Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Garda investigated after CCTV showing arrest of naked, distressed woman goes viral.

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

bubblypop wrote: »
    I don't know? Do you?
    I don't know how many were in the whats app group, do you?
    Obviously someone did.

Has anything else been released from the WhatsApp group?
    I'm looking for a bit of context before I dust down my pitchfork.

If it was a case of "Be the hokey lads, would you look at this nut running around in the nip!!", then obviously it's indefensible.

Is there a chance it could have been posted as part of a discussion on best practice when dealing with mental illness?

I see nothing wrong if it was the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Has anything else been released from the WhatsApp group?
    I'm looking for a bit of context before I dust down my pitchfork.

If it was a case of "Be the hokey lads, would you look at this nut running around in the nip!!", then obviously it's indefensible.

Is there a chance it could have been posted as part of a discussion on best practice when dealing with mental illness?

I see nothing wrong if it was the latter.

Bit of a stretch. The subsequent posting to Facebook would nullify that argument IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Collie D wrote: »
    Bit of a stretch. The subsequent posting to Facebook would nullify that argument IMO.

Was it subsequently posted to Facebook by the same guy?
    If so, he's in serious trouble regardless of context in the WhatsApp group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭skankkuvhima

How many people turned up to the protest/vigil?

I read all of her articles. She was 100% against anything the government did. It's all well and good to call the taoiseach a cunt but at the end of the day we need a functioning government and no amount of drug addicts will change that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I read all of her articles. She was 100% against anything the government did. It's all well and good to call the taoiseach a **** but at the end of the day we need a functioning government and no amount of drug addicts will change that.

What are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

pilly wrote:
    What are you on about?

Nothing relevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

I note there is an update on this incident - https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/garda-who-filmed-tragic-journalist-dara-quigley-to-avoid-prosecution-37184945.html

No prosecution for the garda who recorded her.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

JMNolan wrote: »
    I note there is an update on this incident - https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/garda-who-filmed-tragic-journalist-dara-quigley-to-avoid-prosecution-37184945.html

No prosecution for the garda who recorded her.

The very least they should be named and lose their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I am by no means defending the Garda but what charge could he/she have been prosecuted under? They're still facing disciplinary action and rightly so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

GSOC are an utter waste of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

Collie D wrote: »
    I am by no means defending the Garda but what charge could he/she have been prosecuted under? They're still facing disciplinary action and rightly so.

Is there no laws against sharing naked imagery of people without thier consent?

Reati wrote: »
    Is there no laws against sharing naked imagery of people without thier consent?

To be fair she was in a public place, the scumbag who recorder her and put it on the internet should be sacked and named publicly but there isn't much you can do when it comes to criminal charges.

tomofson wrote: »
    To be fair she was in a public place, the scumbag who recorder her and put it on the internet should be sacked and named publicly but there isn't much you can do when it comes to criminal charges.

Guess so. I dunno why I thought they'd be some varient of "revenge porn" style laws here they could attempt to use but it is the Gardaí afterall, wouldn't expect them to go after one of their own.

Reati wrote: »
    Guess so. I dunno why I thought they'd be some varient of "revenge porn" style laws here they could attempt to use but it is the Gardaí afterall, wouldn't expect them to go after one of their own.

I don't think someone walking naked in a public place would fall under the "revenge porn" category.

tomofson wrote: »
    I don't think someone walking naked in a public place would fall under the "revenge porn" category.

Sure. Guess not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

To think that scumbag will be back on the streets again in his job as 'protector of the public' :mad: