Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question about mature entry into medicine

Options
  • 17-05-2017 11:53am
    Registered Users Posts: 3

Hello there I'm twenty two and I have the following qualifications:
    94% Distinction in Anatomy and Physiology QQI Level 5
    Phlebotomy and advanced phlebotomy and cannulation OCN Level 3 certificate and license
    I'm currently studying post leaving cert Pre-university Science which in the end gives me 400 CAO points.

I've never done my leaving cert since I dropped out of secondary school for several reasons mainly one was to do with my mild Asperger syndrome since back then. But after awhile I decided I wanted to do something with my life and when I was young I have a passion for medical science and medicine in general. My family are all in the medical field and I started to grow a passion from it through my father. Unfortunate for me though I came out "special" I mean I guess being a aspie I can retain a lot of information just as anyone else.

My main question here is, Is it possible for me to get into medicine through my pre-university science if I get my 400 CAO points which will combine with the HPAT.

Or should I go back and study for the regular leaving cert?

Or should I go ahead and try out an access program after pre-university science and then get into medicine as a mature student?