Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Netflix Recommendations 2.0 *READ FIRST POST*

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭strawdog

den87 wrote: »
    One thing I’ve discovered recently thanks to Netflix, Friends does not age well.

Not a fan of Friends but I can still appreciate that between about I think season 2 and season 4 there was some very good comedy writing (by the standards of the time anyway) and a real chemistry between the cast (easy to underestimate how hard that is to find). That period still holds up imo. It quickly jumped the shark thereafter and became unwatchable which I put down to the pressure of its massive success and the fact that they blew the central plot device of Ross/Rachel, that happens to a lot of shows tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

inforfun wrote: »
    Mentioned before here but some stuff deserves to be mentioned again

Only saw 3 episodes so far but cant wait to be home for the rest of Dirty Money tonight.

They should have stopped after those 1st 3. Ep4,5 and 6 where not even remotely as interesting as the first 3.

Not hard to guess who the documentary makes voted for in the last US election :pac:

And Friends....
    If you see what nowadays is considered the best of that kind of shows, it is still a ****load better.
    They should just stop these kind of shows.
    More effort is made to not offend than to be funny.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Isn't Friends kinda a generational thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

FunLover18 wrote: »
    Been watching James Acaster's specials over the holidays and they are hilarious, I'm going to keep an eye out for any Dublin gigs.

Whelans in November

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭JohnCreedon81

Tried You last night and thought it was awful!! Surprised it’s getting lots of praise, terrible all round.

Attempted it twice over the Christmas and I watch any aul tripe...couldn’t stick it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,853 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I thought it was decent enough. Not fantastic but definitely watchable

I'm with you on this assessment.
    6.5 out of 10

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭neirbloom

strawdog wrote: »
    Not a fan of Friends but I can still appreciate that between about I think season 2 and season 4 there was some very good comedy writing (by the standards of the time anyway) and a real chemistry between the cast (easy to underestimate how hard that is to find). That period still holds up imo. It quickly jumped the shark thereafter and became unwatchable which I put down to the pressure of its massive success and the fact that they blew the central plot device of Ross/Rachel, that happens to a lot of shows tho.

Yea I really enjoyed the first couple of seasons way back when and even now but tried watching the final few especially the 10th season and its really woeful like the episode where Monica gets the Rastafarian dreadlocks or where she thinks she's after catching Chandler enjoying himself to shark porn :confused:.

Seinfeld on the other hand while dated the comedy still hold up and how much did Amazon or Hulu fork out on that deal.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Speaking of Friends, I was just reading there that each of the 6 main cast members make about $20million a year off royalties from reruns. And it's never been off air in the UK since it ended. Madness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭snotboogie

neirbloom wrote: »
    Yea I really enjoyed the first couple of seasons way back when and even now but tried watching the final few especially the 10th season and its really woeful like the episode where Monica gets the Rastafarian dreadlocks or where she thinks she's after catching Chandler enjoying himself to shark porn :confused:.

Seinfeld on the other hand while dated the comedy still hold up and how much did Amazon or Hulu fork out on that deal.

I think the earlier seasons hold up, it had a Simpsonsesque fall off towards the end which rarely gets mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭mrmorgan

friends was the most overrated comedy of all time, bloody awful

it hasnt a patch on seinfeld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,668 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Dogs of Berlin-kick ass

It's excellent, isn't it? I wonder will be there be a second season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭mrmorgan

anyone for something for me to watch after the city game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

And Breathe Normally
    An Icelandic single mom struggling with poverty and a Guinea-Bissauan asylum seeker facing deportation find their lives intertwined in unexpected ways.

Broken season 1

Call My Agent!(french) season 3

case closed season 1

heavy rescue:401 season 2

Lionheart
    When her father falls ill, Adaeze steps up to run the family business -- alongside her uncle -- and prove herself in a male-dominated world.

QB1:beyond the lights season 2

the super

added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,264 ✭✭✭✭km79

peteeeed wrote: »
    And Breathe Normally
    An Icelandic single mom struggling with poverty and a Guinea-Bissauan asylum seeker facing deportation find their lives intertwined in unexpected ways.

