Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

E3 2017

CatInABox wrote:
    A half decent PC that can do 4K for $500?

You can build a decent enough 4K machine for under a grand and while its not $500 cheap it'll offer much more than the Scorpio.
    Well to be honest games will play and look the best on the new X not PS4.

Have to see how it compares to the Pro before you can say that. Take the base consoles, which most will stick with and the PS4 will still be better. Sure the Scorpio will offer a better experience but at €500 or so I don't see it doing a whole lot to entice people that it's worth upgrading, especially when you co sided how little of note has been released exclusively for the One this generation

Also re Xbox back compatibility MS would not spend time creating them if they weren't being played you were just reading the Sony guys saying they will not do it as nobody plays them.

A couple of indie titles and Sea of Thieves but most exclusives will be on PC also. I have a One, it's a decent machine but at this stage in it's life there should be so much more to it. I shopping MS would have a real showstopper but for me the new Metro is the most enticing title but I'll be being that on PC. crackdown 3 has been touted as the next big thing in having, the use of the cloud to create an immersive and real world that you can shape and destroy thanks to the power of the cloud but that now seems to be all gone and in it's place a rather genetic shooter.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

The performance in XB1X for $500 is incredible value.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

The performance in XB1X for $500 is incredible value.

Much like the knights of the elite controller , you had best oil your sword for the knights of the one X.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,116 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I have a One, it's a decent machine but at this stage in it's life there should be so much more to it. .

Phil Spencer is only back at the helm 18/24 months. The mess left by the last "regime" is only starting to turn around now. Hopefully Xbox continues​ to build on the last two years.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

You can build a decent enough 4K machine for under a grand and while its not $500 cheap it'll offer much more than the Scorpio.

Do a build list there with what you'd recommend that can do decent enough 4k for under €1000 just for the craic.

I do hope that the One X does well and MS get behind it with some Triple A exclusives as the worst thing this gen for gamers is how MS have continued to flounder about and offer little competition to Sony. Sony are killing it this gen but imagine what they could do if they had even a little competition. A couple of lads from work are at E3 and they're saying that a lot of people are asking what happened to the cloud as Crackdown 3 looks rather generic in what it does, none of the early promise is there anymore.

Its not so long ago people were putting builds together and saying Scorpio would cost up to a €1000.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Have to see how it compares to the Pro before you can say that. Take the base consoles, which most will stick with and the PS4 will still be better. Sure the Scorpio will offer a better experience but at €500 or so I don't see it doing a whole lot to entice people that it's worth upgrading, especially when you co sided how little of note has been released exclusively for the One this generation

A couple of indie titles and Sea of Thieves but most exclusives will be on PC also. I have a One, it's a decent machine but at this stage in it's life there should be so much more to it. I shopping MS would have a real showstopper but for me the new Metro is the most enticing title but I'll be being that on PC. crackdown 3 has been touted as the next big thing in having, the use of the cloud to create an immersive and real world that you can shape and destroy thanks to the power of the cloud but that now seems to be all gone and in it's place a rather genetic shooter.

Yeah, but for people that just want a 4K machine without much hassle, put it next to their 4K tv, watch the odd 4K Bluray, are they really going to go through the hassle of building their own PC? Even for less than a grand?

I don't want to get into a PS4/Pro Vs Xbox One/X debate, because then I've have to ban the two of us, but for those people that want the best performing console right now, that's going to be the X. I also have reservations as to how many people will upgrade, but it's better that this is a choice, right?

Again, the fact that an Xbox game will be on PC too doesn't really mean they're in competition in the mass market. The number of console gamers who also have a 4K capable PC would be quite small, in my opinion. Just look at any of the steam hardware surveys.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Much like the knights of the elite controller , you had best oil your sword for the knights of the one X.

Yeah, I just decided to upgrade on day one. Wondering what I'll do with my peasant console then. :D

Talking about Xbox ONE X up close here:

I do hope that the One X does well and MS get behind it with some Triple A exclusives as the worst thing this gen for gamers is how MS have continued to flounder about and offer little competition to Sony. Sony are killing it this gen but imagine what they could do if they had even a little competition. A couple of lads from work are at E3 and they're saying that a lot of people are asking what happened to the cloud as Crackdown 3 looks rather generic in what it does, none of the early promise is there anymore.

