Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,212 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Andy Cole, Law, Great Dane all played for City.

Rooney also apologized for pushing for transfer and he also said he wanted to go abroad and not to City. How true that was is just a guess work, he might be saying truth or making things up but in the end he apologized and he was superb in the second half of that season.

Before the oil money to finish out their careers. Rooney was looking for a transfer after they actually became a rival at the prime of his career.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Before the oil money to finish out their careers. Rooney was looking for a transfer after they actually became a rival at the prime of his career.

City were always rivals for ManUtd. They didn't suddenly became rivals once they started competing for titles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

City were always rivals for ManUtd. They didn't suddenly became rivals once they started competing for titles.

You know what he meant..

bangkok wrote: »
    You know what he meant..

You guys are looking for excuses, simple as that.

Few players played for City, Rooney didn't even play for them and according to him he wanted to move out of England (again it's upto individuals whether they believe him or not).

If you check ManUtd legends, many of them played their games for bigger contracts, like Best, Keane. So what Rooney did was nothing new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,343 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Schmeichel did taint his status signing for City, given he stated he wanted to leave United because he wasn't up to the PL anymore. A lot of manchester fans view him poorly because of that now.

But in general terms, City then are a massive difference to City when Rooney was trying to sign for them (and now). Schmeichel and Cole went to a side no where near United, in the same league but not really a rival for trophies. Rooney was trying to leave a United side he said lacked ambition to a City side actively looking to buy the best and become a top side.

Schmeichel did taint his status signing for City, given he stated he wanted to leave United because he wasn't up to the PL anymore. A lot of manchester fans view him poorly because of that now.

But in general terms, City then are a massive difference to City when Rooney was trying to sign for them (and now). Schmeichel and Cole went to a side no where near United, in the same league but not really a rival for trophies. Rooney was trying to leave a United side he said lacked ambition to a City side actively looking to buy the best and become a top side.

For locals City was always rivals, so how does it matter whether they were in for titles or not? When Heinze wanted to sign for Liverpool, ManUtd were few levels above them. Does that mean it was ok to play for them?

Again like I said, he didn't sign in the end and according to him it wasn't an option.

You guys are looking for excuses, simple as that.

Few players played for City, Rooney didn't even play for them and according to him he wanted to move out of England (again it's upto individuals whether they believe him or not).

If you check ManUtd legends, many of them played their games for bigger contracts, like Best, Keane. So what Rooney did was nothing new.

Everyman and his dog knows rooney was pushing for a move to city

For locals City was always rivals, so how does it matter whether they were in for titles or not? When Heinze wanted to sign for Liverpool, ManUtd were few levels above them. Does that mean it was ok to play for them?

Again like I said, he didn't sign in the end and according to him it wasn't an option.

Alan smith moved directly from leeds to man utd and they were huge rivals but leeds were crap so it didnt really matter.

• bangkok wrote: »
    not really, it was his number, I would have said it was Ibra acting the diva if he was going to a new club taking the number of a player already at the club added to the fact the Ibra was going to be at the club for a max 2 years.

Martial is a fantastic player, hope he stays at the club for a very long time

I did say if the story was true, no idea if your story about ibra is true either so who knows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

What's Denise laws excuse so? Is it ok that he actually moved there? Some people believe he scored the goal that actually relegated us but he is still a club legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Pro. F wrote: »
    Attitude/application, it's all the same. Your criticism of him this season has been way over the top. While you've been constantly moaning about him all season he's still scored or set-up a goal in three out of four games (90 minutes) and all that while playing in a role that he's not really suited to.

Regarding Rashford, in certain styles of football he might be more suited to playing through the middle, but as a CF in a Mourinho team he's definitely lacking in terms of strength in the air and hold up play.

I think you're pigeonholing both Mourinho and Rashford there. Jose has had very different strikers with very different abilities at all the clubs he has managed.

On the one hand you seem to be saying that Rashford is ill-equipped to be a centre forward for Jose because he lacks aerial strength and hold up play but you're supporting the cause of another player who doesn't possess those qualities any more so.

I understand your concern that Martial is unhappy out wide, but I also don't know if Rashford should be punished because he's the one not complaining.

Rashford served his time on the wing and was probably taken advantage of (to some extent) because of his sheer willingness to do anything for the team and the manager, even though it sacrificed himself and resulted in a loss of form.