Broken season 1

Call My Agent!(french) season 3

case closed season 1

heavy rescue:401 season 2

Lionheart
    When her father falls ill, Adaeze steps up to run the family business -- alongside her uncle -- and prove herself in a male-dominated world.

QB1:beyond the lights season 2

the super

added today

QB1 season 2 . LOVELY stuff !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

It's like an early 2000's TV movie

• Registered Users Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭budgemook

Friends has certainly aged badly and went pure crap for the last few seasons (Joey's stupidity pretty much became a severe mental disability for example) but I'm not sure how people are surprised at it's success - look at one of the most successful sitcoms since Friends, the big bang theory - it's at least 40 times worse than friends and I hope it never comes to Netflix Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

budgemook wrote: »
    Friends has certainly aged badly and went pure crap for the last few seasons (Joey's stupidity pretty much became a severe mental disability for example) but I'm not sure how people are surprised at it's success - look at one of the most successful sitcoms since Friends, the big bang theory - it's at least 40 times worse than friends and I hope it never comes to Netflix Ireland!

There's 11 series of big bang theory on Netflix here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭budgemook

There's 11 series of big bang theory on Netflix here.

:(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Friends is such an odd fish, I'm sure someone somewhere has done a decent thought piece of why & how it captured the zeitgeist. Looking back, it wasn't that funny to begin with, trading on some hoary clichés that haven't aged well at all (though to be fair the first season wasn't bad), and its characters were all unlikeable, conceited jerks. It was a viral hit before that term came to be, with obsession over Ross & Rachel being a strange intense focus.

Maybe it was just the catchy theme tune, that always helps a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

As with so many of those series, it just ran a few seasons too long.

The best comedies usually make you wish they had a few seasons more.
    Every joke has been made after 4 or 5 seasons.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

pixelburp wrote: »
    Friends is such an odd fish, I'm sure someone somewhere has done a decent thought piece of why & how it captured the zeitgeist. Looking back, it wasn't that funny to begin with, trading on some hoary clichés that haven't aged well at all (though to be fair the first season wasn't bad), and its characters were all unlikeable, conceited jerks. It was a viral hit before that term came to be, with obsession over Ross & Rachel being a strange intense focus.

It's a real gen x show. The premise was basically lifted from Cameron Crowe's Singles albeit greatly watered down. Watching it as a kid I remember quite enjoying the first season, but something about those characters and how they lived always mystified me.

friends is a screensaver , if you leave the TV on long enough it will appear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

The kids are working their way through Friends now, and I was surprised how early in the run things like, "we were on a break" came, and how long it kept going after the Ross/Emily thing. That wasn't even halfway through the run.

Although - and I realize this is the kind of observation that would only occur to the mind of an eternal being. How did they afford that apartment? A waitress and a chef with those Manhattan real estate prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

RayCun wrote: »

Although - and I realize this is the kind of observation that would only occur to the mind of an eternal being. How did they afford that apartment? A waitress and a chef with those Manhattan real estate prices.

They addressed that iirc, was Monica's grandmother's and rent controlled.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

RayCun wrote: »

I feel like Friends in season 8. Out of ideas and forcing Joey and Rachel together even though it made no sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

pixelburp wrote:
    though to be fair the first season wasn't bad

Was that the season when Rachel was constantly smuggling raisins beneath the tops she wore?

God bless whoever consistently lowered the temperature on the production set.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Dogs of Berlin-kick ass

It's excellent, isn't it? I wonder will be there be a second season.
    Definitely hope so, plenty of scope anyhow from where it finished up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I feel like Friends in season 8. Out of ideas and forcing Joey and Rachel together even though it made no sense.

Yes, as bad ad the show got this was the most crazy and cringy thing they ever did.

As much as I dont like the show I will say Ross was always quite funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,012 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Anyone watch Springsteen on Broadway?

I tried to get tickets to see it when I was in the States earlier this year but it was sold out when I was there.

It supposed to be an amazing show I kind of want to leave this as my Christmas day present to myself.

I meant to say this is amazing.

