Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you carry a knife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

OU812 wrote: »
    I have one of these on my keyring. Used to get a load of packages every day in work & it was handy for opening them. Useless in a fight unless I put between my fingers & punch. I've travelled internationally with it and it's never been picked up by airport security.

BTW, Have you seen my signature?

I have a few of them but I kept losing them off the keyring or lending them out in work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

I used to keep a hatchet under my bed, for no particular reason. I never used it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Legal where I live

Limerick ?

I have a gerber multitool in my pocket at work, very useful for opening boxes etc. Pliers gets used regularly to unjam the crappy staplers in the office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I have a fold up Stanley knife that I have in my pocket 99%of the time. I use it in work all the time. couldn't live without it.

I would never dream of pulling it out unless it was life threatening.

if you want a weapon for elf defence I think you need those two sticks with a chain between them. learn how to show off with them, it would probably frighten away most. or else stand there calmly and gently bow like they do in martial arts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Stigura wrote: »
    Hand crafted. Damascus steel blade. Lovely piece of work :) Living in the middle of nowhere, and keeping live stock, it's always coming in handy. Cutting bailer twine or slicing through electric fence tape. It's just a tool.

What's the handle, Stig?

I think my bitchy resting face and psychotic glare would make most attackers think twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

I carry a fork.

They never expect a fork.

Forks them right up, with their silly knives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

No. Now I'm no expert on psychology but if you carry a knife there's probably something wrong with you psychologically.

I carry diamond sharp miniature knives disguised as hairpins, which I whip out of my elegant up-do at the first sign of trouble.

Arghus wrote: »
    No. Now I'm no expert on psychology but if you carry a knife there's probably something wrong with you psychologically.

My mind is fine. It's not twisted, it's just strategically bent in several places.

Should always have something to hand to defend yourself. You never know.

I think we should be allowed to buy and carry small containers of mace, because it's better than a knife in that it's non fatal and would give people time to escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

He carries a knife? You carry a gun, that's the sure Carlow way.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

I think we should be allowed to buy and carry small containers of mace, because it's better than a knife in that it's non fatal and would give people time to escape.

That stuff is strong, used it on a vicious dog one time and caught a whiff of it myself, the best way to describe it is like having Fire inside my nostrils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

What's the handle, Stig?

I think my bitchy resting face and psychotic glare would make most attackers think twice.

I was Really hoping no bugger would ask me that, Shins. Because, even as I showed it, I realised I haven't a bloody clue! :o Wood, of some sort, I think. Rather than bone or horn.

Trouble is, I deliberately asked them to ban me from the forum where I 'met' the guy. So, now I can't use their search facility. Obviously, it would have all been discussed, explained and agreed to the n'th degree, in some bloody post.

Wouldn't even know where to start looking now :(

Talking about glares? I had my photo taken, a while back. Local photography club were ambushing locals and doing the paparazzi on them. Buggers jumped me. I didn't " Glare ". I just looked exactly myself, when bemused at having been bush whacked and photographed.

One of them caught an image that, quite frankly, blew Me away! I mean, god! What an image! Doesn't matter a monkeys f**k that it's me. I'd still think it was fantastic if it was some random stranger from Cheshire.

Still causing quite a stir, locally. Was published in a national broadsheet! (:eek:) But, the point relevant to this conversation was a comment made by one of the several lads, in my local, as they enthused over it.

One said, out loud; " This picture says: 'If ye want to come to This town and cause sh!t? Fine. But, ye'll have to get through This first! " No one disagreed! LOL-1.gif

Funny as f**k! I showed it to my boss. He said; " F**king Hell! All that's missing is the sawn off shotgun! Looking at that, I don't think I'll sleep tonight! "

Losing%20it%20with%20LMAO_zpsobjz3vhc.gif Laughing my f**king arse off here! I'm a happy old soul who loves his Dogs and horses and who is completely entranced with feeding his toads.

But, f**k me! The image that girl caught? David Bailey eat ye f**king heart out!

