Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2017 Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭leesider77

skyblue46 wrote: »
    I'll be interested to hear what the experts say. I'd be inclined to think that there is a direct correlation between pace and how long you can sustain an effort for. Believe it. :) You may still have to walk from time to time but probably a lot less than if you ran slower.

Fingal 10km I ran at 5:30 km pace. The half which I didn't race hard I ran at 6:10 km pace. My long runs are at 6:45 km pace. I suppose I could try and slow it down even further this weekend to 7km pace and see if I can run further. After reading the posts about dcm plan I'm going rouge ( sorry wubblewubble!) and will tackle another long run. I've no work travel and will hopefully have less on overall. So going to eat and drink clean and get early nights and give myself every chance for it to be a good one!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭ariana`

henrietta wrote: »
    Oh god! Thanks for sharing. Made me very nervous watching that for some reason, makes it all seen real. Stays very crowded for a long time too.
    Is it too late to chicken out?!!!
    YES absolutely way too late :D

I get really nervous when i think about it too, when i visualise myself standing in the wave like a sardine in a can and moving towards the start and eventually going over the start and the feeling that "this is it"... i'm out in goosebumps just typing this yikes :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

El Caballo wrote: »
    You guys will have to slow up on the training runs. I see so many posts here about runs at marathon pace, close to MP or even faster on long runs and easy runs. A lot of you guys are getting overuse injuries, too many tbh and a lot of that stems from running too hard when you shouldn't be. Pretty much all of you guys are running more mileage than ever before and some considerably more and this does take it's toll for sure but I don't think the mileage is the major contributor here. Running as hard as a lot of you guys do when you are supposed to be running easy is the major factor imo. it doesn't give your muscles a chance to recover properly so they become tighter and overworked, add to this that running faster uses a greater range of motion when something is tight and you get the idea.
    Thank you so much for posting this it is a great reminder to slow down :) great advice
    Oh no, just read this..... a chaffing sports bra is probably the least of you worries hope it nothing too serious

I know least of my worries now, I am hoping it will be ok! messaged Physio so waiting to hear back from him, I am taking no chances
    My advice.....burn the bra!!! :-))

:D:D:D:D LOL not yet!
    Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    Got a physio appointment tonight for 7 o clock with Aidan Woods, supposed to be really good. Will let yous know how I get on.

Good luck Damo keep us posted
    Andy31 wrote: »
    Unfortunately I have also been suffering with injury (medial arch) issues!  Going back to physio today - was at a podiatrist last week and he said try the long run this weekend (18m) and see how I get on.  I did and got through it but i think i have strained it slightly further, so I am thinking about resting it almost completely between now and the date of the marathon.  Does anyone know whether, at this stage, it's going to have that much of an impact overall on my fitness - I would have thought by now most of the hard work is now done.

Good luck with physio today

leesider77 I have a plan I have a stretchy sports bra from pennies ( crap for support) but will act as a base layer and prevent chaffing

ariana I am glad your feeling a little better :)

RasTa wrote: »
    Just re watching my video from last year. First one is 10k in and the balloons are the 4hr pacers just to give ye a heads up on the size of the crowds

http://www.asics.com/ie/en-ie/marathon/videos?r=10843&e=DM16M&n=Simon+O+Hare&nt_f=04:02:04&ct_f=13:14:08&ct_s2=10:08:27&ct_s3=11:10:07&ct_s4=12:01:29&k=finish&l=EN&gotostream=false

wow brilliant and scary all in one go!

Baby75 wrote: »

leesider77 I have a plan I have a stretchy sports bra from pennies ( crap for support) but will act as a base layer and prevent chaffing

Ok sorry boys :P I wear 2 bras. I wear a shock absorber sports bra and over it i wear one of the little crop/bra sports tops in a really snug fit (i have a few of these Nike/Puma/Reebox all do the job). The combination is so tight that nothing moves so no chaffing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭positron

Just re watching my video from last year. First one is 10k in and the balloons are the 4hr pacers just to give ye a heads up on the size of the crowds

http://www.asics.com/ie/en-ie/marathon/videos?r=10843&e=DM16M&n=Simon+O+Hare&nt_f=04:02:04&ct_f=13:14:08&ct_s2=10:08:27&ct_s3=11:10:07&ct_s4=12:01:29&k=finish&l=EN&gotostream=false

That crowded all the way to the end?! :eek:

I can't really say I enjoy running in a crowd, but no one said running a marathon is going to be easy. I would be worried about what I would do to people aorund me when I get past 30-35k - you know when you enter that "I am so tired I couldn't give a damn what anyone thinks" zone. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭podgec10

There are lots of people at 10k running on footpaths and hopping down onto the road!!!!
    Try to stay off the footpaths and grass. Don't jump onto or off paths if at all possible.

