Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What drugs do you take regularly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Caffeine via tea every day, and coffee when in town a few times a month. Alcohol four or five times a year (special occasions). Nicotine in the form of up to three cigarettes, roughly every few days. I had given up but started again and it increased to 6-8 every day for a few weeks recently. Morphine, as prescribed by a consultant, but at a third of the prescribed dose. The morphine's hopefully just a short-term necessity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Fell off the cig wagon recently. Was out drinking and just said fcukn it I'm sick of this bloody vape thing. Went straight to the cig machine and nearly had an orgasm when I lit my first one.

It's such a cruel addiction, you think you're out then it pulls you back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

Nothing prescribed
    Nothing OTC
    Nothing illicit

I have caffeine daily, one can of Diet Coke and lots of cups of tea
    I drink alcohol approx monthly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭PMBC

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    Believe it or not I was actually more interested in what percentage of people drink caffeine daily since I recently realised I'm addicted to it, and also what percentage of people rely on prescription meds of some sort.

I wouldn't expect anyone to think smoking pot in and of itself is 'cool', although you could probably do with some.

Caffeine very rarely. Tea first thing and last thing each day and loads in between. Last month or two drinking between 2 and 3 litres water daily.
    Others prescription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Dihydrogen monoxide, chemtrails and the mind-control fluoride.

Seriously though, pretty much just tea - 5-7 cups a day. Don't like drink though if I have a social reason I might have one or two beers. Other than that just the odd panadol if I have a bad enough headache or neurofen if the tendonitis flares up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Caffeine, nicotine, alcohol?

Is this one of those things where we're all drug addicts and we're all on "the spectrummmmm" of drug addiction?

Way to bump up the numbers kinda thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭PMBC

A little off topic but what is the thinking of vaping nicotine. I used smoke, may years ago. I don't approve of it but mind my own business. Reading led me to believe that it was the added things in the cigs such as sugar and the effect of burning the weed producing tar that do the most harm. Right or wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Wardling

Caffeine and tobacco daily. Alcohol maybe once a month if even and some good quality thc on a bi-annual blow out to relive my younger hippy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Flibble

I don't smoke or take drugs- I'd say I've smoked a joint maybe 10 times in my life so far, nothing else.

Alcohol... Meh. Used to be about once a week, but in the last year or so it's more like once every 3 months, maybe a beer or glass of wine when I'm having dinner out.

Caffeine- maybe once a week.

My only addictive substance I have trouble with is probably sugar- I'd find it difficult enough to go one day without a bar of chocolate or something sweet :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭missyb01

Muckie wrote: »
    My wife takes imigran regular enough, (even has to buy packets from the UK)

I take symbicort inhaler, odd shot of ventolin to sometimes.

I get my imigran in Spain. I haven't bought imigran in Ireland in 4 years. I bought symbicort the odd time in Spain as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Alcohol , maybe every three months, a roll up cigarette every six weeks and lots of tea.

I'm capable of drinking till I become invisable but from heavy drinking in my twenties I now have problems with my liver.

I love my rollie though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Nothing prescribed
    Nothing OTC
    Nothing illicit

I have caffeine daily, one can of Diet Coke and lots of cups of tea
    I drink alcohol approx monthly
    Mmmm.I reckon your a spitter and not a swallower,amiright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Life is my drug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

4 prescribed drugs everyday and caffeine in the form of a can of coke.

No alcohol, illegal drugs or nicotine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Pyr0 wrote: »
    Why would you actively try to take up regular smoking? :confused:
    I had my reasons. They weren't good reasons, but they were reasons all the same!

I wasn't being all coy there, I was posting from my phone, meant to get back with the actual reasons! Basically it was when I was in treatment, 99% of people there smoked. So I'd end up spending a lot of time in the smoking area, otherwise I'd have been inside on my own most of the time. And I'd be so envious, say after a really tough group session or whatever, seeing the instant relief the other girls would get from that first drag of the cigarette. It's the addict in me I guess, always wanting instant gratification! So on some of my really really bad days in there, I'd say f*ck it, I'll happily take up smoking if it stops me from walking out of here and into the nearest off-license.