Yeah. Maybe I should carry it with me. Anyone starts? I'll just whip it out and show them. I can send you a copy. You just show them and say; " This is my Dad! Now, back the f*k off! " happy-smiley59_zpsymjzykhc.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Im off to watch Forged in Fire on History after all this knife chat.
    New episode out tonight,got it on sky plus.
    Im hooked on the making of a blade,some of the stuff they do is incredible.
    Stigura...you reminded me when you said ...damascus... where they weld layers upon layers of steel together before forging the blade,it looks beautiful when finished.
    Am I odd?
    And no I dont carry a knife but I would if I could make my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

No, a claw hammer. Not for self defence in any form but to protect my small , rather docile and friendly dogs from being torn apart by large, aggressive dogs owned by imbeciles.

One of our mini poodles was attacked by a Bull Terrier while we were camping in Poland. Despite pinning it down with my knee on its neck, more to stop it shaking him, and punching it repeatedly with the missus kicking it up the backside, it wouldn't let go. We tired it out eventually and it slunk off, Eric had a couple of punctures on one of his ears but was otherwise fine physically, I thought it was going to rip his head off. Psychologically though he is now very timid and afraid of his own shadow, and this is two years after the event.

I'm sorry to say that I'm not prepared to put myself in a position where I have to fight off an unprovoked attack with nothing more than my fists and now carry a claw hammer in my pocket when we go walking where we might encounter other dogs.

gitzy16v wrote: »
    Stigura...you reminded me when you said ...damascus... where they weld layers upon layers of steel together before forging the blade,it looks beautiful when finished.
    Am I odd?

No, my friend! Not in the least! The patterns that can be produced in Damascus steel are truly works of beautiful art.

When ye consider it's also, usually, produced by some bear armed, lump hammer wielding bloke. Dripping with sweat as he smashes the sh!t out of a red hot bit of metal? And the result is breathtakingly intricate and beautiful?

Naah. Not odd ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

For me, a lot of this is political correctness gone mad.

Take something as simple as kids not being permitted to carry knives in school, in fact in most places being outrightly condemned if found with a knife on their person if we be honest here. Ask yourself, if these kids can't carry knives then how are they supposed to peel an orange for their lunch? Do we now ban oranges in schools? Is that the next step here?

It's ridiculous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

I have taken an oath of pacifism.

If you wish to carry a knife that is your choice.

Personally it's against my peaceful attainment goals.

I find being around people who harbor thoughts or emotions of conflict draining.

I am not talking ..fun stuff like kick boxing or battle re enactment.

It's just not me ..hippie girl i guess :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Yes, but only because it's part of the multi-tool.

TBH, like a gun; unless you're prepared to kill with it, you'll be killed by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Brennus335

Don't do what Donny Don't does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I carry two. A Leatherman in a pouch on my belt & a sheath knife in my snickers trousers when I am working.

I was in Tesco & noticed that two Guards were looking at me. As I left the store they came over & asked if I knew what they were looking at. I showed them the knife & asked if there was a problem as it's a tool. They said no problem but don't take it down shop street on a Saturday night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 171 ✭✭Gavinz

I'm pretty sure I've a Swiss Army knife in the car.

Haven't a clue why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Gavinz wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure I've a Swiss Army knife in the car.

Haven't a clue why.

It's so that if your car is submerged underwater following an accident, you can cut through your seatbelt which will have locked due to the impact.

Thank me later if this ever happens to you, and you remember this post and why you have the knife!

It's so that if your car is submerged underwater following an accident, you can cut through your seatbelt which will have locked due to the impact.

Thank me later if this ever happens to you, and you remember this post and why you have the knife!
    Well that makes sense. My father told me to keep it in the car so I just chucked it in the glove box.

Thanks!

I was Really hoping no bugger would ask me that, Shins. Because, even as I showed it, I realised I haven't a bloody clue! :o Wood, of some sort, I think. Rather than bone or horn.

Trouble is, I deliberately asked them to ban me from the forum where I 'met' the guy. So, now I can't use their search facility. Obviously, it would have all been discussed, explained and agreed to the n'th degree, in some bloody post.

