Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Netflix Recommendations 2.0 *READ FIRST POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

The Inmate season 1
    enders game
    trotsky season 1
    A former Marine poses as an inmate inside a Mexican prison in order to infiltrate a gang suspected of kidnapping a U.S. judge's teen daughter

added today

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Argh. Please, no Twitter trailers, the aspect ratio makes me sad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

inforfun wrote: »

Highly recommend both of these and Dark as well is probably the best of the whole lot, others that I have watched that were decent are Borderliner, The Killing, Bordertown - all scandanavian crime shows that were good but kind of similar.

Nearly finished Narcos Mexico now, really good, wasn't sure if it was going to be a bit predictable after the first episode or two, it probably is.. but it's enjoyable nonetheless! Not a huge fan of Michael Pena in it though.

Tried watching the Ballad of Buster Scruggs and thought it was the biggest load of crap going, didn't finish it in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭Fian

Tried watching the Ballad of Buster Scruggs and thought it was the biggest load of crap going, didn't finish it in the end.

You are incorrect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭Ilovethe bonesofyou

Fian wrote:
    You are incorrect.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. I enjoyed it myself but it's all subjective really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭Damien360

Just watched The Ballad of Buster Scruggs. I'm a fan of the Coen Brothers and all their quirkiness, so give it a thumbs up. I always find myself pondering life after their films and this one was no different.

I couldn't finish it. The first story was brilliant and quirky. And then it went downhill. Gave up after the thespian with no arms and legs. Pity because I love the Coen Brothers stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,912 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

WarnerMedia is going to follow Disney and set up it's own streaming service to launch 4th quarter next year and pull there content.

WarnerMedia is owned by AT&T which now owns HBO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,313 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Wonder if that means the DC comics channel will be integrated into that as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Tim76

WarnerMedia is going to follow Disney and set up it's own streaming service to launch 4th quarter next year and pull there content.

WarnerMedia is owned by AT&T which now owns HBO.

What's the point in having all these different streaming services? I would imagine people are just going to sign up for one, possibly two, and ignore the rest.

With such a fragmented market it will just drive people back to torrenting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Tim76 wrote: »
    What's the point in having all these different streaming services? I would imagine people are just going to sign up for one, possibly two, and ignore the rest.

Aye, I can't see myself paying for more than the two I subscribe to at the moment.

The 5 , 6 , 7 ,8 & 9 euro a month are starting to add up

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Murph76

you got a point there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭Fian

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. I enjoyed it myself but it's all subjective really.

Ofc, if my post came across as aggressive it was not intended to be - my response was tongue in cheek.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

It's not like Netflix was ever a one-stop shop for films and tv. The current situation where Netflix curates a catalogue of constantly expiring licensed content alongside their own exclusive catalogue of mostly second rate tv movies and binge-watch shows is fine if you just want something to watch, but was never going to address torrenting and piracy. I don't fancy paying for multiple services either, but if it means we get access to older film catalogues then it will be an improvement IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

It's not like Netflix was ever a one-stop shop for films and tv. The current situation where Netflix curates a catalogue of constantly expiring licensed content alongside their own exclusive catalogue of mostly second rate tv movies and binge-watch shows is fine if you just want something to watch, but was never going to address torrenting and piracy. I don't fancy paying for multiple services either, but if it means we get access to older film catalogues then it will be an improvement IMO.

When I first came across Netflix several years ago I erroneously assumed that it was or would be a giant archive to replace our home video libraries. I obviously found out quick enough that it's anything but the sort. (Although, being able to travel was great when it was possible...)

