Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Should be called sillier season
    You know Sky Sports have nothing to report when they spend 20 minutes on another Ronaldo 'Saga'.
    Worst was the poll they ran...
    How much would you pay for Ronaldo? :rolleyes:
    End Rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I don't think that Jose will allow Ed to get sidetracked or drawn into protracted negotiations. He knows Perez & the way that RM operate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

A few of the morning papers going with the same line that Ronaldo won't be returning.Jose says no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

We should make 1 offer, make it public and if they refuse fcuk 'em, just withdraw from all further discussion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Rod Munch wrote: »
    Meh, if I could go to my manager and tell him that I was interested in moving to a different company in order to get a pay rise damn right I would do it, same as every single person on the planet. Why should Ronaldo or any other footballer be held to a higher standard than we would apply to ourselves?

Dont paint every person with the same brush. Payet took a pay cut to move back to france. Money is not the be all and end all for everyone.

Also footballers salaries are not in line with real life situations. Some footballers earn more in a week than a top doctor would earn in 3 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

https://www.instagram.com/p/BVg-aPZBEkc/

Love to go on holiday with Evra haha mad fuker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

zerks wrote: »
    A few of the morning papers going with the same line that Ronaldo won't be returning.Jose says no.

To be honest I just don't get why he would want to come back in the current climate. He doesn't get on with Jose at all, and Jose doesn't get on with him.

If Jose is trying to build a squad in his image, to execute his word and wants, bringing Ronaldo is a big spanner in the works to that harmony. You'd think he'd just get over it and accept a player of his calibre and make it work, but I wouldn't put it past Jose not wanting him. The two were constantly at blows at Madrid.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Neil Custis whom was laughed at when he wrote two years ago that Woodward was trying to put the groundwork in to sign Neymar - later confirmed by Neymar's father, now says Ronaldo does want to return and is prepared to take a wage cut if it would help to make the move happen.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/1170640/cristiano-ronaldo-will-not-hold-manchester-united-to-ransom-over-wage-demands-in-bid-to-force-a-move-back-to-old-trafford/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I don't believe Jose wouldn't want him. Ronaldo would be a perfect attacking man for Jose and would help relieve a tonne of that pressure on the club at he moment.

If the club is trying to make out that Jose is saying no, I'd believe quicker it's that the club knows it's being used as a pawn in negotiations and is trying to get ahead of the rejection before it happens; that we are dumping him before Ronaldo can dump us again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

If utd and jose don't want Ronnie why don't they come out publicly and say it .

This would stop us been used as a lever .

The fact that we not come out and said this show me that we would like to sign him .

I still don't think his coming though lol

Lord TSC wrote: »
    I don't believe Jose wouldn't want him. Ronaldo would be a perfect attacking man for Jose and would help relieve a tonne of that pressure on the club at he moment.

If the club is trying to make out that Jose is saying no, I'd believe quicker it's that the club knows it's being used as a pawn in negotiations and is trying to get ahead of the rejection before it happens; that we are dumping him before Ronaldo can dump us again.

I wouldn't ever rule out Jose cutting of his nose to spite his face.

It's the major block in my head to why this can't happen. Regardless of money or Ronaldo's longing for the adoration of the United crowd, he won't be coming back to what he left.

Maybe time has gone by and they've mended their problems or the years will have thawed it out, but Ronaldo was identified as one of the "problem" players in the Madrid dressing room for Mourinho, and indicated as one of those that pressured for Jose's exit. Don't think thats something Mourinho lets slide to be honest.

While this is obviously a great story for the papers and tele, and great for fans, I'm finding it weird to not hear a peep about players leaving. I'd have thought Mourinho would know who he wants to shift, and its odd to have no real indication of whose leaving.

If utd and jose don't want Ronnie why don't they come out publicly and say it .

This would stop us been used as a lever .

The fact that we not come out and said this show me that we would like to sign him .

I still don't think his coming though lol

Well obviously the club want to leave that possibility open. Be it manager, Woodward whoever. I think it's probably good to box a bit clever in a situation like this, especially when your negotiating for another player from the same club.