Yeah, that whole "power of the cloud" thing was a disaster from the Xbox One launch, it's hilarious looking back at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

One thing that wasn't mentioned is if there is a power brick or is it built in like the One S?

CatInABox wrote:
    I don't want to get into a PS4/Pro Vs Xbox One/X debate, because then I've have to ban the two of us, but for those people that want the best performing console right now, that's going to be the X. I also have reservations as to how many people will upgrade, but it's better that this is a choice, right?

Why would you want to get into a console war. I own both consoles and a PC and all I care about is playing the best games possible, and right now that's not an Xbox. And it didn't matter how powerful your console is if it doesn't never the exclusives to sell it. I love Horizon Zero Dawn on the PS4 and it would melt most PCs that tried to play of in 4k but it's the gameplay that wins out. You can have all the bells and whistles you want but of your major exclusives amount to one or two games a year then you're in trouble.

This is the problem with threads like this, someone comes in with a different opinion and someone just brings up console wars and utter tosh like that.

You seem to take any criticism of the One X as an attack rather than simply a different opinion. How many more times do I have to say that the more choice people have the better, I want MS to do something great as Sony have always been at their best when the underdog. It's just that nothing about tonight or the post three years has hinted that MS are going to be serious competition. The One X looks to be a gorgeous piece of kit but when you have two exclusives a year and the One S available for under €250 and the Pro for €350 it's just not very tempting. Maybe if there are good trade in offers I'll take a gamble but I can see it ending up like the existing One, unloved and poorly supported.
    CatInABox wrote:
    Again, the fact that an Xbox game will be on PC too doesn't really mean they're in competition in the mass market. The number of console gamers who also have a 4K capable PC would be quite small, in my opinion. Just look at any of the steam hardware surveys.

Wasn't saying they were, merely that you can't call it an exclusive if it's on another platform and many gamers will have a PC aswell and most consumers will opt for PC if it's in both. Saying it will do 4K means that it's going to appeal to a niche, like the Pro does. Cost is what most will go for and that's the base consoles.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Why would you want to get into a console war. I own both consoles and a PC and all I care about is playing the best games possible, and right now that's not an Xbox. And it didn't matter how powerful your console is if it doesn't never the exclusives to sell it. I love Horizon Zero Dawn on the PS4 and it would melt most PCs that tried to play of in 4k but it's the gameplay that wins out. You can have all the bells and whistles you want but of your major exclusives amount to one or two games a year then you're in trouble.

This, a 100 times over. Xbox has a crap selection compared to PS4 and PC.
    Playing bad or average games in 4K isn't gonna be fun...no matter how good they look.
    As the saying goes, you can't polish a turd

One thing that wasn't mentioned is if there is a power brick or is it built in like the One S?

Exact same power cord from Xbox ONE S.

juBIRmk.png?1

• Registered Users Posts: 28,484 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Price of €499 confirmed on Xbox Ireland website.

Scroll to bottom of this page.

Before people start complaining about the exchange rate rip off, don't forget that the US price excludes state and federal taxes so the Irish price is very similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,484 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    Exact same power cord from Xbox ONE S.

juBIRmk.png?1

Strange that people would think they would go back to big power brick.

This is the problem with threads like this, someone comes in with a different opinion and someone just brings up console wars and utter tosh like that.

You seem to take any criticism of the One X as an attack rather than simply a different opinion. How many more times do I have to say that the more choice people have the better, I want MS to do something great as Sony have always been at their best when the underdog. It's just that nothing about tonight or the post three years has hinted that MS are going to be serious competition. The One X looks to be a gorgeous piece of kit but when you have two exclusives a year and the One S available for under €250 and the Pro for €350 it's just not very tempting. Maybe if there are good trade in offers I'll take a gamble but I can see it ending up like the existing One, unloved and poorly supported.

Wasn't saying they were, merely that you can't call it an exclusive if it's on another platform and many gamers will have a PC aswell and most consumers will opt for PC if it's in both. Saying it will do 4K means that it's going to appeal to a niche, like the Pro does. Cost is what most will go for and that's the base consoles.

