Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Summer transfer thread 17/18 season (NEYMAR TALK IN OTHER THREAD)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Well it is if they get the ban they deserve...

This has already been dealt with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

A players agent can talk to any club anytime ,he can hawk his player everywhere so long as player or interested club don't talk directly..bit of a farce.

I don't think that's strictly true, certainly if an agent is agent within the legal meaning of the term.

In being appointed agent for a player, the agent acts on the players behalf and can legally make commitments on the players behalf. Talking to other clubs in this capacity is n breach of the rules. Practically speaking though, it's impossible to prove in what capacity an agent was talking to a club in

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Dani Alves in PSG press conference: "If Pep Guardiola & Manchester City feel hurt, I am sorry... I have come here to be a champion."

He says, as he leaves double winners and CL finalist Juve for PSG, who came second in a one horse race and embarrassed themselves in Europe

LiamoSail wrote: »
    He says, as he leaves double winners and CL finalist Juve for PSG, who came second in a one horse race and embarrassed themselves in Europe

No one has a clue what went behind the scenes, just because they won double doesn't mean he should stay at Juventus.

He went from Barca to Juventus, so joining PSG from Juventus isn't a big deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Maybe he feels that in the coming season PSG have more chance of winning that City do. In fairness when City played that team that beat PSG in a 2 horse race, they came second too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,290 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Paris wouldn't be my favorite city but its a damn sight better than Manchester. Easy choice for Alves, plus his Mrs will love the shopping etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

That have me a good laugh. Funny and true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Champion of building towers and towers of money I presume.

Burial. wrote: »
    Champion of building towers and towers of money I presume.

You make it sound like Ligue 1 is the same as going to China or America for a top footballer. The league itself may not be ultra competitive, but there's two top teams and they are decent normally in Europe.

That have me a good laugh. Funny and true.

As opposed to City who won what and also lost out to Monaco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭rwbug

Ignore BBC, believe GFFN. We need a twitter blacklist - or posters to simply use common sense.

rwbug wrote: »
    Ignore BBC, believe GFFN. We need a twitter blacklist - or posters to simply use common sense.

Or maybe posters should use their fecking heads.

GFFN don't post news, they will translate and repost from papers. It clearly says which paper reported it.

Oh bytw I ignore English papers when it comes to transfers. They print what club briefs them, City won't brief that Alves rejected them.

Edit: Also how City briefed media that they paid 43 Million pounds for Silva when reliable French journalists and papers reported 60-70 Million Euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Or maybe posters should use their fecking heads.

GFFN don't post news, they will translate and repost from papers. It clearly says which paper reported it.

Oh bytw I ignore English papers when it comes to transfers. They print what club briefs them, City won't brief that Alves rejected them.

Edit: Also how City briefed media that they paid 43 Million pounds for Silva when reliable French journalists and papers reported 60-70 Million Euros.

Do you honestly believe city offered alves €350k a week and that he turned it down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭rwbug

POKERKING wrote: »
    Do you honestly believe city offered alves €350k a week and that he turned it down?

Probably, he believes Le10sport over the BBC. The Donald Trump of the transfer forum.

I don't believe that just I don't believe City crying about wages PSG offered. English media knows **** all. City played the PR game and now it's PSG's turn. Or it's English media vs French.
    Probably, he believes Le10sport over the BBC. The Donald Trump of the transfer forum.

Maybe you believe City offered him packet of crisps. Clown of Soccer forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,169 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I think some of the lads here may need a private room. It goes from discussing transfers of yester-season to aggressive flirting. I know its a slow window but.

To add to my previous post, it's a free transfer so there is a good chance player will get big signing on fee which will paid added with wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭POKERKING

To add to my previous post, it's a free transfer so there is a good chance player will get big signing on fee which will paid added with wages.

I dont see city crying about wages? I think he got offered more money or at least equal money at PSG and chose them as his wife is from there, its a handier number for him and an easier life. I have no problem with tha. I think city are miffed that it was a last min change of events more than anything as i reckon they believed him in the bag. Thats my opinion though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,977 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

PSG are an extremely wealthy club and so are City. Is it really a big deal that he chose one over the other? He is getting huge money either way.

No one has a clue what went behind the scenes, just because they won double doesn't mean he should stay at Juventus.

He went from Barca to Juventus, so joining PSG from Juventus isn't a big deal.
    Jayop wrote: »
    Maybe he feels that in the coming season PSG have more chance of winning that City do. In fairness when City played that team that beat PSG in a 2 horse race, they came second too.

Yea, I was being a bit flippant tbf. I'm not saying it's a bad move, just that I doubt the opportunity to win things was the main draw of PSG over City/Juve. Paris is a great city and the money is obviously good at PSG. It makes sense for those reasons

Ah yeah I was only taking the piss anyway.

Also, absolutely no way did...

a) City offer Alves 346k p/w
    b) Alves turn down 346k p/w

Whooping story./

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

You make it sound like Ligue 1 is the same as going to China or America for a top footballer. The league itself may not be ultra competitive, but there's two top teams and they are decent normally in Europe.
    Plus Marseille are putting together a nice team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Kurt Zouma to Stoke on loan confirmed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Palace about to sign Ajax defender Jaïro Riedewald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

As opposed to City who won what and also lost out to Monaco.

What are you trying to get at here exactly.

