Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tips on Fat and Weight Loss Please

• Registered Users Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭mathie

Hrududu wrote: »
    So excess calories are not responsible for weight gain? Got it

It's an oversimplification.
    See my above post.

Forgot it yesterday.. You know the actual fitbit bean that you charge.. Yeah left that at home and had the band on for hours before I realised haha. Ill upload it today have it on today lol

Could you post up a typical day / week of your diet?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

I have it as lightly active on my MFP. Theres sed, lightly active, active and very active !

I have it set to lightly active and lose 1.5 lb a week and its 1900 cal.

I dont think its lightly active, Im sorry to say. If you eat below the 1500 you will see how you can lose weight. Even at 1900 how much have you lost, I was using 2200 as you previously mentioned you ate that much.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭off.the.walls

I've posted here before, I'm ok now with food, have that down and know what I'm doing.

But my workouts aren't making a difference at all.

I'm walking 5'000-15'000 everyday. I'm going on my exercise bike (its a 'proper' Reebok one) 25-45 mins 4 days a week.

I'm using a 5kg kettle bell and dumbbells for 20 mins 4 days a week, changing the muscle groups used daily.

Is this making me gain rather than lose fat ? Should I be doing stuff like jumping jacks (hate them lol) more ?

Going away in 9 weeks. I hate the sun ! Want to lose at least 8 pounds by then but nothing is budging !

I'm female, 24, 5 foot 11 and 16 stone 10 lbs. It should be coming off me ! Do you think I need to go to a specialist ? Can IBS and allergies really stall weight loss?

By the sounds of it you've got the exercise down so the main thing you need to concentrate on now is your diet. For me I found that joining Slimming world helped me a lot my current weight loss is 1 stone 5lbs after 4 months in there (mainly due to diet not really with gym)! beyond worth it, makes you look at your diet, take a diet diary and there is absolutely NO judgement if you're up or down on the scales each week. It's really great.

In addition to that i'd also talk to a trainer in the gym if you're part of a gym. They'll be able to give you a good workout program, every 4/5 weeks get them to upgrade it, that way you'll work different muscles and such. That'll help you get toned and fit all in one go.

If you're not too far from work or college, or whatever you do, buy a bike and get on it :)

Hope this advice helps :) If you join slimming world I guarantee you can get down at least a stone in the nine weeks as long as you stick to the diet plan which is (eat tons, but tons of the right stuff)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,607 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

mathie wrote: »
    *cough*

Originally Posted by marialouise View Post
    No, it's excess calories that make people obese.

If you don't have excess calories you don't have obesity.

You can have poor food quality and be unhealthy but not overweight.

You can eat good quality foods and be overweight.

No one is advising people to eat poor food. If you're suggesting otherwise, then I suggest you read the thread from the start.

Ok grand thanks ! Ive checked loads of sites and my maintenance calories comes up between 2400-2600 calories. Ive cut them by 500 - 1900 and Im burning 300-600 a day through exercise.

Can I ask where you got that your maintenance calories is that level. Thats way to high of a amount to be eating for a woman to maintain a weight. You are fooling yourself with you calorie counts Im sorry to say

• Registered Users Posts: 39,335 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

You're both ignoring the role of insulin if you just blinding follow "excess calories that make people obese".

And you are ignore the basic laws of physics.
    You can't just create mass or energy from nothing.
    If I eat 2000 calories of healthy food that doesn't cause big insulin spikes.
    If you eat 1000 calories of unhealthy food that does cause big insulin spikes then you will gain weight.
    Insulin is conducive to fat storage, but the energy has to be present in order to be stored. Insulin doesn't just create fat.
    In the bolded part above, if the unhealthy food is stored as fat, then where does energy to move about for the day come form.

Think about what you are suggesting, that we could eat only 1000 calories of cheap unhealthy food, go about our day, and still put on weight. Congratulations, you've just discovered a cure for world hunger.

So either you are going to win a Nobel Prizes, or you are wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,442 ✭✭✭Macy0161

irishman86 wrote: »
    I dont think its lightly active, Im sorry to say. If you eat below the 1500 you will see how you can lose weight. Even at 1900 how much have you lost, I was using 2200 as you previously mentioned you ate that much.
    But we know the OP wasn't accurately counting. Without getting that sorted the goal is somewhat irrelevant. A couple of weeks of accurately counting and sticking to the 1900, and then if there's no weight loss look at reducing it would be my view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Can I ask where you got that your maintenance calories is that level. Thats way to high of a amount to be eating for a woman to maintain a weight. You are fooling yourself with you calorie counts Im sorry to say

Put her details (as per the OP) into any calorie calculator and her info is correct.

As I posted earlier. Using calculator.net this is what her calorie intake should be.

