Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

January 2018 Babies Club

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,945 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

jadie wrote: »
    The midwife suggested it and asked would I go for one. I didn't realise what it entailed until I read the AIMs website.

Which hospital are you in? There's a full glucose tolerance test, which is the whole fasting for 12+ hours, initial blood draw, drink sugary crap and then further bloods 1 and 2 hours after. Then there's a glucose challenge which is where you don't have to fast, and you go in and drink a sugary drink and they test your bloods an hour later to see what your blood sugar level is.

I had my first baby in Holles St and they do the Challenge first, and if your results come back high, then they bring you in for the full 3 test one. I'm in the Rotunda this time, and they don't do the challenge, they only do the full 3 test thing.

Did she give you a reason why she suggested you go for one? I've got PCOS and because of that and my weight, I'd be at higher risk for GD, so was told at the booking appointment that I'd have to have the glucose test.

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭New farmers wife

I was due on the Tuesday and induced Sunday night, broke my waters at 1.15 and she was born at 4.01 so it was grand. I just checked my sheet about GTT and it says fasting for 12 hours before, no food or drink. No food is one thing, but even thinking about no drink is making me thirsty. I dread going to the hospital in case my blood pressure is up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭jadie

Toots wrote: »
    Which hospital are you in? There's a full glucose tolerance test, which is the whole fasting for 12+ hours, initial blood draw, drink sugary crap and then further bloods 1 and 2 hours after. Then there's a glucose challenge which is where you don't have to fast, and you go in and drink a sugary drink and they test your bloods an hour later to see what your blood sugar level is.

I had my first baby in Holles St and they do the Challenge first, and if your results come back high, then they bring you in for the full 3 test one. I'm in the Rotunda this time, and they don't do the challenge, they only do the full 3 test thing.

Did she give you a reason why she suggested you go for one? I've got PCOS and because of that and my weight, I'd be at higher risk for GD, so was told at the booking appointment that I'd have to have the glucose test.

CUMH. No reason. I had to look at the risk factors up myself. Have none except I am 38.

Some hospitals do GTT as standard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭jadie

I was told to go to my GP to get it done

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

My first was 8lbs 8. I've my glucose test the 8th. If I had gd I'd say I'd probably starve, I'm fussy enough as it is! I was constantly being told I was having a big baby and not to buy newborn clothes, and that was by midwives, I think at my 31 week scan my baby was a good bit over 4 pounds, my nephew was born 2lbs 15oz!

I never understand this obsession with the baby's size!Do they never ask what your last baby weighed?I have several friends and medical people were freaking them out over how big their second and third babies were measuring, but sure their first babies were 9 &10lb babies, of course the second and third ones would be bigger!!Seems mad!

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,945 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

jadie wrote: »
    I was told to go to my GP to get it done

I wish I could do mine at my GP!

Husband finally got to feel the kicks this evening :)

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭donkey10

Husband finally got to feel the kicks this evening :)

Aw how lovely! I find that I could be sitting there and you can see the kicks through the belly - i tell hubby to look and then hes too late looking , he puts his hands on my belly and no kicking the minute he takes them off the kicks start again...funny the way they work

donkey10 wrote: »
    Aw how lovely! I find that I could be sitting there and you can see the kicks through the belly - i tell hubby to look and then hes too late looking , he puts his hands on my belly and no kicking the minute he takes them off the kicks start again...funny the way they work

Haha! Mine's exactly the same! It was as if she knew his hand was there and she'd stop moving just to wind him up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

My bump does the exact same! It’s actually freaky!

This baby is putting me under serious pressure! 3 weeks to my next scan, should be interesting to see the size! It feels like it's much bigger than my first baby

I've been told at my last 2 scans that the baby is bigger than the average size it is supposed to be at this stage. Was 29 weeks last week and he told me it was nearly 3.5 pounds.
    Baby was in the breech position at Wk 24 but has moved head down now - he said he will be inducing me 10 days earlier if im going naturally coz of size.

Im thinking will I even be able go naturally if its supposed to be "so big" you'd wonder if they get it right like.

How far are you gone? have they been conscious of the size so far?

I've been told at my last 2 scans that the baby is bigger than the average size it is supposed to be at this stage. Was 29 weeks last week and he told me it was nearly 3.5 pounds.
    Baby was in the breech position at Wk 24 but has moved head down now - he said he will be inducing me 10 days earlier if im going naturally coz of size.

Im thinking will I even be able go naturally if its supposed to be "so big" you'd wonder if they get it right like.

