Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• 20-04-2017 4:38pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Fresh thread ahead of the Quarter Finals. Enjoy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Haha got in first.

Let this be a great end to a meh season for us and this new thread.

Won the League Cup, win the Europa League, finish in 4th and deny some of the rest of them a Champions League spot.

#Winning

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Jayop wrote: »
    first

I mean, technically...that would be me....:P

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

In the first page :D

Lord TSC wrote: »
    I mean, technically...that would be me....:P

You don't count dude. ;)

I had typed "inb4" int he last thread after you posted last but you managed to get it locked. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Wenger out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I know we might be getting ahead of ourselves, but......Herrera is arguably the greatest player of all time.

Kylo Ren wrote: »
    I know we might be getting ahead of ourselves, but......Herrera is arguably the greatest player of all time.

He is the greatest windup merchant since Denise Wise opposition love him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

#stillfifth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭paulbok

Is Mata cup tied tonight?

#stillfifth

Donno why I read that as #stillfilthy ohh well.

paulbok wrote: »
    Is Mata cup tied tonight?

He's always cup tied!! He's nursing his groin ;):D (that sounds worse :p)

jayo26 wrote: »
    Donno why I read that as #stillfilthy ohh well.

you're confusing me with brinty though my last post was bordering on filthy!! :D

Think Cookie_Dough needs a cold shower.

I had posted this in the old thread and I'm damned if I'm letting it sink into the abyss of nothingness.
    OK, so on that how do we feel about the formation used on Sunday if not the same tactics?

It was probably best described as a 352
    DeGea
    Jones Bailly Darmian
    Val Fellaini Herrera Pogba Young
    Rashford Lingard

Now you obviously wouldn't have Herrera doing a man to man job on other teams but I really liked the set up despite that. It allowed us to go 2 up top. Now the only thing about this is it completely relies on Valencia playing as both a RB and as a RW. He's been doing that all season but with slightly more cover playing with 1 up front.

Take Herrera there for example. In this system he's going to be essentially a free man if he's not man marking. He was able to go anywhere on the pitch the last day to watch Hazard. If Hazard wasn't there he could go anywhere to get involved and try to impose himself on the game.

Darmain was tucked inside quite a bit and Young was really helping him as a winger/wingback. Could some of our other wide players do what Young did?

I had posted this in the old thread and I'm damned if I'm letting it sink into the abyss of nothingness.

OK, so on that how do we feel about the formation used on Sunday if not the same tactics?

It was probably best described as a 352
    DeGea
    Jones Bailly Darmian
    Val Fellaini Herrera Pogba Young
    Rashford Lingard

Now you obviously wouldn't have Herrera doing a man to man job on other teams but I really liked the set up despite that. It allowed us to go 2 up top. Now the only thing about this is it completely relies on Valencia playing as both a RB and as a RW. He's been doing that all season but with slightly more cover playing with 1 up front.

Take Herrera there for example. In this system he's going to be essentially a free man if he's not man marking. He was able to go anywhere on the pitch the last day to watch Hazard. If Hazard wasn't there he could go anywhere to get involved and try to impose himself on the game.

Darmain was tucked inside quite a bit and Young was really helping him as a winger/wingback. Could some of our other wide players do what Young did?

/ checks was post by Zerks

Nah, Zerks will post this in a weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭markc91

Haha got in first.

Let this be a great end to a meh season for us and this new thread.

Won the League Cup, win the Europa League, finish in 4th and deny some of the rest of them a Champions League spot.

#Winning

In response to your last post in the other thread, I seen this interesting formation from the other day.

http://www.squawka.com/news/jose-mourinhos-throwback-2-2-4-2-formation-explained/936211

Think Cookie_Dough needs a cold shower.

Well Juan Mata was mentioned after all :D Ye know he's a hunk lads (and ladies) I miss him on the pitch :(

giphy.gif#38-grid1

and of course

giphy.gif#0-grid1

markc91 wrote: »
    In response to your last post in the other thread, I seen this interesting formation from the other day.

http://www.squawka.com/news/jose-mourinhos-throwback-2-2-4-2-formation-explained/936211

Cheers Mark:)

That video is restricted now for my region so I can't tell what it was saying but what's the 2-2-4-2?

I don't see how you could really call it that.

2x CB
    2x FB
    4x CM
    2x CF

The problem with that is neither Valencia or Darmian played in the same position. Darmian was closer to a 3rd CB and Val was a wing back.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Feeling confident this evening, 3-0 United and into the semi finals we go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭markc91

Cheers Mark:)

That video is restricted now for my region so I can't tell what it was saying but what's the 2-2-4-2?

I don't see how you could really call it that.

2x CB
    2x FB
    4x CM
    2x CF

The problem with that is neither Valencia or Darmian played in the same position. Darmian was closer to a 3rd CB and Val was a wing back.

If your on facebook heres the link to it there...
    https://www.facebook.com/SquawkaFootballNews/

markc91 wrote: »
    If your on facebook heres the link to it there...
    https://www.facebook.com/SquawkaFootballNews/

yeah I suppose you could call it that although where Pedro stayed the whole game made it look more of a 352 because he was stood holding Darmian at our LB spot. Had Pedro roamed a bit more and if Darmian followed him everywhere then that would have been more obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Busted Flush...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Rooney's back, no way he'd miss a trip to the land of chocolate.

Manchester? :D

• Late to the party!

• adox wrote: »
    Busted Flush...

Nothing player / manager bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Hazard should have sat on the touchline leaving pogba exposed, no idea how Conte didn't see it but they'll still win the league so it doesn't matter in the grand scheme that he was outwitted in one game.

Herrera is a good reliable player, I wouldn't go too overboard with the praise. Rojo been very good too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭xtal191

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Hazard should have sat on the touchline leaving pogba exposed, no idea how Conte didn't see it but they'll still win the league so it doesn't matter in the grand scheme that he was outwitted in one game.

Herrera is a good reliable player, I wouldn't go too overboard with the praise. Rojo been very good too

How would that have exposed Pogba? You'd still have had Pogba and Fellaini up against Kante and Matic, neither of whom would be exposing anyone in an attacking sense.

I've read this a lot, Hazard should have went and sat on the left touchline like Pedro did on the right. Pedro did absolutely nothing on the right and had Hazard gone to the left all he would have accomplished was holding Valencia further back.

It would have left them with no link in the middle of the pitch whatsoever between their two non creative DM's and Costa.

Bar making a complete tactical change of formation or even players I really don't see how Conte could have dealt with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

hopefully an early goal like sunday and a comfortable game tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Get a winning run going...

Big night, need a big performance like last Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

D'oh :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Was just looking ahead at the fixtures, our run-in is cat tho this year we're better off with away games.

Europa so important, c'mon United!!

that europa league "anthem" is so crappy......we NEED to be in the champions league again next season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

god im so nervous :(

Headshot wrote: »
    god im so nervous :(

are you off to the dentist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,258 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

impressive from AV. a rare left footed pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

impressive from AV. a rare left footed pass

I can see a you tube video pop up with David Attenborough commentary :D

All Pogbas ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

Pogbargain

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Wonderful!

briliant from pogba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

**** it

Best CB this season injured

• Headshot wrote: »
    **** it

Best CB this season injured

Huge blow, wouldn't mind it was the second knock that has him on the stretcher

Typical

Are Jones and Smalling far off being fit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Are Jones and Smalling far off being fit?

Think Jose said middle of may

Co#k

• Registered Users Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭Quandary

The Utd players are looking nervous. Big performance needed here now.