There's not point in telling the OP to eat 1500 calories when she isn't even calculating the 1900 calories correctly.

18222413_10155324759645984_6470953696505044253_n.jpg?oh=f0999c2a6bb1df5febf037678f882d7d&oe=59BC5D58

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If you eat 1000 calories of unhealthy food that does cause big insulin spikes then you will gain weight.
    This isn't true at all.
    The body shouts "I'm still hungry" so they eat more

And thats why. 1000 calories of unhealthy food didn't make them gain weight, it was all the other calories they ate on top of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Thanks for the help but changed to sedentary and my calories went to 1590??! Thats way too low ! I work in a hospital and Im on my feet all day ? I log as lightly active for 1900 and atm Im aiming for 1750-1900 ?

My Ex girlfriend was about 3-4 inches shorter than you and had to cut to 1290 to loose, maintaining was 1600 and that's including a 5km walk every day. She was reaching 15k to 20k steps on her fitbit each day.

I maintain at around 2,100 and I'm a small bit taller and male. To lose I need to go below 1,900. I know some girls at the lower end of 5ft tall and they need to stick to 1200 to lose.

If you want to lose weight based on your job I'd say 1590 is accurate, you could probably bring that up to 1800 with some daily exercise. As far as I know there is a way to sync your fitbit to MFP and it will work out your calories for you without you putting any data into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

She's about 4.5 stone heavier than you which you seem to have missed. The amount of calories you need to eat to loose weight is going to be quite different to what she needs.

Mellor wrote: »
    And you are ignore the basic laws of physics.
    You can't just create mass or energy from nothing.

Insulin is conducive to fat storage, but the energy has to be present in order to be stored. Insulin doesn't just create fat.
    In the bolded part above, if the unhealthy food is stored as fat, then where does energy to move about for the day come form.

Think about what you are suggesting, that we could eat only 1000 calories of cheap unhealthy food, go about our day, and still put on weight. Congratulations, you've just discovered a cure for world hunger.

So either you are going to win a Nobel Prizes, or you are wrong.

Im not talking about 1000 calories for the whole day I'm talking about that meal will cause you to gain weight.
    If you don't eat for the rest of the day then that's a different story but as stated here ...
    And thats why. 1000 calories of unhealthy food didn't make them gain weight,
    it was all the other calories they ate on top of it.

Put her details (as per the OP) into any calorie calculator and her info is correct.

As I posted earlier. Using calculator.net this is what her calorie intake should be.

There's not point in telling the OP to eat 1500 calories when she isn't even calculating the 1900 calories correctly.

18222413_10155324759645984_6470953696505044253_n.jpg?oh=f0999c2a6bb1df5febf037678f882d7d&oe=59BC5D58

I honestly am stunned that someone could lose weight eating that amount.
    I missed that part she said she was 16 stone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

I honestly am stunned that someone could lose weight eating that amount.
    easily the bigger you are the more you need, if your body is use to 2500 calories a day and you cut to 2000 a day you will lose weight, short term, you will plateau but when i started and i was 5 ft and over 20 stone my deficit calories were over 2000 a day im only on 1600 maintenance now

• Registered Users Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I've lost over 7stone on 1700 cals every day for the past 21 months.

If you don't eat for the rest of the day then that's a different story but as stated here ..
    You initially said that it food quality not calories that cause weight gain. You gave lots of examples.

Are you are now admitting that was nonsense and that weight is in fact caused by excess calories? Just like everyone was telling you

Mellor wrote: »
    You initially said that it food quality not calories that cause weight gain. You gave lots of examples.

Are you are now admitting that was nonsense and that weight is in fact caused by excess calories? Just like everyone was telling you

Quite the leap!

I said that people should focus on the quality of the calories not the calories themselves.

Yes eating too many calories causes you to gain weight.
    Eating too few causes you to lose weight.

But I'm trying to get people to look beyond just calories. As I stated that seemed to be all people were talking about.

If you eat good quality food that doesn't cause insulin spikes then you won't have the need to eat more, you'll feel fuller eating 1000 calories of healthy foods over McDonalds.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,504 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

But I'm trying to get people to look beyond just calories. As I stated that seemed to be all people were talking about.

You are the only one harping on about it, give it a rest ffs.

The title of the thread and the OP is asking for weight loss tips, OP has been given advice on how to achieve weight loss. Advice about how to be healthy hasn't been asked for and isn't wanted here.

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭DisneyLover

easily the bigger you are the more you need, if your body is use to 2500 calories a day and you cut to 2000 a day you will lose weight, short term, you will plateau but when i started and i was 5 ft and over 20 stone my deficit calories were over 2000 a day im only on 1600 maintenance now

Yeah exactly. My anxiety and depression was bad over all of winter, I would have been eating like 2'500-2'800 daily lol.