How far are you gone? have they been conscious of the size so far?

On my first at 31 weeks she was around 4lbs 5. I have glucose test and check up tomorrow, my scan isn't for another 3 weeks, I'm 28 weeks now but at 19 weeks the baby was already measuring a week ahead and I just seemed to have ballooned since then.

Could be just fluid though?
    I've heard of them getting it wrong the whole time

I'll get a better idea in 3 weeks, I don't know if they do those quick scans this early, I used to get them last time but that was a different consultant. Such an early start in the morning

It's a waiting game really so. Are you getting a lot of back pain?

I was telling them in work today about the possibility of being induced 10 days early if the size continues the way it is and they were like its going to be much more painful etc etc I think im being turned off it already ahhhh

Just got the all clear from the hospital for my glucose test - all normal and no diabetes. So feckin relieved!

It's a waiting game really so. Are you getting a lot of back pain?

I was telling them in work today about the possibility of being induced 10 days early if the size continues the way it is and they were like its going to be much more painful etc etc I think im being turned off it already ahhhh

Everyone will give you the horror stories about being induced, but honestly don't listen, I got thru being induced with just gas and air and 4 was only 2 hours 45 mins! Sometimes the contractions are stronger and more frequent but it totally depends on how you deal with them so don't worry at all. I had no idea what to expect.

I have so much pressure all around my stomach, like there's just not enough space!

I think we only hear glucose results if we have GD.

I think the norm is they only ring you if the results show you have GD. My midwife said she would ring me either way because I was so panicked/upset about it. :o

That's lovely toots, it's nice to get the call rather than wondering if the phone is going to ring. I've to fast from 8 tonight, I'm already nervous about tomorrow.

Yeah I was watching my phone like it was a bomb about to go off. I was in yesterday for a check up and there were a few women up in the semi private waiting room having the test done (I could tell because they were all given tea and sambos after) and apparently they were nervous patients so they brought them up to the semi private bit for the bloods because there's a bed in the room when they do it, so they can lie down if they feel faint.

I had my test done there this morning and was able to lie down and she used a teeny needle so I felt nothing.

Just got the all clear from the hospital for my glucose test - all normal and no diabetes. So feckin relieved!

Great to hear!

Everyone will give you the horror stories about being induced, but honestly don't listen, I got thru being induced with just gas and air and 4 was only 2 hours 45 mins! Sometimes the contractions are stronger and more frequent but it totally depends on how you deal with them so don't worry at all. I had no idea what to expect.

I have so much pressure all around my stomach, like there's just not enough space!

I think we only hear glucose results if we have GD.

Were you induced early or late? How do they do it? Apparently im supposed to be 10 days earlier. Fair play for only doing it on gas and air! Also I've been told to stay away from the gas as it will make you sick? is that true? This is my first baby so I have no idea what to expect really just listening to everyone.

Good luck with the test today!

Were you induced early or late? How do they do it? Apparently im supposed to be 10 days earlier. Fair play for only doing it on gas and air! Also I've been told to stay away from the gas as it will make you sick? is that true? This is my first baby so I have no idea what to expect really just listening to everyone.

Good luck with the test today!

With the gas and air, a tip I was given by a midwife I know is to focus on a point in the room when you are breathing it to avoid feeling sick. A lot of people close their eyes at the time because of the pain of the contraction. She recommends this to all her patients and it’s worked every time.

bee06 wrote: »
    With the gas and air, a tip I was given by a midwife I know is to focus on a point in the room when you are breathing it to avoid feeling sick. A lot of people close their eyes at the time because of the pain of the contraction. She recommends this to all her patients and it’s worked every time.

Cheers for that! Is the gas something that people say worked? I know everyone is different etc etc but as a first timer it's interesting just to hear what people thought and know what I'm going for before going in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'm not sure if it was the gas itself, but controlled breathing through the contractions rather than getting flustered through them is very helpful. I found the gas very useful in the first stage of labour but completely useless after transition when pure adrenaline took over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭saggycaggy

I'm not sure if it was the gas itself, but controlled breathing through the contractions rather than getting flustered through them is very helpful. I found the gas very useful in the first stage of labour but completely useless after transition when pure adrenaline took over.