I know that seems crazy but I came so close to walking out so many times, and it wasn't the first centre I've been in, nothing ever worked before. Anyways. Smoking doesn't suit me, any time I'd try to inhale I'd just cough and splutter.

In hindsight of course I'm glad I managed not to take it up, I really can't afford to smoke. And my parents would go f*cking mental. I actually think they'd be more upset at having a smoker for a daughter than an alcoholic!

Actually I kinda stand by my reasons, exceptional circumstances and all the rest. Smoking would've been the lesser of two evils. I know all the dangers of smoking, but a lifetime addiction to nicotine still probably wouldn't do me as much harm as alcohol has done to me and my family (and I'm only 31! I did a lot of damage in a few years.) I know they say there's no such thing as a lost cause, but if there was, I was pretty much it. It's like how no one gets cross at you for eating lots of sugary sweets in early recovery (cos your body misses the sugar in alcohol.) It's not good for you, but until you're mentally strong enough to build up proper coping mechanisms, if it's what gets you through another day or even another hour, so be it!

This video is exactly what I imagine heroin use to be like, from hearing lots of first-hand accounts. Such an epic out-of-this-world magical experience, how could real life ever suffice again? And how could you not keep chasing such a gripping high. It's worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

Mmmm.I reckon your a spitter and not a swallower,amiright?

I guessed someone would post something along the lines of me being very fussy or particular. I'm neither, I'm just lucky that I'm quite healthy (in truth, probably healthier that I deserve to be given what I eat and my sedentary lifestyle) so I don't need medication, I've zero interest in illicit drugs for a few reasons, I don't like the taste of coffee so just have tea, and if I thought it was a good idea I'd happily have 4 or 5 cans of Diet Coke a day. I tend to binge drink once a month rarely drink in-between those sessions.

As for your question, that is for me to know and you to find out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

being very fussy or particular. I'm neither, I'm just lucky that I'm quite healthy

As for your question, that is for me to know and you to find out!!

Touché :D the first bit instantly marks you out as promising wife material,your last sentence confirms it. Be prepared for a ton of PMs from potential suitors claiming to be eligible bachelors

I wasn't being all coy there, I was posting from my phone, meant to get back with the actual reasons! Basically it was when I was in treatment, 99% of people there smoked. So I'd end up spending a lot of time in the smoking area, otherwise I'd have been inside on my own most of the time. And I'd be so envious, say after a really tough group session or whatever, seeing the instant relief the other girls would get from that first drag of the cigarette. It's the addict in me I guess, always wanting instant gratification! So on some of my really really bad days in there, I'd say f*ck it, I'll happily take up smoking if it stops me from walking out of here and into the nearest off-license.

I know that seems crazy but I came so close to walking out so many times, and it wasn't the first centre I've been in, nothing ever worked before. Anyways. Smoking doesn't suit me, any time I'd try to inhale I'd just cough and splutter.

In hindsight of course I'm glad I managed not to take it up, I really can't afford to smoke. And my parents would go f*cking mental. I actually think they'd be more upset at having a smoker for a daughter than an alcoholic!

Actually I kinda stand by my reasons, exceptional circumstances and all the rest. Smoking would've been the lesser of two evils. I know all the dangers of smoking, but a lifetime addiction to nicotine still probably wouldn't do me as much harm as alcohol has done to me and my family (and I'm only 31! I did a lot of damage in a few years.) I know they say there's no such thing as a lost cause, but if there was, I was pretty much it. It's like how no one gets cross at you for eating lots of sugary sweets in early recovery (cos your body misses the sugar in alcohol.) It's not good for you, but until you're mentally strong enough to build up proper coping mechanisms, if it's what gets you through another day or even another hour, so be it!

I visited a relative in a psychiatric hospital as a child and I remember the smoking room (it was pre ban-although I wonder if they make an exception now?). Those women were serious smokers. I can remember them talking about their hallucinations as if they were real in that the room full of smoke. Swirly time-warp carpet in shades of brown and beige. Your post dredged some very weird memories up :D (I realise you weren't in the same kind of place)

The thing about smoking is that it can help give you some mental clarity and focus which is helpful for people who are feeling overwhelmed or just live high pressure lives for whatever reason. It's a crutch, in a way. It's not mind altering in any discernibly negative way. If you're subsceptible to addiction then I'm glad you never really took it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

45 years old, taking BP medication a few years now and colesteral meds more recently.
    I'm a normal weight and reasonably fit, strokes and heart attack runs in the genes, better medicated than dead.

