Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are our Gardai "soft" looking?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

Sounds much more plausible.

A guard that doesn't drink , now were in fantasy land

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

A guard that doesn't drink , now were in fantasy land

i know several who don't drink

if you dealt with public order issues every weekend caused bu drinking you mightn't either

whats with the attitude allah ?? is the chip on your shoulder hurting ya ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

seachto7 wrote: »
    I saw the police in action last week in Spain, and they don't f*ck about, and they actually look like they'd turn you over as well.

In Italy, they prefer to look good, but will equally f*ck you up.
    Too many stories in the news of Gardai getting assaulted.
    Apart from the Gardai, how many of the others don't have guns?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

The way you describe that Garda , it sounds like you don't like him , you call him a useless **** , calling him fat and then say he had a drink driving conviction having after given a half arsed account of how "he" told you how he failed a part of the fitness test and was then allowed pass out as a Garda.

Me personally I would never admit to failing a part of a fitness test not once , twice but three time's to anyone let alone anyone who dislikes me.

Can you see how it sounds like a fairy story ?
    Plenty of people admit to failing across all sectors. Some people just talk too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

To the ex Garda who posted about the uniforms.

Dress pants, shirt and tie are hilarious. Doing your job in a suit almost but don't many US police wear similar ?

Combat / hiking style pants and hiking style boots or shoes would be better and more comfortable too.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    i know several who don't drink

if you dealt with public order issues every weekend caused bu drinking you mightn't either

whats with the attitude allah ?? is the chip on your shoulder hurting ya ?

I was being facetious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Was the pay/salary very good in the garda?

Yes and no. My basic, after 10 years, was about 800 a week. Tax and deductions (government ones, not loans/insurance/etc) was around 350 of that. My personal loans was another 150, and then health insurance (imo 100% necessary) was 35 a week. So, not terrible, and the "big" cheque, the one once a month to pay for unsocial and weekend allowances, is about another 200 or less on top of that weeks wage. Not terrible wages, but when put with everything else, ie: terrible management, terrible equipment and tech, and mandatory court appearances on your days off, it wasn't worth it anymore. The money was the only reason I stayed as long as I did. But in the end it wasn't worth it.
    Is there any chance you're the bloke snackbars rattling on about ?

No idea who that is.
    To the ex Garda who posted about the uniforms.

Dress pants, shirt and tie are hilarious. Doing your job in a suit almost but don't many US police wear similar ?

Combat / hiking style pants and hiking style boots or shoes would be better and more comfortable too.

I'm open to correction, but I believe most us police have an operational uniform and a normal uniform for indoor or non-operational duties. We had the one uniform for everything. The current Community Policing uniform should be the main operational one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

The Gardai are using to much `fairy liquid.

No idea who that is.

He's talking about me , I said in a previous post that I knew a guy that passed out without passing the fitness test , a couple of posters were dubious and thought I was making up stories :rolleyes: you later proved me right in one of your posts that you can pass out without the fitness test , their silence is deafening since :pac:

The Gardai are using to much `fairy liquid.

wtf does that mean ?

very random thing to say isnt it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

Wasn't there speak of a tactical outfit for Gardai years ago?

wtf does that mean ?

very random thing to say isnt it ?

Fairy keeps your hands soft , from the ad years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Elemonator wrote: »
    Wasn't there speak of a tactical outfit for Gardai years ago?

A Tactilneck?

That is because maybe the person was being stitched up in the first place.:cool:

stitched up 56 times ? :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭.........

Yes and no. My basic, after 10 years, was about 800 a week. Tax and deductions (government ones, not loans/insurance/etc) was around 350 of that. My personal loans was another 150, and then health insurance (imo 100% necessary) was 35 a week. So, not terrible, and the "big" cheque, the one once a month to pay for unsocial and weekend allowances, is about another 200 or less on top of that weeks wage. Not terrible wages, but when put with everything else, ie: terrible management, terrible equipment and tech, and mandatory court appearances on your days off, it wasn't worth it anymore. The money was the only reason I stayed as long as I did. But in the end it wasn't worth it.

