Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Jaysus, wasn't expecting a signing tonight!

So wonder what that means for Keane, and if Lindelof if first team partner for Bailly

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,943 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

He's a centre back yeah? Can see Smalling or Blind going

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Lord TSC wrote: »

So wonder what that means for Keane, and if Lindelof if first team partner for Bailly

Wouldn't imagine Keane be joining now. Bailly rojo and Victor will prob be the top 3 and whoever else for backup.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Lindelof and Bailly as our CB's for the next few years. Delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,619 ✭✭✭caviardreams

I'd imagine Lindelof is planned as first choice with Bailly - by all accounts we have been after him since the start of the year, pre Rojo turning into a beast :D

I wonder if Keane was second choice and we had him lined up if Lindelof didn't work out/was too expensive? Or if we are offload Smalling or Jones, he may come into play.

Great to have some business done so early - let's just hope he doesn't get injured against Norway on Tuesday before the medical :eek: :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

jayo26 wrote: »
    Its our year :):):) we have it won now :)

Good luck in the Leinster final. I want Kilkenny to get back winning, but I always want fellow Leinster teams winning in hurling.
    So ye better win something.
    Up the yellow bellies :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Finally Woody got a transfer done !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Doubt Keane will be in the picture now.

RobertKK wrote: »
    Good luck in the Leinster final. I want Kilkenny to get back winning, but I always want fellow Leinster teams winning in hurling.
    So ye better win something.
    Up the yellow bellies :p

Fair play pal and sure you know we would be the same if it was other way around :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭bassy

Jayop wrote: »
    Doubt Keane will be in the picture now.

liverpool can have him,mega signing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Happy to get Lindelof, Zlatan rated him very highly. Bailly and Lindelof the starting two and Rojo third in line.
    Wonder if we sometimes play 3-5-2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Jayop wrote: »

Can play at rb as well. Good signing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭markc1184

If Lindelof turns out as good a signing as Bailly, that will be a great bit of business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,346 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

i'd imagine signing Keane depends on what happens with Jones and Smalling.

I can't imagine Smalling being happy being forth choice behind Bailly, Lindy and Rojo.

I didn't realise Lindy was only 22. Thought he was a bit older...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Mission 1 Sign a CB Complete
    Mission 2 CM
    Mission 3 CF
    Bonus Mission Sign RB

I didn't realise Lindy was only 22. Thought he was a bit older...

I knew that cause I checked his card on fifa haha.

I'd be happy if we didn't sign another center back now we hang on to Jones or smalling and have the kids as 5th choice.

Headshot wrote: »
    Mission 2 CM
    Mission 3 CF
    Bonus Mission Sign RB

Fabinho would cover two of those. ;)

Headshot wrote: »
    Mission 2 CM
    Mission 3 CF
    Bonus Mission Sign RB

We will not be singing a right back. We will maybe sign a right sided attacker.

bangkok wrote: »
    Can play at rb as well. Good signing

Didn't know that - always handy to have a bit of versatility given out injury record!
    One of the reasons I hope we keep Darmian tbh.

I would think Smalling is the one most likely to leave if he isn't gonna be first choice.
    Bailly is undoubtedly first choice and I suppose after a bit of bedding in Lindeof will be the other.
    Rojo and Jones strike me as lads who may be more willing to be squad members than Smalling for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭xtal191

ElChe32 wrote: »
    Lindelof and Bailly as our CB's for the next few years. Delighted.

Both for 60m too the same Pool were going to pay for Van Dijk, could prove to be an absolute bargain pairing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

jayo26 wrote: »
    Love the first comment on the tweet asking them for a source.

That's definitely somebody from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,168 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Unexpected. Welcome to OT Mr. Lindelöf!

One of the English CB's can skoot off.

yabadabado wrote: »
    I would think Smalling is the one most likely to leave if he isn't gonna be first choice.
    Bailly is undoubtedly first choice and I suppose after a bit of bedding in Lindeof will be the other.
    Rojo and Jones strike me as lads who may be more willing to be squad members than Smalling for some reason.

Smalling looked awkward,indecisive and poor on the ball again today for England, he just never pushed on from the potential he showed when he joined us.I wouldn't miss him too much if he's sold.

zerks wrote: »
    That's definitely somebody from here.

It was Mitch I think :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

This is the face of a man who has everything under control

Derby-County-v-Manchester-United-FA-Cup-Fourth-Round.jpg

Smalling looked awkward,indecisive and poor on the ball again today for England, he just never pushed on from the potential he showed when he joined us.I wouldn't miss him too much if he's sold.

Agreed .

If a good offer came in then I wouldn't be too concerned if he was sold.

https://twitter.com/MiguelDelaney/status/873633321045155840

I know he (Delaney) can be more miss than hit but it's something I would expect from Jose.

I can't imagine Smalling being happy being forth choice behind Bailly, Lindy and Rojo.

I think he might even be fifth choice now, behind Blind - depending on who the other CB available to partner is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Castles article says that Jose sees Bailly and Lindelof as his CB pairing for the next 10 years

I think he might even be fifth choice now, behind Blind - depending on who the other CB available to partner is.

I think you mean 6th after his great run beside Rojo last year I'd say Jones is ahead of Smalling in any pecking order.

astradave wrote: »
    Castles article says that Jose sees Bailly and Lindelof as his CB pairing for the next 10 years

They are perfect age hopefully he will be their manager for the next ten years too

Ok lads, who wants a laugh

http://www.thesportreview.com/tsr/2017/06/man-united-transfer-news-latest-angel-di-maria/

Jose wants to bring DiMaria back to Old Trafford :D

http://www.thesportreview.com/tsr/2017/06/man-united-transfer-news-latest-angel-di-maria/

Saw that earlier and refused to post it.That fella writes for The S*n amongst numerous online publications.

You would be embarrassed to put your name to that story surely.

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Happy to get the first signing over the line without any fuss. Havnt seen much of him but he is rated highly and Jose has a good eye for a defender.

Just goes to show the difference it makes having a competent manager and negotiation team in place when it comes to transfers.

Not a rapped knuckle in sight.

https://twitter.com/MiguelDelaney/status/873633321045155840

I know he (Delaney) can be more miss than hit but it's something I would expect from Jose.

This would be ideal. At least for those incoming anyway. Can just leave the outgoings behind. Have our actually squad ready for our Tour

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

After all the links with Benfica players over the years its nice to finally sign one of them

Marca saying Morata is done for 70m euro. Record for a Spanish player

https://twitter.com/marca/status/873643591251439616

Is Marca the reliable Madrid paper?

pjohnson wrote: »
    Is Marca the reliable Madrid paper?

It's Madrid's mouthpiece

tis a bit mad Ted

It's Madrid's mouthpiece

Jeez been a bloody great nights business then!

Morata is one I feel is expensive but I fully trust Jose. If he's willing to place so much of his next season upon Morata's shoulders, so be it.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Jeez been a bloody great nights business then!

Yeah they have been pushing that Madrid would be holding out for 90m euros until this report.. saying it's agreed at 70m euro now.

Anyone remember them photoshopping the United fans into White jerseys to make it look like they were more followed than United in the states.. gas craic altogether.