Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

January 2018 Babies Club

1363738394042»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Any of ye that have gotten this far with breast feeding have done so so well. Seriously admire you all.
    Between the heat, a toddler who is really testing my patience and i mean REALLY and teething I'm about to pull my hair out. Today has been a very difficult day. She woke crying at 5:30 and hasn't really let up since. I've given calpol twice and that seemed to give a bit of relief.
    With the first lad it wasn't until i heard the spiin hitting a tooth that i even knew he had one. This doll is a very different story.

How are all your little ones getting on? Any rolling or sitting up? She roars the house down if i put her lying on the mat so we not near rolling yet

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭Pocos

heldel00 wrote: »
    Any of ye that have gotten this far with breast feeding have done so so well. Seriously admire you all.
    Between the heat, a toddler who is really testing my patience and i mean REALLY and teething I'm about to pull my hair out. Today has been a very difficult day. She woke crying at 5:30 and hasn't really let up since. I've given calpol twice and that seemed to give a bit of relief.
    With the first lad it wasn't until i heard the spiin hitting a tooth that i even knew he had one. This doll is a very different story.

How are all your little ones getting on? Any rolling or sitting up? She roars the house down if i put her lying on the mat so we not near rolling yet

Sorry to hear your little one is acting up! This heat has been amazing but it’s tough with babies! They really can’t handle it! I’m still feeding herself and we are both roasting in every feed! Anyone else finding this?

Herself loved tummy time from day one so she’s been on the floor a while! She’s rolling away like mad and I’d say she’s not far off crawling! She can get the stomach off the floor this week! So that helps! She was born jan 2nd though so she’s an old January baby :)

She’s been off form all day today! Wanting to be up not napping well at all! Pretty much driving me nuts! But in fairness we don’t have too much days like that!

Any routine?? We have very little in our house! Once I’m back to work I think it will fall into place then!

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,925 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

My little one will roll on to her side, and if you put her down for tummy time she'll pretty much roll straight back over again. The heat was tough last week cos she was just constantly on the boob and then I ended up overproducing and the breast pump broke so I was going around with rock hard boobs and leaking all over the place - it was like she was a week old all over again :pac:

We had her christening last Sunday, which was lovely. She screamed the place down for the entire thing. The photos of my little boy at his christening show a cherubic little boy smiling up at the priest as he poured the water on his head. My daughter looks like we're about to waterboard her!

We started introducing a bit of solids this week - she's got these rice wafer yokes that she can feed herself, then I gave her a bit of pureed apple today. She loves the water and did eat the Apple but I wonder was it a bit tart. I used to add a pear to my son's but the ones I had were rock hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

A is rolling, both back to front and front to back, and doing his level best to army crawl. He's actually February 1 (22.5 weeks) but induction started in January...

We just started solids a couple of days ago with a tiny bit of carrot puree, but he just spat it all out and smeared it across the front of the nappy. Dirty protest!

He's finally outgrown the Moses basket - he's waking himself up by hitting his arms off the sides.

Oh i had to get rid of the moses basket weeks ago. It was creaking and cracking and waking us both so she in cot for past two months.
    Blame myself a bit with the lack of rolling. With the first baby i lay on the floor a lot with him to play but my shoulder is still paralysed so if i got down there is no way I'd be able to get back up.
    Serious mammy guilt

We have moved - from our 2 bed in London to a big 3 bed house in Manchester! Doing it all ourselves with a 2 year old and baby probably wasn't our smartest move.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,925 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Ooh! Congrats! I bet ye don't know yourselves with all the space.

Congratulations rainbow Kirby that’s great news!!!!

2 year old is mad about having the back garden to run around in and his own room.

Manchester is so much cheaper than London it's unreal. Paying less rent despite big house in nice/slightly hipstery area and will be paying much less per child in childcare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

I've been lurking in the background of this thread for a while and wanted to drop in and say hi, and thanks! I've found this (and the Dec'17) thread great to 'parent along with' :-) I'm a first timer, and my lil fella was born in early Jan. We started solids 2 weeks ago and so far so good! He was ebf to date and though he's taking bottles of ebm no bother all along, I'm having trouble introducing him to formula. I have tried a few different brands, first milk and follow on milk, mixing it with bm, all with no success; he just gags and spits it out. I had hoped that with the new tastes of solids he would be more receptive, but no joy. Anyone else have this issue?