No idea who that is.

I'm open to correction, but I believe most us police have an operational uniform and a normal uniform for indoor or non-operational duties. We had the one uniform for everything. The current Community Policing uniform should be the main operational one.

Lots of younger Guards have left in recent years to do something else. That's something that never would have been heard in the Gardai of up until 10 years ago. A good few of my friends that joined the Gardai a few years back have left.

Pretty big decision to change careers, fair play to you for having the ability to do so, unlike a lot of the wasters in the public service.
    The brightest and best are always able to leave of their own accord and do something else, whereas the wasters would be good for nothing else but staying.

What do you do now that you've left ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭Irish Stones

Are you sure?
    We think the same of ours and look at others' police with a bit of admiration.

I lived there. Yes.
    You lived here,
    I have been living here since I was born. I know what I am talking about.

......... wrote: »
    Lots of younger Guards have left in recent years to do something else. That's something that never would have been heard in the Gardai of up until 10 years ago. A good few of my friends that joined the Gardai a few years back have left.

Pretty big decision to change careers, fair play to you for having the ability to do so, unlike a lot of the wasters in the public service.
    The brightest and best are always able to leave of their own accord and do something else, whereas the wasters would be good for nothing else but staying.

What do you do now that you've left ?

It's true, used to be a time that when you became a Garda, you stayed a Garda. Now, it's just a job, that's the way management have made it. It's no longer a career, and that is probably part and parcel of the way things are these days, just a job.

I went back to what i was doing beforehand, Tech Support. Less stress, less money, and at least i'm appreciated here. The amount of work i done when i was a Garda to improve the image of AGS, and i got shi for thanks, or management stealing my ideas and to my face saying they came up with the ideas.

Anyway, any serving member currently reading this and positive that they should leave but are tentative about doing so for whatever reasons; just leave. Trust me. If you're thinking about it as much as i was before i left, it's the best thing that i have done in the last 15 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

It's true, used to be a time that when you became a Garda, you stayed a Garda. Now, it's just a job, that's the way management have made it. It's no longer a career, and that is probably part and parcel of the way things are these days, just a job.

I went back to what i was doing beforehand, Tech Support. Less stress, less money, and at least i'm appreciated here. The amount of work i done when i was a Garda to improve the image of AGS, and i got shi for thanks, or management stealing my ideas and to my face saying they came up with the ideas.

Anyway, any serving member currently reading this and positive that they should leave but are tentative about doing so for whatever reasons; just leave. Trust me. If you're thinking about it as much as i was before i left, it's the best thing that i have done in the last 15 years!

Funny, a guy in the company I work in left a few weeks ago to join the Guards - he had a well paid position here (much more than what he'll be getting in the Guards no matter how long he stays I'd imagine), and was tipped for promotion. He was near the very upper limit age-wise. He just always wanted to be a Guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I don't think the guards focus enough on unarmed combat and more specifically effective unarmed combat. They would also need to be training regularly to keep themselves fluid and sharp... not to mention physically fit.

This is not a criticism of the Gardai and I fully respect the hard job they do but they seem to rely on their baton and strength in numbers... realistically 2 guards with the right training should be able to control one person, yet I have seen numerous situations where there is upwards of 4 Guards trying to restrain someone who is inebriated- this is not isolated to Ireland, I have seen the same in the UK. It's not effective as 4 or more people end up getting in each others way.

My view is that the basic training they are given is not the right kind of training and I have seen open offers from the likes of John Kavanagh saying they would be willing to help. As far as I am aware, the combat training received by the Guards is very basic restraint techniques and I understand that they don't want to be drawn into a combat situation and risk people jumping them whilst engaged with another person, but surely having the right tools would only be beneficial as strength in numbers may not always be available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

I know some of the ERU Gardaí, they are as badass as you will get. They are fine people. I agree there are some fools in the Gardaí but they are few and far between, the majority of Gardaí do a great job, I support the police in Ireland and would have no problem helping them.