Im very tall for a woman. 1'200 is what I went on before and I ended up getting an eating disorder. 1'200 is nothing.

Atm Im 16 stone and 6 pounds and Im 5'11. 1900 is def the right amount !

GarIT wrote: »
    My Ex girlfriend was about 3-4 inches shorter than you and had to cut to 1290 to loose, maintaining was 1600 and that's including a 5km walk every day. She was reaching 15k to 20k steps on her fitbit each day.

I maintain at around 2,100 and I'm a small bit taller and male. To lose I need to go below 1,900. I know some girls at the lower end of 5ft tall and they need to stick to 1200 to lose.

If you want to lose weight based on your job I'd say 1590 is accurate, you could probably bring that up to 1800 with some daily exercise. As far as I know there is a way to sync your fitbit to MFP and it will work out your calories for you without you putting any data into it.

Thats a good bit shorter than me though and she was probably a lot lighter. I think 1'590 is too low too at my weight now.

You're right there, but if you want to get in the healthy range that's what you need to be eating. You should probably start at round 1800 as a max limit and remove 50 every two weeks so you are at 1600 by the time you're leaving.

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭marialouise

So I can consume my fill of zero calorie coke, litres and litres and eat 1500 calories of McDonalds and I'll lose weight?

Yep! If your maintenance level is 2000kcal and you're eating 1500kcal, you will lose weight. You'll feel crap, but you'll lose weight. Nobody suggested eating McDonalds. We suggested eating within your calorie allowance.
    You're both ignoring the role of insulin if you just blinding follow "excess calories that make people obese".

If you're eating unhealthy calories then you will get insulin spikes.
    The prescence of insulin determines whether we burn body fat or not.

If I eat 2000 calories of healthy food that doesn't cause big insulin spikes.

Look at people with diabetes.

Excess calories do make people obese.
    Insulin spikes don't make you gain weight.
    Excess calories make you gain weight.
    My maintenance calories are under 2000. If I eat 2000 calories of healthy food I won't have insulin spikes but I will put on weight.
    If I eat 1000 calories I will lose a lot of weight and eventually starve myself to death, with a few insulin spikes along the way.
    *cough*

Originally Posted by marialouise View Post
    No, it's excess calories that make people obese.

It is actually excess calories that make people obese, so thanks for personally attacking my post there.
    OK lets say for example that someone is hungry and they've a poor diet.
    Insulin levels are high due to the poor quality food they eat.
    So they eat, say 600 calories.
    Half of that goes into the muscles and the other half goes off to be stored as fat due to the high insulin.
    The body shouts "I'm still hungry" so they eat more and the process continues.

So yes I'd agree that it's the excess calories that are causing the weight gain but its the high insulin / poor diet that's causing the need for more food.

Oh so you do agree! After all that!
    It's from EATING MORE FOOD that weight gain occurs.
    Quite the leap!

I said that people should focus on the quality of the calories not the calories themselves.

Yes eating too many calories causes you to gain weight.
    Eating too few causes you to lose weight.

If you eat good quality food that doesn't cause insulin spikes then you won't have the need to eat more, you'll feel fuller eating 1000 calories of healthy foods over McDonalds.

And once more, just so I can be sure that you agree.... I've quoted you again pointing to the calorie equation being responsible for weight loss.

I feel I have some closure now.

I used 5 words:
    Excess calories make people obese.

I didn't use more than that, and I never said people shouldn't care about what they put in their bodies or any of the stuff which you gathered from my 5 words.
    Understanding nutrition has been the single most important part of my weight loss journey (20kg thank you very much), and so please don't imply that I don't know what I'm talking about.
    I did overeat on "clean" foods. Avocado, nuts, olive oil... "I thought these were healthy??"... And then I learned about calories. And started to weigh my food. And lost a lot of weight while including pizza and chocolate and whatnot when it fitted within my calories for the day.

And after hundreds of useless posts and pointless bickering this brings us back to the OP:
    OP, please weigh your food. Everything. It doesn't matter what your FitBit says (mine says I've burned 2500-2700 the last few days but I'm logging my food and if I was eating anywhere near that amount I'd be definitely gaining, I'm maintaining around 2000!). So just measure the calories in, keep a track of your weight and progress pics or whatever you're comfortable with. If your weight is not moving, it's MFP you need to trust, not FitBit. If you're logging 1900 and you're not losing, try 1800 for two weeks. But this is all not helpful unless you do start weighing that food!

As difficult as the posts might seem to follow, mathie might be trying to imply that you should find the best way to fill your 1900 kcal with the most nutritious food you can get for your calories. A snickers isn't very filling and uses up a lot of your budget (but is oh so worth it sometimes). Things like a chicken breast can be 150kcal but very filling, and with a huge bowl of vegetables you already have a filling meal for the same calories as a marsbar. So the better choices you make the less hungry you'll feel and the less you'll feel like you're on a diet, but anyway the best thing to do for now is get a hold on how much you're eating.