Don't rock the boat, keep things quiet and continue on with the Morata deal. And should the Ronaldo situation be legit and not a power play, then have upper hand negotiating for a player that wants to leave, and wants to go to your club.

We actually don't know what a sulky, unhappy, destructive Ronaldo can do to a club. It's never really happened. Whereas we did see what happened when Messi was unhappy, destructive, and the mini spiral Barca hit when he was unhappy, and then trying to appease him.

Whatever actually happens, I hope he does leave, wherever that may be. Madrid fans don't deserve him and I question if they deserve the success they enjoy, with their horrible spoilt brat attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Sky Sports News running out of people to ask about the Ronaldo situation..

19225842_10155519452104914_9061614770155392520_n.jpg?oh=4c494d2b2e81c89a68cd3bb54775a03d&oe=599E21B5

Paddy Power posted this - I laughed! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Now Spain trying to do Jose for tax fraud. Wtf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,776 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

JamboMac wrote: »

I'd bet my left bollock they're all as guilty as mortal sin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,659 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Jose should go to Ronnie and make a pitch that they should fight the tax authorities together on and off the pitch.

Win-win.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I saw people saying last night that it feels like Spain needs cash, so is hitting as many rich people as they can for money :/

Maybe Jose and Ronaldo can bond over this :P

EDIT: Of course, it's also another Mendes clinet being hit for tax fraud too. There's a common link...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

keane2097 wrote: »
    I'd bet my left bollock they're all as guilty as mortal sin.

I bet you if they looked not even that hard both Barcelona and Madrid could be done on tax fraud, but that wouldn't be beneficial.

Breaking news: a footballer in Spain has paid tax!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭bennyineire

And the circus continues, wonder who'll he'll blame this time.
    Wonder who will believe him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

And the circus continues, wonder who'll he'll blame this time.
    Wonder who will believe him

I'm going to take a wild guess shot in the dark that it'll be his 'financial advisors' if its proven that he wasn't compliant & just like the rest of them in both Spain & the UK they'll be right to.

None of the players/managers who are caught up in these things are mastermind tax evaders, just following instructions and advice from the people they pay to know the best way to minimise their tax liabilities while paying the tax due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

TheDoc wrote: »
    To be honest I just don't get why he would want to come back in the current climate. He doesn't get on with Jose at all, and Jose doesn't get on with him.

If Jose is trying to build a squad in his image, to execute his word and wants, bringing Ronaldo is a big spanner in the works to that harmony. You'd think he'd just get over it and accept a player of his calibre and make it work, but I wouldn't put it past Jose not wanting him. The two were constantly at blows at Madrid.

Are the sources for that similar to the ones saying that Jose wanted rid of some of our current players?

https://twitter.com/marca/status/877132621096120320

Marca "Mourinho doesn't want to sign Ronaldo".

• It's ok. Jose and Ronnie now have a thread of all to themselves. It's missing a few players though.
    So predictable ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    It's ok. Jose and Ronnie now have a thread of all to themselves. It's missing a few players though.
    So predictable ;)

Great to see a few lads who haven't been seen in weeks knocking around again! It was getting very boring in here since the VVD debacle. Amazing what the imminent signing of a player can do for some lads!

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Great to see a few lads who haven't been seen in weeks knocking around again! It was getting very boring in here since the VVD debacle. Amazing what the imminent signing of a player can do for some lads!

It's like Viagra for them,coming in here all hard;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,593 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Tbf it's not new news that Mourinho was being investigated.. it came out in December and there was also a statement around then that Jose had paid 24m in taxes from his time there and they had asked the tax authorities if they were up to date and they were told they were. This is just a continuation of that

Just read that United are playing a waiting game with Inter over Perisic. They offered £26 million and inter want £44 m.
    Inter have to comply with FFP by July 1.United will hold out until then with the offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Just read that United are playing a waiting game with Inter over Perisic. They offered £26 million and inter want £44 m.
    Inter have to comply with FFP by July 1.United will hold out until then with the offer.

Its a risky game, what if someone comes in and bids more than 26 million in the mean time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,659 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Its a risky game, what if someone comes in and bids more than 26 million in the mean time.

