Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

strange weekend in Waterford or is this the norm ?

• 24-04-2017 1:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭

pass through the city a lot when going to Kildare and its a place I like - don't use toll road !
    Any went out in the city on both Friday/ Sat. nights , I don't go out that much on the lash anymore as getting on a bit !
    Had a decent enough weekend but I noticed some things that I have not encountered in Cork . Now I am not naïve and understand I might have had blinkers on some times.
    We went to a pub which is known for cheap drink and 'open door policy ' , heard bad things previously about it but thought it was ok - a bit like Wetherspoons without food !
    However noticed a guy in bar ( escorted out ) and another one outside waiting for ambulance who had obviously taken something that wasn't agreeing with them !!
    Then we went across the street to a very large and fancy bar/ disco bar. Noticed a gang of eastern Europeans and irish guys who it seemed were about to kick off only bouncers intervened and told the eastern Europeans to leave.

Then we upset a male member of LGBT community who took offence to one of lads I was with messing on dance floor near him and was quite scary in his reaction.

I would have gone out a fair bit in my adopted home city of Cork and I am sure these things happen but I cant recall coming across so many incidents on one night.
    We just went to Kasbar on the Friday and it was quiet night,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭DickoHara

Strange place

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 229 ✭✭Sosurface

Nope perfectly normal night out by the sounds of it. Havent frequented the city centre in years because of it. Waterford and indeed much of Ireland is comprised of either completely ropey venues full of the dregs of humanity or at the opposite end of the scale "poser" bars full of uppity w@nkers. There doesnt seem to be any appreciation that its ok to like neither option so the majority of people just dont bother anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,387 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

gave up going out years ago, even gave up drinking. alcohol and drugs seem to bring the worst out in some humans, more to life than being in the company of these humans

• Registered Users Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭BBM77

goochy wrote: »
    pass through the city a lot when going to Kildare and its a place I like - don't use toll road !
    Any went out in the city on both Friday/ Sat. nights , I don't go out that much on the lash anymore as getting on a bit !
    Had a decent enough weekend but I noticed some things that I have not encountered in Cork . Now I am not naïve and understand I might have had blinkers on some times.
    We went to a pub which is known for cheap drink and 'open door policy ' , heard bad things previously about it but thought it was ok - a bit like Wetherspoons without food !
    However noticed a guy in bar ( escorted out ) and another one outside waiting for ambulance who had obviously taken something that wasn't agreeing with them !!
    Then we went across the street to a very large and fancy bar/ disco bar. Noticed a gang of eastern Europeans and irish guys who it seemed were about to kick off only bouncers intervened and told the eastern Europeans to leave.

Then we upset a male member of LGBT community who took offence to one of lads I was with messing on dance floor near him and was quite scary in his reaction.

I would have gone out a fair bit in my adopted home city of Cork and I am sure these things happen but I cant recall coming across so many incidents on one night.

That is the way nightlife has gone in Ireland. There is nothing here you would not get in any of the other cities. What is the actual point of starting this thread?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Seems like you got a bit unlucky but maybe your choice of pubs wasn't ideal. Also sounds like you were down John Street thou which can get a bit wild at times but as said above, it's nothing you wouldn't see in any other city in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭goochy

ok we were on a stag weekend so I have to accept we didn't got for Geoffs or anywhere like that.
    I have been around the block a bit and while I know it happens everywhere , I didn't like the vibe there . I know drugs are everywhere but somehow I never have been in a pub and saw someone who was after taking a ' reaction ' of some kind to drugs and then when we got outside fella in a bad way waiting for ambulance.
    The bouncers looked tough as hell and in fairness he must have caught your man in toilets with something as he threw him and his friends out.

ok we were on a stag weekend so I have to accept we didn't got for Geoffs or anywhere like that.
    I have been around the block a bit and while I know it happens everywhere , I didn't like the vibe there . I know drugs are everywhere but somehow I never have been in a pub and saw someone who was after taking a ' reaction ' of some kind to drugs and then when we got outside fella in a bad way waiting for ambulance.
    The bouncers looked tough as hell and in fairness he must have caught your man in toilets with something as he threw him and his friends out.

Was this bar Mason's by any chance? If so (and you'd even heard it had a bad rep yourself) then it explains a lot tbh!

Of course it was , yes I know I should have known . They don't own sinnotts as well do they ? That was were east european and gay guy was . When masons closes people go there ? .
    Will have to organise another weekend to get over this . Lol
    don't like posh places kasbar seemed ok. Are there other decent bars/ nightclubs with nice mix ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Stay well away from Masons. Filled with under-aged drinking teens and toothless scumbags whistling to edm tracks.

Of course it was , yes I know I should have known . They don't own sinnotts as well do they ? That was were east european and gay guy was . When masons closes people go there ? .
    Will have to organise another weekend to get over this . Lol
    don't like posh places kahsbar seemed ok. Are there other decent bars/ nightclubs with nice mix ?

The Reg definitely. It has a modern bar section, an old style bar section, a small whiskey bar section, nice smoking area upstairs looking out onto Reginald's tower and then a club area in the back. Should have been your first point of call by the sounds of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Deiseen wrote: »
    The Reg definitely. It has a modern bar section, an old style bar section, a small whiskey bar section, nice smoking area upstairs looking out onto Reginald's tower and then a club area in the back. Should have been your first point of call by the sounds of it.