Agree with you that it's fine as is if you're OK with browsing to try to find something to watch. And, it's grand if people want to pay for multiple services. I'm still holding onto my DVDs for now however.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

It may drive *some people* to acquire content through unofficial channels but it is harder and harder without the required knowledge which your average subscriber would likely have the time patience for. Netflix was and is an easy service to use.

out of many ,one
    this documentary short, a diverse group of men and women discuss their personal journeys as they prepare for the U.S. citizenship test

Drop dead Fred

Added today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Maybe. On the other hand these companies just have to make more money than they would with licensing. Bad for the consumer alright.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,406 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I think with multiple streaming services people will just end up subscribing for a month whenever a show or film they want to watch is added rather than just paying out every month so it won't actually be that bad when there's loads of them.

The more spread out the content the more limited each service will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

oneilla wrote: »
    It may drive *some people* to acquire content through unofficial channels but it is harder and harder without the required knowledge which your average subscriber would likely have the time patience for. Netflix was and is an easy service to use.
    I just dont think this is true...but without getting into specifics.
    My 10 year old nephew managed it in about 10 minutes.
    I happily pay for Sky, Netflix, Shudder and Amazon Prime, but if programmes become scattered over a tonne of platforms it will drive people to these "unofficial" channels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,113 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Always sunny in Philadelphia season 13 arrives on January 6th.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Shops like the Laser stores in Dublin had everything that you ever wanted, pretty much, pity that model is gone forever.

You could just rent the movies from Apple or Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'll be continuing as I currently am: subscribing to Netflix, catching some stuff on the UK catch-up/on-demand players via VPN and torrenting anything else I'm interested in.

I'd happily pay twice or three times what I currently do for Netflix if it was a "one-stop shop" of TV and Film. I'd even probably happily enough subscribe to a few different services (at much lower monthly rates) if each was differentiated by genre (e.g. different services for American Drama series, Reality TV, Documentaries, Sport, Kids, Gameshows, British Comedy, Action Movies, Romance Movies, Comedies, Foreign Language etc.).

But there's absolutely no chance I'll be subscribing to a dozen different services when the only differentiator between them is the copyright ownership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Watched Bad Blood while travelling for work for the past few days. It's pretty good without being anything overly ground-breaking
    I got taken out of it a few times when some of the "beats" came straight out of the Godfather trilogy
    but Anthony LaPaglia is always very watchable and, unlike so many shows recently, it seems to be happy enough as a one season show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Occono

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,079 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

That sounds very much like if you're watching a lot of human rights documentaries Netflix will have to start suggesting you watch some Nazi ****. Get all the viewpoints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭acalmenvoy

coming in jan 2019

punisher season 2 is coming out but the date is not confirmed

1st January
    A Series of Unfortunate Events: Season 3
    Tidying Up with Marie Kondo: Season 1
    Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me
    Comedians of the World: Season 1
    This global, first-of-its-kind, series will showcase 47 comedians from 13 regions in 8 languages in an unprecedented stand-up comedy experience. The groundbreaking series will feature a range of stand-up specials from comedians diverse in style, gender and ethnicity.

Pinky Malinky: Season 1
    Pinky Malinky sees the bright side of everything, including being born a hot dog. With his BFFs in tow, this little wiener takes a bite out of life.
    Pacific Rim
    The Witches
    Hitch
    Valentine’s Day
    The Blind Side
    The Fault in Our Stars
    Escape Room
    The Ottoman Lieutenant
    Slasher: Guilty Party
    Murder Party
    Zookeeper

4th January
    Lionheart
    When her father falls ill, Adaeze steps up to run the family business – alongside her uncle – and prove herself in a male-dominated world.

And Breathe Normally
    An Icelandic single mom struggling with poverty and a Guinea-Bissauan asylum seeker facing deportation find their lives intertwined in unexpected ways.

Call My Agent!: Season 3
    Rising tensions prompt two agents to hatch a secret plot in a new season of showbiz antics with Isabelle Huppert, Monica Bellucci and Jean Dujardin.

6th January
    It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: Season 13

9th January
    GODZILLA: The Planet Eater
    The third part of Netflix’s original anime trilogy based on the iconic monster. With the earth alliance weakened, Haruo weighs siding with the Exif, whose death cult is summoning a monster that can destroy the world.