But then, I would say that Martial is a better finisher and I'd be fairly confident when he gets in on goal that he will stick it away. I think there are enough games for both of them to get time in the central position but also do a shift on the wing.

• Pro. F wrote: »
    Attitude/application, it's all the same. Your criticism of him this season has been way over the top. While you've been constantly moaning about him all season he's still scored or set-up a goal in three out of four games (90 minutes) and all that while playing in a role that he's not really suited to.

Regarding Rashford, in certain styles of football he might be more suited to playing through the middle, but as a CF in a Mourinho team he's definitely lacking in terms of strength in the air and hold up play.

Meh, I don't think it has been but sure what ya gonna do.
    He's had some awful performances and blown hot and cold in others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭ollkiller

In years time opinions change. People will remember Rooney's time fondly just like we do with every past player.

Now people talk about what a bitter idiot Keane is but forget he also threatened to leave Manutd when we didn't meet his wage demands, at that time ManUtd broke wage structure to offer him big contract.

Not that I hate it as players can demand whatever they want to, but it's such a shame people talk about Rooney's contract when he has played and won so many trophies for us.

You won't hear it from me. Anybody who can get more money in their job is going to go for it. I wouldn't judge players on their wage demands. Couldn't care less to be honest about a players life outside of football (unless it's giggs lol, that's just wrong). I judge a player on their performances on the pitch. Rooney for a few years was brilliant but i adored Keano. Just the perfect defensive midfielder whose passing range always gets overlooked. A beast of a player.

On another note roll on Thursday. Formation wise. I'd stick both Rashford and Martial up front. Deal with that Stones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,343 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

jayo26 wrote: »
    What's Denise laws excuse so? Is it ok that he actually moved there? Some people believe he scored the goal that actually relegated us but he is still a club legend.

I wasn't born at the time, same as a lot of the fans who would have the more tribal leanings required for such hatred of rival club players - so I can't comment as to why Law is still considered a legend despite City associations.

He has always been considered a legend the entire time I have supported United so I have no basis or feeling to question that on. Maybe it is because Law played for City before he played for United as well as after he played for us. He achieved his status as a key player in the rebuild of the club after Munich. He signed for City after being released on a free transfer from United. He didn't demand to be let go from a club falling behind his own ambitions to become a massive statement signing for the newly oil rich local rivals.

Denis law was a city player before he joined utd. He only went back there for a season to finish his career

He would have liked to stay on for another year but City changed their manager and the new boss didnt want Law.
    In truth his goal against United didnt see them relegated,it was results elsewhere that put them down!

Also rooney is a united legend but i dont think he will ever be viewed in the same way as ronaldo beckham cantona or andy cole for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭deadybai

Rooney has been at United for 13 years and is our all time scorer. To say hes not a club legend and wouldn't get into the first 11 is ludicrous. An unbelievable player.

He is probably the most unusual world class player in history which I think is why he doesnt get the credit he deserves. I dont think there ever has been a player like him. If you can see through that you begin to relise how good he is/was.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Cotts72

Papers also linking us with Morata again today. always maintained that if DeGea goes we should be looking at him or Rodriguez as pat of any deal. my only fear with rodriguez would be that it would hinder pereira's progress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    I actually don't think he's nasty at all. He's hardy more so than nasty.
    Two poor decisions with lunges this season but generally he's fairly disciplined other than that IMO. I have a feeling he got a talking too by Jose.
    I think his reading of the game is where he excels.

My point is that we have too many nice guys in our team,Rojo has that streak in him where he will kick opponents and stand up to them when needed.Typical Argentinian player,even Messi has that in him.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

I think you're pigeonholing both Mourinho and Rashford there. Jose has had very different strikers with very different abilities at all the clubs he has managed.

I don't remember Mourinho playing a single striker system with a player like Rashford. Mourinho has pretty much always had a CF who is strong at holding up the ball. And if we're going to get the best out of Pogba then it's likely to be with a single striker.
    On the one hand you seem to be saying that Rashford is ill-equipped to be a centre forward for Jose because he lacks aerial strength and hold up play but you're supporting the cause of another player who doesn't possess those qualities any more so.

Martial is lot stronger in the air and at holding up the ball than Rashford. Martial has shown a real aptitude for it, Rashford hasn't.
    I understand your concern that Martial is unhappy out wide, but I also don't know if Rashford should be punished because he's the one not complaining.

Rashford served his time on the wing and was probably taken advantage of (to some extent) because of his sheer willingness to do anything for the team and the manager, even though it sacrificed himself and resulted in a loss of form.