The training doesn't have an awful lot to do with it. The main problem is the claim culture. The Garda has to be careful because scumbag A will have a claim in against the arresting Garda because they twisted his arm too much, he got a bloody nose while resisting arrest (which, obviously, he wasn't resisting). It's next to impossible to arrest someone without hurting them if they're resisting (and nearly everyone resists). Put that on top of people poking their phones in your face while you're trying to effect an arrest, others shouting unmerciful abuse at you, some even try to help the person getting arrested. And people say numbers help? There were times when it was just me and a colleague, no back up due to it being too busy or something big was on and took all the operational Garda? because overtime doesn't exist any more.

Finally, it's the Fight or Flight situation. The Garda? are just doing their job, what they're being paid to do, so even though it's 100% effort, it pales in comparison to the unexpected and inexplicable strength someone gets when they get into Fight or Flight mode. You've all heard the stories of people being able to lift a car off someone during a high pressure situation. The same happens when a scumbag gets it into his/her head that they're not getting arrested, the strength they get is immense. Don't care who you are or what background you have, it is not simple and straight forward to effect a safe arrest on someone resisting. And even those of you who might have training in certain self-defence, that could come back to bite you if the defence can prove you used too much force, as being trained to defend yourself usually ends up in the person attacking you getting hurt, and you can't be doing that to the lovely scumbag population, because not only will the scumbag sue, but management will not back you up, but instead throw you to the wolves.

The training doesn't have an awful lot to do with it. The main problem is the claim culture. The Garda has to be careful because scumbag A will have a claim in against the arresting Garda because they twisted his arm too much, he got a bloody nose while resisting arrest (which, obviously, he wasn't resisting). It's next to impossible to arrest someone without hurting them if they're resisting (and nearly everyone resists). Put that on top of people poking their phones in your face while you're trying to effect an arrest, others shouting unmerciful abuse at you, some even try to help the person getting arrested. And people say numbers help? There were times when it was just me and a colleague, no back up due to it being too busy or something big was on and took all the operational Garda? because overtime doesn't exist any more.

Obviously a change to legislation is required, how can so many countries have a police force that can use effective restraint without fear of being sued. I would be happy with body cameras and an independent review board; if someone was seen to be excessively resisting arrest, then there should be no fear of using a reflective amount of force. If the Gardai don't have guns then they should be at least allowed to use force when required.
    Finally, it's the Fight or Flight situation. The Garda? are just doing their job, what they're being paid to do, so even though it's 100% effort, it pales in comparison to the unexpected and inexplicable strength someone gets when they get into Fight or Flight mode. You've all heard the stories of people being able to lift a car off someone during a high pressure situation. The same happens when a scumbag gets it into his/her head that they're not getting arrested, the strength they get is immense. Don't care who you are or what background you have, it is not simple and straight forward to effect a safe arrest on someone resisting. And even those of you who might have training in certain self-defence, that could come back to bite you if the defence can prove you used too much force, as being trained to defend yourself usually ends up in the person attacking you getting hurt, and you can't be doing that to the lovely scumbag population, because not only will the scumbag sue, but management will not back you up, but instead throw you to the wolves.

I disagree with this, with the right training and more importantly ongoing practice of this training, 2 officers should be able to restrain most people.

There are various locks, chokes etc that can be applied that can restrain or incapacitate someone but it requires ongoing training and implementation to develop the muscle memory to do them without thinking about it.

I have trained with massive rugby players and body builders and when you sink a choke in, the fight or flight takes hold. The problem is that the more they fight, the tighter the chokes becomes. It's non lethal and it will put them to sleep but it requires the person applying it to be responsible as if held too long, it can kill. There is a risk of death as perhaps the person has an existing condition, but the same can be said about a baton over the head or pepper spray that can cause respiratory arrest, stroke or heart attack.

Wrist locks, arm locks and the likes can also be very effective but again, if they struggle, there is a chance of them breaking a bone but that is their choice and the Guard should never have to face a court because of someone else's stupidity.