10th January
    When Heroes Fly: Season 1
    Years after a bitter falling out, four Israeli military veterans reunite and travel to Colombia in search of a loved one they’d presumed to be dead

11th January
    Sex Education: Season 1
    Meet Otis Milburn – an inexperienced, socially awkward high school student who lives with his mother, a sex therapist. Surrounded by manuals, videos and tediously open conversations about sex, Otis is a reluctant expert on the subject. When his home life is revealed at school, Otis realizes that he can use his specialist knowledge to gain status. He teams up with Maeve, a whip-smart bad-girl, and together they set up an underground sex therapy clinic to deal with their fellow students’ weird and wonderful problems. Through his analysis of teenage sexuality, Otis realises he may need some therapy of his own.

Friends from College: Season 2
    Mistakes were made. Feelings were hurt. Life goes on. Now, with a wedding on the horizon, the gang tries to put the past behind them.

Titans: Season 1
    Led by Batman’s former protégé Robin, a group of teen heroes forms to fight crime while wrestling with their inner demons.

The Last Laugh
    Retired talent manager Al reconnects with former client Buddy, a comedian who gave up performing decades ago, and urges him to go back out on the road.

Solo
    In a remote area of the Canary Islands, young surfer Alvaro Vizcaino accidentally falls from a cliff. Seriously injured, he must fight to survive.

ReMastered: Massacre at the Stadium

13th January
    The Bye Bye Man

15th January
    Sebastian Maniscalco: Stay Hungry

Revenger
    A former detective hell-bent on revenge infiltrates a remote island serving as a prison for dangerous death row criminals in search of a brutal fiend.

Inception

17th January
    The Purge: Anarchy

18th january
    Star Trek: Discovery: Season 2

Carmen Sandiego
    Carmen Sandiego returns in this series that follows her new international capers as well as past escapades that led to her becoming a super thief.

Grace and Frankie: Season 5

FYRE: The Greatest Party That Never Happened
    The Fyre Festival was billed as a luxury music experience full of social media influencers on a posh island, but the reality was far from the promises.

IO
    One of the last survivors on Earth, a teen races to cure her poisoned planet before the final shuttle to a distant space colony leaves her stranded.

Soni
    While fighting crimes against women in Delhi, a short-fused policewoman and her level-headed female boss grapple with gender issues in their own lives.

Close
    To protect an heiress from highly trained kidnappers, a lone security expert must unravel a sinister plot – while striving to stay alive.

Trigger Warning with Killer Mike
    In this subversive comedy documentary series, rapper and activist Killer Mike and a team of funny correspondents explore socially relevant topics.

Trolls: The Beat Goes On!: Season 5
    This season, the trolls get lost in wormholes, journey to the Fountain of Glitter, go for a ride in a submarine, play in the snow and more.

19th January
    Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: Season 4, Episode 10

20th January
    X-Men: Days of Future Past

Lion

Justice: Season 1
    Instead of joining her father’s law firm as her family expects, Farah strikes out on her own as a defense attorney after returning home to Abu Dhabi.

21st January
    Us and Them

24th January
    Robozuna: Season 1

Conversations with a Killer: The Ted Bundy Tapes
    Get a unique look inside the mind of an infamous serial killer with this cinematic self-portrait crafted from statements made by Ted Bundy.

25th January
    The Cured

Polar
    The world’s top assassin, Duncan Vizla, aka The Black Kaiser, is settling into retirement when his former employer marks him as a liability to the firm. Against his will, he finds himself back in the game going head to head with an army of younger, faster, ruthless killers who will stop at nothing to have him silenced.

Medici: The Magnificent
    He already sacrificed his dreams of being an artist and marrying his true love. Will building and protecting the Medici legacy cost him his soul too?