But then, I would say that Martial is a better finisher and I'd be fairly confident when he gets in on goal that he will stick it away. I think there are enough games for both of them to get time in the central position but also do a shift on the wing.

It's not about Martial not liking playing wide, nor about him complaining (I don't know if he has). The issue is that Martial doesn't have the attributes for it. He seems to struggle getting up and down the line and he's not that good taking on players when he starts so far from goal. And on the other hand Rashford does seem to have both of those attributes and so looks very comfortable playing wide. I also don't agree that Rashford suffered from any significant loss of form, as far as I'm concerned there was just yet another overreaction to a player missing some chances.

• Zerks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

https://www.instagram.com/p/BTSFR3IlGGv/

“My friend Zlatan Ibrahimovic, I wish you all the strength in this difficult time,” Ronaldinho wrote on Instagram. “I’m hoping for your speedy recovery and hope to see you soon, charming us with your football.”

Zlatan heading to Pittsburgh to see one of the worlds leading knee specialists: ESPN.

Well ye can twist it anyway you want guys but to say it's acceptable for law to play for city and not Rooney to even consider it is double standards.

I have no problem with either one of them playing for whoever they want after the club is done with them same as I have no problem with Rooney using city as a bargaining chip to get the best wages possible.

Gerrard did it with Chelsea to an extent no one cares. In 20 years time people will be looking at clips of Rooney and his goals and assists and in awe. I'd say the majority of his first 200 goals for United were excellent pieces of skill he has just gone downhill in the last couple years.

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Delboy5

That's just rumors. At least going from his interview it's wrong. Maybe we will know full story when he retires.
    Alan smith moved directly from leeds to man utd and they were huge rivals but leeds were crap so it didnt really matter.

Alan Smith moved as Leeds were ****ed financially and needed to sell Smith. Otherwise Smith wouldn't have moved to ManUtd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Well ye can twist it anyway you want guys but to say it's acceptable for law to play for city and not Rooney to even consider it is double standards.

I have no problem with either one of them playing for whoever they want after the club is done with them same as I have no problem with Rooney using city as a bargaining chip to get the best wages possible.

Gerrard did it with Chelsea to an extent no one cares. In 20 years time people will be looking at clips of Rooney and his goals and assists and in awe. I'd say the majority of his first 200 goals for United were excellent pieces of skill he has just gone downhill in the last couple years.

Everything you said makes perfect sense, but people will just find anyway they can to be annoyed by Rooney and justify the reasons they dislike him. I honestly never give the Man City thing a single thought and I doubt many others do. I have more dislike for Ronaldo wanting to play for that truely awful shower of shiites in Madrid than I do for Rooney using City as a bargaining tool. And I love Ronaldo.

Who was the clown that mentioned Rooney anyway he should be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

From the few Youtube videos I've watched of Belotti he looks a very likeable player. Full of strong powerful direct running with the ability to seemingly play with both feet. He seems to back himself into defenders very much like Inzaghi used to do, and roll his way around them.

I'd have no problem buying him if he can translate that form and style to the Premier League.

Griezmann is just looking for the best deal possible. He will be at United this Summer for sure in my eyes. Champions League will obviously help him justifiy the move. Negotiations with our money and Champions League football secured is a lot easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

I'm a big fan of belotti. Got him as a teenager in fm14 with reggina and he demolished serie b and serie a.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

deadybai wrote: »
    Rooney has been at United for 13 years and is our all time scorer. To say hes not a club legend and wouldn't get into the first 11 is ludicrous. An unbelievable player.

He is probably the most unusual world class player in history which I think is why he doesnt get the credit he deserves. I dont think there ever has been a player like him. If you can see through that you begin to relise how good he is/was.

In fairness club legend status is given by the fans really. So opinions are going to differ.

For me Rooney was a great buy, a fantastic player and made a wonderful career. Unsure I'd ever put him in the bracket of what I consider club legends, from my time consciously watching United.

But that is the thing, it's a personal thing on who or how you hold a club legend. Schmeichael will always be a club legend for me, regardless of moving to City.

Rooney get's credit appropriately. With him it feels it swings to both extremes, but plenty of of journalists, pundits, fans etc. apply appropriate credit. A wonderful player who at times reached incredible peaks but probably never reached where the expectations where for him, in a wider sense.