Then United will presumably be discombobulated by such a turn-up for events and do nothing.

Or....they will offer more and see what happens.

What if he only wants to join united and no one else....

The more i think about it the more i think it wont happen...ronaldo back to utd that is. If fergie was still in charge i think he would have been a united player again by now. Just cant see jose signing him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭Julez

bangkok wrote: »
    The more i think about it the more i think it wont happen...ronaldo back to utd that is. If fergie was still in charge i think he would have been a united player again by now. Just cant see jose signing him

Man, we'd be in a much better place right now. Leicester would never have won that league title, ha. And, I agree, I think Ronaldo would have come back by now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,214 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

No evidence to suggest he would have returned under Fergie either to be perfectly honest, and at this point I think the better choice is to move on, rule out ever coming in for him and let that be that.

I'd have loved to see him play his whole career at United, but it didn't happen.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Hate all the comparisons to fergie its over its a new period of management.

If shanked was still alive and in charge of Liverpool fergie wouldn't of lasted more then four years with united.

Ronaldo if he ends up coming back great if he doesn't hopefully we sign out striker target and if it's morata I've no doubt he will be a success.

jayo26 wrote: »
    Hate all the comparisons to fergie its over its a new period of management.

If shanked was still alive and in charge of Liverpool fergie wouldn't of lasted more then four years with united.

Ronaldo if he ends up coming back great if he doesn't hopefully we sign out striker target and if it's morata I've no doubt he will be a success.

Bit extreme, he only left a couple of years ago. Nice to think of the good times, doesn't mean you don't except that things have changed and we've moved on.

Julez wrote: »
    Bit extreme, he only left a couple of years ago. Nice to think of the good times, doesn't mean you don't except that things have changed and we've moved on.

Hate was extreme to be fair but them comparison are constantly use in here to prove a point or what not.

Ah yeah, no, I do agree. I'd more just be thinking in a daydreamy way rather than trying to make any kind of point about how "...this is crap and wouldn't be like this if we had fergie..." type comment.

When we are linked with ronaldo and end up signing perisic that will be the let down

If you believe we're signing Ronaldo you'll always be let down.

I was like the majority in here on friday when it was on the bbc etc... now the dust has settled i dont think it will happen :(

Ah yeah, no, I do agree.I'd more just be thinking in a daydreamy way rather than trying to make any kind of point about how "...this is crap and wouldn't be like this if we had fergie..." type comment.

giphy_3.gif

:):):)

https://twitter.com/CmdotCom_En/status/877168960394997760

Juve looking to Darmian as Alves replacement.

I was like the majority in here on friday when it was on the bbc etc... now the dust has settled i dont think it will happen :(

The majority didnt believe it was true.... Id be more inclined to say reality set in more than dust settling.

Perisic wont be a let down, he was always a target and is a hard woring, extremely very capable player.

https://twitter.com/CmdotCom_En/status/877168960394997760

Juve looking to Darmian as Alves replacement.

Id really really not like to see darmian move I think he is a soldier full back on left or right he is valuable that the team.

I would love to keep him as back up, hes a grand squad player but I think we need a better full back in our starting eleven. Id be happy if he moved depending on the fee. We would need a replacement though for left back if he left with Shaw and Rojo still recovering.

:):):)

VhgxQiS.png
    "See ya! He writes the way people talk!"

:P

I would love to keep him as back up, hes a grand squad player but I think we need a better full back in our starting eleven. Id be happy if he moved depending on the fee. We would need a replacement though for left back if he left with Shaw and Rojo still recovering.

Absolutely not if it ment rojo been anyway near left back.

Rojo is pretty much a liability at left back but is an excellent option center back.

Absolutely not if it ment rojo been anyway near left back.

Rojo is pretty much a liability at left back but is an excellent option center back.

I agree, I personally think hes a liability no matter where you put him (he is a walking red card waiting to happen sometimes).

Himself, Darmian, Blind, Shaw and Young are the only lads who have played left back recently for us. Shaw is the only natural LB we have.