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Season 4 Part 2 – 25th January
    As the series comes to a hilarious and moving close, Kimmy has to choose between helping her friends, Titus (Tituss Burgess), Jacqueline (Jane Krakowski) and Lillian (Carol Kane), and helping someone she’s never put first before: herself. This final season includes a double-sized “Sliding Doors” episode exploring how the main characters’ lives might have been different if Kimmy had never been kidnapped.

Kingdom: Season 1
    In a kingdom defeated by corruption and famine, a mysterious rumour of the king’s death spreads as does a strange plague that renders the infected immune to death and hungry for flesh. The crown prince, fallen victim to a conspiracy, sets out on a journey to unveil the evil behind it all and save his people.

Animas
    When her best friend starts acting odd after a strange accident, a young woman descends into a living hell where nightmare and reality are blurred.

Club de Cuervos: Season 4
    Chava and Isabel come to terms with their futures and the future of the Cuervos in an all-new season of surprises.

26th January
    Dynasty: Season 2, Episode 11
    Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: Season 4, Episode 11
    Fifty Shades Darker

28th January
    Assassin’s Creed

29th January
    Black Lightning: Season 2, Episode 11
    Gabriel “Fluffy” Iglesias: One Show Fits All

31st January
    Suits: Season 8, Episode 12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Sleepy wrote: »
    Watched Bad Blood while travelling for work for the past few days. It's pretty good without being anything overly ground-breaking
    I got taken out of it a few times when some of the "beats" came straight out of the Godfather trilogy
    but Anthony LaPaglia is always very watchable and, unlike so many shows recently, it seems to be happy enough as a one season show.

Haven't watched it yet but it's already a two season show and both have aired, I think Netflix just recently picked up rights to the first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,007 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

Anyone here watched the Godzilla anime?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Sleepy wrote: »

Haven't watched it yet but it's already a two season show and both have aired, I think Netflix just recently picked up rights to the first.
    I watched the 1st ep a few weeks back, only for about 20mins in and binned it

Do they have absolutely everything? Im talking about Herzog Boxsets and huge selection of music video collections and live concerts?

You can't, looked up Berlin Alexanderplatz (miniseries from the 80s), New Order Video Collection and Northern Exposure Tv series none of these are on iTunes/Apple Store, got these all and much more in Laser in the past.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

A reminder that the transcendent Roma hits Netflix tomorrow.

I've said it before, but I'll say it again without hesitation: it's the best thing that Netflix has ever put its name to. Alfonso Cuarón is at the top of his game. Shots are unhurried and gorgeous, soaking in the atmosphere with casual mastery. It's a slow film, but the emotional stakes are clear and the pay-offs often extraordinarily satisfying.

Worth pointing out that it's also playing in the Lighthouse Dublin and Palas Galway from tomorrow. If you can make it at all, do try and catch it on the big screen. But if you can't, not to worry - that it's readily available to all is a very good thing indeed :)

Dedicated thread here as well: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=107814214?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

iTunes is good for new releases and popular films in general but can be crap for older stuff. And of course it has no tv shows at all in Ireland. Buying from iTunes, especially at full price, is not a good idea unless you are well backed up as stuff gets pulled from their servers all the time.

Apple is getting into the streaming business as well soon, so iTunes is unlikely to get better.

iTunes is good for new releases and popular films in general but can be crap for older stuff. And of course it has no tv shows at all in Ireland. Buying from iTunes, especially at full price, is not a good idea unless you are well backed up as stuff gets pulled from their servers all the time.

Apple is getting into the streaming business as well soon, so iTunes is unlikely to get better.

If you buy the movie digitally don't they still have to give you the option, under EU law, to download even if they are no longer selling it? I know that's the way it is with Sony and the Playstation store. I have games that have been pulled but they are still there in my library to be downloaded when I want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

If you buy the movie digitally don't they still have to give you the option, under EU law, to download even if they are no longer selling it? I know that's the way it is with Sony and the Playstation store. I have games that have been pulled but they are still there in my library to be downloaded when I want.