Perhaps you missed the part where I said "I don't want to get into a console war"? As a mod of the Xbox forum, I'm acutely aware of how "console wars" can derail and ruin discussion, which is we added that rule into the charter.

I don't take everything as an attack, in fact I strive to take nothing online as an attack, it's a much better way of dealing with the internet.

I totally agree that there aren't enough exclusives on Xbox, I've said that multiple times on this forum and indeed elsewhere. I'm totally jealous of the collection of games that PS4 currently has, but I think that you're wrong on one part, it's not been three years of no exclusives, two years ago, people were accusing Sony of having no exclusives, but the problem swapped around and has grown really really bad in the last year, during which Sony without doubt have had a stellar line up.

I'm also happy enough with my Xbox One S at the moment. I know I'm missing out on great games, but I'm also getting an immense amount of enjoyment out of my Xbox. I'd say a lot of people are too. I'd actually get a PS4 if I thought that I could magic up some extra gaming time from somewhere.

Just on the 4K niche aspect of your post, that niche is going to get a hell of a lot larger, and fast. It's why both Microsoft and Sony both went to the expense and trouble of creating a mid generation console refresh, just so that they can get in on the growing 4K scene at close to the ground floor. You can barely buy a 1080p tv these days, so it's just naturally going to happen over the next few years.

So, looking at it like that, gamers may a console and a PC, but they don't have a 4K capable pc (from the Steam Survey, less than 5% of screen are greater than 1080). If they've got a 4K screen, they'll probably want to hook up a 4K console at some point.

On the whole exclusivity point, I can see why you'd say that, and I agree as well, it's not really an exclusive if it's on PC as well. The thing is though, I don't really see the two markets as mixing all that much for the average consumer, and that's why I would say it's "exclusive". Don't get me wrong on this, I love PC gaming, but for most gamers, they have a console and that's it. Even consider the numbers. Close to 90 million consoles sold (not including switch), with Steam clocking in with 13 million users. Not an ideal comparison, but even so, the numbers won't be too far off.

Thats good news. I was concerned when I didn't see the multiplayer.

https://twitter.com/shannonloftis/status/874042517557202945

• Registered Users Posts: 28,116 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

And it didn't matter how powerful your console is if it doesn't never the exclusives to sell it.

The biggest selling games on most PlayStation and Xbox in Europe are Fifa, COD and Battlefield. Minecraft is another massive seller.

To the casual gamer these types of games are what matter unfortunately and not really your exclusives. If you can make them look better on Xbox X you'll definitely catch a good few people's eye.

I remember reading an article recently that only 9% of people play (could have been buy) exclusives.

I fully agree that Xbox does need more exclusives though.

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭erkifino

Anyone get a free game for streaming the event through Mixer? I got Rare Replay...
    If you watch a daily you're eligible to get the free stuff too.
    The MixPot comes with:

Rare Replay
    The Final Station
    No Time To Explain
    Halo Wars 2 Kinsano Leader Pack
    Minecraft Redstone Specialists Skin Pack
    Hawken Starter Pack
    If you want to grab this pack, you'll have to link your accounts before 11:59 PM PT on June 16 / 2:59 AM ET on June 17.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭Fingleberries

So far, the "In the box" section for a Xbox One X is:
    • Xbox One X 1TB console
    • Xbox Wireless Controller
    • HDMI cable (4K capable)
    • Power cable
    • 1-month Xbox Game Pass trial
    • 14-day Xbox Live Gold trial
    [Source: Microsoft]

• Registered Users Posts: 9,202 ✭✭✭maximoose

OG Xbox backwards compatibility is nice and unexpected

Jet Set Radio/Crimson Skies/Fuzion Frenzy/Fable/PGR/Stubbs the Zombie/KOTOR please! Achievement support would be great too

I'm sold on the X anyway (wish they had kept the Scorpio name).

maximoose wrote: »
    OG Xbox backwards compatibility is nice and unexpected

Jet Set Radio/Crimson Skies/Fuzion Frenzy/Fable/PGR/Stubbs the Zombie/KOTOR please! Achievement support would be great too

I'm sold on the X anyway (wish they had kept the Scorpio name).