I know that there needs to be massive changes but at the same time I feel that if we are to continue with an unarmed police force, they should be given all the tools they need to be able to their job, not to mention the support of the public so that they can do so without fear of prosecution, providing they were acting in a responsible manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

RoboRat wrote: »
    Obviously a change to legislation is required, how can so many countries have a police force that can use effective restraint without fear of being sued. I would be happy with body cameras and an independent review board; if someone was seen to be excessively resisting arrest, then there should be no fear of using a reflective amount of force. If the Gardai don't have guns then they should be at least allowed to use force when required.

I disagree with this, with the right training and more importantly ongoing practice of this training, 2 officers should be able to restrain most people.

There are various locks, chokes etc that can be applied that can restrain or incapacitate someone but it requires ongoing training and implementation to develop the muscle memory to do them without thinking about it.

I have trained with massive rugby players and body builders and when you sink a choke in, the fight or flight takes hold. The problem is that the more they fight, the tighter the chokes becomes. It's non lethal and it will put them to sleep but it requires the person applying it to be responsible as if held too long, it can kill. There is a risk of death as perhaps the person has an existing condition, but the same can be said about a baton over the head or pepper spray that can cause respiratory arrest, stroke or heart attack.

there are good reasons why choke holds are banned by police departments worldwide. they have the unfortunate side-effect of causing death if not done properly.
    Wrist locks, arm locks and the likes can also be very effective but again, if they struggle, there is a chance of them breaking a bone but that is their choice and the Guard should never have to face a court because of someone else's stupidity.

I know that there needs to be massive changes but at the same time I feel that if we are to continue with an unarmed police force, they should be given all the tools they need to be able to their job, not to mention the support of the public so that they can do so without fear of prosecution, providing they were acting in a responsible manner.

society is heading in the other direction. if more police officers can detain somebody without having to risk damaging the suspect then so be it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

chokes etc that can be applied that can restrain or incapacitate someone

Can you imagine the storm of shiiit that would come down if you as a Garda choked someone.

That is without a doubt a career ender if you ever tried that one.

The Garda are luck there still allowed even touch people at this stage.

they have the unfortunate side-effect of causing death if not done properly.

I do them many times 2 - 3 nights a week for over 5 years and I have never killed anyone.. I've put people to sleep (and been put to sleep myself) but never killed anyone. It requires training and knowing when to let go but there is more chance of killing someone with a baton or pepper spray (especially with the way of nations health is going).
    society is heading in the other direction. if more police officers can detain somebody without having to risk damaging the suspect then so be it.

You cannot detain a suspect who doesn't want to be detained without using force. At present this is done through volume of numbers but it's still done through force. In other countries the police have guns and that is how they detain or else the have the right to use the necessary force. The legislation needs to be looked at so that the Gardai have the right to use the necessary force without landing a disciplinary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I do them many times 2 - 3 nights a week for over 5 years and I have never killed anyone.. I've put people to sleep (and been put to sleep myself) but never killed anyone. It requires training and knowing when to let go but there is more chance of killing someone with a baton or pepper spray (especially with the way of nations health is going).

and there is your problem. you are doing them 2-3 nights a week. a guard wont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

They're so doughy looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Why are gardai so soft looking? I think it's primarily due to the fact that the organisation isn't in any way as organised or modernised as other forces are.

There's no time dedicated to keeping gardai up to date on legislation, policy and procedure or on the use of equipment. It's mostly done by paper exercise and everyone is expected to 'keep up' even though revised/new policies are brought in on a near daily basis. How could they focus on something like fitness or well being when they can't get the basics right?

Morale is through the floor for a reason - and that reason existed long before any scandals broke out. A lack of appreciation by way of promotion, lateral movement or support from higher ranks when vexatious complaints are made. A burden of excess paperwork and no allocated time to do it - causing guards to hide in offices to get the work done at the worst possible times with a threat of discipline. The paperwork in AGS has increased three fold in the last ten years.

In addition to this gardai manage immigration, out of hours social work and associated criminal offences, animal control, serious crime, petty crime, traffic enforcement, court security, prisoner management and conveyance, investigation of drugs detections by revenue/customs etc that many foreign services don't have within their remit. Also said gardai take on all of these responsibilities with a lower officer per 1000 population ratio than other services.