I would thInk so. I have about 20 iTunes movies bought over a decade and none have ever been removed.

I agree that their old catalog isn’t perfect but it’s ok. All of Hitchcock’s movies seem to be there.

Back to Netflix I watched dumpling yesterday. Acceptable enough coming of age movie.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I've said it before, but I'll say it again without hesitation: it's the best thing that Netflix has ever put its name to. Alfonso Cuarón is at the top of his game. Shots are unhurried and gorgeous, soaking in the atmosphere with casual mastery. It's a slow film, but the emotional stakes are clear and the pay-offs often extraordinarily satisfying.

Worth pointing out that it's also playing in the Lighthouse Dublin and Palas Galway from tomorrow. If you can make it at all, do try and catch it on the big screen. But if you can't, not to worry - that it's readily available to all is a very good thing indeed :)
    I'm holding off on this for a nice quiet evening over Christmas. I love his movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I've said it before, but I'll say it again without hesitation: it's the best thing that Netflix has ever put its name to. Alfonso Cuars at the top of his game. Shots are unhurried and gorgeous, soaking in the atmosphere with casual mastery. It's a slow film, but the emotional stakes are clear and the pay-offs often extraordinarily satisfying.

Dedicated thread here as well: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=107814214?

You got me with Pink Floyd in the trailer :D

Roma as mentioned above , best reviewed film of 2018 on meta critic

Travelers: Season 3

Voltron: Legendary Defender: Season 8

Wanted season 3

Underworld blood wars

The Fix: Season 1
    Comedians Jimmy Carr, D.L. Hughley and Katherine Ryan tackle the world's woes with help from a rotating crew of funny guests and an actual expert.

Prince of Peoria: A Christmas Moose Miracle

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina: A Midwinter’s Tale

Tidelands season 1
    Ex-con Cal McTeer's return to her hometown of Orphelin Bay blows the lid off a generations-long conspiracy of silence around murder, drugs and Sirens.

The Innocent: Season 1
    This documentary adaptation of John Grisham's only nonfiction book raises troubling questions about two murder cases in Ada, Oklahoma, in the 1980s.

Sunderland Till I Die: Season 1
    Doc about Sunderland FC after they were relegated from the premier league

The Endless: great low budget sci fi
    As kids, they escaped a UFO death cult. Now, two adult brothers seek answers after an old videotape surfaces and brings them back to where they began

The Protector: Season 1
    Discovering his ties to a secret ancient order, a young man living in modern Istanbul embarks on a quest to save the city from an immortal enemy.

Fuller House: Season 4

Inside the World’s Toughest Prison: Season 3

Dance and Sing with True: Songs

The apartment season 2

Added today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

You can't, looked up Berlin Alexanderplatz (miniseries from the 80s), New Order Video Collection and Northern Exposure Tv series none of these are on iTunes/Apple Store, got these all and much more in Laser in the past.

Did you watch them in your leather boxers?

Back to the future trilogy have been removed

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

peteeeed wrote: »
    Roma as mentioned above , best reviewed film of 2018 on meta critic

Travelers: Season 3

Great news; one of the best SciFi shows on telly, certainly the most underrated. Will always give this more oxygen when it comes up.

I read John Grisham's The Innocent Man and it was a good page turner but is this documentary going to be in the same style as the watching paint dry Making a Murderer?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

I read John Grisham's The Innocent Man and it was a good page turner but is this documentary going to be in the same style as the watching paint dry Making a Murderer?

Jeez you're hard to impress. Making a murderer is probably Netflix's biggest ever success. Brilliant show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

dulux99 wrote: »
    Jeez you're hard to impress. Making a murderer is probably Netflix's biggest ever success. Brilliant show.
    The first series of making a murderer was IMO...absolutely fantastic, so compelling I devoured it, the second series less so.

Just copped The Endless has been added today. That's a great little Sci-Fi movie that everyone needs to watch.