I visited a relative in a psychiatric hospital as a child and I remember the smoking room (it was pre ban-although I wonder if they make an exception now?). Those women were serious smokers. I can remember them talking about their hallucinations as if they were real in that the room full of smoke. Swirly time-warp carpet in shades of brown and beige. Your post dredged some very weird memories up :D (I realise you weren't in the same kind of place)

The thing about smoking is that it can help give you some mental clarity and focus which is helpful for people who are feeling overwhelmed or just live high pressure lives for whatever reason. It's a crutch, in a way. It's not mind altering in any discernibly negative way. If you're subsceptible to addiction then I'm glad you never really took it up.

No no it probably was the same kinda place! :o I've been around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

This video is exactly what I imagine heroin use to be like, from hearing lots of first-hand accounts. Such an epic out-of-this-world magical experience, how could real life ever suffice again? And how could you not keep chasing such a gripping high. It's worth a watch.

Here is a man who once earned 80,000 in a night before losing it in Vegas the next day, stabbed himself seven times, swung at a cop while wearing a pig costume, has been in the psych ward more than once, and passed out on air while millions of people listened to him snore.

This is his take on heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

God I love the old cocaine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Booze. Tea. Egg mayonnaise sammiches. Crisps. Soup with a crusty roll. A drive late at night when the roads are empty. Petting cats. Admiring Bumble Bees.

What was the question again?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

Nothing never have never will. And you guys are all high don't deny it. ! :P

No judgement to people who do though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Not as good as the ones this guys on.

giphy-downsized-large.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Nothing never have never will. And you guys are all high don't deny it. ! :P

No judgement to people who do though. :)

Have you been gorging on honeycomb toblerones in the middle of the night again?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

myshirt wrote: »
    Have you been gorging on honeycomb toblerones in the middle of the night again?
    :) sure love choccy :P

tumblr_mdywnpuFYp1riahx7o1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I'm out foreign at the moment so it's been beer and cigarettes mostly - never a smoker at home so gonna cold turkey it when I get back next week. Usual routine at home would be caffeine daily, weed (with tobacco) most days after work, alcohol Friday nights, mdma/ecstacy once every month or two, DMT every few months (generally a splurge for a few days then none for 4 months or so) coke maybe 4 times a year, acid once or twice a year.

I think I've got a handle on it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I used to be the bastard love child of Charlie Sheen and Shane McGowan, but after a Damascan style conversion the hardest drugs I touch these days are caffeine daily and beer, a few most weekends - no spirits, nothing illegal and due to being an all round healthy little bunny no prescriptions either.
    I've never smoked even in my partying days - the idea of smoking just disgusts me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

The auld methadone metronome pumping out
    150 channels 24 hours a day
    I can flip through all of them
    And there's still nothing worth watching

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

No illegal highs for me anymore, though I loved them in my youth. I am a reformed smoker too.

Coffee every morning and wine about twice a week now. I'd like to eventually revise these two habits too but not there yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Alcohol sometimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Village Crazy Lady

mmm, i used to take pills for IBS, diverticulois(i think thats how its spelt), stomach ulcer, over active thyroid, anxiety, gall bladder( trying to hang on to it, wasnt too keen on the operation option), i felt like there must be a better option, so looked into weed, started smoking 3 years ago and now i don't take any of the above pills. doctor doesn't understand how my thyroid is only over active every now and then, doesn't understand why my IBS has settled down, nor do i need my gall bladder removed!! and his exact words were "i'm at sea as to why all these things seem to have gone away" mmm i wouln't be asking him to do a urine test but he ho, im happy and healthy.... well as healthy as one can be while smoking!! oh and my aunt who has dementia, who has a brownie every evening is in fine form, she loves it, and it does help her, she doesn't get anxious, it also helps her cognitive function.... no big pharma in our house!!