I don't intend to give up bf totally, but would love the convenience of being able to combination feed at this point.

Eviledna wrote: »
    I've been lurking in the background of this thread for a while and wanted to drop in and say hi, and thanks! I've found this (and the Dec'17) thread great to 'parent along with' :-) I'm a first timer, and my lil fella was born in early Jan. We started solids 2 weeks ago and so far so good! He was ebf to date and though he's taking bottles of ebm no bother all along, I'm having trouble introducing him to formula. I have tried a few different brands, first milk and follow on milk, mixing it with bm, all with no success; he just gags and spits it out. I had hoped that with the new tastes of solids he would be more receptive, but no joy. Anyone else have this issue?

I don't intend to give up bf totally, but would love the convenience of being able to combination feed at this point.

Hi evilenda.

To be honest I’m probably the last person who should give advice as I’ve a baby who won’t take a bottle at all!! But have you decided on a formula and just give it with baby rice or what ever cereal in the morning? Just small amounts to get them used to the taste then maybe over time your LO will get used to the taste!

Just a suggestion but fair play to you ebf to this point :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

Hi Pocos,

I did try him once on the cereal made up with formula initally but he wouldn't eat it, so I switched to making it up with water instead. I'll try it again as you suggest, thanks for the tip!

Have you tried the doidy cup in place of a bottle with your little one? I know some have had success with it.

Eviledna wrote: »
    Hi Pocos,

I did try him once on the cereal made up with formula initally but he wouldn't eat it, so I switched to making it up with water instead. I'll try it again as you suggest, thanks for the tip!

Have you tried the doidy cup in place of a bottle with your little one? I know some have had success with it.

Thanks evilenda for the tip. Your the second person to say Doidy cup to me so I must look into it

Best of luck yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭saggycaggy

We have moved - from our 2 bed in London to a big 3 bed house in Manchester! Doing it all ourselves with a 2 year old and baby probably wasn't our smartest move.

Congrats Rainbow kirby!!
    We're thinking the same here.......well we're in Dublin but in a 2 bed, bought at the wrong time when there was only 2 of us and now there's 5 of us:o need to get out of Dublin I think!

The year is flying isnt it! This time last year I was just telling people I was pregnant!

I'm at the "how the hell is my tiny baby 6 months next week!?!" stage. A is genuinely really funny at the moment, rolling onto his tummy at every opportunity and bouncing around like a mad thing on my lap. He's way ahead of where big bro was motor skills wise but much smaller, it's crazy how siblings differ.

Sorted out nursery places for my boys today, so it looks like I'll be returning to work in a new job at the end of August. Time to enjoy the last few weeks at home with the boys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭saggycaggy

Hey girls,
    Just popping in to see how all the 1 year old or nearly 1 year olds are doing! My wee man isn't 1 for another 3 weeks but even that is so hard to believe-the year has flown!! and he still hasn't slept through a single night :eek:
    I finished up breastfeeding a few weeks ago and thought he'd sleep through the night then but no, it's worse than ever!
    He's non stop moving and cruising around holding onto furniture so I think the walking won't be too far off.
    How are you all doing? Any more babies on the way?
    I'm done-3 is plenty :D

My little one is doing great, definitely keeping me on my toes! She’s full of mischief and fun, and she adores her big brother so it’s lovely watching them play together. I’d love to be gearing up for #3 but we’ve got to get a bigger place first!

We finished breastfeeding at just under 10 months, and I found it hard because I wasn’t ready to stop, but I’m delighted I managed for that long.

Hi girls. Great to see a bit of activity here again. (I'm very jealous of the December 2017 group, they're chatting non-stop in there!)
    Little girly is going great. No teeth yet although husband is convinced that he can see a canine tooth! She has no interest in walking or pulling herself up either. I think we have a bit of a lazy lump on our hands. She shuffles along on her bum and is delighted with herself.

