Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The single life

I think biko said it best with "lol"

I'd like to add that all redheads are always angry, all blondes have low intelligence and all women are bad drivers.

It's ok to make generalised, nonsensical, sweeping statements now, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,510 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's ok to make generalised, nonsensical, sweeping statements now, right?

It's always been okay.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

As a person of east Galway extraction, speaking for all of us, unequivocally, honestly and with no chance of any disagreement from any of my brethren, can categorically state, that we could not give any sort of f@#k.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,950 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

As a person of east Galway extraction, speaking for all of us, unequivocally, honestly and with no chance of any disagreement from any of my brethren, can categorically state, that we could not give any sort of f@#k.

Ahh, that may be the root (so to say) of the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Barnum wrote: »
    If you suggest I wear cheap clothing like:
    mini skirts/dresses
    low cut tops
    anything revealing skin

NO IS THE ANSWER
    I have more respect for myself and my body than to go around wearing cheap trashy clothing

A nice two piece with a closed in, flat shoe is always a winner!! Or a full grey tracksuit.

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭wintear

I wouldn't single out east Galway men, most Culchies are like that. Now if you want proper ignorant feckers try southside Dubs. As for Cork people. deport them all.

Have I covered everyone?

I don't think its fair to malign any group of people unless you have a proper sample group of at least 100 test subjects.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Ahh, that may be the root (so to say) of the problem.

Barnum's maybe.
    Ours. Not so much.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭misstearheus

*Gets Popcorn*

This could get interesting!

I've never been with a Red-haired Guy. Wonder am I missing out now...

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Barnum

wintear wrote: »
    I wouldn't single out east Galway men, most Culchies are like that. Now if you want proper ignorant feckers try southside Dubs. As for Cork people. deport them all.

Have I covered everyone?

I don't think its fair to malign any group of people unless you have a proper sample group of at least 100 test subjects.

Yes I have dated south dublin men and I found them to be very charming with plenty of manners
    Never been to cork so cant really make a comment on the men of cork
    Yes I have met a lot of men from east galway over the years and they are all the same:
    uptight
    fake
    in love with themselves
    laughs at their own jokes
    insulting
    total losers
    total mammies boys
    afraid of commitment
    prefers to hang with the boys
    all rude small minded farmers

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Barnum, I'm going to have to ask you to dial back on the vitriol.
    If you don't like east Galway men then fine, just date others that you do like.
    Starting a thread here was amusing at first but getting a little ott now.

I don't go near them they are to rude and insulting for my company
    they come up to me all nice and when things don't go the way they want they turn nasty
    learn to accept rejection boys
    i want a real man not a little farm boy

*Gets Popcorn*

This could get interesting!

I've never been with a Red-haired Guy. Wonder am I missing out now...

big time red hair guys are so gentle and loving

The thread that keeps on giving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I can hear a Beyonce song coming from somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Pics or GTFO

• Registered Users Posts: 14,510 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

biko wrote: »

Starting a thread here was amusing at first but getting a little ott now.

No, no, no! The amusement has become OTT!

Maybe all the east Galway lads you've met are cousins? That could explain them all behaving in similar ways ...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Bredabe wrote: »
    Despite having strong links with here and living lots of places, galway men of all types have failed to impress, especially the one's who should know better than to do the "galway bay/up the gaa" schick.

What's 'Galway Bay/Up the gaa' schtick? Interesting phrase.

Maybe all the east Galway lads you've met are cousins? That could explain them all behaving in similar ways ...

HAHA they could be like all totally inbred in that part of the county that would totally explain everything...good thinking on your behalf @Mrs. OBumble

• Registered Users Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭Bredabe

What's 'Galway Bay/Up the gaa' schtick? Interesting phrase.
    From this weekend, I found the quietest furthest seat I could to meet a colleague for a catch up.
    H=him, M=me ()=thinking
    H, can I sit here? M, sorry, these is only one chair and im holding it for my friends, oh you're sitting there anyway. (here we go)
    H, You're a fine looking woman, what is your name?
    M, My name is **********,(maybe I shouldn't have told him my family name)
    H, Really? you're a *****? back to mayo with you hahahaha.
    M, Yea, Look my friend will be here in a minute, could you leave or find him another seat to replace the one you took?
    H, hahaha, with an accent you must be from ^^^^^, they are posh and fiesty up there on nob hill, then he breaks I kid you not into galway bay. Bet you saw a lot of that on your walks home from %%%%% school, you were a fine looking girl then too.
    M, Yea well, as I said my friend will be here soon....
    H, Ah yea, so do you play gaa yourself, with it being in your blood and all!
    (ok silence and subtlety doesn't work, say yes and endless chats about games i dont know about, say no and he'll tell you about those games)

And so on, while this is not typical of every 'weigen Ive met its 99.999% of them.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

From this weekend, I found the quietest furthest seat I could to meet a colleague for a catch up.
    H=him, M=me ()=thinking
    H, can I sit here? M, sorry, these is only one chair and im holding it for my friends, oh you're sitting there anyway. (here we go)
    H, You're a fine looking woman, what is your name?
    M, My name is **********,(maybe I shouldn't have told him my family name)
    H, Really? you're a *****? back to mayo with you hahahaha.
    M, Yea, Look my friend will be here in a minute, could you leave or find him another seat to replace the one you took?
    H, hahaha, with an accent you must be from ^^^^^, they are posh and fiesty up there on nob hill, then he breaks I kid you not into galway bay. Bet you saw a lot of that on your walks home from %%%%% school, you were a fine looking girl then too.
    M, Yea well, as I said my friend will be here soon....
    H, Ah yea, so do you play gaa yourself, with it being in your blood and all!
    (ok silence and subtlety doesn't work, say yes and endless chats about games i dont know about, say no and he'll tell you about those games)

And so on, while this is not typical of every 'weigen Ive met its 99.999% of them.

Where did this happen, 1970?

LOL! as I said this weekend, see, the schtick rarely changes.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

What sort of age are the main offenders?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

What sort of age are the main offenders?
    And what pubs are you going to?

It sounds like a caricature of a human being.

OP you must be very hot.

This guy was in his early 50's, but even guys in their early 20's in business suits say much the same thing.

Red_Wake wrote: »
    And what pubs are you going to?

It sounds like a caricature of a human being.
    Dont know galway pubs, but it was the one close to the trains up from the lights, chosen not by me as it should have been quite and was close to bus.

Yes, caricatures most of them, at least this one wasn't handsy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Does anyone here watch Adventure Time?
    The OP reminds me of the character LSP.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Your Face wrote: »
    Does anyone here watch Adventure Time?
    The OP reminds me of the character LSP.

Ugh! Mul-issa!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

This guy was in his early 50's, but even guys in their early 20's in business suits say much the same thing.

Hmmm I think the age of that guy might be a factor. The example you gave does sound like someone's strange dad was trying his hand there.

You need a toy boy!

Maybe you could go to a boards beers, I would love to hear your take on the gentlemen of Galway boards, see how their game compares!