Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

Feisar wrote: »
    Well you have to be at least 35 for the job. I presume to have gained a level of maturity etc. So it's not unreasonable to suggest a cap at the other end to ensure the person has the energy for the role.

I dunno, I always thought age limits were moronic.
    There are plenty of mature 30 year olds, and equally many immature 35 year olds.
    Age being the delimiter of being capable of doing something just seems archaic and lazy tbh.

Not just in this instance either, licences for driving, shooting, hunting, etc vary widely in their age requirements by country, often with little impact on road deaths, shooting incidents etc from country to country.

Ageism being widespread doesn't make it sensible. ;)

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,648 ✭✭✭Feisar

otmmyboy2 wrote: »
    There are plenty of mature 30 year olds, and equally many immature 35 year olds.
    Age being the delimiter of being capable of doing something just seems archaic and lazy tbh.

Not just in this instance either, licences for driving, shooting, hunting, etc vary widely in their age requirements by country, often with little impact on road deaths, shooting incidents etc from country to country.

While I'm in general agreement with what you are saying, it's impossible to have a maturity test for the want of a better word. Plus there's experience which generally comes with age.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

otmmyboy2 wrote: »

Sorry, cannot agree. Just a few weeks ago i watched an old gal driving her yaris through the local village the wrong way, its a one way system. People were waving at her to stop, including a guard, she just waved back and carried on regardless, i did have to laugh.

There was an old boy lived 2 doors up, nearly 90 years old and as blind as the proverbial bat, he used to head out in his ancient micra, and was always having tips.

tudderone wrote: »
    Sorry, cannot agree. Just a few weeks ago i watched an old gal driving her yaris through the local village the wrong way, its a one way system. People were waving at her to stop, including a guard, she just waved back and carried on regardless, i did have to laugh.

There was an old boy lived 2 doors up, nearly 90 years old and as blind as the proverbial bat, he used to head out in his ancient micra, and was always having tips.

Making my point for me, the way I read that ;)

Only reason they have a license still is because the current system is solely age restricted at the young end, not the old.

Now if you brought in a rule like the medical & eyesight test for over 65 I believe is every 3 years and then every year over 70 to renew your licence. Evidently those are working well based on your blind 90 year old. ;)
    Our basic standard of driving is the driving test, for better or worse.
    If you had to sit a driving test at 70 and every 3 years after that to renew(or something similar) you would have a lot less older folks who are past driving out on the roads.

Capability, not age.

Mind you, that would be so unpopular with the grey vote politicians would never draft it, let alone pass it. :rolleyes:

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

In fairness, i know thats a joke, .......
    The joke would be Facebook factcheckers making excuses for it, like:

162524025_10219610685682691_8632487417055470101_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=X5stXdW_l2MAX8FcU85&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=b412fb8d2b641a650cb30a7d9761cfd3&oe=607CAE0A
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭JP22

On a lighter note, I see our Kerry walrus has now appeared in Wales, boy can that lad swim, only took a few days to get that far, better that Michael Phelps.

Why did he move - Well, I have it on good authority, seriously lads, no joking, a neighbour of mine married to, related to b, living near c, and a four times removed distant cousin of y said he moved because of the Covid. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

All true, I kid you not.:)

Cass wrote: »
    The joke would be Facebook factcheckers making excuses for it, like:

Well it was Trumps fault ;)

Sambo's selling for 90 euros a lob, proof as if it were needed, that the daft days of celtic tiger are back with a vengence. Expect a financial crash any minute.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/whats-on/food-drink-news/rathmines-food-ireland-sandwiches-price-20228011

• Registered Users Posts: 6,648 ✭✭✭Feisar

Sambo's selling for 90 euros a lob, proof as if it were needed, that the daft days of celtic tiger are back with a vengence. Expect a financial crash any minute.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/whats-on/food-drink-news/rathmines-food-ireland-sandwiches-price-20228011

Most of what's advertised in the States isn't actually Wagyu, I hope those lads are selling the real deal.
    It's sad that lads go to the other side of the world when we have the likes of the below here:

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

For those of you on Fakebook...A little bit of an announcement this Friday evening from the Polish HQ...:D

https://www.facebook.com/events/287039229443499

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    For those of you on Fakebook...A little bit of an announcement this Friday evening from the Polish HQ...:D

Its all in foreign :confused:.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Ooooh, sounds mysterious.
    Count me in!