Cool videos, thanks for posting 🖒

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭statina

Wubble Wubble, thanks for that. The 20 miler thought is gone off the table, dont know what I was even thinking considering that!!

Right calf is still really painful, going up and down stairs is particularly sore. Does anyone have the name of a good physio? Tried 3 in the general Rathfarnham area but they're all fully booked up until next week. Apparantly its their busiest time of year with DCM approaching :o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

ariana` wrote: »
    Ok sorry boys :P I wear 2 bras. I wear a shock absorber sports bra and over it i wear one of the little crop/bra sports tops in a really snug fit (i have a few of these Nike/Puma/Reebox all do the job). The combination is so tight that nothing moves so no chaffing :)

Anyone see the match last night..................

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭leesider77

wow brilliant and scary all in one go!

and emotional...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭clickerquicklic

I don't want to put anyone off running but running when injured or planning to run with an injury is crazy IMO. In 2007 my one and only marathon I started training with a mate , we didn't train properly didn't know what we were doing and only ran 1 or 2 runs a week, we just wanted to finish a marathon. We did one or two 20 milers I can't remember but my mate complained about his knee during the last 20 mile run. He went to the physio who told him he be ok to run but revise his goals , he took pain killers and ran the marathon pulling out at 20 miles the pain got too bad.

A box was ticked for me so I stopped running altogether but he had the running bug , he took about a month or two off and then got back into it slowly, he seemed to be at the physio once a month , when I seen him running he had knee straps etc. He was determined to do a marathon so went to a specialist and had a knee operation in 2008 or 2009. The surgeon told him not to run marathons to stick to half marathons at most but he didn't listen and ran Dublin in 2011 ironically his knee was ok for marathon but the ankle on the same leg start giving him trouble , his physio reckons the ankle pain came about from over compensating for his knee. Roll on 2017 he is still running but manages less and less miles every year and hes slower than ever , he can't run without a vigorous stretching routine before and after , loads of deep heat anti inflammatory medications and gels and strapped up like a mummy .

If I wake up with a bad niggle on marathon day I won't attempt to run 26.2 miles , its only a run that takes 16 weeks to train for , why damage yourself potentially for life for the sake of a run. 16 weeks is nothing in a lifetime you can skip this marathon and do another one and if you do it soon enough you may not even need to train for 16 weeks again.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Ah ladies I love ye and all the little bits of advice that you have freely offered to each other all the way through this thread. From wee breaks to raisins, bras to sweat resistant makeup options and bum bags, no topic too mundane or off limits....a veritable treasure trove of information to help make the training and the day itself easier.

Us men on the other hand come on here about progression runs, splits, PMPs, miles, paces etc. We are lacking a human side.

So as my bit towards balancing things up I have a few questions about some nuts and bolts topics.

1) Beer: My normal tipple is Guinness. However since this plan began I have had strange bubbling up inside issues on long runs the morning after a few pints. Has anyone discovered a good beer for drinking the night before LSRs or pace runs?

2) Neck balm: I have found myself (prompted by posts on here) very interested in ladies bum bags. I find myself looking at them as ladies run past in the opposite direction. This has led to some whiplash like pain from the constant head turning.

3) Shorts: My search for race day shorts has been a painful one. I was hoping to get a pair with the built in liner. This has led to problems. Getting the waist size is ok and lengths of shorts are many and varied so no problems there. But God, the liners...either so tight that my undercarriage is trussed up like a turkey and the elastic chafes me or so loose that I'm bouncing up and down like a yoyo on a string. Does anyone know where to custom order shorts based on liner size?