I mentioned it in here before but i had shoulder paralysis after she was born. Every doctor is giving me a different reason but looks like a nerve was torn and that caused loss of power. No quick fix. Nerve just has to regenerate at rate of less than a millimetre a day. Very very slow but at least its improving.

Am definitely considering number 3. Even when the shoulder was at its worst and pain unbearable i would hear myself say "i really hope this doesn't happen again the next time"!!!

God that sounds tough! Hopefully the recovery doesn't take too long. Do they know how you did it?

My little one has 2 teeth on the bottom - both came at the same time! When I was looking through my son's baby book, he had about 6 or 7 teeth by this stage. I'm convinced I'll wake up one morning to find she's gotten another 4 overnight.

Orthopaedic consultant told me that it is a virus that attacked the nerve. Neurophysiologist (who is specialist in this area) told me this could only be caused by some sort of trauma/injury.
    I think that i was so petrified during section that i held my shoulder so tensed for the 15/20 mins, and in such an unnatural position that i caused damage?!! I had a bad shoulder to begin with and distinctly remember the anaesthist (sp?) encouraging me to "bring that shoulder down".
    Ach i don't know. Thankful for a healthy baby. That's the main thing.

Great to see the group back again! Our little one turned one last week! It’s mad how quick (and slow!!!) that year went!

She’s doing great! Cruising on furniture loads and walking across the room but not comfortably yet! 7 teeth in total and just a complete show off! Loves when she has people’s attention! Amazing to see how much they learn and how quickly they do it!

Quick question for those who breast feed... any advice on how to drop it? I literally only feed herself to sleep, and only when I’m on my own! My husband rocks her to sleep or lies on the bed beside her and she’s happy with that but if I’m on my own she just cries until i feed her! Like it could be 3 days since I last fed her and it’s not at the same time when I do! So it’s not habit and I don’t consider it a feed (she takes a bottle now!) But just expects it once she’s tired and i lie down beside her! Any advice???

Is it a case I just have to refuse and put up with the tears? If so how long does that last for?

A will be 1 in 3 weeks. He's cruising on all the furniture and cutting tooth #8 at the moment. Absolutely great eater, has more than his almost 3 year old brother sometimes! I stopped breastfeeding at 5 months, no regrets tbh. He's still a tiddler but not quite as teeny for age as he was.

I'm definitely 2 and done. Wanted 2 and to be done by 35, I have 2 and I'm 35 in June.

I'm enjoying being back in work properly and making progress in my career again, and being able to get back to some decent running again too.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Pocos, from what I hear from fellow BF mums...yes is the answer!!They have all struggled to wean nightime/sleep feeds.Some go away for a weekend, or some have got pregnant again and that was the only way.It seems to be a case of tough it out, but difficult!!

shesty wrote: »
    Pocos, from what I hear from fellow BF mums...yes is the answer!!They have all struggled to wean nightime/sleep feeds.Some go away for a weekend, or some have got pregnant again and that was the only way.It seems to be a case of tough it out, but difficult!!

Thanks shesty for the reply!

See that’s the thing I’ve fed her on a Thursday let’s say and then don’t do any bedtime until Tuesday so that’s 3 full days (ie like a weekend away!) and she still looks for it on the Tuesday! It’s only when I am putting her to bed! Never looks for it any other time! It’s obviously an association thing!

I’ll just have to tough it out but I’m a really bad “bad cop” in these situations! I’m sure no one enjoyes it!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Omr78

Hi all, my beautiful girl just turned one last week and is going from strength to strength, she’s toddling along holding onto furniture so I’d say it won’t be long before she’s taking her first steps. I brought her to Clarke’s on Saturday and had her fitted for pre walkers as the crèche I have her in want to bring her outside to play and she’s only wearing socks with padding on the soles. Unfortunately the shoe fitting did not go well and she screamed the shop down. I tried again yesterday evening while she was in her high chair and distracted but as soon as she realised she was hysterical with tears and all, I heard the soles of babies feet are very sensitive but does anyone have any tips to making this a less traumatic experience for my girl, I’m afraid to try again
    I’m also bringing her for her 12 month injections tomorrow so she’s really going to hate me