Wouldn't even know where to start looking now :(

Talking about glares? I had my photo taken, a while back. Local photography club were ambushing locals and doing the paparazzi on them. Buggers jumped me. I didn't " Glare ". I just looked exactly myself, when bemused at having been bush whacked and photographed.

One of them caught an image that, quite frankly, blew Me away! I mean, god! What an image! Doesn't matter a monkeys f**k that it's me. I'd still think it was fantastic if it was some random stranger from Cheshire.

Still causing quite a stir, locally. Was published in a national broadsheet! (:eek:) But, the point relevant to this conversation was a comment made by one of the several lads, in my local, as they enthused over it.

One said, out loud; " This picture says: 'If ye want to come to This town and cause sh!t? Fine. But, ye'll have to get through This first! " No one disagreed! LOL-1.gif

Funny as f**k! I showed it to my boss. He said; " F**king Hell! All that's missing is the sawn off shotgun! Looking at that, I don't think I'll sleep tonight! "

Losing%20it%20with%20LMAO_zpsobjz3vhc.gif Laughing my f**king arse off here! I'm a happy old soul who loves his Dogs and horses and who is completely entranced with feeding his toads.

But, f**k me! The image that girl caught? David Bailey eat ye f**king heart out!

Yeah. Maybe I should carry it with me. Anyone starts? I'll just whip it out and show them. I can send you a copy. You just show them and say; " This is my Dad! Now, back the f*k off! " happy-smiley59_zpsymjzykhc.gif

I think I could guess the wood if I wasn't so tired!
    Do..send me two copies, one for over the fireplace to keep visiting children away :)

I have taken an oath of pacifism.

If you wish to carry a knife that is your choice.

Personally it's against my peaceful attainment goals.

I find being around people who harbor thoughts or emotions of conflict draining.

I am not talking ..fun stuff like kick boxing or battle re enactment.

It's just not me ..hippie girl i guess :)

I've always found kick boxing quite ugly. Kicking people? :D Hitting people with your feet.

And it's not that useful in the real world. If you want to defend yourself against someone who actually wants to hurt you and doesn't have to obey any rules, learn Krav Maga. It was too brutal for me to be physically able for it but I took away some of the principles. I don't think my friends who do KM harbour anything, they are able to summon aggression if they need to, and put it away just as efficiently. 'Negative' energy can be useful in some situations where order is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I keep a leatherman in my car. Its knife is extremely sharp and would slice you from ear to ear with little effort but its a tool and not a weapon and so I would never carry it on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

In the car boot I have a big knife thing I pulled from a rock...Excali...something or other! Use is to trim hedges etc....makes me feel regal or something...Anyhoo! :)

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I often have a penknife, but that's mostly for opening packages from aliexpress. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I threw a bottle of Bulmers at someone before if that counts.

That's a lot worse, that's chemical warfare :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

No I wouldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Gavinz wrote: »
    Well that makes sense. My father told me to keep it in the car so I just chucked it in the glove box.

Thanks!

can you reach into your glove box from the drivers seat with a seatbelt on? I know i couldnt. I have one of those blades to cut the seat belt in a cubby hole in the drivers door.

Carrying a knife for protection is stupid, claiming you'll use it is horseshi1t. If the need arose the sh1t and p1ss would run down your leg quicker than a stripper's g string comes down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Augeo wrote: »
    Carrying a knife for protection is stupid, claiming you'll use it is horseshi1t. If the need arose the sh1t and p1ss would run down your leg quicker than a stripper's g string comes down.

Not very daintily put, but probably true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

c_man wrote: »
    Do you, or would you consider, carrying a knife for self protection? I was chatting to a girl not too long ago, and she told me how she carries one in her handbag "just in case". I told her I thought this was stupid but she wasn't listening. Just this morning I was upacking some new equipment and asked my work colleagues if anyone had a scissors, new guy reaches into his rucksack and hands me a decent sized knife (handle first). I don't know him well enough to probe the issue further.

Seems pretty stupid to me. You're not Casey Ryback, more a Mark from Peep Show when he starts carrying. What do you guys think?

She's probably watching too much fair city. Was it a penknife by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Deer

I carry my keys in my hand .