Thanks in advance :D

Ah ladies I love ye and all the little bits of advice that you have freely offered to each other all the way through this thread. From wee breaks to raisins, bras to sweat resistant makeup options and bum bags, no topic too mundane or off limits....a veritable treasure trove of information to help make the training and the day itself easier.

Us men on the other hand come on here about progression runs, splits, PMPs, miles, paces etc. We are lacking a human side.

So as my bit towards balancing things up I have a few questions about some nuts and bolts topics.

1) Beer: My normal tipple is Guinness. However since this plan began I have had strange bubbling up inside issues on long runs the morning after a few pints. Has anyone discovered a good beer for drinking the night before LSRs or pace runs?
    Have you tried cider, hubby enjoyed Orchard Thieves and no problems :)

2) Neck balm: I have found myself (prompted by posts on here) very interested in ladies bum bags. I find myself looking at them as ladies run past in the opposite direction. This has led to some whiplash like pain from the constant head turning.
    HMMMM I know a mirror you can get these fancy ones for cycling and goes on your wrist :D:D:D:D LOL ;);)

3) Shorts: My search for race day shorts has been a painful one. I was hoping to get a pair with the built in liner. This has led to problems. Getting the waist size is ok and lengths of shorts are many and varied so no problems there. But God, the liners...either so tight that my undercarriage is trussed up like a turkey and the elastic chafes me or so loose that I'm bouncing up and down like a yoyo on a string. Does anyone know where to custom order shorts based on liner size?

Can not help at all :D you could always let it all hang free if you do not mind a wardrobe malfunction like that guy who ran in Berlin ( I think it was Berlin) or compression shorts ;);););)

Thanks in advance :D

Thanks for the giggle my son is laughing at me for Laughing :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Skyblue, i’m now cracking up laughing and have forgotten everything else I wanted to say in response to others!

Wow that video is interesting. How long does it stay that congested for? Makes me wonder if trying to follow a pacing strategy where you pick up the pace every so often how easy it would be to do. Or even just to stick to your own pace - def important to start near pacers and not too far up the field or you’d get carried along too fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Well done everyone on recent long runs and especially to those who are picking up more niggles/injuries; hopefully everyone still gets to the line (starting and finishing); running a marathon is an achievement enough, so just think of the sense of personal achievement and triumph when you complete it having overcome 26.2 miles and an injury.

Week 15

Mon: 4.7m @ 8.21
    Tue: 3.8m @ 8.15
    Wed: 6.8m @ 7.59
    Thu: 3.8m @ 7.58
    Fri: 4.1m @ 7.42
    Sat: 'dress rehearsal' LR- 22m @ 8.12
    Sun: Rest

TOTAL: 45.4

Not sure its on any plan, but I felt i needed to run something just shy of the real thing at PMP or better to prove to myself that i could do it on the day. Purely psychological rather than physical really. So i did a full dress rehearsal (though half bottle of white the night before wasn't quite what i have planned for DCM!) on Saturday morning which went great. Felt super through 13 miles, though when i went past Sutton onto footpaths my left top of foot pain niggled a bit. Turned back and did the last 9 miles on the even ground of the foot/cycle path and the Park [St Anne's]. No foot pain and after about 2 miles of misery getting used to running against a fairly strong wind, i managed to get back on track. Had enough in me to slightly up the pace for the last 3 miles, but equally, i knew i had pushed myself quite far.

It has settled most of my last remaining questions re strategy the day itself.
    (1) I need the discipline of pacers for at least the first few miles; on saturday, even though there was nowhere near the adrenaline levels of the day itself, i set off like a big eejit; it took me about 4 miles to slow the fcuk down even though i had half mile audio clues telling me i was way too fast (7.40 v 8.20). Finally settled into a nice 8.1x/8.2x pace for the duration after that (with the exception of a couple of especially windy miles).
    (2) 3.40 is my A target; while i could push for 3.30, its too risky. 3.35 is probably where i am really at, but whats the difference between 3.35 and 3.40 and in any case, there's no 3.35 pacer so go back to Q.1.....
    (3) There is no reality to the 'go out with the x.xx pacers and see if i can push on from 13 miles if i'm feeling good' mantra (for me anyway); sounds great in theory but i just cant see myself having the energy to up the pace appreciably at that stage; for the last few miles maybe, but for 13 miles; no way. So if i manage to chip a minute or two off 3.40 from mile 20, great, but there is no way i'm risking a pace increase strategy from mile 13 onwards. Also, psychologically, i can only imagine it being very tough.
    (4) Tapering is weird/anticlimactic: Im very happy to be reducing mileage, and i feel like the training has gone aswell as it could have and im in good shape, but it still feels weird to be slowing down. If anything, it feels like we should be racing next Sunday rather than 3 weeks.