With my second the gas and air I felt was more of distraction for me-had no idea if it was working as everything happened so fast. We got to the hospital at 1.30pm and she was born at 2.01pm.
    I've downloaded the Gentlebirth App and hopefully going to try get in the mind frame for labour-at the moment I'm very anxious about it but trying to be positive:)

saggycaggy wrote: »
    With my second the gas and air I felt was more of distraction for me-had no idea if it was working as everything happened so fast. We got to the hospital at 1.30pm and she was born at 2.01pm.
    I've downloaded the Gentlebirth App and hopefully going to try get in the mind frame for labour-at the moment I'm very anxious about it but trying to be positive:)

Wow that was quick! I suppose the time flew by so quick that you didnt realise. I'm getting very anxious too - don't know what to expect really with first. Do many still go for the epidurals?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Jeez don't stay away from the gas!Expect it to make you woozy alright and I know some people find it gives them nausea, but I'd try it at least to find out.Lots of people go for epidurals, most people look at you like you're nuts when you say you only had gas and air, but for me it worked just fine.I was able to cope with it (twice), and I was happy with that.
    Love the lovely gas and air...!!!

Wow that was quick! I suppose the time flew by so quick that you didnt realise. I'm getting very anxious too - don't know what to expect really with first. Do many still go for the epidurals?

I had an epidural with my first and had a really bad tear and really wanted avoid that with my second if possible so I got into a completely different mind-frame and the Ina Maye Gaskins book a Guide to Childbirth became my bible.
    I really think it helped me stay calm and breath through contractions so by the time I got to the hospital I was 8cm. The biggest thing I took from it was that with fear comes pain and I stayed so focused and relaxed during early contractions.
    When I got to the hospital at 1.30pm I thought maybe i'll have the baby later tonight, it's still early etc but when they said you're 8cm and you'll have your baby in your arms within an hour I freaked out!! The fear came and with that the pain- I felt I was handling things pretty well up to that point:pac:

Cheers for that! Is the gas something that people say worked? I know everyone is different etc etc but as a first timer it's interesting just to hear what people thought and know what I'm going for before going in

I found the gas good during the early stages - it's important not to just sit there and constantly huff away on it, just use it for contractions. My midwife told me some women are afraid so they won't let go of the gas and that can make you sick. It made me feel a bit stoned, but it wore off as soon as I stopped inhaling it. They took it off me when I got the epidural because it wasn't needed anymore.

In terms of how you're induced, what I was told was they start by inserting a gel pessary which is supposed to soften your cervix. You need to stay in bed for about 20 mins (I think) and then after that you'd be encouraged to walk around to try and get things moving. They'll repeat the gel after a set amount of hours. Then I think the next step is that they break the waters, and depending on how you progress, you may or may not be put on an oxytocin drip to make the contractions stronger. Some women only need the one gel and once they get started, others might need the whole set of procedures. This was what they said to me last time round when my son was 5 days overdue and they were discussing the possibility of induction the following week. In the end I went into labour on my own that night, so it wasn't necessary.

I found the gas good during the early stages - it's important not to just sit there and constantly huff away on it, just use it for contractions. My midwife told me some women are afraid so they won't let go of the gas and that can make you sick. It made me feel a bit stoned, but it wore off as soon as I stopped inhaling it. They took it off me when I got the epidural because it wasn't needed anymore.

In terms of how you're induced, what I was told was they start by inserting a gel pessary which is supposed to soften your cervix. You need to stay in bed for about 20 mins (I think) and then after that you'd be encouraged to walk around to try and get things moving. They'll repeat the gel after a set amount of hours. Then I think the next step is that they break the waters, and depending on how you progress, you may or may not be put on an oxytocin drip to make the contractions stronger. Some women only need the one gel and once they get started, others might need the whole set of procedures. This was what they said to me last time round when my son was 5 days overdue and they were discussing the possibility of induction the following week. In the end I went into labour on my own that night, so it wasn't necessary.

I'm presuming being induced earlier means the same thing so!
    I'm hoping at my next scan I will be told that its the normal size again - the last 2 scans it was bigger than the average for that time.
    I'd prefer to go naturally rather than having to be induced earlier coz it will probably mean a much more painful birth esp if they are predicting them to be "large"

saggycaggy wrote: »
    I had an epidural with my first and had a really bad tear and really wanted avoid that with my second if possible so I got into a completely different mind-frame and the Ina Maye Gaskins book a Guide to Childbirth became my bible.
    I really think it helped me stay calm and breath through contractions so by the time I got to the hospital I was 8cm. The biggest thing I took from it was that with fear comes pain and I stayed so focused and relaxed during early contractions.
    When I got to the hospital at 1.30pm I thought maybe i'll have the baby later tonight, it's still early etc but when they said you're 8cm and you'll have your baby in your arms within an hour I freaked out!! The fear came and with that the pain- I felt I was handling things pretty well up to that point:pac:

Yeah i really think it is getting into the mindset of what is going to happen - if you are prepared and know what is going to happen is probably the biggest thing.