He didn't become the club and Englands top goalscorer by fluke, he is an exceptional player(insert Hargraves accent there for lols) but there was baggage with him, and some of it, like for me, completely tainted my outlook on him.

I'm similar with Keane, I completely had a change of heart about him after Saipan and his public comments in the years after his departure and subsequent books or TV stuff, I just completely fell out of love with a player I idolised for years.

Delboy5 wrote: »

Is he? I don't know what the deal is with him.

His real close ties and information seem to be London based, with Spurs and Chelsea. He frequently appears commentating on United news and rumour but I simply don't get how. He also loves to let on he knows something, but I've found him to be more miss than hit when it comes to United.

GSPfan wrote: »
    From the few Youtube videos I've watched of Belotti he looks a very likeable player. Full of strong powerful direct running with the ability to seemingly play with both feet. He seems to back himself into defenders very much like Inzaghi used to do, and roll his way around them.

I'd have no problem buying him if he can translate that form and style to the Premier League.

Griezmann is just looking for the best deal possible. He will be at United this Summer for sure in my eyes. Champions League will obviously help him justifiy the move. Negotiations with our money and Champions League football secured is a lot easier.

Belotti's ability in the air is probably a nice attribute. Means the team can mix it up with crosses as well as intricute play. He looks pretty fine running onto through balls, playing the hold up man, but he looks adept at bursting defenders to score headers :D

Looks a well rounded player from clips I've seen

I'm a big fan of belotti. Got him as a teenager in fm14 with reggina and he demolished serie b and serie a.

Was watching the Anderlecht match having used Tielmanns in loads of FM saves with that thing in the back of your head, like a self imposed nod, as if you discovered the player first haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

For about 2 or 3 years I think Rooney would have been first name on the teamsheet in any team in the world, what he offered was second to none. It's unfortunate he burned out and the last 3 or 4 years have damaged his legacy a little simply because he probably could have gone on longer if he put the effort into his training in his early twenties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,371 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

TheDoc wrote: »
    Was watching the Anderlecht match having used Tielmanns in loads of FM saves with that thing in the back of your head, like a self imposed nod, as if you discovered the player first haha :D

I'll never forget the season I signed a very young Alexis Sanchez off Udinese as a backup striker in one of my saves years ago for about 10m and he wound up scoring 20+ goals in his first season. Probably around FM 2007 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,167 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

For about 2 or 3 years I think Rooney would have been first name on the teamsheet in any team in the world, what he offered was second to none. It's unfortunate he burned out and the last 3 or 4 years have damaged his legacy a little simply because he probably could have gone on longer if he put the effort into his training in his early twenties.

Ferguson leaving was the end of Rooney

pjohnson wrote: »

Shoulda been the end of rooney. He wasnt too bad under moyes but far from his best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,167 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Shpulda of been the end of rooney. He wasnt too bad under moyes but far from his best.

He must not have been on a strict enough training regime post-Fergie.

That's just rumors. At least going from his interview it's wrong. Maybe we will know full story when he retires.

Alan Smith moved as Leeds were ****ed financially and needed to sell Smith. Otherwise Smith wouldn't have moved to ManUtd.

fergusons quotes at the time "Sometimes you look in a field and you see a cow and you think it's a better cow than the one you've got in your own field," Ferguson told reporters after the game. "It's a fact. Right? And it never really works out that way."

it was well known in the city the Rooney was having discussions with city at the time and he questioned Uniteds ambition.

when it was put to fergie about uniteds ambition his reply was "havent i won 30 trophies with this club"

Smith was forced to move to United as United were the only club that would pay 7m up front. Smith saved the club by moving to United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,215 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

pjohnson wrote: »

The opposite though really.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Delboy5 wrote: »

why when we have rashford and Martial....rashford is a special talent

fergusons quotes at the time "Sometimes you look in a field and you see a cow and you think it's a better cow than the one you've got in your own field," Ferguson told reporters after the game. "It's a fact. Right? And it never really works out that way."

it was well known in the city the Rooney was having discussions with city at the time and he questioned Uniteds ambition.

when it was put to fergie about uniteds ambition his reply was "havent i won 30 trophies with this club"

Smith was forced to move to United as United were the only club that would pay 7m up front. Smith saved the club by moving to United

The quotes doesn't make any sense to support your point that Rooney wanted City move.

Rooney questioned United's ambition which was the worst thing he could have done at that time.

Again you are proving my point with Smith. Only reason he moved was Leeds were broke and ManUtd were ready to buy one of their asset. If not for that he wouldn't have moved to ManUtd.

