Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JP Morgan buys £100m office in Dublin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 864 ✭✭✭neverever1

Not very much more though. The rest of Ireland will be suitable for weekend breaks for the lads.

:D The rest of Ireland is the real Ireland. Dublin is a stain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

neverever1 wrote: »
    If they don't want to move then **** them.

JP Morgan ARE moving. To Dublin. And creating up to 500 jobs here.

I can smell the bitterness off ya all the way from Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The snobbery of the Dubs is hilarious! They think their crime riddled city is the be all and end all. They never set foot in real Ireland!

Is that why so many people from the country move to Dublin?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The snobbery of the Dubs is hilarious! They think their crime riddled city is the be all and end all. They never set foot in real Ireland!

As far as I'm aware Dublin is in Ireland, even real Ireland, despite your snobbish claims. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,575 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

So they can only move where you tell them to.....?

Give the IDA a call, not sure if they have tried that strategy yet, they might be interested

VinLieger wrote: »
    So what would you tell any multinational that might want to move here and setup in Dublin? No thanks..... but we have a lovely field just outside Castlebar that has absolutely zero infrastructure if your interested?

You from Dublin? What did they teach you in schools? Do you know there are other cities in Ireland?

Which have even less infrastructure than dublin.... so are a better choice somehow.....

JP Morgan ARE moving. To Dublin. And creating up to 500 jobs here.

I can smell the bitterness off ya all the way from Sligo

Well that's great! Dublin becomes and even more over inflated mess while the rest of Ireland remains neglected!

Don't be angry at me because I won't give you a euro.

Ush1 wrote: »
    Is that why so many people from the country move to Dublin?:(

No, it's because all the jobs are in Dublin. The rest of the state has been neglected. Keep up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Cork and Limerick, while fine cities and a good location for any firm, need some serious infrastructure updates, including a light rail system for shuttling punters quickly and efficiently between the CBDs and 'burbs, before it's within an ass's roar of World cities like London, Berlin, NYC, and so forth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

arctictree wrote: »
    We don't need 100s of new jobs in Dublin. We need them in Leitrim (or Sligo etc)....

you do realise Dublin is competing with the likes of Frankfurt, Munich and Paris for these jobs?

Why on earth would any one consider Sligo a likely contender?

Zebra3 wrote: »
    As far as I'm aware Dublin is in Ireland, even real Ireland, despite your snobbish claims. :rolleyes:

Tourists only find the real Ireland when they leave Dublin. Friendly people, beautiful scenery, half decent price for a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

The IDA really need to encourage these firms outside Dublin.
    BNYM are in Cork, Towers Watson too.
    Northern Trust are in Limerick.

yes, one. But that is leaving the eu as well.

Well that's great! Dublin becomes and even more over inflated mess while the rest of Ireland remains neglected!

Don't be angry at me because I won't give you a euro.

How Ironic. A fair chunk of every Euro the lads from JP Morgan bring here will go towards paying for your lifestyle, which is completely unsustainable if you attempted to fund it yourselves. Which of course you dont.

The bitter culchies is a funny animal, its take, take, take and then complain they arent getting enough. The sense of entitlement is breathtaking.

So they can only move where you tell them to.....?

Give the IDA a call, not sure if they have tried that strategy yet, they might be interested

No, let's stop licking the holes of these bankers etc. Let's look after all our people instead!

No, it's because all the jobs are in Dublin. The rest of the state has been neglected. Keep up!

So your argument could be used to force people to stay in their towns and setup their own businesses to stop jobs going to dublin. Unless they are willing to work outside dublin they can't have a job? Like unless companies are willing to setup outside dublin they cant employ people or have a business yeah?

Its an interesting take on socialism ill give you that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Plenty of housing in the pipeline - they just need to build it.

Old Irish Glass site will have almost 4000 housing units, Cherrywood will have over 8,000 when it completed (work has started)

Other sites in Dublin with planning or started already have capacity of over 15,000 units.

Add over 7,000 student housing units that will come on stream within 2 years and you have a big dent in the issue, but until the 40,000 housing units are delivered there will be problems.

Which have even less infrastructure than dublin.... so are a better choice somehow.....

Stop worrying about the multinationals. Irish people matter more.

Tourists only find the real Ireland when they leave Dublin. Friendly people, beautiful scenery, half decent price for a pint.

Homophobes, ugly one-off housing and no craft beer. Pass.

Stop worrying about the multinationals. Irish people matter more.

Irish people work for them? Are they the wrong Irish people then?

...and the local Hardy Bucks running the length of the main street of a Saturday night whaling seventeen shades of shite out of each other. Beats an evening in the Intercontinental! :pac:

you do realise Dublin is competing with the likes of Frankfurt, Munich and Paris for these jobs?

Why on earth would any one consider Sligo a likely contender?

People want to build up Dublin to attract these companies at the expense of the rest of the state. Look at London, the rest of England are just fed their crumbs, we're nearly like that in this state!

yes, one. But that is leaving the eu as well.

Go back to school.

People want to build up Dublin to attract these companies at the expense of the rest of the state.

Why dont you build up your own area yourself instead of looking for people in cities to do it for you?

How Ironic. A fair chunk of every Euro the lads from JP Morgan bring here will go towards paying for your lifestyle, which is completely unsustainable if you attempted to fund it yourselves. Which of course you dont.

The bitter culchies is a funny animal, its take, take, take and then complain they arent getting enough. The sense of entitlement is breathtaking.

