Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best sub €300 Android device

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

LG V20 ordered.

Where from and how much?

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭The_Shotz

Currently have an xperia z1 compact, great little phone with the exception of the camera bleed issue when using the flash.

So now I am in the market for a new phone and the days or purchasing the high end phones is gone, so I am looking at spending 300 to possibly 350 ish.

Important things for me are camera, screen size not exceeding 5.2 inches (if small bezels 5.5 max, I am used to my little 4.3 inch screen here)

Was looking at moto g5 plus, LG g5, xperia x, xperia z5 compact (if I can source one), hawaei p9 or 10 lite, Nokia 6, nexus 5 (lack of external storage is a put off).

Would like to here people's views of the above phones or other recommendations based on camera. I am open to any make except Chinese phones, rather just purchase something that boots straight out of the box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

I think you have to look at the specialist sites to get a decent opinion of the camera. Mainstream sites and forums like this aren't that critical of camera's.

beauf wrote: »
    I think you have to look at the specialist sites to get a decent opinion of the camera. Mainstream sites and forums like this aren't that critical of camera's.

Thanks Beauf, hopefully some here may have moved from something similar to a z1 and purchased any of the above and be able to say if the camera is good or bad in comparison.

The_Shotz wrote: »
    Currently have an xperia z1 compact, great little phone with the exception of the camera bleed issue when using the flash.

So now I am in the market for a new phone and the days or purchasing the high end phones is gone, so I am looking at spending 300 to possibly 350 ish.

Important things for me are camera, screen size not exceeding 5.2 inches (if small bezels 5.5 max, I am used to my little 4.3 inch screen here)

Was looking at moto g5 plus, LG g5, xperia x, xperia z5 compact (if I can source one), hawaei p9 or 10 lite, Nokia 6, nexus 5 (lack of external storage is a put off).

Would like to here people's views of the above phones or other recommendations based on camera. I am open to any make except Chinese phones, rather just purchase something that boots straight out of the box.

Z1 camera was crap. Z3 camera was also crap for anything other than photos outdoors in good light.

Virtually any device would have a better camera than what you're used to.

Check out DxoMark Mobile for some popular phone camera rankings.

https://www.dxomark.com/Mobiles

https://www.dpreview.com/
    https://www.dpreview.com/reviews/lg-g5-camera-review/10

The LG probably has the best camera.

I'd be considering the Moto G5 Plus myself. Though I think the Moto G4 Plus is better bang for buck.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

https://www.dpreview.com/
    https://www.dpreview.com/reviews/lg-g5-camera-review/10

The LG probably has the best camera.

I'd be considering the Moto G5 Plus myself. Though I think the Moto G4 Plus is better bang for buck.

Use http://www.gsmarena.com/piccmp.php3?idType=1 to compare cameras. Especially in bad light, as in good all will be decent.

I am extremely happy with the G4+ camera performance. It's only the fingerprint sensor that feels like added very artificially.

Basil3 wrote: »
    Z1 camera was crap. Z3 camera was also crap for anything other than photos outdoors in good light.

Virtually any device would have a better camera than what you're used to.

Check out DxoMark Mobile for some popular phone camera rankings.

https://www.dxomark.com/Mobiles

That LG G5 is the highest placed there. Were the boot loop issues with the LGs sorted? That would put me off.

I have a Moto G4 , they are have a few known issues. But at this point I will buy somewhere with a decent returns policy. I just expect to have a few issue with every phone. Keep another phone as a backup.

grogi wrote: »
    I am extremely happy with the G4+ camera performance. It's only the fingerprint sensor that feels like added very artificially.

The G4 non plus I have is just alright. Main issue is slow focusing which I think is solved on the Plus with a laser autofocus. We have a iPhone 5s in the house and I think that is better most of the time. The HDR on the Moto is better though. Mainly because its super fast.

The regular Moto G5 is slower phone than the Moto G4 and the G5plus is much better again. This is an issue for speed of the camera. So if you can afford it I would pay for the faster G5 Plus. Or the LG. I'd kinda like something with waterproofing. But thats hard to get at this price point and a decent camera. A5 is more expensive. The Samsung Xcover 4 too slow spec.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

But thats hard to get at this price point and a decent camera. A5 is more expensive. The Samsung Xcover 4 too slow spec.

That's true. In the specification sheet the good and horrible camera look the same - this and that Mpix. That's why the budget phones don't come with decent snappers.

Thanks lads, have been reading up on a few issues with the LG g5.

I bought a moto g4 for herself at Christmas and it's pretty good.

Think I will opt for the moto g5 plus as it has the few little extras, almost stock android and is slightly smaller than the g4/g5 non plus.

Once the camera wasn't worse than the z1 compact I'm happy

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Where from and how much?

Eglobal, ordered via mobile. Came in at 360.97 (after the 'easy' code) which is over budget for this thread. I did include a screen protector and car charger, though.

I'm not familiar with this dual SIM craic at all, tbh. Also, should I get a new from my network's shop seeing as I'm getting a new device as good practice?

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Just bought the LG V20 myself from EGlobal. Will let yous know how my order goes. Hoping to not get caught out on Tax/VAT.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭T-Bird

EIREDriver wrote: »
    Just bought the LG V20 myself from EGlobal. Will let yous know how my order goes. Hoping to not get caught out on Tax/VAT.

