Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this an issue and what is the white discolouration?

• 03-05-2017 9:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭MargeS

Just noticed this discolouration tonight. Is it an issue? It's off white coloured and on the inside. :confused:

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭ratracer

MargeS wrote: »
    Just noticed this discolouration tonight. Is it an issue? It's off white coloured and on the inside. :confused:

Oh dear,

I'm not a qualified mechanic, but milky oil is not good, could be head gasket, some more experienced head will hopefully chime in, but I wouldn't ride it again without getting it checked asap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Roadskill

Could be one of two things.
    1. Condensation in which case should clear after a long spin and engine nice and hot
    2. Coolant getting into the oil which is more serious.
    If it continues best to get it checked out.

I hope it's number one for you. A mechanic might on here might have other ideas as I'm going in experience.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Is you're bike water cooled op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭MargeS

Nope, air cooled. That was after a 25 mile run and left sitting for 2/3 hours. I had been adjusting the chain and was giving the bike a once over when I spotted this. I really don't think it's condensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

when was the last time the oil was changed , and is it running hotter than usual op