Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Would you kill an intruder if you were guaranteed to get away scot free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Archeron wrote: »
    I sense an episode of Murder She Wrote in the making.

I don't think ITV3 is ready for that kind of nudity... someone might have a stroke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Archeron wrote: »
    I sense an episode of Murder She Wrote in the making.

I'd chuck in "goose + naked + fur on end + horn" but it's always hard to predict how you'd react in these situations. You'd be morto if you'd planned this out and then, in the heat of the moment, the auld horn let you down. You'd be some fool shouting down "I've a goose and a horn and I'm not afraid to use them!" then charging out with only the goose. You'd lose all credibility ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I have ran over the scenario many times. Burglars are opportunists, and will roam an estate looking for an easy target. In other words, they haven't told all their friends and family that they are about to break into Pablo's house.

With that in mind, if I managed to kill an intruder (and believe me I would do my best), I would simply put his carcass into the boot of my car and dump it up the road into a ditch.

Job done and one less burglar.

pablo128 wrote: »
    I have ran over the scenario many times. Burglars are opportunists, and will roam an estate looking for an easy target. In other words, they haven't told all their friends and family that they are about to break into Pablo's house.

With that in mind, if I managed to kill an intruder (and believe me I would do my best), I would simply put his carcass into the boot of my car and dump it up the road into a ditch.

The hassle of getting another car though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Bang bang. One shot and it'd be all over for them

That's two shots!

And that whooshing sound wasn't a plane. ;)

The hassle of getting another car though. :(

? I would dump the burglars carcass, not the car. There's a few years left in the car yet. Sure how would anyone know it was me that dumped the carcass there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

And that whooshing sound wasn't a plane. ;)

No, don't get the whooshing sound either! :p

? I would dump the burglars carcass, not the car. There's a few years left in the car yet. Sure how would anyone know it was me that dumped the carcass there?

This is life and death stuff ffs. You have to keep the plan clear and simple. You'd go "put your mans carcass in the boot there Beyondy and dump it in the ditch up the road". I'd go off, come back walking, no car, and you'd go mad at me. These details matter. "Dump the body in the ditch, bring the car back".

You can't just assume accomplices will understand.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Gotta love the oul, sure they're only possessions, things etc. No point in making a stand or threatening a life for such possessions.

The bottom line however is when someone enters your house forcibly you do not know their intentions and if they are there just to rob of you possessions, you don't know what length they will go to a) get those possessions or b) ensure they escape the clutches of the law.
    Reminds of that case recently enough where the 90 year old was seriously assaulted during the course of such a robbery.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/raiders-with-120-convictions-out-on-bail-when-they-tied-up-and-beat-90yearold-woman-35313866.html

There is also the fact that the lasting effect is not just the loss of a TV or jewellery or a ****ing toaster but it is the long term psychological effects an invasion of privacy and a theft of security can have on people. Not to mention that possessions of very sentimental value may be lost forever.

These things particularly apply, of course, to older people and those in rural communities. In my view, if someone breaks into your home, they should be fair game for being blasted into the afterlife without consequence.

That said, whether I would do it or not, I don't know, thankfully I've never been in the position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Does your man standing at the top of the stairs with the horn count?

Well if a naked strange man is standing at the top of my stairs with a hard on, I figure he's not out collecting for the Red Cross.

You can't just assume accomplices will understand.:mad:

I'm a lone wolf.:pac:

Just as bloody well with that level of "accomplice instructing". :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,368 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

OU812 wrote: »
    That's two shots.

Proper procedure is to shoot them first, then shout loudly "Stop or I'll shoot", then fire a second shot into the ceiling.

Forensics isn't going tonnnow he order of the shots and to any witness, you warned them fairly in advance.

I did that, first shot in the hid, second shot in the ceiling.

Only problem was, me missus was doing aerobics upstairs and the bullit went through her Fanny.

Didn't get the Ride for months after :(

Bastrads

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

Someone needs to construct a graph, showing "actual numbers of burglaries V numbers of Burglars battered with golf clubs V burglars battering homeowners V Homeowners who had a goose and also got battered."

I think it might put all this into perspective. "I'dbatterim" is a good Boardsies name, it might not be that realistic an option for dealing with burglars. People are usually out/fast asleep anyway. No one has yet said they'd batter the couch(assuming they didn't rob it) in an impotent rage while waiting for the Gards to hopefully turn up.

I'm pinning my hopes on the dog anyway. Hopefully the dog would shoot them.

No.

Unless I felt my life or that of my wife or child was in danger.

Otherwise, I'm not killing someone for my DVD player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

But really, could you kill an intruder if you had the means

Nah, just give them a nice hammering would do me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

Had a lively discussion with some friends lately saying that if they had a gun and happened across an intruder in their house they would pull the trigger no questions asked, its them or me.
    But really, could you kill an intruder if you had the means or is that standpoint often just bravado especially for men?
    If for the sake of argument you had a choice between killing them and getting away with it or restraining them and handing them over to the cops, what would you do?