There's some great advice in this thread but it's hard to dig out between a lot of nonsense posts... I'm going to unfollow it because it's just a mess of random posts but PM me if you want any support. Good luck!! xx

Yep! If your maintenance level is 2000kcal and you're eating 1500kcal, you will lose weight. You'll feel crap, but you'll lose weight. Nobody suggested eating McDonalds. We suggested eating within your calorie allowance.

Excess calories do make people obese.
    Insulin spikes don't make you gain weight.
    Excess calories make you gain weight.
    My maintenance calories are under 2000. If I eat 2000 calories of healthy food I won't have insulin spikes but I will put on weight.
    If I eat 1000 calories I will lose a lot of weight and eventually starve myself to death, with a few insulin spikes along the way.

It is actually excess calories that make people obese, so thanks for personally attacking my post there.

Oh so you do agree! After all that!
    It's from EATING MORE FOOD that weight gain occurs.

And once more, just so I can be sure that you agree.... I've quoted you again pointing to the calorie equation being responsible for weight loss.

I feel I have some closure now.

I used 5 words:
    Excess calories make people obese.

I didn't use more than that, and I never said people shouldn't care about what they put in their bodies or any of the stuff which you gathered from my 5 words.
    Understanding nutrition has been the single most important part of my weight loss journey (20kg thank you very much), and so please don't imply that I don't know what I'm talking about.
    I did overeat on "clean" foods. Avocado, nuts, olive oil... "I thought these were healthy??"... And then I learned about calories. And started to weigh my food. And lost a lot of weight while including pizza and chocolate and whatnot when it fitted within my calories for the day.

And after hundreds of useless posts and pointless bickering this brings us back to the OP:
    OP, please weigh your food. Everything. It doesn't matter what your FitBit says (mine says I've burned 2500-2700 the last few days but I'm logging my food and if I was eating anywhere near that amount I'd be definitely gaining, I'm maintaining around 2000!). So just measure the calories in, keep a track of your weight and progress pics or whatever you're comfortable with. If your weight is not moving, it's MFP you need to trust, not FitBit. If you're logging 1900 and you're not losing, try 1800 for two weeks. But this is all not helpful unless you do start weighing that food!

As difficult as the posts might seem to follow, mathie might be trying to imply that you should find the best way to fill your 1900 kcal with the most nutritious food you can get for your calories. A snickers isn't very filling and uses up a lot of your budget (but is oh so worth it sometimes). Things like a chicken breast can be 150kcal but very filling, and with a huge bowl of vegetables you already have a filling meal for the same calories as a marsbar. So the better choices you make the less hungry you'll feel and the less you'll feel like you're on a diet, but anyway the best thing to do for now is get a hold on how much you're eating.

There's some great advice in this thread but it's hard to dig out between a lot of nonsense posts... I'm going to unfollow it because it's just a mess of random posts but PM me if you want any support. Good luck!! xx

Jaysus just had a snickers on my break how did you know :O Only had one which is a big win for me lol. Thanks Maria, Ill pm you !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭seefin

irishman86 wrote:

I'm 5 ft, just under 8 stone and am eating 2100 and not gaining. Im actually increasing calories every week to see how high I can push it without starting to gain..aiming for 2500 calories. I'm pretty active admittedly but not excessively so. So yeah a woman can eat well over 2000 calories a day ,even a midget like me!

Lads so can i just ask apart from food is any exercise Im doing just like a 'bonus' then ? Ill upload my fitbit stats tonight still in work and gonna try fit in a workout when Im home too !

So any cycling, pilates is just a bonus to eating healthy for losing the weight ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

Lads so can i just ask apart from food is any exercise Im doing just like a 'bonus' then ? Ill upload my fitbit stats tonight still in work and gonna try fit in a workout when Im home too !

So any cycling, pilates is just a bonus to eating healthy for losing the weight ?

From my experience yes. When I first started I didn't count my exercise but now I have to on long runs I have to eat extra just to fuel my body but unless you are doing serious levels of fat burning then let it be a bonus. Get the calories right first, count then weigh food and be conciliatory of drinking your calories... make better choices for 1 month then take the next step this is a life style change so take your time with it

Lads again sorry - I had 125g of steamed chicken 210 approx and - 150g of whole wheat pasta - Approx 200 cal online ? Is that right I thought it would be 300! So confused with weighing lol

Did you weigh the pasta dry or cooked?
    I'm guessing it was cooked (as 150g dry is a lot).
    You are better off weighing it dry, as you'll get an accurate quantity. The cooked pasta will get heavier as you cook it longer. But the calories aren't changing