I think i just dont know about the pain and whether it will be a long or short labour and getting my mind ready for that. Will I be able handle the pain etc etc and then if its supposed to be as big as they say will I even be able do it naturally after all of that.
    I must check out the book you referred to there

shesty wrote: »
    Jeez don't stay away from the gas!Expect it to make you woozy alright and I know some people find it gives them nausea, but I'd try it at least to find out.Lots of people go for epidurals, most people look at you like you're nuts when you say you only had gas and air, but for me it worked just fine.I was able to cope with it (twice), and I was happy with that.
    Love the lovely gas and air...!!!

That is great to be able cope on gas and air well done you!! i suppose it is whatever works best for everyone but then you never know until you are in the situation then!!

Yeah i really think it is getting into the mindset of what is going to happen - if you are prepared and know what is going to happen is probably the biggest thing.

I think i just dont know about the pain and whether it will be a long or short labour and getting my mind ready for that. Will I be able handle the pain etc etc and then if its supposed to be as big as they say will I even be able do it naturally after all of that.
    I must check out the book you referred to there

I think if you manage to stay as calm as you can, it'll really stand to you. The fear of the unknown for me made the pain worse, then eventually when I calmed down it was a lot more manageable. I found it helped to focus on the fact that the pain will end - it's not going to last for an unknown period like if you broke a bone or something - there's a definite end point in sight.

I read something somewhere on that ... a contraction lasts about a minute and when you think about it a minute isn’t a long time. The quote was “I can do anything for a minute”

It's true.My way of coping was to find mechanically what was going on, how the proces would work-that took the fear out of the pain.I mean you don't exactly enjoy it but if you can accept that your body is built for this, it helps a lot.As someone said it's not like breaking an arm....it's a 'right' pain, not a 'wrong' pain.It's supposed to feel like that and if you let it just feel, then you will get through.And it's really not forever.

The one thing I will say is both my labours were relatively short , 7 & 5 hours.Hours and hours of it, you do get tired and I can totally understand how gas and air mightn't be enough.But you don't know that til you go in so try to keep an open mind.

I think my longest were 90 seconds, so 90 seconds wasn't too bad - you could count it down if you wanted to. The problem I ran into was my labour was insanely long (41 hours start to finish) and my contractions started to get a really weird pattern, basically I was getting about a 30 second break between contractions, but I was only 4cm dialated. Apparently they don't usually get that close until the baby is at the pushing stage. I was doing alright with the gas and air until all that started, but after about an hour of one straight on top of another they asked was I sure I didn't want the epidural and I was like "give me ALL the drugs!!" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 39 flix

I think my longest were 90 seconds, so 90 seconds wasn't too bad - you could count it down if you wanted to. The problem I ran into was my labour was insanely long (41 hours start to finish) and my contractions started to get a really weird pattern, basically I was getting about a 30 second break between contractions, but I was only 4cm dialated. Apparently they don't usually get that close until the baby is at the pushing stage. I was doing alright with the gas and air until all that started, but after about an hour of one straight on top of another they asked was I sure I didn't want the epidural and I was like "give me ALL the drugs!!" :pac:

Popping in from Feb thread...I’m a first timer so haven’t a clue what to expect. Can I ask which is more painful...the contractions or the part when the baby’s head is actually crowning? I’ve always presumed the actual birth would be the most excruciating but from reading people’s experiences I’m getting the impression that the contractions are the worst. Am I getting it totally wrong?!

I had the epidural so didn't feel any pain when the baby was crowning. I could definitely feel that there was something sticking out 'down there' but in terms of pain there was nothing. I'd imagine everybody experiences it differently though.

41 hours!! I'm presuming that's including contractions? Did it take long then when you were fully dilated? How long did it take until you were fully dialated?
    God you really don't know like some people aren't in labour for that long and then some people are and you'll never know until the time. What drugs did you get?

Gas and air made me a bit woozy but it was a distraction from the contraction, it's important to take a deep inhale and a slow exhale too, the room felt like it was cloudy when I first starting using it. I looked for an epidural but I was too far gone to administer it when it came to it.

