Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Registered Users Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Quandary

It's such a shame TFM is injured, I'd love to have seen him given a crack at Defensive mid. Tuanzebe is doing ok there but he looks a little bit deer in the headlights sometimes(understandably considering his age/natural position).

Martial, Mata and Mkhitaryan have been poor tonight. No surprise our attack looks so stunted really. Rooney doing ok, one or two very nice highlights, particularly the touch and ball to Martial.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

Superb game so far

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

Romero having a solid game

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Hococop wrote: »
    Romero having a solid game

That's an understatement.

Martial has been pure stink. Doesn't look interested at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,755 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Romero is keeping this interesting with his man of the match performance for the first hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,597 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Need a body into the midfield.. they are walking thru us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,228 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Quandary wrote: »
    Martial has been pure stink. Doesn't look interested at all.

Could say that for 90% of the games he's played this season.

Really getting tired of him.

J. Marston wrote: »

Agree

J. Marston wrote: »

I have been a big fan of his but am starting to lose faith now also :(

Ah lads ffs what the **** was that

Meaningless game - why bring on Carrick and not young McTominay?

Mata hurt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

and fellaini....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

S.M.B. wrote: »
    and fellaini....

It's on Jose's orders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

I think I've said it before but if de gea is gone I'm all for Sergio being our number 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭dubmick

Off topic but I see that little sh*t Aspas has been sent off against Real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,654 ✭✭✭✭Sand

dubmick wrote: »

Just not his week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

dubmick wrote: »
    Ridiculously too. A yellow card for complaining about a blatant handball in the penalty area and another yellow for a dive after being pushed in the box by Ramos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

7 points behind Liverpool in 4th.......

Don't need to say much more really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,134 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

We'll be blessed to beat Ajax

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tyson Fury wrote: »

I'd actually be confident of beating Ajax. Can't draw against them after-all.

Tyson Fury wrote: »

I really would not be surprised if we lose. You cant just switch form on and off.

All this bollox of Jose resting players last few games what good will it do in the end?

Theres been no evidence of any real stand out major form of late from this team other then blocking out other teams and playing deep. Thats not worth a ****e in a cup final once off match. We had the Chelsea match and that was it.

We need to win this game its massive for the club in its current state but id almost love to see what would happen if we lose just to see what kind of ****ing ****e some of the deluded pricks we have as fans would say and do afterwards...... What would be the positive spin then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Zzzzzzz

Another fecking draw

Romero easily MOTM.

Usual lack of desire from a lot of players though. Usual group don't seem at all bothered. Roll on summer...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Well that was a good warmup for Romero! Paint drying would have been more exciting...

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Romero easily MOTM.

Usual lack of desire from a lot of players though. Usual group don't seem at all bothered. Roll on summer...

Even if a further 4-5 players are brought in, the squad is largely going to be the same next season. A transfer window is not going to solve the lack of energy/motivation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

At least we didn't lose. Romero doing himself proud and possibly becoming our number 1 for next season. Honestly think there are better keepers out there but if the £50 or £60 million we get for De Gea is to be reinvested Id rather see it go on outfield players.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

6ᵗʰ66
    Red devils confirmed.

Sand wrote: »
    Even if a further 4-5 players are brought in, the squad is largely going to be the same next season. A transfer window is not going to solve the lack of energy/motivation.

Its only going to confuse things even more. Your gonna have last years players who have not settled mixed in with bunch new lads who are new as well. The so called experienced ones most of them dont seem to give a ****.

Head ****.

GSPfan wrote: »
    At least we didn't lose. Romero doing himself proud and possibly becoming our number 1 for next season. Honestly think there are better keepers out there but if the £50 or £60 million we get for De Gea is to be reinvested Id rather see it go on outfield players.

That has turned into the new motto of the club at this stage :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

There was nothing to play for tonight to be fair. What we should be more worried about is why we had nothing to play for in the last 4 league games of the season.

Its only going to confuse things even more. Your gonna have last years players who have not settled mixed in with bunch new lads who are new as well. The so called experienced ones most of them dont seem to give a ****.

Head ****.

My view is that if a player is playing below expectations, its a player problem. If a team is playing below expectations, its a bigger problem.

I think Mourinho has done really well on his transfers - Zlatan and Pogba have been huge players this season. Bailly and Mkhitaryan have been very good as well. But its a bit much to expect Mourinho is going to solve widespread problems by replacing 22 players.

There was nothing to play for tonight to be fair. What we should be more worried about is why we had nothing to play for in the last 4 league games of the season.

Also games like this where the pressure is off is where we should of seen certain players who haven't had major impacts or time this season really go for it.

What did we see instead ? Negativity.

Remove Rooney from the field, and replace him with someone above average and we'd look a lot better. Remove Martial and his lackadaisical attitude, bring in an actual LW able to do more than running at a team and losing the ball....a transfer window will easily fix the problems tbh, and it strikes me there are a few players playi like they know they won't be here much longer...

