair it looks good inside from the photos. Original drivers side floor mat, no bolster wear etc.

And is that the original radio too?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    And is that the original radio too?

I would imagine so judging by the backlight colour. I have a pioneer in mine which was original from the factory.