I'm limerick I was brought in on the Sunday evening, got a gel at 11 Sunday night and then I started with slight cramps, a woman on the ward snored all night so I just walked up and down the corridor, they checked me at 8 am the next morning and said I was ready to have my waters broken, 1.15 went down to the labour ward, into the gown, broke my waters and on to syntocin drip, the contractions came very fast, the plan was to get out and walk around, I got to sit in the chair for about 5 mins and was back in bed then, they tried to up level of the drip but it was too much, before I knew it my body just started pushing and at 4.01 my little girl was born so 2 hours 45 mins from going down to the labour ward to baby being born. I was longer waiting for stitches!!

41 hours!! I'm presuming that's including contractions? Did it take long then when you were fully dilated? How long did it take until you were fully dialated?
    God you really don't know like some people aren't in labour for that long and then some people are and you'll never know until the time. What drugs did you get?

When I was fully dilated it took 15 minutes for him to be born, however I had an assisted delivery because he'd gone into distress - they used the ventouse cup thing. Basically from them telling me "you're going to start pushing now" to "here's your baby" it was 15 minutes. I was expecting it to take an hour or more so was quite surprised to hear "the head is out, next push your baby will be born!"

In terms of how long it took for me to be fully dilated, contractions started on Friday night, went to hospital Saturday afternoon, told I wasn't fully in labour yet (could have fooled me!) sent home, came back 9am Sunday and was 2cm dliated. My little boy was born at 5.45 on Sunday evening.

The pain relief drugs I had were gas and air, and then the epidural I got at about lunchtime on the sunday. I had to have antibiotics in labour because I had group B strep - that was administered by IV and as far as I know it was penicillin. Then they decided to try and speed me up a bit, so I was given oxytocin in my IV also.

I've been told that subsequent babies take less time to arrive, but in all fairness I didn't exactly set a tough time to beat :pac: This one could be 24 hours and I'd still consider that short! On the other hand, my SIL went from the first contraction to being ready to push in about 2 hours - she barely made it up to the delivery room.

In my antenatal group from first time round there were a couple of women who had really short labours like that - they were advised by the midwives to consider planned home birth if they go again!

Definitely sounds wise! My friend's mum had ridiculously short labours, like under an hour from start to finish. Her first two were born at home before the ambulance could get there, so then with the second 2 she was brought in at 38 weeks and induced because they were worried that if something went wrong, she'd be at home with no midwife or medical help.

A friend of mine had 2 really quick labors on her 2 girls- both just making it to the hospital in time kinda labors so on her third pregnancy she was so worried about getting there in time again but it turned out to be over 12 hours in the end-completely opposite type of labor from the previous too ( and a boy this time). You just never know........which is the scary part!

I read this last night "Just remember; when you get to the point when you think you can't actually do this anymore, it's almost over."

• Registered Users Posts: 35 lmc106

This is so helpful ladies, thanks for sharing your experiences- the thoughts of labor is really stressing me out lately! I think it’s just the unknown. I cried at my last appointment because I’m scared it will be all too much.

I haven’t had a glucose test or heard any mention of it from the GP or the midwives, should I call and ask? I’m 28 weeks now not sure when it’s supposed to be done.

If they haven't mentioned it, odds are they don't feel you're at risk. I think in Ireland they only offer it if you've got one of the risk factors, which are (as far as I remember)

- BMI of over 30 or 35
    - Age over 35
    - Had gestational diabetes previously
    - Had a big baby previously
    - Have PCOS
    - Have had glucose show in your urine samples
    - Baby measuring large
    - Certain ethnic backgrounds can also be more at risk, I can't remember which ones specifically

It's usually done between 26 and 28 weeks I think. You could always ring and ask just to see, but usually if they wanted to do it, it would have been mentioned by now. I was told at my booking in appointment I'd need one because of my weight and also I've got PCOS. I knew they'd want one anyway, because I had to have it when I was expecting my first baby.

I totally get where you're coming from in terms of the unknown - I find I'm much more reassured if I'm kept fully informed about everything that's going on. With my first baby, I was told barely anything and I found that more stressful because I was getting worried about stuff that it turned out I had no reason to be concerned about. This time around the midwives and consultant have been really thorough in discussing my care and any concerns I have and I feel much more comfortable. It could be also that this is the second time around so I have a rough idea of what to expect.... I think :pac:

In terms of the ethnic backgrounds - generally here it's those of South Asian or Afro-Caribbean heritage that get offered it automatically. The criteria for it are similar here in the UK, I've never been offered it.