The quotes doesn't make any sense to support your point that Rooney wanted City move.

Rooney questioned United's ambition which was the worst thing he could have done at that time.

Again you are proving my point with Smith. Only reason he moved was Leeds were broke and ManUtd were ready to buy one of their asset. If not for that he wouldn't have moved to ManUtd.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2010/oct/18/wayne-rooney-manchester-city-united

Tehsin Nayani, the former spokesman of the Glazer family, reveals in his book documenting the Americans' ownership of the club how there was 'a growing resignation among the club's hierarchy' that Rooney was 'on his way to join Abu Dhabi-owned Manchester City'.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2010/oct/18/wayne-rooney-manchester-city-united

Tehsin Nayani, the former spokesman of the Glazer family, reveals in his book documenting the Americans' ownership of the club how there was 'a growing resignation among the club's hierarchy' that Rooney was 'on his way to join Abu Dhabi-owned Manchester City'.

From the same article you posted.

"We hadn't discussed signing Rooney until the last week because we never thought he would be available, just like we have never discussed signing Lionel Messi from Barcelona," one senior figure at Eastlands told the Guardian. "Now we know he wants to leave United we're obviously going to monitor it closely."

It was obvious Rooney wanted to leave but looks like everyone made up their stories. Anyways still the point is He never left. Gerrard wanted to leave and join Chelsea but he didn't. That didn't make him any less of a Legend than other Liverpool legends.

For ManUtd Rooney > Ronaldo always.

From the same article you posted.

"We hadn't discussed signing Rooney until the last week because we never thought he would be available, just like we have never discussed signing Lionel Messi from Barcelona," one senior figure at Eastlands told the Guardian. "Now we know he wants to leave United we're obviously going to monitor it closely."

It was obvious Rooney wanted to leave but looks like everyone made up their stories. Anyways still the point is He never left. Gerrard wanted to leave and join Chelsea but he didn't. That didn't make him any less of a Legend than other Liverpool legends.

For ManUtd Rooney > Ronaldo always.

from the bit you posted...."We hadn't discussed signing Rooney until the last week because we never thought he would be available"

so they did discuss it and more likely than not made an approach for him

ask Man Utd fans who they preferred at United or who was a bigger legend, Rooney or Ronaldo i guarantee you 95% of answers will be Ronaldo.

from the bit you posted...."We hadn't discussed signing Rooney until the last week because we never thought he would be available"

so they did discuss it and more likely than not made an approach for him

ask Man Utd fans who they preferred at United or who was a bigger legend, Rooney or Ronaldo i guarantee you 95% of answers will be Ronaldo.

Lol, it didn't say they discussed, they said they didn't as he wasn't available, now that he wants to leave they will monitor. For all we know they approached and got no from Rooney.

95%, wow random number out of nowhere. In a weird world Ronaldo might be bigger legend than Rooney but in a proper world Rooney is always higher than Ronaldo when it comes to ManUtd.

Lol, it didn't say they discussed, they said they didn't as he wasn't available, now that he wants to leave they will monitor. For all we know they approached and got no from Rooney.

95%, wow random number out of nowhere. In a weird world Ronaldo might be bigger legend than Rooney but in a proper world Rooney is always higher than Ronaldo when it comes to ManUtd.

are you actually being stupid now???

"We hadn't discussed signing Rooney until the last week because we never thought he would be available"

read it again, key words being UNTIL THE LAST WEEK

are you actually being stupid now???

"We hadn't discussed signing Rooney until the last week because we never thought he would be available"

No it's just that your head is stuck in Ronaldo's ass that you can't read anything. Read the full quote to understand the context. He said they are monitoring now as Rooney wants to leave. It's not even about discussing with Rooney, it's discussing Rooney as a possible target which might be among City bosses.

Even if he wanted to join to City, so what? In the end he didn't. He stayed and played for ManUtd all his career while Ronaldo ****ed off at the earliest chance he got.

No it's just that your head is stuck in Ronaldo's ass that you can't read anything. Read the full quote to understand the context. He said they are monitoring now as Rooney wants to leave. It's not even about discussing with Rooney, it's discussing Rooney as a possible target which might be among City bosses.

Even if he wanted to join to City, so what? In the end he didn't. He stayed and played for ManUtd all his career while Ronaldo ****ed off at the earliest chance he got.

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

i much preferred Cantona over rooney as well