:D Yet it's the Dubs here saying let's build up Dublin even more before we even think about the rest of the state.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Go back to school.

If you cannot post without insulting someone, then please don't post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Keyzer wrote: »
    Ah yeah, all the new jobs and the positive impact this will have on the economy, terrible... Lets level the city, build a load of tenements and enforce a law whereby all citizens must where potato sacks as clothing...

Sure it's one or the other. Banking salaries or potatoes and levelling the city.

I'll try and think of the logical fallacy there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Only on Boards could the possibility of an extra 500-1000 high end jobs and all of the additional spin off jobs that go with that be viewed as bad news.

Fair enough, we need more infrastructure. Can anyone spot where we might get some more money to fund this infrastructure might come from???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Yeah who wouldn't prefer sprawling identikit 3bed semis and a night out in whetherspoons with all their craft ales.

So your argument could be used to force people to stay in their towns and setup their own businesses to stop jobs going to dublin. Unless they are willing to work outside dublin they can't have a job? Like unless companies are willing to setup outside dublin they cant employ people or have a business yeah?

Its an interesting take on socialism ill give you that

If we stop focusing on Dublin then there would be jobs everywhere else.

Irish people work for them? Are they the wrong Irish people then?

We can use them to get jobs but we're not going out of our way to mollycoddle them. If they don't like it then they can **** off.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If a private company wants to purchase a building and setup shop there (which is weird because they usually Lease), I'm sure they'll only do so after assessing their requirements and judging the capability of that building/location to fulfill them.

If you wish to insinuate JP Morgan is neglecting the rest of Ireland, ask'em what they were looking for and how other cities can be improved to attract their type of business. So the next time another crowd come in (and we're banking that they will) the business can be spread around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

No, let's stop licking the holes of these bankers etc. Let's look after all our people instead!

haha to be honest reading your posts, you are just personifying why large multi nationals or corporations won't look outside of Dublin :rolleyes:

You understand more jobs in dublin means more jobs everywhere else?

Where do you think the food to feed dublin comes from as one very obvious example? The more people who live there the more food required from the rest of the country

jimgoose wrote: »
    ...and the local Hardy Bucks running the length of the main street of a Saturday night whaling seventeen shades of shite out of each other. Beats an evening in the Intercontinental! :pac:

Or you could go out in Dublin and get stabbed for looking at a Dub.

People want to build up Dublin to attract these companies at the expense of the rest of the state. Look at London, the rest of England are just fed their crumbs, we're nearly like that in this state!

Large firms with hundreds of employees pay lots of lovely tax, corporate and income. This money goes into a centralised fund which is then used to pay for all sorts of things like social welfare, healthcare facilities, various public works, and so on and so forth. The latter are located all over the country. Now, pursuing a misguided policy of trying to shunt the likes of JP Morgan over to Mullingar or Two-Mile-Borris would have the effect of severely throttling this revenue stream because, well - no-one in their right mind wants to be within fifty miles of these places. So, x% of lots > x% of fuck-all times fuck-all times fuck-all. Are you with me? :pac:

Why dont you build up your own area yourself instead of looking for people in cities to do it for you?

Why don't you grow your own food instead of us feeding you?

what Ireland needs to do is to build decent access to the regions.

Companies like JP Morgan, Google etc. want to employ top end graduates, who want a luxury high end lifestyle, which basically means the type of people who want to live in bustling cities.

They would be quite happy to build an office in Athlone, if it meant people could commute there quickly and easily from Dublin.

Or to put it another way, Ireland needs decent high speed rail, but it wont get it, because if they built a high speed rail network, every two horse town would want the high speed trains to stop there, TDs would insist that their town got a look in and it would get lost in public enquiries, consultation and planning investigations for twenty years.

a six mile train from the city centre to the airport is a fine example.

TheDoc wrote: »
    haha to be honest reading your posts, you are just personifying why large multi nationals or corporations won't look outside of Dublin :rolleyes:

I don't give a sh1t what they do!

I get my food in the supermarket, not for free off some culchie...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

OK, we could grow our own food. But who's going to clean our toilets.

Let's get real here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Im sure these high flyers will buy holiday homes down in the sticks and spread a bit of the wealth down there

Of course they'll head to Cork and Galway and to the likes of Dingle and Kinsale.

They wont be going to Leitrim or Sligo though. Those are utter kips.

I get my food in the supermarket, not for free off some culchie...?

:D and where does the supermarket get their food?

Phoebas wrote: »
    OK, we could grow our own food. But who's going to clean our toilets.

Let's get real here.

The foreigners clean them? After you all dirty them with needles and tin foil!

:D and where does the supermarket get their food?

You know we pay for food in cities dont you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,490 ✭✭✭✭josip

No need to panic. They'll be working in the docklands so we could put them up in Flotels if they don't already have their own boats.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/dublin-councillor-says-flotels-could-help-solve-homelessness-crisis-755924.html
    http://afloat.ie/port-news/dun-laoghaire-news/item/34379-as-dublin-debates-on-floatels-dun-laoghaire-harbour-presses-ahead

Kingstown yacht clubs must be smacking their lips at the thought of even some of London FS migrating here.
    Cowes will have nothing on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Wow the chip on your shoulder is embarrassing. So if they're not prepared to set up in the country side then **** them? So basically if you can't have the jobs then no one in Ireland can?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Hibrasil

I'm a little confused by the general air of pessimism.......because after all have'nt we got the globe-trotting Enda...who has a specimen index finger...that is well accustomed to pointing in any direction that is away from himself.....:rolleyes: