Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And already the FKups with the EU law starts here...

• 23-05-2017 8:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 15,023 ✭✭✭✭

Was chatting yo one of the lads who was succsesful in the Semi auto cases here in Limerick a few years ago.He has aquired a Aussie Lee Enfield style BA in 308 to replace his still locked up Garand. We both share the same FAO,who by and large is a smart enough guy as we have had to train him about Irish firearms laws over the years..But he was at a loss on this one and asked for certification that this bolt action would not have more than FIVE shots mag capacity!!!As he had been informed there may be restrictions on mag capacity on big bore rifles!!

Remember the default by EU law IS [It has been signed into EU law on the 21st of this month] 10 shots in a long arm of any type[above .22]and 20 shots in any short arm irrespective of caliber.

Soo it seems that already there might be moves afoot to restrict mag capacity here in Ireland on CF rifles whether thru ignorance on a local level or something more underhanded with a "blame Brussels" excuse.
    One that any new applicants might to keep an eye on or a heads up if this starts popping up anywhere else.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭gunny123

It could be the usual sleight of hand by the gardai, trying to sneak in something with the new EU laws as a guideline or swearing 5 rounds is the limit in law. By the time the lies are found out its too late.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

As the Irish law stands there is no restriction on the mag limit of a any centrefire bolt action rifle (same with restricted, but will stick to bolt action for this point). Now the most i've ever seen used in a bolt action is 10 round, but still the EU thing means there must be an amendment made to Irish statute law to reflect it.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭yubabill1

Cass wrote: »
    As the Irish law stands there is no restriction on the mag limit of a any centrefire bolt action rifle (same with restricted, but will stick to bolt action for this point). Now the most i've ever seen used in a bolt action is 10 round, but still the EU thing means there must be an amendment made to Irish statute law to reflect it.

Presumably by ministerial SI.

Does she have to consult FCP on this or can she just give AGS what they want (they certainly gave them what they wanted with the directive)?

Possibly. If it doesn't change the Act then an SI will do it.

As for will she consult. No idea. She has no need to, no obligation to and the FCP exists because the office of the Minister for justice invites them to talk. The FCP has no authority to direct the Minister to do, or not do, anything.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

It probably has to be a change in the Act; the EU overrules national legislation in certain areas and firearms is one of them. Odds are it'd be kept at the bare minimum required, just because nobody gets to argue with them about that in the Dail.

Also, this isn't about the FCP or AGS, this was decided in Brussels* and neither the Minister nor the Gardai have much of a choice in the matter, legally.

Well. They could decide to introduce stricter legislation than the EU is requiring (like the pistol ban in the UK), but that's the only kind of choice open to them.

* Metaphorically...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,023 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Anything showing up in any proposed Dail orders of busisness?It seems it has to be implimented by July[?] Around the time they all feck off for 12 weeks of holidays,and usually rush stuff thru with scant debate.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Nothing I've seen so far; there are four new bills queued up to go in but there are no details yet (they're down as numbers 69 through 72 of 2017 so we don't even know what ministry they're coming from).

Sparks wrote: »

Also, this isn't about the FCP or AGS, this was decided in Brussels* and neither the Minister nor the Gardai have much of a choice in the matter, legally.

Well. They could decide to introduce stricter legislation than the EU is requiring (like the pistol ban in the UK), but that's the only kind of choice open to them.

* Metaphorically...

Well, it looked very suspicious to me when Vicky Ford's proposals were flung back in her face by the EU Commission and the 10 round limit/Cat A came about in a very high-handed way.

Who was whispering in the Commission's ear?

And didn't we see another 5 round capacity imposed here before? On RF pistols/ revolvers. Who ever thought that 5 rounds was a reasonable number - not anyone who gives a sh1t about shooting, I'll bet?

Put 2 and 2 together and see what you get.

Who ever thought that 5 rounds was a reasonable number - not anyone who gives a sh1t about shooting, I'll bet?
    I understood that the source of that particular bit of ill-considered awkwardness was now spending more time with his family?

His successor isnt much better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Walter Mittys Brother

Yesterdays independent john deasy could be next justice minister if leo wins :o

Jesus H. Christ. What have the Irish people done to deserve that pair of merchants ?

I have a feeling that we're going to get an Irish version of the EU Firearms directive with a 5 round limit and we're going to have to get writing to DoJ and the Minister.

I'm also expecting the authorities we write to will hide behind officialdom to protect the people whispering in their ear.

This wall of officialdom can be daunting for the average citizen - I know, speaking as a former (low ranking) civil servant.

My hunch is that AGS want 5 rounds and DoJ/Minister will comply unless we speak out.

So take a look at what you're up against:

Today's Sunday Times reports that the phone used by Noirin O'Sullivan at the time of the smear campaign against the Garda whistleblowers (remember the child abuse allegations?) has gone missing - that was the phone she sent the "Perfect" text from - and it is already known that the official diary of her predecessor has disappeared, along with his sim card onto which all the information from the - empty - phone he surrendered to Judge Fenelon was stored.

This is also the week that the man who headed the bank that broke the country - Sean Fitzpatrick from Anglo - was acquitted on all charges in a trial that took two attempts over nine years, because the authorities were incompetent through lack of experience.

These are the type of people you are dealing with - make your own conclusions when they hide behind administration and don't accept any brush-offs when you write to them.

yubabill1 wrote: »
    I have a feeling that we're going to get an Irish version of the EU Firearms directive with a 5 round limit and we're going to have to get writing to DoJ and the Minister.

I'm also expecting the authorities we write to will hide behind officialdom to protect the people whispering in their ear.

This wall of officialdom can be daunting for the average citizen - I know, speaking as a former (low ranking) civil servant.

My hunch is that AGS want 5 rounds and DoJ/Minister will comply unless we speak out.

So take a look at what you're up against:

Today's Sunday Times reports that the phone used by Noirin O'Sullivan at the time of the smear campaign against the Garda whistleblowers (remember the child abuse allegations?) has gone missing - that was the phone she sent the "Perfect" text from - and it is already known that the official diary of her predecessor has disappeared, along with his sim card onto which all the information from the - empty - phone he surrendered to Judge Fenelon was stored.

This is also the week that the man who headed the bank that broke the country - Sean Fitzpatrick from Anglo - was acquitted on all charges in a trial that took two attempts over nine years, because the authorities were incompetent through lack of experience.

These are the type of people you are dealing with - make your own conclusions when they hide behind administration and don't accept any brush-offs when you write to them.

"A people gets the government it deserves." Benjamin Franklin.
    We obviously deserve crooks,gombeen men and women, feckless wonders and school teachers.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    "A people gets the government it deserves." Benjamin Franklin.
    We obviously deserve crooks,gombeen men and women, feckless wonders and school teachers.

Don't forget former gunrunners/terrorists, who meet murderers at the gates of the Midlands prison.

Whatever about the macro politics, anyone any idea who we write to?

Working on it ...;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

'sfunny, so far this has not even gotten a mention over here in mainland UK...

I wonder why that might be?

tac

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

tac foley wrote: »

tac

No point alienating any more of the voters than you have to .....

At least not until after the election.

tac foley wrote: »

tac

Wait until corbyn gets in. You name it, he's agin it ! Hunting, monarchy, private property, civilian ownership of firearms.........

gunny123 wrote: »
    Wait until corbyn gets in. You name it, he's agin it ! Hunting, monarchy, private property, civilian ownership of firearms.........

Pity they're leaving, so - Corbyn would have fit right in with our EU leaders.

It's becoming a socialist utopia.

yubabill1 wrote: »
    Pity they're leaving, so - Corbyn would have fit right in with our EU leaders.

It's becoming a socialist utopia.

I did have to laugh at Trump telling Merkel he was going to slap a 35% tarriff on German cars entering America and to pay for her own countries defence.

Considering that most German car makers already have plants in the US and assembly the models from imported bits from Germany...[Don't mention VW's dodgy emissions chips tho;) and the few multi billion dollar lawsuits they are facing]
    I'm sure the new EU army will be a thundering success,what with clapped out German HKs,worn out Leopard2 tanks,a Luftwaffe that cant afford new transport aircraft and a woman minister of defence determined to root out "Nazism" in the Heer after some right wing loon officer in Osnabruck made off with a few bits from the armoury to go shoot a few Muslims for a change. Things she intends to stamp out which shows the Bundeswehr is a hotbed of Nazism[Thussly insulting the entire force whose morale is about slightly better than the AGS] Old marching songs like "Erika" "Black& brown is the hasel nut"[Really filthy versions of it abound] ,Lilli Marlene,I had a comrade and "the Tankers hymn" All because they were big hits in the 3rd Reich and are excellent marching cadence songs more importantly.
    So with that kind of leadership in the "most powerful" army in Europe:rolleyes:, I'm sure Putin is quaking in the Kremlin.Looks like EU conscription is pretty likely for your kids folks.

Folks, we're straying off topic.

Can we stick to the theme of the thread please.

What I've been reading says that Frannie will be on the back benches with either Leo or Simon.

edit; when either leo/simon become leader.

apparently, no-one has the appetite for a general election (except the public).

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭123shooter

To me this is another topic with just a variation on the same theme. You want guns - they don't want you to have guns.

Question: If a Farage type fella come on the scene tomorrow .....would you vote for him?

123shooter wrote: »
    Question: If a Farage type fella come on the scene tomorrow .....would you vote for him?

Will not happen, the only people who have come on the scene in the past decade, who are not for the mainstream parties, are the extreme lefties.

The irish have a Stockholm syndrome for the people they vote for. Complete changers and con-men, but they are our chancers and con-men.

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭123shooter

gunny123 wrote: »
    Will not happen, the only people who have come on the scene in the past decade, who are not for the mainstream parties, are the extreme lefties.

The irish have a Stockholm syndrome for the people they vote for. Complete changers and con-men, but they are our chancers and con-men.

Who are subservient and bought by the EU. So nothing will ever change.

I wonder do we have to say in relation to PULSE "We told you so 4 years ago...!"How long have we lived with this system making a hames of things??
    People are fierce slow learners around here betimes.:P

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/barrister-says-citizens-should-be-terrified-after-trial-collapses-over-accuracy-of-garda-pulse-system-792068.html