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Forgot all about Southampton/United, been watching Sheffield Wednesday & Huddersfield, more exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭secman

See that's the problem right there, better management of the squad would have had players fighting for a start in europa cup final. The players should have been busting guts to try and make the starting 11. Really bad Man management. Lots of players going through the motions, Just like what happened at Chelsea last season. Our form is just dire, with the exception of the Chelsea game.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Also games like this where the pressure is off is where we should of seen certain players who haven't had major impacts or time this season really go for it.

What did we see instead ? Negativity.

Yeah it's been a theme over the last 3 games. You'd think a few players would be expressing themselves more and putting their hands up for the Europa League final and a place in next season's squad but it's just so subdued and dull. Whether Jose is the reason behind that we don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Crap game/

Romero tho

Are you not concerned as to why the manager is not getting more from the team ?

Remove Rooney from the field, and replace him with someone above average and we'd look a lot better. Remove Martial and his lackadaisical attitude, bring in an actual LW able to do more than running at a team and losing the ball....a transfer window will easily fix the problems tbh, and it strikes me there are a few players playi like they know they won't be here much longer...

Hopefully so, but Martial scored 18 goals last season. 8 goals this season. Rashford scored 12 goals on half a season, just 11 on a full season. Mata has stood out by maintaining his contribution by scoring 10 goals.

Zlatan papered over a lot of cracks with his 28 goals. The rest of our attackers have regressed or at best (Mata) have maintained their goal scoring. We're going to lose Zlatan and his 28 goals. Say we sign Griezmann, and he scores 28 goals next season - to improve the goals scored we still need a huge step up from our attacking players. Martial is capable of scoring 18 goals a season - proved it last year. Mourinho needs to get more out of the players that are there.

Because there is no way there is going to be 10 new faces next season.

Souness: United pay a 25% penalty in the transfer market because they have all the money.
    They had their trousers pulled down for the Pogba transfer.

secman wrote: »
    Are you not concerned as to why the manager is not getting more from the team ?

Nope. I think he's tried but there's several players don't seem to be bothered. Weren't bothered for LVG either. And don't believe they'd be bothered by any manager. There's some players content with battling for forth, and I'd trust Jose's hunger to win trophies more than theirs. My belief is he's tried, they don't ha the fight in them so he can ship them out this summer.

Nope... seriously ! 2 clubs in a row this has happened !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭caviardreams

At this rate De Gea will be staying and Real will be in for Romero :D

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

https://twitter.com/billrice23/status/864947536590757888
    Mourinho asked when we might see David de Gea in #MUFC shirt again.

LA Galaxy in July.

Penalty shoot out on SS3

Hope this isn't us next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

And three managers in a row we have underperformed in the league.

Its gas, people (not talking about you specifically) are ready to blame Jose for the players underperforming, same as his last season at Chelsea.

Yet when the Leicester players downed tools for Claudio they were lambasted and Claudio was held blameless.

A large part of it is because Jose is not seen as a nice guy and is an easy target.

We have improved a lot in many ways compared to the last 3 years. A bit of extra luck and we would be comfortably in the top 4 and we would be talking about it being a very good season for us. Of course there is still a lot of work to do but I believe we are on the right path.

There is some dead wood and egos in the club that do not have a future. Get rid of them, get in 4 first teamers and go from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,134 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Well, its because that progress is difficult to perceive. With 36 games played, Mourinho has secured 2 additional points, 6 additional goals for, 5 less goals against over LVG's United in 2016. LVG didn't have Zlatan, Pogba, Baily or Mkhitaryan. Over 36 games, that is an improvement of 0.05 points per game, 0.15 goals per game. From a base which was considered utterly unacceptable that's a pretty underwhelming return. In terms of brass tacks LVG delivered an FA cup, and missed the CL by goal difference, finishing 5th. Mourinho has the League Cup, will finish 6th but should hopefully deliver the CL via a EL win.

I think its silly to suggest Mourinho's position is in trouble, but its clear that this season has been poor versus the hopes at the start of the season where people expected a title challenge. Mourinho himself mocked other managers in August for being coy about being title contenders. That was his expectation, its not worked out that way.

I hope Mourinho succeeds, because that means United succeeds, but people who are concerned aren't blind to developments on the pitch. The thing that concerns me the most is the negativity Mourinho seems to exude. A hugely talented squad at Chelsea were in a nosedive last season under Mourinho. This season, they are worthy champions. The thing that gives me hope is that in his first season back at Chelsea, Mourinho was missing goals. He added goals in the next season and won the title. Here is hoping it works out the same for United.

This was a great post.

Hopefully some are finally taking the blinkers off.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

What has happened? He's not taken champions down to the lower half of the table again. He's taken us, in terms of league table position, from fighting for top four to fighting for top four. In the mean time, he's managed to drastically improve play style (over the season), phased out underperforming players without anyone kicking up a fuss, has us in a EL final (despite underperformance a) and looks set to continue that work in the summer.

This idea that it's "2 clubs in a row" sounds like a lovely narrative to paint if you were already predisposed to hating Jose (which you have been quite clear about since day one) but the narrative very clearly falls apart with a few seconds thought.