Why would it be "them or you"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,406 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Only as a last resort.

Who knew so many Boardsies were armed/killer ninjas? Big burly fcukers coming up the stairs, the Boardsie calmly steps away from the keyboard, takes the magnum out of the side drawer, wastes everyone and goes back to looking at YLYL.

I thought I was being ridiculous with me goose. Now I'm not so sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Absolutely, without a second thought. If they are upstairs I have to assume they are ready for confrontation. Even without a gun, I would aim to inflict profound injuries up to death on anybody I catch upstairs.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

If I had to, to protect people or myself, whether I'd get away with it wouldn't cross my mind. It's not a situation where you can weigh up the pros and cons as you'd have to act fast. If I didn't feel in immediate danger I'd try to lock the intruder away until help arrived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

....... wrote: »

or goose.

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

If I thought keeping him at gun point until the guards arrived would make any difference when court case comes around I would but unfortunately it doesn't work like that.
    Maybe I'd just blow one of his kneecaps out....

Edit: I don't own a gun but I presume we are armed for this hypothetical situation

There were two lads (in their 20s) fighting outside our house when I was about 12 one night just as the ole lad came home from a few pints in the local.

One of them asked the ole lad to let him in as the other guy had a knife or something along those lines, the ole lad told him to get lost. The guy got a bit agressive and the other lad than seemed to be siding with him too so the ole lad gave the one nearest him a few slaps and asked the other guy did he want more of the same. Anyway, they both fecked off.

The parents called the Gardai and a squad car came out.... for a looksee and a drive around to see could they find the two guys.

Anyway, they told the ole lad that if anything happened like that again it'd be best to push the bodies across the road and if any complaints were made by said bodies ...... :pac:

Absolutely, without a second thought. If they are upstairs I have to assume they are ready for confrontation. Even without a gun, I would aim to inflict profound injuries up to death on anybody I catch upstairs.

I live in a ground floor apartment and my daughters bedroom is at the front just inside the front door. My job requires me to regularly use a box cutter so its in the pocket of my work trousers just beside the bed.

I have done a dry run when my car alarm went off one night. Glasses on, knife in hand and out the door in my boxers. No-one around thankfully for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,958 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I never ever want to kill anyone.... Ever.
    However if I was put in a position by someone else where thought it was me or them I'd use whatever force necessary to save myself or someone I loved.
    I would not so much as injure someone though unless I felt my life or someone else's depended upon it.

.... box cutter...........

Stanley knife for those who were wondering :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

many years ago i lived in a rented house, married a couple of years and with a one year old child. Three times in one year we got burgled and in the end there was nothing left worth stealing. I was unemployed at the time, no insurance cos the place was rented. It took me a long time to replace everything that was taken.
    Moved to a new house and ten years later got hit again, insurance covered it thank god but i had the house like fort knox with deadbolts, alarm etc. window broken during the day, alarm going off, neighbours not giving a fk.
    my point is that you are very unlikely to meet a burglar in your home, even more unlikely to have to fight one as they will run off rather than be caught.

if I ever am unlucky enough to be in that situation then, from experience, i will do my very best to beat the scum to death. If i hurt him and hold him for cops, then when he gets out of jail he will come back for revenge. Anything i own is not worth someone's life, but i own it, i worked for it and i will be damned if any one is gonna take them from me. plus you only need to do that once and you will never be burgled again. who would risk it? If every person who caught a burglar did the same then there would be a lot less burglaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

No, killing them for the sake just because you "get away" with it would be savagery.
    If I felt it was down to them or me (or my family) then it would be them every time.
    I know a few lads that keep a pitch fork under the bed, bachelors in rural areas. It's a great weapon to have, 5ft handle to keep a fella away and two 10" prongs with nice fine points that would pierce anything, the steel in the prongs is savage strong too. There's not too many lads that would come running at ya if you were yielding such a weapon on your own home.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Bushmanpm

Beyondgone wrote:
    I thought I was being ridiculous with me goose. Now I'm not so sure.

AND you can cook & eat said goose afterwards, thereby destroying the weapon/evidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

Im Murican, nuff said
    You poor Irish.... you're only allowed to show the intruder to your wallet then let them tie you up

Im Murican, nuff said
    You poor Irish.... you're only allowed to show the intruder to your wallet then let them tie you up

Not any more.;) We just have to kill them a certain way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Im Murican, nuff said

I agree with the American policy of anything goes to defend your home but i suppose the question is would you be aiming for murder if it happened? And could you just live your life no bother afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Would depend on the situation, I'd certainly like to break a bone or two and I'm no internet hard man.