Years ago someone tried to rob my bag but a few days before a self defence guy had advised us in P.E to always carry keys. Anyway I ripped the face off him with the key and he ran off.

I was only fifteen and was only carrying makeup in the bag but I wasn't letting him get the bag.

Probably wouldn't carry a knife though, tempting as it would be. While I would have no problem using it if an attacker got their hands on it then too much damage can be done.

And remember, kids; Pull out the head rest and use one of the rods to smash the corner of the side window too. Ye'd never get the door open against all that pressure.

Boards.IE Helping to Save lives while talking about knives :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

And remember, kids; Pull out the head rest and use one of the rods to smash the corner of the side window too. Ye'd never get the door open against all that pressure.

Boards.IE Helping to Save lives while talking about knives :)

I've seen that thing about the headrests doing the rounds - in every car I've ever owned, removing the headrests takes several minutes of grunting and swearing, while trying to push in the tiny button and pull the headrest up at the same time. I don't fancy the thought of trying that while the car is filling with water, and I'm possibly injured.

can you reach into your glove box from the drivers seat with a seatbelt on? I know i couldnt. I have one of those blades to cut the seat belt in a cubby hole in the drivers door.

You're dead right, I've stuck it in the drivers door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Duvetdays

I'm a woman. I don't carry a knife but I carry at times an expandable police baton. It's handy to have in pocket when walking dog in case she's attacked by another dog. Or if I'm walking by myself late at night or if walking dog and passing a bunch of rat kn*ckers I'll often hold it discreetly in my hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

My fear is getting overpowered and the knife then been used on me.
    c_man wrote: »
    Do you, or would you consider, carrying a knife for self protection? I was chatting to a girl not too long ago, and she told me how she carries one in her handbag "just in case". I told her I thought this was stupid but she wasn't listening. Just this morning I was upacking some new equipment and asked my work colleagues if anyone had a scissors, new guy reaches into his rucksack and hands me a decent sized knife (handle first). I don't know him well enough to probe the issue further.

Seems pretty stupid to me. You're not Casey Ryback, more a Mark from Peep Show when he starts carrying. What do you guys think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Oi, have you met my mate Stanly??

Gravelly wrote: »
    I've seen that thing about the headrests doing the rounds .....

Practice makes purpose, Gravelly. Or, get a short length of rebar. Grind both ends to a point. Duct tape it to any place that feels most natural to you, in your motor. Use that. Ye point both ends, because a pint works best. And ye don't want to be trying to figure out which end that is when ye crapping yeself.

Alternatively? They do actually produce tools with both a seat belt cutter and a window breaker. Attaches to ye seat belt.

Mate of mine, his van left the road, one morning. Ended upside down in a ~ thankfully dry ~ gulley. That could've been fun.

Oh and, buried in an avalanche? Dribble ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I carry-conceal a rather large Serving Spoon. The beauty of a heavy Serving Spoon is that it's not illegal but is a fairly good weapon for skull-cracking.

I forgot to add that I have knuckledusters from the 1800's. Not about myself person, just on a shelf. I would probably manage to punch myself in the face and then fall over if I tried to use them.

Lat night, my group of three including myself was harassed by a man who was either very drunk or had some kind of head injury and I didn't feel the compulsion to stab to the poor fecker, so there you go. Not everyone who carries a knife is bloodthirsty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Dunno if this counts? but I have a Swiss Army knife (Lidl replica) in the glovebox of the car.

Its got a scissors & nail file too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Gravelly wrote: »
    I've seen that thing about the headrests doing the rounds - in every car I've ever owned, removing the headrests takes several minutes of grunting and swearing, while trying to push in the tiny button and pull the headrest up at the same time. I don't fancy the thought of trying that while the car is filling with water, and I'm possibly injured.

That reminds me, as well as my leatherman I also have a Res-Q-Me seatbelt cutter/window breaker on the keyring with my car keys. The best €10 I hope to never use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Only when I'm in Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I usually have a fold up Stanley knife in my pocket. Not for self defence or anything, I use it in work all the time and usually forget it's there till I need it.

Would I use it for self defence? I'd most likely forget it was there to be honest!