I really wish I had gotten to see it live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,215 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Has anyone seen you, is it any good?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭JohnCreedon81

shamrock55 wrote: »

Thought it was terrible in every single way. Strangely seems to be getting a lot of love on here. You’ll know after a short blast of it whether it’s your cup of tea. As someone said on the last page, it’s like a really bad straight to TV movie from the 00s.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

I saw on Facebook recently that Derry Girls was on Netflix now but I can't find it? Must be just abroad is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

shamrock55 wrote: »

Myself and my wife are 6 episodes in and really enjoying it. It does seem to be a bit of a marmite show, you either like it or hate it with not much middle ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

BBFAN wrote: »
    I saw on Facebook recently that Derry Girls was on Netflix now but I can't find it? Must be just abroad is it?

Yeah, abroad only. It's on the All4 app, which is well worth downloading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Murder mountain and the innocent man are 2 very good crime documentaries, making up for the disappointment of MAM2. Bird box is terrible.

Myself and my wife are 6 episodes in and really enjoying it. It does seem to be a bit of a marmite show, you either like it or hate it with not much middle ground.

Yeah I agree, there's a lot of potholes but worth watching all the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

pixelburp wrote: »

I disagree strongly on the likability of the characters. The casting was one thing that worked. One of the odd things about friends is that people watch it in Netflix to decry it. There’s so much on Netflix why would you?

I didn’t really watch much but the odd episode when it was on. Recently though I googled for the top ten episodes, watched then in order from ten to one and they were pretty good. That’s the way to watch comedy on Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Dirty Grampa is up on Netflix. It is considered one of the worst films of all time. :)

If you want to see Robert DeNiro say things that only a demented horny 14 year old boy would say while drunk, this is a film you might enjoy. I started feeling a little bad for DeNiro about 10 minutes in, and didn't stop cringing until the end.

I enjoyed how stupid it was. While not funny in a laughing way, the sheer pathetic nature of the film made it very watchable to me. Like a slow motion car crash. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Occono

Netflix acquired the rights everywhere outside the UK and Ireland, you'll need to use All4.

Tip if you have a PS4: Switch your PSN Store account to the UK and download the All4 app. You can switch back and it'll work, they just haven't put it on the Irish store.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Occono wrote: »
    Netflix acquired the rights everywhere outside the UK and Ireland, you'll need to use All4.

Tip if you have a PS4: Switch your PSN Store account to the UK and download the All4 app. You can switch back and it'll work, they just haven't put it on the Irish store.:rolleyes:

Ah here, PS4? I barely have a laptop. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Ah here, PS4? I barely have a laptop. :D:D:D

Who has a laptop these days..? :)

The all 4 app is castable.!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Split

Along with the Gods: The Two Worlds
    Having died unexpectedly, firefighter Ja-hong is taken to the afterlife by 3 afterlife guardians. Only when he passes 7 trials over 49 days and proves he was innocent in human life, he’s able to reincarnate, and his 3 afterlife guardians are by his side to defend him in trial.

Along with the Gods: The Last 49 Day
    follows the journey of 3 Afterlife Guardians and Su-hong as they journey through their 49th trial in order to gain their reincarnations and how the Guardians slowly recover their forgotten memories through Household God in the living world.

added today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Birdbox is ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Agree birdbox didn't do it for me.

Starting murder mountain tonight.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Does anyone know when the new season of It's Always Sunny is coming our way?

Tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

peteeeed wrote: »
    Tomorrow

giphy.gif

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Finished watching Haunting Of Hill House today, and it was pretty good. I really liked Absentia, Flanagan's first film, and found his next two features (Oculus and Hush) to be disappointing executions of interesting premises. Gerald's Game from a couple of years ago was a promising improvement (a couple of weaknesses but those were in King's original story, to be fair).

The first half of the series has a few more clunky jump scares than I'd like, and
    Olivia's character was never really fleshed out enough to feel like more than the plot device she clearly was
    , but overall this was a pleasant surprise and a pretty effective horror story, albeit more drawing inspiration from Jackson's novel than adapting it in any meaningful sense. The parallel unfolding of past and present storylines is handled well with some clever transitions between the two, and there are a few details like
    background statues occasionally changing off screen to follow character's movements, or the apparently changeable layout of parts of the house
    that work at a subconscious level to enhance the tension and unease. Most importantly, by virtue of being a limited series rather than a film, there's space to examine and get to know the characters; the cast, even the youngest child actors, give good performances.