Esp on FB, which is the Irish connection to this of course having its EU Hq in Dublin. The Deutsche Jagd Verband[DJV] is the equivalency of our NARGC in the proportionate representation of size and finances...Yet they punch well above their weight class and have done so since the early 80s, despite hunting being a minority lifestyle choice in Germany.
    Pass this on,it will eventually land in some Antis newsfeed here and might start giving them pause for thought.

* GERMANY TACKLES HUNTER ABUSE ON SOCIAL MEDIA
    In Germany, insults and abusive language on social media following a female hunter’s Facebook post led to severe consequences under criminal and civil law and more than 50 convictions.
    Anyone on social media knows that verbal derailments have become the norm rather than the exception. Factual presentation of dissenting opinions is more often than not replaced by insults, cursing and threats of harm. But, in Germany at least, the Internet is no longer a legal vacuum—there, Web posters don’t have to put up with online abuse anymore.
    A female hunter who calls herself Waidfräulein, “young lady of the forest,” posted the story and a photo of a successful late-winter fox hunt on Facebook in March 2018. Within a few hours, it had attracted more than 2,000 hateful comments and insults.
    Waidfräulein didn’t take the mostly anonymous insults lying down. Assisted by the DJV, the Deutscher Jagdverband, German Hunting Association, and lawyer Dr. Heiko Granzin, she took legal action. Apart from the consequences under German law, she filed for damages and injunctive relief.
    A particular hurdle had to be overcome in the process. German law aside, the European headquarters of Facebook are in Dublin, and only Ireland’s public prosecutor’s office can demand IP addresses and names in the course of a criminal investigation into Facebook. As it happened, the Irish prosecutor took the matter seriously and did seek the names and IP addresses of the offenders, some of whom posted under pseudonyms.
    German media, including the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, BILD-Zeitung, Der Spiegel and others, reported extensively on the matter. And now, two and a half years later, Waidfräulein’s case has come to a close and the people who used abusive language must pay. “In addition to declarations of cease and desist, there were over a dozen criminal and civil convictions,” said the German Hunting Association. (Further proceedings are ongoing.)
    The legal consequences in more than 50 cases included, among other things, penalty orders, judgments, compensation for pain and suffering, and cease and desist statements. Hate commentators will pay heavy fines and costs. One guilty party, who used a derogatory term for the female sexual organ, has to fork out €3,800 ($4,675) in court costs, legal expenses and compensation. Derogatory terms like Miststück (loosely, bitch) and Abschaum (scum) earned abusers penalties of €3,300 each. Others have to make payments of between €1,000 and €2,000.
    Last June, the German Bundestag (parliament) passed a law against right-wing extremism and hate crimes; insults on social media will be punished severely—including imprisonment of up to two years. “We advise all hunters affected by Internet hate speech: Secure evidence and report it,” said DJV President Volker Böhning. “It takes a lot of patience, but Internet criminals have to learn that the Web is not a legal vacuum.”
    Dr. Heiko Granzin, a specialist in hunting and agricultural law, has represented victims of cybercrime for years. He says that calling a hunter “sick” or an “impulsive murderer” is not covered by normal freedom of expression and that threats to life and health are criminal offenses that will prompt the public prosecutor to intervene.
    Meticulous evidence is important, Granzin added. This means taking screenshots of the offensive posts and securing the context of the discussion and the perpetrator’s profile (try to verify whether it is real or fake). Proceed like a detective—save all the perpetrator’s entries and search the Internet for email addresses, photos, place of employment and residence and the like. Many particularly active hunting opponents can be found on certain forums and the websites of anti-hunting organizations. In case of a criminal offense or threat, such as a post that a hunter “should be killed,” file a complaint with the police. Even those who “like” such a post are acting illegally. Often, both civil and criminal laws are being broken.
    To return to Waidfräulein’s fox hunting: Foxes have multiplied in Germany—today there are twice as many as there were 20 years ago. High fox densities can lead to outbreaks of wildlife disease and to a lethal infectious disease in humans caused by the larval form of the tapeworm E. multilocularis. As well, ground-breeding birds like partridge, lapwing and others suffer high predation by foxes. Across much of Europe, legal, managed fox hunting reduces predation and contributes to wildlife conservation and disease prevention.
    Article by Gerhard Damm*