Something small like how a garda must write everything a person says in an interview - the legal requirement for this was abolished in the UK decades ago with the introduction of the dictaphone. Gardai still are obliged to do it even though the majority of interviews are recorded on video.

I personally think it's down to a lack of will to invest in policing in this country. The guards are a necessity in society yet many want to ignore it as they deal with the worst of the worst. The primary reason why so many Garda Inspectorate reports were ignored - because the majority of improvements would require massive investment. The Government doesn't want to do that - even if it would pay for itself in the long run.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

You look at them, and they don't look in any way threatening, or authoritative.
    Because they are not sociopaths.

Real strength is not thuggery. And thuggery or hardness undermines authority. Studies show it makes people sympathize with criminals as the underdog.

The more brutish authority is the less people want to identify with it and the less they respect or recognize it's legitimacy. Even if it's not justified.

After the civil war people didn't trust the state so instead of a 'HARD' police force. They gave us 'guardians of the peace'. I prefer it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 65 ✭✭Northerngal

Real strength is not thuggery. And thuggery or hardness undermines authority. Studies show it makes people sympathize with criminals as the underdog.

The more brutish authority is the less people want to identify with it and the less they respect or recognize it's legitimacy. Even if it's not justified.

After the civil war people didn't trust the state so instead of a 'HARD' police force. They gave us 'guardians of the peace'. I prefer it.

I'd go as far as saying we need more "soft looking" gardai and more woman too their better communicaters both verbally and threw body language and can difuse most situation without slapping the head off them.

I've been arrested load's of times(I'm not a criminal) because of drink beatings only made worse.

Bodycams are needed yesterday so members of Gardai are above reproach!

I'd go as far as saying we need more "soft looking" gardai and more woman too their better communicaters both verbally and threw body language and can difuse most situation without slapping the head off them.

I've been arrested load's of times(I'm not a criminal) because of drink beatings only made worse.

Bodycams are needed yesterday so members of Gardai are above reproach!

youve been arrested loads of times and want softer gardai ???

Actually a friend of mine was a female guard. She switched career though and now works for the Dept of Social protection. But she actually said talking to people 99% of the time diffused the situation. But that interaction still requires training. They are trained to be very personable and talk to lots of different types of people. Remember they are also working with victims and people reporting crime.

I have never been arrested in my life never. I pretty much know a couple socially and when i go to get my passport renewed or report something. (Which i have only ever had to do twice in my life). Other than that i have never really had any interaction with guards.

youve been arrested loads of times and want softer gardai ???

Yes softer in afar as not beating someone up that's why bodycams are needed yesterday.

I've no problem saying I've been arrested/locked in cell/held for court, beat black and blue before being put in cells there's no cam's in station corridors.

Yes softer in afar as not beating someone up that's why bodycams are needed yesterday.

I've no problem saying I've been arrested/locked in cell/held for court, beat black and blue before being put in cells there's no cam's in station corridors.

actually these days most of the bigger stations do have cameras and sound recorders fitted all over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    why do I read after hours.......its like the Daily Mail for 9 year olds.....

Read AH in an accent that adds "roysh" to every sentence. It'll make sense then.

actually these days most of the bigger stations do have cameras and sound recorders fitted all over

Ah you know yourself what goes on in stations up and down the country don't be obtuse and dosnt nagate the fact it still goes on, Gardai should conduct themselves above reproach that's why bodycams are need along
    with better cars
    Proper stab vest(not UK rejects)
    Etc etc etc.

Ah you know yourself what goes on in stations up and down the country don't be obtuse and dosnt nagate the fact it still goes on, Gardai should conduct themselves above reproach that's why bodycams are need along
    with better cars
    Proper stab vest(not UK rejects)
    Etc etc etc.

and proper jail terms for criminals who get repeatedly arrested ??

After the civil war people didn't trust the state

After all the shenanigans of recent years, a lot of people trust them even less now. Where does that leave things ?

and proper jail terms for criminals who get repeatedly arrested ??

