Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you that person?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

I live in my own little world, so I don't have to deal with other people from one end of the day to the other but I'm very nice to me, I just put my feet up on the coffee table and made myself a cup of coffee. I'm so sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

I work with that person. She is thoughtful, generous, kind and the most empathetic person you could meet. A truly lovely person. Pity she is the worst workmate ever because while she is on a social justice crusade she does f all work and leaves everybody else to cover for her. I would rather work with a cynical tramp that pulled their weight.
    Would much rather be friends with my current workmate though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Swanner wrote: »
    I'm a bollix but I married "that person" and her loveliness more than makes up for me..

I'd say ur probably cutting yourself short there .

If she's as nice as you say she sees quality in you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

On the Sunday last year at Electric Picnic it was bucketing down like nothing else, my camping neighbour's tent was completely soaked and he was soaked himself and miserable. I went into my rucksack and pulled out a dry jumper (a gift for Xmas from my sister) but I handed it to him and let him use my towel to dry himself off. I like to think I might've staved off pneumonia to this guy for a few hours. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

On the Sunday last year at Electric Picnic it was bucketing down like nothing else, my camping neighbour's tent was completely soaked and he was soaked himself and miserable. I went into my rucksack and pulled out a dry jumper (a gift for Xmas from my sister) but I handed it to him and let him use my towel to dry himself off. I like to think I might've staved off pneumonia to this guy for a few hours.

I'd say your sister wasn't best pleased though. :-))

I once bought my brother a samsonite suitcase for 300 euro. He brought it to electric picnic to transport the drink only never to be seen again.

The suitcase that is not the brother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Beasty wrote: »
    I really don't know....

... I've never left a job since they invented e-mail

Solely from boards, I can say without a doubt that you are a nice person.
    Unlike the rest of these bastards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

A client I've been dealing with for years sent me an email last week to say she was leaving. Not much else just 'Me leaving' in the title which I thought was odd in itself and then one line to say she had been made redundant and who would be taking over her duties that are relevant to me. No goodbye, no thanks for your help and support over the years.

This woman has been an enormous pain in the hole to deal with, a canterkerous auld cow with her snide comments and borderline rudeness something she never failed to convey whether it be in person, by phone or by email. Nonetheless I picked up the phone and called her and though I may have been within my rights to tell her to go eff herself I sympathised with her that she had been made redundant, the injustice of it all and wished her the very best in the future and I think I even sounded sincere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I have another way to go before I'm content with myself in this sense. My main problem is tactlessness. On the other hand I have been happy with how I've handled a number of situations in recent years..somehow I've said just the right thing, and I've left the person comforted, so it is coming more naturally. I've realised I'm a good listener purely because I am happy to sit and listen for as long as necessary and I don't but in or talk about myself too much.

When 'crossed' or provoked in some way, for example someone's thoughtlessness and lack of attention giving me a big fright and a minor injury, I've reacted calmly and compassionately instead of getting angry like I suspect many would have done.

I have a long way to go r.e being prepared and thinking ahead to have ''thank you'' and ''get well'' and similar gifts for people. I've been quite remiss in that sense in the past. I might make up some jam, home made wine and sweets for this.

Random acts of kindness come easily enough to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I definitely fall into that category with regards to work, I think nowadays in a lot of facets of life people are quick to complain when something goes wrong or they dislike someone/something but don't say anything when its good. If I think someone has done really I will tell them, even if it's something small like a Grad writing a bit of database code that works well. A quick word to the manager too in private if it's been something substantial.

For family though I like to buy things they want/need but have committed to going without for a while. Nothing life changing obviously, but a pair of trainers for the wife or something when she complains the dog has ruined her good pair and the mud won't come out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Bambi985 wrote: »

When is the last time you were that person?

I'm not that person. There's no point me pretending that I am.
    I probably won't notice whatever it is you've done and if I do notice I likely won't care. Just do your damn job, you're being paid, what more do you want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I find those people very irritating! Too sweet to be wholesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I'm usually full of compliments when I'm goofed off my mallet on strong painkillers. They make me really nice. My best friend always knows when I've taken them even over text because I'm so nice.

Tell us the painkillers then ! - I need to get some of them !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I dont really make an effort to be nice anymore. I used to but i just see how nice people get trampled and taken advantage of in work/and life in general so i dont bother anymore. Its sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

Being nice is free and good for the soul .. you're far more likely to get cooperation from even the most surly person if your nice.

I love disarming people that way. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Never.

I go to work to work.

If we were friends I'd say something to you outside of work. Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ImARebel

Parchment wrote: »
    I dont really make an effort to be nice anymore. I used to but i just see how nice people get trampled and taken advantage of in work/and life in general so i dont bother anymore. Its sad.

yeah I'm gone like that. I used to (stupidly) go out of my way to help people, be kind etc and by and large it got thrown back in my face.

as my other half always says "no good deed goes unpunished" and they are so right!

Even now again lately, I've put myself out there, did something for someone and only last night got it thrown back in my face.

It's just not worth the effort, yet I still keep doing it. Probably says more about my stupidity than anything else, lol