Reg is nice alright, seems like OP picked crap pub first off and then was unfortunate to see the end of some incident involving ambulance, rest of it seems like not much..I was out in heerys and revolution myself Friday, had grand night, I'm not burning up the pub scene these days but didn't see anything aggressive going on at all.I was home by 12 so who knows what goes on in wee hours, as said I don't be out at that time generally.I can imagine as people get drunker it gets messier(see OPs encounter with dancer) nothing new there, seems to be chaos in every Irish town/city at 2am

Max Powers wrote: »
    Reg is nice alright, seems like OP picked crap pub first off and then was unfortunate to see the end of some incident involving ambulance, rest of it seems like not much..I was out in heerys and revolution myself Friday, had grand night, I'm not burning up the pub scene these days but didn't see anything aggressive going on at all.I was home by 12 so who knows what goes on in wee hours, as said I don't be out at that time generally.I can imagine as people get drunker it gets messier(see OPs encounter with dancer) nothing new there, seems to be chaos in every Irish town/city at 2am
    Heerys, Revolution and the Reg. Add in Geoffs and you've the local w@nkers grand tour.ðŸ˜

Sosurface wrote: »
    Heerys, Revolution and the Reg. Add in Geoffs and you've the local w@nkers grand tour.ðŸ˜

What's your problem? Every single one of your posts is full of anger.

Deiseen wrote: »
    What's your problem? Every single one of your posts is full of anger.
    Need a hug petal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Need a hug petal.

Did anyone ever tell you that you are a total ****ing wanker of the highest order?

Your mother didnt complain Harry.

Need a hug petal.

Would explain the need for the hug.

• Registered Users Posts: 847 ✭✭✭WoolyJumper

I've been out in Waterford once. Strangest night out in my life. The night ended with almost the entire club doing "rock the boat" on the floor. Now as a gay man, I don't often see vagina's but later that night walking home I saw actual wee coming out of a vagina as a woman pee'd in the middle of the footpath I was walking on. I don't know why I was surprised to learn that pee from a woman's vagina would exit so forcefully and have a laser like focus... I always thought it would be a more waterfall type situation

anyway, yeah strange night

Where you the guy in sinnotts by any chance as he seemed a bit mad ? Lol

Your mother didnt complain Harry.

Somes up your posts...incredibly childish, its usually unbalanced negativity, spreading your misery or even racism regularly posted.I know you like name-calling me in particular because I have pointed out some of your frankly idiotic posts but come on, you're embarrassing yourself again.

I've been out in Waterford once. Strangest night out in my life. The night ended with almost the entire club doing "rock the boat" on the floor. Now as a gay man, I don't often see vagina's but later that night walking home I saw actual wee coming out of a vagina as a woman pee'd in the middle of the footpath I was walking on. I don't know why I was surprised to learn that pee from a woman's vagina would exit so forcefully and have a laser like focus... I always thought it would be a more waterfall type situation

anyway, yeah strange night
    Nice one woolly jumper...every now and again, I read something hilarious on here...kinda tragic but hilarious all the same.and sounds like a strangely brilliant night club night.

Somes up your posts...incredibly childish, its usually unbalanced negativity, spreading your misery or even racism regularly posted.I know you like name-calling me in particular because I have pointed out some of your frankly idiotic posts but come on, you're embarrassing yourself again.
    I always picture you as a brown cardigan wearing Ken Barlow type. Over the hill but still fond of himself. Am I right? Am I right?
    How many cats do you own Maximillian?

I always picture you as a brown cardigan wearing Ken Barlow type. Over the hill but still fond of himself. Am I right? Am I right?
    How many cats do you own Maximillian?

Sorry sosurfave, I'm busy here in Geoffs, drinking craft beer, reading the times, heading to heerys for cocktails then, you'd love it.

I'm sure I would alright. Dont forget to give yourself a nice pat on the back after.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

Not sure what all the shite talk is about but as for the first post - I wouldn't let that night put you off Waterford completely, you just got unlucky. I don't drink in the town as it's just not my scene but I hear The Reg, Davy Mac's and Geoff's are good spots, although I'm sure someone will be along to tell me how I'm wrong :P

I go out in Cork quite often and see much of what you described in your OP now and then, unfortunately, it's just the way it is, you get unlucky sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,349 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

heres a good pub crawl for ya

start in Doyles on Barrack Street
    Then onto Kervicks and the exchange in ballybricken
    down to Masons
    finish off in Revs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

This is a very confusing post.

He's having a laugh .Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

PTH2009 wrote: »
    heres a good pub crawl for ya

start in Doyles on Barrack Street
    Then onto Kervicks and the exchange in ballybricken
    down to Masons
    finish off in Revs

I remember going into Ned Kelly's before it changed to the Exchange. What's it like in there now?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭deadybai

erica74 wrote: »
    Not sure what all the shite talk is about but as for the first post - I wouldn't let that night put you off Waterford completely, you just got unlucky. I don't drink in the town as it's just not my scene but I hear The Reg, Davy Mac's and Geoff's are good spots, although I'm sure someone will be along to tell me how I'm wrong :P

I go out in Cork quite often and see much of what you described in your OP now and then, unfortunately, it's just the way it is, you get unlucky sometimes.

Id stay away from Davy Macs tbh. I thought they had a real snobby attitude there. The bouncer interrogated me for a while and then said ''I didnt think your type would come here.'' Now Id say Im a fairly harmless looking person so really dont know what that was about . Wtf like I just want a relaxing pint and not be annoyed going in.

Another person I know thought the same of it and I didnt even mention it to her. They would be of a completely generation too. I hate being annoyed in a place for no reason.

I dont bother with going into town any more. Ballybricken is as far as I would go. There is too much tension in the centre of town and you really need to watch yourself or some idiot will be on to you. It has become really rough in recent years. A collegue of mine used to call it the four corners of death in there :pac: