Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Ok now we actually are playing 6 at the back! Ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,178 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Blind and Axel wing backs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

GSPfan wrote: »
    Ok now we actually are playing 6 at the back! Ha.

5 get it right bruv.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

Jesus christ!!! Talk about parking the bus :o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Not much pace in that team. A boring and disappointing match in store I reckon. Hope I'm wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Yeah, we're losing this game. Carrick and Rooney in midfield won't end well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Jaysus.

United need to buy two more midfield players.

jayo26 wrote: »
    5 get it right bruv.

Im counting Carrick as a slightly advanced Centre Half in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I look at it as a back 3 rather than a back 5!

4-0 spurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Rashford to come on for the last 30 minutes \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Mars Bar wrote: »
    I look at it as a back 3 rather than a back 5!

I hope it's like that but fear it's not.

Wouldn't be surprised if lingard is rwb and Jones in midfield

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Was a real chance to give some youngsters a chance either starting or from the bench.

Dissapointed to see Mata starting and Rashford/Herrera on the bench. They should be wrapped in cotton wool.

Instead we go for a 5 at the back with 5 center backs and Rooney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,134 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Very hard to see anything but a defeat. I'd expect us to keep it tight early and play for the draw but spurs will open us up eventually and that will be that.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,943 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Bus parking time unfortunately looking at that lineup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Would say that Martial and Lingard will hopefully put in decent performances today to try and win a starting spot for Europa final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭irishchris

2-1 to United. Come on lads, gotta have faith!

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Was a real chance to give some youngsters a chance either starting or from the bench.

Dissapointed to see Mata starting and Rashford/Herrera on the bench. They should be wrapped in cotton wool.

Instead we go for a 5 at the back with 5 center backs and Rooney.

Mata hasnt played fek all after injury he has chance to get match sharp over bext 3 games and be an option for the final. Mitchell is also on the bench so there is two kids to bring on and another starting I've no issues with the selection really.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Quandary

I'd be shocked to see Utd win today. A draw is plastered all over this game, failing that, a Spurs win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

It's essentially a dead rubber match so its a pity more youngsters weren't given the nod.

I'd imagine given results elsewhere there will be a lot of peckers up so the match thread should be a bigger cess pool than normal too.

Just can't see a United win with that line up. We're gonna need some outstanding individual performances to get anything from this game

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Rod Munch wrote: »
    It's essentially a dead rubber match so its a pity more youngsters weren't given the nod.

I'd imagine given results elsewhere there will be a lot of peckers up so the match thread should be a bigger cess pool than normal too.

It strikes me he's giving a few people a chance to audition for the EL final tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

With the way results have gone, a top four finish is not happening. So I'm not bothered about line ups, formations or tactics for the rest of the season. Having the strongest & healthiest team ready for the EL has to be the priority now.

Fair enough resting players next week but I thought we should have put out our full team. We probably still get beat but parking the bus is just so disheartening.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Love to see us ruin Levy's party.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Will we really push to win, with Liverpool basically taking it out of our hands. I'd say they will conserve energy and leave it up to Arsenal and Liverpool for 4th.

With the way results have gone, a top four finish is not happening. So I'm not bothered about line ups, formations or tactics for the rest of the season. Having the strongest & healthiest team ready for the EL has to be the priority now.

This is it exactly. Ajax have no more ganes after this weekend we need our first 11 to be as fresh as possible I couldn't care less about the 3 league games it be nice to win them test but final is the important game.

Infairness the shape of the team is similar to the chelsea game i think it will probably be 3412.

Sky have tuanzebe in midfield but.i doubt that he is a defender from anytime I seen him.

Edit: what would I know ;)

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Fair enough resting players next week but I thought we should have put out our full team. We probably still get beat but parking the bus is just so disheartening.

At a guess, he'd rather play them once a week so he wants them to play the next game, instead of having ten days between games.

1-0 down already. Ah well.

Love the white socks and shorts combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,652 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

****ing awful by Rooney.

But its very typical

1st of many goals today :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Wow that was easy, Rooney knowhere near it.

Appalling defending for Rooney to give him a free header. Even though this game doesn't matter in the grand scheme of things, it is going to leave a bad taste in the mouth.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭shane.

It's gonna be a long afternoon chasing shadows I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭secman

6th place is a pathetic return from this squad, b rated trophies my arse oh special one.
    Relegation form on the run in. :(

secman wrote: »
    6th place is a pathetic return from this squad, b rated trophies my arse oh special one.
    Relegation form on the run in. :(

Cheer up. Its only a game.

Great ball by Rooney there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭secman

GSPfan wrote: »
    Cheer up. Its only a game.

If only it was 1 game, unfortunately it's been nearer 18 to 20 games !

Our defence is just tragic. Smalling, Jones, Blind all average. Carrick and Rooney are done

Poor Tuanzebe. This experience isn't gunna be much use to the fella.

We're like lambs to the slaughter.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Match thread infested with Pool fans already jumping as if they've won the league

Its closest they get to a trophy. Dear god don't summon them here.

Our defence is just tragic. Smalling, Jones, Blind all average. Carrick and Rooney are done

Be interesting to see how many players playing today are at the club next season. With the exception of Bailly, many will be lucky to be bench players, and may only survive cause we can't cull the lot of them.

That was their cup final today.

Top 4 is about the most they can wish for so not surprised their delighted.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

This game sums up why Jones Smalling cannot play against Ajax

Game is panning out as expected so far.

Tom.D.BJJ wrote: »
    This game sums up why Jones Smalling cannot play against Ajax

Unfortunately we don't have any other options

Smalling and Jones need to be cut loose for next season.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