Anyway, all the best to everyone through taper and with their injuries etc.

Thanks for the giggle my son is laughing at me for Laughing :D:D

Orchard Thieves gets a bit sickly after 3 or 4! I'd prefer a beer :D

The mirror is a great plan. I've seen some weirdos cyclists with them attached to their helmets. Maybe I could adapt the design...hmm

I'm malfunctional enough without adding my wardrobe to it!

Compression shorts....Jesus, Mary and Joseph... I was in the Asics shop in Kildare Village yesterday and tried a pair of 2 in 1 shorts where the compression shorts were inside normal shorts. My bits now know what clothes that are packed in vacuum bags and have all the air sucked out feel like! :eek:

You have missed your calling in life you should be a comedian :D:D I have tears from laughing :D:D

On a separate note, we went to Kildare village yesterday as well, Hubby and I got new runners, I think my old ones was a contributing factor to my sore feet and whatever the hell is wrong with my ankle today

The mirror is a great plan. I've seen some weirdos cyclists with them attached to their helmets. Maybe I could adapt the design...hmm

Compression shorts....Jesus, Mary and Joseph... I was in the Asics shop in Kildare Village yesterday and tried a pair of 2 in 1 shorts where the compression shorts were inside normal shorts. My bits now know what clothes that are packed in vacuum bags and have all the air sucked out feel like! :eek:
    Hilarious:D:D

Oh sweet lord i'm sorry for your bits but thanks for the laugh i needed it :pac::pac::pac::pac:

drkpower that was some run you did. Well done i'm sure it was a great confidence boost.

Anyone worried about gaining weight during the taper or in my case complete running ban?

I haven't lost or gained a single lb from this training cycle. And to be honest that is fine, i could possibly lose 6-7lbs without looking gaunt, I'm not skinny by any stretch but i don't have a lot extra either if that makes sense. Anyhow, it just dawned on me at lunch (as I munched a bag of Hunky Dorys) that i probably should cut back (at least on the tasty snack stuff junk) a little in these 3 weeks or i could easily gain half a stone :eek:

You have missed your calling in life you should be a comedian :D:D I have tears from laughing :D:D

On a separate note, we went to Kildare village yesterday as well, Hubby and I got new runners, I think my old ones was a contributing factor to my sore feet and whatever the hell is wrong with my ankle today

Hilarious:D:D

I might have been in the shop when you were. I got back out to my phone which I left in the car and saw your post about being there. I was looking for Kayanos but they didn't have my size. Settled for Nike Structures instead. I have been alternating both shoes in training so shouldn't have a problem with them hopefully.

The runners issue is a tough one. 3/4 months isn't long enough to try a few pairs over varied distances imo. I have ended up with the Nikes which I actually dislike on short runs but they seem to get better as the runs get longer. I got a pair of Saucony which are like wearing your favourite old slippers, I love them for short runs, but they seemed to leave me sore on the ball of my foot on long runs.

Oh sweet lord i'm sorry for your bits but thanks for the laugh i needed it :pac::pac::pac::pac:

drkpower that was some run you did. Well done i'm sure it was a great confidence boost.

I am still giggling!!!

Yea I am losing slowly during this training, I think I will watch portion size and avoid junk I prefer to lose a few pounds then gain before DCM :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

Taper time baby !!!

Last long run done on Saturday.

20 miles @ 9 min 29 sec mile pace.

Counted my gels wrong and left myself one short and felt a mini bonk in last 2 miles to about 9 min 40 mile pace, but the first 18 were steady splits so no gradual slowdown in pace.

Knee felt pretty good, could feel it yesterday a little but no pain at all during the run. Given the amount of training I had missed I was seriously doubting if sub 4 hr marathon was still even a prospect but I think after Saturday id rate my chances at 50/50

If I can do it great if I miss it I wont beat myself up over it. Psychotically that run gave me a massive boost from the perspective of how my knee would hold up so I'm chuffed.