• Registered Users Posts: 39,292 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Sidney Powell after ranting on TV about election fraud, making all sorts of crazy claims, while she was suing to overturn the election. Has now tried to say she wasn’t to be taken seriously. :pac:
    Pretty pathetic defence imo. Undermines her credibility entirely, while also alienating Trump’s team and the republicans that supported her.
    A key member of the legal team that sought to steal the 2020 election for Donald Trump is defending herself against a billion-dollar defamation lawsuit by arguing that “no reasonable person” could have mistaken her wild claims about election fraud last November as statements of fact.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2021/mar/23/sidney-powell-trump-election-fraud-claims

Biden places gag order on Border agency in a bid to stop the media getting wind of the monumental failure of his administration nd yet ANOTHER election promise broken.

https://www.nbcnews.com/politics/immigration/biden-administration-limits-what-border-patrol-can-share-media-about-n1261133
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

The gun grabber in chief and Fall guy is now reinstating Trumps policies on the border wall. As well as being under investigation for breach of contract. ...Well im sure he'll be toddling off soon back to his basement to let President Ka MA La handle the mess .

https://trendingpolitics.com/lol-biden-admits-he-will-re-establish-trump-border-policy-as-crisis-spirals-out-of-control/

https://trendingpolitics.com/biden-under-investigation-by-gao-for-halting-billions-of-dollars-to-finish-border-wall/

The gun grabber in chief and Fall guy is now reinstating Trumps policies on the border wall. As well as being under investigation for breach of contract. ...Well im sure he'll be toddling off soon back to his basement to let President Ka MA La handle the mess .

https://trendingpolitics.com/lol-biden-admits-he-will-re-establish-trump-border-policy-as-crisis-spirals-out-of-control/

https://trendingpolitics.com/biden-under-investigation-by-gao-for-halting-billions-of-dollars-to-finish-border-wall/

That was sticking out like a whats-it in a convent, that Bidens policy on the border was going to fail. 100,000 a month arriving from south America its claimed, so you can probably multiply that by 2. Have the Dems closed the border camps they were so outraged by before the election ?

The Fall guy claiming "dogs can cure cancer!"...Wonder will this be treated the same as Trumps supposedly claiming drinking bleach is a cure for Covid statement?
    https://trendingpolitics.com/trust-the-dog-scientists-joe-biden-bizarrely-claims-that-dogs-may-help-cure-cancer/

I hear Biden wants to use an executive order to implement a gun ban after the shootings of the Asian women in the massage parlours in colorado.
    Biden wants to ban ar15's and tells people if they want to protect themselves, to buy a shotgun. But it seems more people are killed with shotguns than ar's. So he has it backwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭alan0387

Dublin Live reporting that a drugs cash and guns seizure during a house search in Ashbourne. Garda posted a picture. I think they have an ASG SSG 69 Airsoft rifle there. I used to have that same type. Pic rail with sling loop out front, pressed sheet metal tube foe the spring inside the 'bolt' oddly placed mag well right under the stock. Can't comment on the pistol that looks like a movie prop from The Patriot ;)

What's more unless they chrono'd that airsoft rifle, and proved its over 1 joule, then its not a firearm its a toy. Well sorry RIF (real imitation firearm) :rolleyes:

On a more serious note, this is actually a serious issue. It's making it seem like criminals are 'snipers' which then puts more negative public focus on rifles not just sawn off shotguns or pistols anymore. It's ooh we got a scary black rifle off the streets.

