Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

strange weekend in Waterford or is this the norm ?

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭aziz

deadybai wrote: »
    A collegue of mine used to call it the four corners of death in there :pac:

Des Bishop gave it that name many years ago:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭deadybai

aziz wrote:
    Des Bishop gave it that name many years ago

Haha he was right

• Registered Users Posts: 29,387 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

deadybai wrote: »
    the four corners of death

...and here i was, struggling to figure out the name of my new death metal band

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

goochy wrote: »
    pass through the city a lot when going to Kildare and its a place I like - don't use toll road !
    Any went out in the city on both Friday/ Sat. nights , I don't go out that much on the lash anymore as getting on a bit !
    Had a decent enough weekend but I noticed some things that I have not encountered in Cork . Now I am not naïve and understand I might have had blinkers on some times.
    We went to a pub which is known for cheap drink and 'open door policy ' , heard bad things previously about it but thought it was ok - a bit like Wetherspoons without food !
    However noticed a guy in bar ( escorted out ) and another one outside waiting for ambulance who had obviously taken something that wasn't agreeing with them !!
    Then we went across the street to a very large and fancy bar/ disco bar. Noticed a gang of eastern Europeans and irish guys who it seemed were about to kick off only bouncers intervened and told the eastern Europeans to leave.

Then we upset a male member of LGBT community who took offence to one of lads I was with messing on dance floor near him and was quite scary in his reaction.

I would have gone out a fair bit in my adopted home city of Cork and I am sure these things happen but I cant recall coming across so many incidents on one night.
    We just went to Kasbar on the Friday and it was quiet night,.

I once went out for a night in cork during the boom, was minding my own business but despite this I got dirty looks, verbal abuse, pushed and shoved, offered drugs, asked to leave a night club/bar so I legged it and never returned. Same experience occurred in Dublin. Limerick Tralee, Galway, Belfast, Sligo, Dundalk, navan and athlone.......now I just sit in and get smashed in front of tv

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭GowlBagJohnson

Do you know the clock tower on the Quay Sosurface?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 229 ✭✭Sosurface

Do you know the clock tower on the Quay Sosurface?
    The one with your mother's bollix hanging off it?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭Wailin

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    I remember going into Ned Kelly's before it changed to the Exchange. What's it like in there now?

Like something out of Deliverance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭dzilla

Sosurface wrote: »
    The one with your mother's bollix hanging off it?

Like a lollipop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Feck off u little tittie suckers

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

Waterford is the jewel of the Southeast.

Note: The opposite of everything I say is true.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Waterford is the jewel of the Southeast.

Note: The opposite of everything I say is true.

Everything you say is false?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Wailin wrote: »
    Like something out of Deliverance.

Is it really that bad?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    Is it really that bad?

Yes. Worse even. Assaults, GBH etc happening every minute especially at night.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Some years ago, I was in a pub with my laptop - I looked out of place with it then near the Shopping Mall with the rte studio inside it,.........I gradually became aware of a guy with a young family waiting for me to clear off the table I was holding so he could occupy his favourite spot.
    Well when I finished my beer & lunch I duly cleared off.

Thread rated appropriately.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

This thread has run its course, getting sick of the personal abuse in here too.