Not sure how it went over your head, but the post you were having a good laugh at was insinuating he was an edjit for saying he wanted to win things and that's why he didn't go to City. I was making the point that maybe he's not an edjit for thinking that at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Bonucci's agent says they are working on a move. I imagine to Man City, Chelsea or Barca.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

I'm hearing Milan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

That's a done deal, no journalist more reliable than Bouhafsi when it comes to French teams

https://twitter.com/mohamedbouhafsi/status/885267389679579137

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Bakayoko to Chelsea is very good business imo.

I read a few weeks back a rumour that Mbappe and his advisors were told by Monaco that Bakayoko would be the last first team player to be sold. Assuming that's not bullsh*t, that means Fabinho and Mendy will be staying put for another season. I guess we'll find out soon enough.

Lucas Leiva in talks with Lazio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Not sure how it went over your head, but the post you were having a good laugh at was insinuating he was an edjit for saying he wanted to win things and that's why he didn't go to City. I was making the point that maybe he's not an edjit for thinking that at all.

But I don't think his post was about Man City at all. He was joking at the fact Alves left Juve for PSG in order to be a champion. The same Juve who have won the last six scudettos and are a lot closer to being European champions than PSG.

Aye maybe. I was only joking about it anyway.

• Bakayoko to Chelsea is very good business imo.

I read a few weeks back a rumour that Mbappe and his advisors were told by Monaco that Bakayoko would be the last first team player to be sold. Assuming that's not bullsh*t, that means Fabinho and Mendy will be staying put for another season. I guess we'll find out soon enough.

I'm hoping it opens up the door for Matic to move to Utd

But I don't think his post was about Man City at all. He was joking at the fact Alves left Juve for PSG in order to be a champion. The same Juve who have won the last six scudettos and are a lot closer to being European champions than PSG.

Yea that's exactly what I meant. There's numerous justifiable reasons why anyone would move from Juve to PSG, but trophies aren't one of them

zerks wrote: »
    Lucas Leiva in talks with Lazio.

He won't leave! :D

In other news everyone is being briefed by Liverpool that Keita is not for sale at any price and that the only option is for him to force the issue and put in a transfer request. So presumably that is what the club are now expecting to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,169 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

He won't leave! :D

In other news everyone is being briefed by Liverpool that Keita is not for sale at any price and that the only option is for him to force the issue and put in a transfer request. So presumably that is what the club are now expecting to happen.

have ye given him a new contract or what? I thought he was meant to be a free agent but ye never released him.

https://twitter.com/JPercyTelegraph/status/885418903408701440

Everton have made a £40 million bid for Siggurdson,he's not in Swansea tour party.

pjohnson wrote: »
    have ye given him a new contract or what? I thought he was meant to be a free agent but ye never released him.

According to transfermarkt he is a free agent but played yesterday and there has been no firm talk of him moving on (I suppose whether he stays with the squad when they head for Hong Kong will be a clue) - he has been leaving Liverpool for about 8 windows, I suppose it could happen at some point. He always seems to be linked with Serie A clubs as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

pjohnson wrote: »

Yeah, we illegally never released him and will illegally make him sign a one year contract extension.

Worst illegal club ever:pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Everton have made a £40 million bid for Siggurdson,he's not in Swansea tour party.

Two things fascinating me.

1. I cant wait to see how Siggy does stepping up to a bigger club. Always has impressed me for Swansea.

2. Everton seem to be having a brilliant summer so far. Be interesting to see how everyone gels together.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Lord TSC wrote: »
    1. I cant wait to see how Siggy does stepping up to a bigger club. Always has impressed me for Swansea.

Didn't really work out for him at Spurs. Think he might have been shunted out wide a lot though?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

2. Everton seem to be having a brilliant summer so far. Be interesting to see how everyone gels together.
    GLaDOS wrote: »
    Didn't really work out for him at Spurs. Think he might have been shunted out wide a lot though?

He was moved around to accommodate Eriksen (I think) so it may not have been his fault.

He's also developed quite a bit since - the Spurs move (and the Liverpool one that was reported at the time too) probably just came at the wrong time for him. Few more years at Swansea has served him well where he played every game in the same role instead.

If he moves to Everton, it's a solid signing for them and a good move for him. I don't see him dislodging an attacking mid from any of the sides above Everton just yet - not a comment on his ability just that the top 6 are all well stocked in that position currently, so barring a sale I don't see much change for any of them in that role.

He is an excellent set piece specialist, though, so that's something that would benefit any side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Swansea rejected the 40m bid apaprently. Theyre really holding out on this. I think both Everton and Leicester have had bids rejected now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Swansea rejected the 40m bid apaprently. Theyre really holding out on this. I think both Everton and Leicester have had bids rejected now.

Tbf, as I saw either on here or on Twitter (I cba searching), his value is the cost of Swansea's relegation so they need to get whatever they can.

Losing him would be a killer blow for a team desperately lacking in, well, everything. Added to the fact that it might dissuade a potential target or two who sees him and / or Llorente (and maybe even Mawson) moving on if the papers are to be believed and it may go south pretty quickly.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Siggy was key to Swansea staying up last season so don't blame them for holding out.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Everton is a weird one. They've made a lot of good signings but ultimately I don't see anything there that will propel them beyond last season's seventh place finish.

I'd love to see them being competitive but they've sold their best player and the goals might be hard to replace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Everton can push into the top 6, I wouldnt rule it out anyway, I cant however see them making top 4.

Their best chance of CL football is to win the EL, IMO.