I used to get IBS too, but now I just scratch it through my pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Village Crazy Lady

greencap wrote: »
    I used to get IBS too, but now I just scratch it through my pocket.

must be short pockets then....:D

'distended' ... think was that word the doc used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    Poor quality glue does that. If you really applied yourself you could make a good glue.

This is a lie. I tried the Super-glue. It stuck even worse, and faster.

I'd be an alcohol, Nicotine and caffeine man myself. In fact, 80% of my body is now composed of alcohol, nicotine and caffeine. When I retire, if I retire, I'm going on the Crack cocaine. Just because.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,099 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I'm on the older end of the spectrum compared to you lot, I am taking no meds at all, but probably should be! (well bar the odd paracetemol you know yourself).

I have a stash of seven, yes I said seven valium tabs given to me in January when I hurt my back and got spasms. Never took them, I soldiered on and am grand now, but I look at that little bottle and wonder what delights are in there!

Should I break one in half and see... they are 5mgs. I will try it before they go out of date, and hash also for my bucket list. Want to see what I am missing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

TPD wrote: »
    I'm out foreign at the moment so it's been beer and cigarettes mostly - never a smoker at home so gonna cold turkey it when I get back next week. Usual routine at home would be caffeine daily, weed (with tobacco) most days after work, alcohol Friday nights, mdma/ecstacy once every month or two, DMT every few months (generally a splurge for a few days then none for 4 months or so) coke maybe 4 times a year, acid once or twice a year.

I think I've got a handle on it :p

Is DMT readily used (read available) in Ireland?

Beyondgone wrote: »
    This is a lie. I tried the Super-glue. It stuck even worse, and faster.

I'd be an alcohol, Nicotine and caffeine man myself. In fact, 80% of my body is now composed of alcohol, nicotine and caffeine. When I retire, if I retire, I'm going on the Crack cocaine. Just because.

That's a bit extreme, I myself would just go for three times as much alcohol, caffeine, and nicotine. No sense in being self indulgent.
    I'm on the older end of the spectrum compared to you lot, I am taking no meds at all, but probably should be! (well bar the odd paracetemol you know yourself).

I have a stash of seven, yes I said seven valium tabs given to me in January when I hurt my back and got spasms. Never took them, I soldiered on and am grand now, but I look at that little bottle and wonder what delights are in there!

Should I break one in half and see... they are 5mgs. I will try it before they go out of date, and hash also for my bucket list. Want to see what I am missing!

You're not missing a lot. The prescription drugs with the mystique are all a cod.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,354 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

Coffee caffeine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

ALL OF THEM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Copious nicotine and caffeine, an SSRI, occasional cannabis and alcohol.

I had 6 months of madness with stimulants when I turned 30, on the back of a very major break up.

I think that is an excellent age to go mental - it seemed my body let me know fairly sharpish when it had had enough.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,354 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

Heavy daily workouts. Natural high: Endorphin exercise rush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Beyondgone wrote: »
    This is a lie. I tried the Super-glue. It stuck even worse, and because.

You just need to heat up the glue and it melts.
    A blow torch or heat gun will soon have your face free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Just the very boring legal ones now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭Stigura

Spansh; I'm in your age group. I've had 'back spasms' most of my life. We're not talking " Soldiering on " here. We're talking hospital stays. Flat out in bed. Screaming!

Then, some f**king genius hit me with a few mg of valium. Boosh! I felt like a fraud! Within minutes I was up on my feet. In this chair. Chattering like a lunatic.

Last time it went. before that? I was scraped up, off the street, and ambulanced fifty miles to a hospital. There to lay, stiff as a plank, for a few hours. Before paying a taxi to bring me back home.

Now? I don't leave my town land without my little pot of, up to date, prescribed, valium. Yep. Just been and checked my jacket pocket. 5mg. The yellow ones.

Take one now? All will seem right in ye world. No bills. No sick Dogs. Just a big, sh!t eating sense of well being. For five or ten minutes :(

Back 'Goes'? Eat one. Five or ten minutes? Ye'll be considering putting ye name down for that local fund raiser half marathon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jrop

An SSRI and Caffeine daily
    Alcohol a few times a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Paracetamol.

Lots of tea & coffee if that counts?