No, one offence can lead to loads of charges really depends if the guards likes you or not (I've never been to jail it's cost me a pretty penny thank god I wouldn't have a job if I did)but criminal colleges sorry ment jails are busting at the seams they love it sure its free bed ,food and the big fish control their organisations within our jails while staying alive!

Do you believe someone who had a drink problem because it's the norm in Ireland should be locked up in jail because they've been arrested more than 5 times or any person arrested 5 times for stupid reasons?

Hear's another one your address has a big part in how certain members might treat you!

No, one offence can lead to loads of charges really depends if the guards likes you or not (I've never been to jail it's cost me a pretty penny thank god I wouldn't have a job if I did)but criminal colleges sorry ment jails are busting at the seams they love it sure its free bed ,food and the big fish control their organisations within our jails while staying alive!

Do you believe someone who had a drink problem because it's the norm in Ireland should be locked up in jail because they've been arrested more than 5 times or any person arrested 5 times for stupid reasons?

Hear's another one your address has a big part in how certain members might treat you!

its really hard to have that conversation without knowing all the facts tbh

lots of people have like a drink and or have drink problems but never get arrested.

i think the whole "the gardas dont like me coz im from xy or z " attitude is lazy .

its a persons attitude when dealing with gardai or any police man that makes the difference and of course prior interactions. say lke the previous 4 times that person got arrested

its really hard to have that conversation without knowing all the facts tbh

lots of people have like a drink and or have drink problems but never get arrested.

i think the whole "the gardas dont like me coz im from xy or z " attitude is lazy .

its a persons attitude when dealing with gardai or any police man that makes the difference and of course prior interactions. say lke the previous 4 times that person got arrested

So been arrested afew times means your a criminal? I've been fined 600 for a joint FFS my friend done an hour in holding cells in the jail for the a bigger fine for weed he dosnt have a job!
    (slightly wrong for privacy)

Example 1 checkpoint! G=guards P=person.
    G, hello sir, licence please
    P, hello guard, here you go;( licence has city centre address nice area)
    G, thank you kindly sir have a nice day evening.

Example 2
    G, hello sir, licence please.
    P, I don't have it on me guard, I'll happily produce it at a station within ten days!
    G, That's no probem sir , name, address and DOB please!
    P, joe bloggs, 1 very rough area dublin, DOB 11,6,1805
    G, GET OUT OF THE CAR NOW IM SEARCHING THIS CAR UNDER SECTION 23 OF THE MISUSE OF DRUGS ACT of 1649 and calls for back up!
    G,You've connections to x y z.
    P, I went to school with x, y lives next door and I don't know Z.

Nothing found and am aloud go home.

So been arrested afew times means your a criminal? I've been fined 600 for a joint FFS my friend done an hour in holding cells in the jail for the a bigger fine for weed he dosnt have a job!

Example 2
    P, I don't have it on me guard, I'll happily produce it at a station within ten days!
    G, GET OUT OF THE CAR NOW IM SEARCHING THIS CAR UNDER SECTION 23 OF THE MISUSE OF DRUGS ACT of 1649 and calls for back up!

Same as in court, always try some whinging / crying excuse. Fooling nobody but themselves.

Example 2

sounds like its drink drugs and the company you keep rather than ingrained classicism and systemic prejudices that lead to your negative interactions with police.
    And i m sorry to tell you that yes having criminal convictions ie public order drugs etc etc makes that persons a criminal. that is the way the criminal justice system works :confused::confused:

and not liking the laws dont mean you dont have to abide by them

you know gardai come from all sorts of areas and backgrounds
    i know one garda from sheriff street and played sports with a guy from moyross . theres chinese/irish and polish/irish gardai too

Also are you really aggrieved that you got searched for drugs having previously been caught with drugs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nika Bolokov

I saw the guards in action at the H-Block riots in Ballsbridge in 1981. They took on some of the most hardened rioters from the North and battered them back into the city.

Ah yeah but that was back in the day when guards were guards.

Hard men recruited from the side of a rocky mountain in Mayo or from a roadside in Tipperary after carrying a herd of cattle to the mart.

Hulks of men built like tanks , If I remember from the TV footage one of them with no riot gear charged the hole crowd ended up in the middle of it all on his own and started battering all comers left right and centre.