Show the drugs and the money but faking a gun bust is unfair to all legal, safe, registered and law abiding firearms owners.

alan0387 wrote: »
    Dublin Live reporting that a drugs cash and guns seizure during a house search in Ashbourne. Garda posted a picture. I think they have an ASG SSG 69 Airsoft rifle there. I used to have that same type. Pic rail with sling loop out front, pressed sheet metal tube foe the spring inside the 'bolt' oddly placed mag well right under the stock. Can't comment on the pistol that looks like a movie prop from The Patriot ;)

Them gangsters are going all "Pirates of the caribbean" this year, didn't you hear :D

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭alan0387

Them gangsters are going all "Pirates of the caribbean" this year, didn't you hear :D

Just googled. The pistol is an 1816 Flintlock :rolleyes:

I'd be temped to ring the reporter. He is the deputy editor too.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,292 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The Fall guy claiming "dogs can cure cancer!"...Wonder will this be treated the same as Trumps supposedly claiming drinking bleach is a cure for Covid statement?

Why would it need to be treated the same way? What Bidenhe said is correct. :confused:
    I anyone who hunts with Dogs understands how incredible their detection is.

Dogs can help disease diagnosis

Dogs are most famously known for detecting cancer. They can be trained to sniff out a variety of types including skin cancer, breast cancer and bladder cancer using samples from known cancer patients and people without cancer.

In a 2006 study, five dogs were trained to detect cancer based on breath samples. Once trained, the dogs were able to detect breast cancer with 88 percent accuracy, and lung cancer with 99 percent accuracy. They could do this across all four stages of the diseases. More recently, a study has even shown that dogs can use their highly evolved sense of smell to pick out blood samples from people with cancer with almost 97 percent accuracy.
    https://www.understandinganimalresearch.org.uk/news/research-medical-benefits/the-science-of-sniffs-disease-smelling-dogs/#:~:text=Dogs%20are%20most%20famously%20known,cancer%20based%20on%20breath%20samples.

I think they have an ASG SSG 69 Airsoft rifle there.
    Looks like it. If nothing else look at the mag position.

Not the first time they done this.

Mellor wrote: »
    Why would it need to be treated the same way? What Bidenhe said is correct. :confused:
    I anyone who hunts with Dogs understands how incredible their detection is.

https://www.understandinganimalresearch.org.uk/news/research-medical-benefits/the-science-of-sniffs-disease-smelling-dogs/#:~:text=Dogs%20are%20most%20famously%20known,cancer%20based%20on%20breath%20samples.

Yes i heard dogs can "sniff" out cancers in the human body, Don't know if there is a clinical medical way of using that ability though.

British sea service pistols ? I'd love one, and you can buy a kit from the UK to build one. Verboten here like everything else. Shooting blackpowder would be so much fun.

https://www.blackleyandson.com/acatalog/SEA-SERVICE-PISTOL-KIT-BASIC-KIT002.html

Because the president like Trump,shouldn't be commenting on medical matters he is [1] not qualified in [2] has no briefing on or been asked an opinion on.
    [3] Is not proven or an approved methodology anywhere ASFIK in the Western World.
    [5] Double standards.

Dude! Its a pot metal /plastic wall hanger you buy in any expensive boutique junk shop.:) Or a varient of such below

Maybe they are planning to go all Highwayman with a council estate horse to plunder the horseless stagecoaches and demand you "Stand and deliver!" on the M7?.Or going to relive Capt Farrell counting his cash over the Kerry mountains?:)

https://collectorsarmoury.com/replica-18th-century-flintlock-non-firing-gun/#