Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much should I spend on a house (Dublin)?

• 22-04-2017 10:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3

I'm a 30 year old professional female. I am single. I have mortgage approval for 200k. Between my own savings and my parents I would have another 200k. My parents also have an investment property which they could sell for another 200k. I'm not sure where I should buy a property for 400k (mortgage free), a property for 400k (half mortgage and half savings) or buy a property for 600k.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Buy for 400k cash. Enjoy life.
    Edit: not paying for a mortgage means you would have spare earning capacity to pay the maximum AVC on a pension for your age. Free money on 20% of your income, tax free growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,605 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Not sure why you would tie up an extra €200K in your own house?
    That's the first question you have to answer.

Then if you conclude that isn't a great idea, you have the second question. Do you go mortgage free and use your parents investment property?

Their needs and views are primary in that decision, not your choice between being mortgage free or not.

How the repayments on a 200K mortgage are to you, is also a consideration, but secondary.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭KenjiOdo

Only a suggestion;

Do you have to live in Dublin?? You could get a pretty cool place for way less in a more rural locale & live mortgage free and your loving parents could keep their retirement fund?