You already have in a way. They manage customs on your behalf. It's in their terms and conditions. The price shown includes this cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Imallrightjack

EIREDriver wrote: »

That's great.i would be very interested to hear how you get on as im interested in buying that exact phone.thanks

https://www.eglobalcentral.eu/product/lg%20v20?subcats=Y&status=A&pshort=Y&pfull=Y&pname=Y&pkeywords=Y&search_performed=Y&q=lg%20v20

can someone tell me the difference between the phone top left and the one to the right of it.they are a different price but look exactly the same.one is titan and one is silver would that increase the price?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

https://www.eglobalcentral.eu/product/lg%20v20?subcats=Y&status=A&pshort=Y&pfull=Y&pname=Y&pkeywords=Y&search_performed=Y&q=lg%20v20

can someone tell me the difference between the phone top left and the one to the right of it.they are a different price but look exactly the same.one is titan and one is silver would that increase the price?

Wondered about this myself when I ordered. Unfortunately, I can't help ya on the technical side. Looks like you're getting a better deal compared the prices last week.

Mine shipped on Monday. Moved from Hong Kong, most recent tracking update was 'Departure from outbound gateway' - 3am last night in France.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Barr

Seen plenty of phones priced differently just because of colour.

If it is the same model then it is the colour that would be differential.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Yeah, they are all the same version. It's simply colour difference.

I ordered one just over a week ago which has just arrived in athlone, hopefully delivering tomorrow. I contacted them and explained my disappointment in the price drop. They refunded me the 20eur difference by PayPal.

tedpan wrote: »
    Yeah, they are all the same version. It's simply colour difference.

I ordered one just over a week ago which has just arrived in athlone, hopefully delivering tomorrow. I contacted them and explained my disappointment in the price drop. They refunded me the 20eur difference by PayPal.

So you didn't get caught for customs ?
    I really couldn't care less what the color is.i think ill take the plunge tomorrow.

tedpan wrote: »

Might chance my arm and do the same. Anything in particular in your email that helped them to be sympathetic? :P:o

Enjoy your new phone. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

It seems like eglobal took the money from my account when I first ordered but it's now back on my card and I haven't received a dispatch email. Anyone else get this? Will they take it off again at dispatch or have they cancelled my order and not told me? I've sent an email anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

So you didn't get caught for customs ? I really couldn't care less what the color is.i think ill take the plunge tomorrow.

No, the price includes taxes. They ship into a European distribution centre with DPD. Never had an issue with customs
    Might chance my arm and do the same. Anything in particular in your email that helped them to be sympathetic?

Yeah, my main point was that they kept sending me emails saying that there were price decreases on the v20. They displayed the phone in stock and it hadn't shipped.

Best of luck, hopefully you get the same treatment :)

Enjoy your new phone.

Thanks man!

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭eoinzy2000

xaoimi redmi global note 4 - Snapdragon 625, 4gb RAM 64gb Storage. €220 delivered. Fast delivery. Honorbuy.com, Took 2 days rom order to delivery. Great phone. Bit heavy but defo faster than my old Galaxy S5 so far. I dont give a sh1te about camera and all reviews give this as drawback. I like my SLRs so camera is irrelevant. As far as I can see, its as good as any other mobile phone camera. If you want good photography, you need a good camera, not a feckin phone. 
    DUal SIM or SIM + SD Card. Highly recommend. Get global version though, for BAND 20

eoinzy2000 wrote: »
    xaoimi redmi global note 4 - Snapdragon 625, 4gb RAM 64gb Storage. €220 delivered. Fast delivery. Honorbuy.com, Took 2 days rom order to delivery. Great phone. Bit heavy but defo faster than my old Galaxy S5 so far. I dont give a sh1te about camera and all reviews give this as drawback. I like my SLRs so camera is irrelevant. As far as I can see, its as good as any other mobile phone camera. If you want good photography, you need a good camera, not a feckin phone. 
    DUal SIM or SIM + SD Card. Highly recommend. Get global version though, for BAND 20

I also have a DSLR, but it's never on me when I want to catch a spur of the moment photo. If you think all mobile phone cameras are the same, you mustn't be that into photography. A lot of lower ones struggle in anything but perfect lighting.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

220 is fierce expensive for it too. Even with customs from China, it's cheaper than that.

I also have a DSLR, but it's never on me when I want to catch a spur of the moment photo. If you think all mobile phone cameras are the same, you mustn't be that into photography. A lot of lower ones struggle in anything but perfect lighting.

Never once did I say that phone cameras are all the same. Only that it's irrelevant to me. I hope your pro photography game is going well

RossieMan wrote: »
    220 is fierce expensive for it too. Even with customs from China, it's cheaper than that.

Aye, could've got it for 30 cheaper and waited 6 weeks for delivery but I'm impatient

eoinzy2000 wrote: »
    Never once did I say that phone cameras are all the same. Only that it's irrelevant to me. I hope your pro photography game is going well

Point is that it's not as good as any other mobile camera. I'm far from pro, but I can tell the difference in quality of mobile cameras.

Didn't mean to offend, apologies.

Point is that it's not as good as any other mobile camera. I'm far from pro, but I can tell the difference in quality of mobile cameras.

Didn't mean to offend, apologies.

Fair enough, I did point out my awareness of camera quality. Hence my confusion at your need to point this out