The expression 'looks like a guard' used to be a thing....

You still see the odd hardy looking one but a mountain man with wild moustache who would batter 30 men up and down a street is a rare sight now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭pangbang

Because most of the ones around them are soft too, as exemplified here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭uptherebels

group of state police from the US marching in the patricks day parade in cork last year. To a man each one was in great shape and the guys that weren't tall were as wide as a door. Even the guys that looked like they were pushing retirement. Don't think i could have taken any of them, compare this to the guards here where I think i would struggle with maybe 1 in 10.

Police in greece in the area i was in, patroled in groups of 6, doubled up on motorbikes not one jelly belly between them. Saw them intervene in fights a few times, swift use of a frenzy of baton blows and the scuts dragged away in cuffs, no struggle with not being able to use force the restrain a trouble maker.

Same in spain, you cross the line and it was a hail of batons and away with you.

Here we have equality and hence lower standards. Poor equipment and uniforms.
    Poor morale due to the bad leadership from senior guards and government

And segments of the population that scream murder when the police do get tough.Tough policing is tough policing for everybody not just the other people.

sounds like its drink drugs and the company you keep rather than ingrained classicism and systemic prejudices that lead to your negative interactions with police.
    And i m sorry to tell you that yes having criminal convictions ie public order drugs etc etc makes that persons a criminal. that is the way the criminal justice system works :confused::confused:

and not liking the laws dont mean you dont have to abide by them

you know gardai come from all sorts of areas and backgrounds
    i know one garda from sheriff street and played sports with a guy from moyross . theres chinese/irish and polish/irish gardai too

Also are you really aggrieved that you got searched for drugs having previously been caught with drugs ?

First off
    Can I as a minor choose where I live?Choose who i go to school with?Or who my parents live beside?

I'll disagree, I've had plenty of good Garda interaction with UNIFORM/SDU/ERU especially from the gardai who "look soft" and can use their voice, difuse a situation rather than beating people up.

Our justice system needs a SERIOUS overhaul and gardai, both are outdated and need to be modernization urgently, minor convictions like public order, possession of drugs for own use(. Ireland is flooded with illegal drugs and you know it, it's worse than any time before!
    So nothing has worked or will.

Is there a difference between a person with two convictions or over a hundred? Labels aren't good especially conviction labels, why try change or be a productive member of society?

Also I've no problem being searched, if I've something on me I shouldn't have, I'm gone like usain bolt! I also fully accept my punishment/s for doing wrong by the justice system(the courts) not rough/tough by members of AGS.

I used the drink because we as Irish people sympathize with drinkers a bit but illegal drugs a big NO NO.

How's bar?? :)

Your a minor who chooses to be out drinking and drugging has been arrested more than 5 times and already has two convictions . And you blame your parents for who you hang out with ? Really ? You've had many interactions with sdu and eru ?

Labels are a consequence of your actions I'm afraid . Aw you'll figure that out yourself some day
    Let me guess you don't like the drug squad ? Lol caz they take your and your friends stuff ? Think you might have a lot more problems than you should be discussing here. In fact I'm not sure you know exactly what it is you are talking about .
    What's bar btw ?

Your a minor who chooses to be out drinking and drugging has been arrested more than 5 times and already has two convictions . And you blame your parents for who you hang out with ? Really ? You've had many interactions with sdu and eru ?

Let me guess you don't like the drug squad ? Lol caz they take your and your friends stuff ? Think you might have a lot more problems than you should be discussing here. In fact I'm not sure you know exactly what it is you are talking about .
    What's bar btw ?

Ah come on, I was expecting better than that! I see nothing wrong in being honest and accepting when I'm wrong or have done wrong.

Would you believe no the drug squad "aren't the worst"(nice gardai phrase there) :) and have put my personal hash/weed back in to my pocket and told go home Rodger!.
    Also DS dont need/want sh!t paper work for a gram or 3 for personal use, they want big quantities of pharma, coke, heroine. I certainly know what I'm on about, put forth any question you like!

It was interesting while it lasted!