Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Prince Charles coming to Kilkenny(No political crap)

• 05-05-2017 8:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭

Kilkenny spending millions on his arrival next week; army and gaurds everywhere checking fields, roads, pubs etc, hedges been cut on the route, anything that belongs to the council been painted, roads been tarmaced, flowers been planted everywhere.

Never seen anything like it before. Some waste of taxpayers money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Rumour has it he want's to meet Henry Sheflin so he can ask him what its like to be a king.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,295 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Kilkenny probably needed a spring cleaning.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Barbie! wrote: »
    Rumour has it he want's to meet Henry Sheflin so he can ask him what its like to be a king.

Or queen ?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The place has been like a building site with all the roadworks which seem to have been going on forever at this stage.

Kilkenny depends on tourism and agriculture, so this is good in my opinion.

Himself and Camilla also visiting Kildare and Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

If it makes them spruce the place up then it's not wasted money at all. Tourist season is about to begin so if it needed done all the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Jodotman wrote: »
    Kilkenny spending millions on his arrival next week; army and gaurds everywhere checking fields, roads, pubs etc, hedges been cut on the route, anything that belongs to the council been painted, roads been tarmaced, flowers been planted everywhere.

Do you have a breakdown of the expenditure or is it a bs figure from your heaf?

Do the army suddenly get extra pay due to this visit

Do council workers get extra pay for doing their job this week?

Do gardai get extra for this as well?

Somehow I doubt it, so your rant is complete BS

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Didn't know he could swing a stick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Jodotman

CeilingFly wrote: »

Do the army suddenly get extra pay due to this visit

Do gardai get extra for this as well?

Council working overtime gaurds and army working overtime, its not bs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Bit early for the boozed up and misty eyed Sons of Róisín to start arriving on the thread all puffed up with indignation.

I'm sure the hatred will start soon. Personally, I wouldn't cross the street to see him but I've no 'ideological' objection to the visit. Good for tourism if nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,442 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Seems only natural to me. A foreign Dignitary is visiting so they have to prepare for his arrival. Pretty sure most countries would do the same.

Can you back your figure "millions" up.?

I dounwit, so BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

First I heard of it,like most of the country I couldn't care less.

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭todders

If it was Prince Philip it would be worth it, now that he has announced his retirement from racism, his last few gigs should be priceless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Pity the lug-eared One isn't planning a diversion up our boreen. The Tarmac could do with the Pre-Royal Treatment.

It's dreadful. Council workers expected to do some actual work... cutting the hedge instead of staring at it, leaning on a shovel.
    There's a human rights violation in there somewhere, oh the humanity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

you object to more security and a general improvement in conditions in kilkenny ?

what are you from waterford ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

mynamejeff wrote: »
    you object to more security and a general improvement in conditions in kilkenny ?

what are you from waterford ?

Sure won't the place look lovely for when Waterford takes it over. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 864 ✭✭✭neverever1

What relation was Charles to Mountbatten? Will Charles be going on a boat trip when he's over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Do they dig up the roads when he leaves? Surely this is a boon for the marble city?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

neverever1 wrote: »
    What relation was Charles to Mountbatten? Will Charles be going on a boat trip when he's over?

Gran Uncle

snowflaker wrote: »
    Do they dig up the roads when he leaves? Surely this is a boon for the marble city?

Yes. That road is destined for Dublin, brick by brick. The flowers too.
    They're too good for them in Kilkenny.
    And the new paint will wash off in the next rain shower.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

zerks wrote: »
    Sure won't the place look lovely for when Waterford takes it over. ;)

Lebensraum for the deise tribes .

outstanding !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Jodotman

Just annoced on the radio, 9.3 million in Kilkejy. They coulkd have buying 50 houses for .that to ease the by den in Kilkenny .

Ends coulnt give s flying fuc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Let's hope Enda doesn't get carried away like John Bruton did.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Is he going on a stag?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

Just annoced on the radio, 9.3 million in Kilkejy. They coulkd have buying 50 houses for .that to ease the by den in Kilkenny .

How many Appletini's did you have tonight? I think you should get some rest now, another day of exaggerating ahead of you tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,263 ✭✭✭bobbyss

CeilingFly wrote:

I don't know if anyone is getting overtime for this. But you are accusing someone of B.S. This clearly means you think that they are not on overtime.

Did you read it somewhere or see a council report or something like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

How is the head this morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Kinda goes against the grain of eco Charlie wanting everyone to live like cavemen to save the planet.

It's not a real 9.3M because a lot of those costs would be expended anyway. The council still have to pay their workers, the army still had to be paid etc. It's not an additional 9.3M. It's not 'real' money that could be used to buy houses or anything else.

The same BS figures as "4 billion watching Olympic opening ceremony" "500 million watching eurovision" etc etc.

Some second-rate intern "journalist" takes total expenditure most of which would be spent anyway, multiplies by 5, adds some and publishes it.

Some fools then believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

No to foreign gam...... I mean leaders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Wonder will he go to Langtons.....only place to allow smoking on the dance floor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Someone is coming to visit Kilkenny and some lads and lassies might be getting some overtime on the back of it!!!!!

Outrageous!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Jawgap wrote: »
    Someone is coming to visit Kilkenny and some lads and lassies might be getting some overtime on the back of it!!!!!

Outrageous!!

Tbf he might fit in.....it'll be like an incest convention :pac:

Fair wish I could put emoji on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Post of the thread:)

Nah, a bit of parochial backslapping at best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Nah, a bit of parochial backslapping at best

Did you just accuse me of being from Kilkenny. That's an insult and I demand satisfaction. We shall have a duel.

Cock fight at dawn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭cml387

Ever since the queen visited the English market you can't move for tourists. Groups have to book in advance now.

I'd say the traders in Kilkenny are happy enough .

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

It's not a real 9.3M because a lot of those costs would be expended anyway. The council still have to pay their workers, the army still had to be paid etc. It's not an additional 9.3M. It's not 'real' money that could be used to buy houses or anything else.

Using the OPs drunken economic costing model the costs have been revised. They are now sitting at close to €10bn which now include the full cost of Dublin airport, all the roads he will use (including complete length of the m50), and the cost of dredging the Liffey. This is set to increase by about €1bn once they get the inflation adjusted coat of Kilkenny castle.

Op if you are hoping that your outrage will lead to a bill being sent to the UK can we get him to visit us here in cork too and we might be able to increase the charge to €20bn, may even be able to add in the new concert hall and Páirc Uí Chaoimh

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Roll out the red carpet.

A wonderful individual and heir to the greatest throne left on the planet. God Save the man.

Roll out the red carpet.

A wonderful individual and heir to the greatest throne left on the planet. God Save the man.

Jaysus, where have you been?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Jaysus, where have you been?

It's not like there's anything incorrect about his statement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

The army dont do overtime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Of all the Royals, HRH Prince Charles comes across as being a kind considerate & honourable man who is very knowledgeable on many topics, including architecture & the environment. Highly respected in many spheres, a true gent & future King?

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Blahfool

All the royals think the world smells of new paint.

Erik Shin wrote: »
    It's not like there's anything incorrect about his statement
    Another poster wearing blinkers.