Not sure achievements will make it, I don't think that they'll add anything to the games, but they've got multiplayer working on it, including games that just supported system link.

CatInABox wrote:
    Perhaps you missed the part where I said "I don't want to get into a console war"? As a mod of the Xbox forum, I'm acutely aware of how "console wars" can derail and ruin discussion, which is we added that rule into the charter.

It comes across as a mod trying to shut down any opinions he goes not agree with and seems like an easy out to stop conversation. If you or others can't discuss consoles without getting into a flame war then the rule has a place but others like myself can have an adult conversation.
    CatInABox wrote:
    On the whole exclusivity point, I can see why you'd say that, and I agree as well, it's not really an exclusive if it's on PC as well. The thing is though, I don't really see the two markets as mixing all that much for the average consumer, and that's why I would say it's "exclusive". Don't get me wrong on this, I love PC gaming, but for most gamers, they have a console and that's it. Even consider the numbers. Close to 90 million consoles sold (not including switch), with Steam clocking in with 13 million users. Not an ideal comparison, but even so, the numbers won't be too far off.

Exclusive implies it is for one platform. Being on PC and one console means that it's not exclusive there's no other way about it. If I have the choice between a have on the One or on PC I always pick PC whereas most PS4 exclusives I can only play on the PS4 and that makes then exclusives.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

As someone who hasn't switched on their One in probably a year, I'll almost certainly be picking this up. It's the promise of what it can do that appeals - just like the PS Pro with VR, I'm mostly interested in the prospect of another VR/AR machine.

This new cycle of hardware updates has me getting back into my bad old habits. I initially purchased the 360 to get away from the constant conveyor belt of feeding money into PC gaming, where I constantly had to have to chase the dragon of the most powerful hardware. The one standard of consoles saved me a fortune, but here I am again needing the fastest thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭Fingleberries

Exclusive implies it is for one platform. Being on PC and one console means that it's not exclusive there's no other way about it. If I have the choice between a have on the One or on PC I always pick PC whereas most PS4 exclusives I can only play on the PS4 and that makes then exclusives.

"Exclusive" has become such a marketing term with fluctuating definitions
    • "Console Exclusive" = It's already on PC, but we forked over a lot of cash to the dev for this.
    • "Console-first exclusive" = It's been on a Steam sale quite a bit on PC and is popular, we just didn't have a lot cash to spare for it.
    • "Exclusive" = As in actually exclusive, normally a first-party title, only available on this console (for MS and Nintendo, this usually means bringing out a new version of a franchise (Halo, Forza, GoW, Zelda, Mario, etc.) ... in the last couple of years for Sony have had a few original IP's - surprisingly Nintendo, too, with Splatoon and Arms)
    • "DLC Exclusive" = we paid the dev a boat load of cash for some MP levels or horse armour (See also "Dick move" or "Money Hatting" :D)
    • "Xbox and Windows 10 Exclusive" = Microsoft are looking to further blur the lines between Xbox and Win10 for gaming. Devs can code once and sell games in two places ... for minimal extra work developers and publishers could get potentially extra cash (with ~450million Win10 PCs), so why not release both, eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭qrx

So to paraphrase, xbox x is crap because you can build a 1,000 euro pc and play the exclusives on pc. MS don't care if you play the game on window on pc or Windows on xbox. Also there are plenty of people who have no interest in building a pc to play games.

Personally I was disappointed as I was expecting something killer and it didn't happen. But as people have pointed out Phil Spencer is well on the way to turning things around. This is now the most powerful console on the market. Developers cannot ignore it. Remember when ps4 was the most powerful? Oh but now power doesn't matter all of a sudden.

It's a beast of a machine. Games are coming. Its also the most comprehensive eco system. Whether people buy it now or next year, xbox is back in the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭qrx

Regarding pc and xbox exclusive, I think we're going to see a lot of this. The development guidelines are develop for the most powerful pc available and then downscale for xbox1x and again for xbox1s. Microsoft are all about the Windows ecosystem. That is where the battle is moving to and Sony are way behind when it comes to ecosystems.