If someone goes into a persons house uninvited then they deserve to get smashed up,only last year an old man living alone was roughed up twice in 24 hours by scumbags looking for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,553 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Would say killing them is safe than restraining, both practically and legally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

There are a lot of "if it was them or me" scenarios going on here.

If I had to bet on either a drugged up burglar (who has most likely been in a fair few dust ups before) or a half asleep boardsie with a golf club I know who my money would be on....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

snowflaker wrote: »
    I think you'd be done for cruelty to bats- aren't they a protected species???
    no one's going to argue if you use a rabid vampire bat

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

organics go in the brown bin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

Im Murican, nuff said

I agree with the American policy of anything goes to defend your home but i suppose the question is would you be aiming for murder if it happened? And could you just live your life no bother afterwards.
    I only have one policy, shoot to kill. no warning shots and no "shoot them in the leg to stop them" approach
    even if you go to criminal court and are proven innocent the intruder will drag you thru civil court and use the "im just a poor guy trying to make a living" defense, and if they have a snappy solicitor... "my client is not mentally competent and came from an abusive home"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

Eoinbmw wrote:
    Golf club is a bad choice cant realy swing it in a house! Hatchet, hammer,wheelbrace or iron bar is what you need!

A hatchet in the house jeebus look well trying to explain that one to the cops :) hammer isn't ideal it means you have to get close and personal.

I don't own a gun . But I've often thought about it what if situations if I had a gun . The craze of the scum bags holding a boiled kettle over you in the bed looking for keys of your car and money would make you think what would I do .

If they are outside I'll call the guards and I'll tell them I'm prepared to shoot to save life and property I'm told that gets a very swift response :) saves them paperwork if they get there before you take a life .

My philosophy is simple if you want to come thru a locked gate / breach an entry into an alarmed house and pass the dog who sleeps inside then you are looking for trouble and you will get it. They'll get my type of justice if I feel my family or myself is in danger .

Hypothetically if I had a gun and I met a scumbag heading towards me, a him or me situation with family behind me without doubt He receive a round in the chest area it would be enough to persuade anyone I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

We had a gang of 4 break into our house (post office & shop attached) when I was 15. Thankfully we slept through it. Going by the feeling I had the next morning and for months after... no, I wouldn't hesitate.

But it might be better to stop for a second. We had a neighbour who operated a business out of his home. He had a gun. One night he was woken up by someone trying to get in the backdoor. He got up, turned on the lights and went to open the door, gun at the ready. As he opened the door he saw someone walking away... he took aim but before he pulled the trigger, down dropped the man.

Turns out it was his 80 year old neighbour coming home from the pub. He was so drunk, he was trying to get into the wrong house. No shots fired but the neighbour had a sore head in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

There are a lot of "if it was them or me" scenarios going on here.

If I had to bet on either a drugged up burglar (who has most likely been in a fair few dust ups before) or a half asleep boardsie with a golf club I know who my money would be on....

I know who my money would be on as well, if someone is angry at an intruder breaking into their house and feels they might be in danger I'd say they homeowner might have the advantage.

Padraig Nally probably lived most of his life in peace until that waste of air Frog Ward pushed him too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭OU812

I was in a gun store in the US with a friend who was buying a pump action shotgun for home defence. The sales guy asked a few questions, primary use etc & came up with an (at the time) $109 matt black Remington 12 gauge.

He checked it was empty & handed it over to my friend to see what he thought. My friend held it & pumped it & the guy said, "That's sound one. You imagine in the middle of the night with the lights out, hearing that sound. You pump & then shout 'Get Out' If they don't get out, you shoot & you better shoot to kill, because there doesn't need to be another side to that story".

Remember it clear as day.

My view is, there's me & a house full of girls so if you walk in, you're gonna be carried out. Hoping I never have to act on it but feel I could with absolutely no remorse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

wakka12 wrote: »
    I would never kill somebody unless it was absolutely necessary, ie. they were threatening my life/had a deadly weapon

How would your plan work if they have a deadly weapon and you have none?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I shot and killed an intruder last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭C Montgomery Gurns II

With the way the yanks harp on about their home is their castle, the right to bear arms, and all the rest, you would think that the country would be a smouldering wasteland of dead burglars. I took a quick Google, of 300 million plus guns owned in the US by one third of the population, only 259 people were killed in what were ruled to be justifiable homicides (I'm guessing most of these were during burglaries and car jackings). I don't know if most Americans hide in the bedroom shouting that they have a gun and threatening them rather than burst out all Clint Eastwood in Gran Torino but there you go.

Ironically one of the main sources of illegally held guns in the inner cities are those stolen in rural and suburban burglaries. Rather than discourage them, burglars are hoping when they enter a property that there are guns in the house, just that the owners aren't home.

As for the OP's question about burglar fantasies:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I have a gun at home so it's something I've realistically thought about and no, I definitely wouldn't kill someone because they are intruding, there would need to be a physical threat