D3PO wrote: »
    Taper time baby !!!

Last long run done on Saturday.

20 miles @ 9 min 29 sec mile pace.

Counted my gels wrong and left myself one short and felt a mini bonk in last 2 miles to about 9 min 40 mile pace, but the first 18 were steady splits so no gradual slowdown in pace.

Knee felt pretty good, could feel it yesterday a little but no pain at all during the run. Given the amount of training I had missed I was seriously doubting if sub 4 hr marathon was still even a prospect but I think after Saturday id rate my chances at 50/50

If I can do it great if I miss it I wont beat myself up over it. Psychotically that run gave me a massive boost from the perspective of how my knee would hold up so I'm chuffed.

Delighted for you. I think if I was you I'd get that psychotic thing treated :P

• Registered Users Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

LOL :eek: meant to say psychologically :p

I hoped that was the case! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I hoped that was the case! :D

But you can never be sure with Marathon Runners.

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭peterc14

drkpower wrote: »

Sat: 'dress rehearsal' LR- 22m @ 8.12

(2) 3.40 is my A target; while i could push for 3.30, its too risky. 3.35 is probably where i am really at, but whats the difference between 3.35 and 3.40 and in any case, there's no 3.35 pacer so go back to Q.1.....

(

That seems like a great 22M run. I done 20M @ just below 8.30 at the weekend...it wasn't easy but was not impossible either. I am trying to work out my pacing for the big day and unsure whether to push for 3.30 or have a lower aim of 3.40-3.45.
    You numbers would seem to indicate 3.30 is definately possible - did you race a HM recently? Would just be interested to see how it compares.

I might have been in the shop when you were. I got back out to my phone which I left in the car and saw your post about being there. I was looking for Kayanos but they didn't have my size. Settled for Nike Structures instead. I have been alternating both shoes in training so shouldn't have a problem with them hopefully.

The runners issue is a tough one. 3/4 months isn't long enough to try a few pairs over varied distances imo. I have ended up with the Nikes which I actually dislike on short runs but they seem to get better as the runs get longer. I got a pair of Saucony which are like wearing your favourite old slippers, I love them for short runs, but they seemed to leave me sore on the ball of my foot on long runs.

We must have just missed you so, I have been wearing Adidas Supernova Sequence 9 not a huge fan so back to ascis kayano

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Candamir

Good week from my POV - very happy with the way things are going. Still carrying a small niggle which is probably a bit of tendinitis in my gluteus medius but it's more of a problem after running than while running so I'm (and the physio) are happy enough with that. I'm hoping that on the day it will serve me well to distract me from all the other pain that I'm sure is headed my direction! (This strategy worked well at Ballycotton when I injured my knee early on and so was actually looking forward to running up hills, and the pain in the rest of my legs paled in comparison to the cheese grater like pain behind my left patella. NOT to be recommended btw!) Hoping that the taper will see the few injuries we're picking up get a chance to settle and allow us all to get to the start line - the A goal!

Started the week feeling quite tired, so was really happy to get some good runs in. I promise I will be slowing down from now and limit myself to just 1 tempo or pace run per week.

Mon 5m tempo @8:17
    Tues 10m pace @8:50
    Wed Pilates followed by 5m easy @9:12
    Thurs rest
    Fri LSR 20m @9:15 - ran as a progression run. Of course started faster than intended, but still managed to up the pace in the second half and finish with a couple of 8:50 miles. So hoping the negative split strategy will work for me on race day, and if it doesn't hoping the slower start will protect me from blowing up too soon/at all.
    Was hoping to get a recovery run in Saturday but went sailing instead, so now my upper body hurts too :)

More importantly. Regarding bra-gate. Have you ladies (Edit: or gents) with chaffing issues tried not using body glide under your bra? Might it be that it's causing movement and therefore chaffing where really there should be none if it's well fitting. Having tried several brands, I've always gone back to penny's best (not the very stretch light support one) and it's never moved or chaffed on me.
    Can't believe I'm discussing bras with complete strangers on the internet. There's probably a name for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Lazare

Shooting the braz