Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you shower every morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Years ago when people just didn't have shower rooms there were still relatively clean and dirty people.

I knew a spotless woman, who's dead a few years now, she was originally from a tenement house.

She ended up in one of those old folks houses, her own bathroom etc She kept plants in it.

But she was always seemed to a very clean little woman.

The routine she reminded everyone of was

Two towels, yesterday's and today's,
    today's towel is fresh.
    Yesterday's towel goes on the ground by the wash basin.
    Kettle of hot water

You strip stand on yesterday's towel
    You wash up as far as possible
    Then down as far as possible
    Then wash possible.

Anyone ( who's capable) who doesn't shower at least once a day is some degree of a dirty mofo in my book. If some could do it in the tenements then you can do it using your Triton, Mira or solar gain instant hot water!!
    Lazy and dirty go hand in hand.
    Every office has a dirty fecker, if your's doesn't then it's​ you.

Don't give me all that BS about the body washing itself and oils and being natural everyone I know who believes that is smelly !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭mimimcmc

For those of you that shower daily or twice daily (or even more), do ye even bother with deodorant? Surely there's no need when you'll just be washing it off shortly anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Jobs OXO wrote: »
    Always nice to have a shower after the morning salvo out of the botty. Also good to give a wash to the aul sex stick and the plums daily.

Are you Alex from A Clockwork Orange?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Stoner wrote: »
    Years ago when people just didn't have shower rooms there were still relatively clean and dirty people.

I knew a spotless woman, who's dead a few years now, she was originally from a tenement house.

She ended up in one of those old folks houses, her own bathroom etc She kept plants in it.

But she was always seemed to a very clean little woman.

The routine she reminded everyone of was

Two towels, yesterday's and today's,
    today's towel is fresh.
    Yesterday's towel goes on the ground by the wash basin.
    Kettle of hot water

You strip stand on yesterday's towel
    You wash up as far as possible
    Then down as far as possible
    Then wash possible.

Anyone ( who's capable) who doesn't shower at least once a day is some degree of a dirty mofo in my book. If some could do it in the tenements then you can do it using your Triton, Mira or solar gain instant hot water!!
    Lazy and dirty go hand in hand.
    Every office has a dirty fecker, if your's doesn't then it's​ you.

Don't give me all that BS about the body washing itself and oils and being natural everyone I know who believes that is smelly !!

You get details from old women about how they wash? I find that more disgusting than people that don't have the compulsory shower every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

Actually, for the people who think you stink if you dont shower every morning.
    Do you stink on the bus home from work in the evening?

Yes, but only half as much. You see, just 8 hours (average working day) have passed since the last shower at that stage.

However, if you have your last shower just before bed then 16 hours (8 hours (average sleep time) + 8 hours (average working day)) have passed by the time you take the bus home from work.

Moreover, if you go to the gym straight after work you can exercise for an hour (releasing endorphins and maintaining your physical health) then head straight for a shower afterwards and come out the gym door around 7pm feeling goood!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Sam Kade wrote: »
    You get details from old women about how they wash? I find that more disgusting than people that don't have the compulsory shower every day.

The way I read it is the older woman explained it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Sam Kade wrote:

Lol I did. She had a habit of repeating herself in story and hygienic practice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

mimimcmc wrote: »
    For those of you that shower daily or twice daily (or even more), do ye even bother with deodorant? Surely there's no need when you'll just be washing it off shortly anyway?

I do....if i was headed out....but i use unscented soap as the scented stuff ive allergies and do be itchy after it

Yes, but only half as much. You see, just 8 hours (average working day) have passed since the last shower at that stage.

However, if you have your last shower just before bed then 16 hours (8 hours (average sleep time) + 8 hours (average working day)) have passed by the time you take the bus home from work.

Unless you are doing a physical job, you exercise or you don't use anti-perspirant and deodorant you won't stink going home from work if you have a shower the night before, in fact you won't even stink if you go home, sleep that night and go to work the next day and not have your next shower till that evening. This is the normal shower cycle for many (myself included), possibly even going 3 days on occasion and I can guarantee you in the vast majority of cases these are not the people who stink. The people who stink are not seeing a shower for very very long periods of time, not washing properly when they do or applying anti-perspirant and deodorant, have health issues or are after exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭PistolsAtDawn

Every 2 to 3 days is enough. I don't see the need for hoping in the shower every 5 minutes. It's actually quite bad for your skin. You can always use wet wipes to clean your smelly areas and powder for the balls to prevent swap crotch.

As a matter of principle I refuse to take my dermathology advice from someone called 'Jim Bob SCRATCHER'.

But most importantly I feel duty bound to inform you it is my opinion that people who know you personally (work colleagues, family members, friends etc...) probably catch a whiff off you from time to time (if not more frequently) and it disgusts them to their core, as a result they asign the 'smelly' label to you.

I say this to consult rather than insult, do with this information what you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭sjb25

mimimcmc wrote: »

Yes I still use deodorant

You have to have that Lynx effect

The way I read it is the older woman explained it.
    it doesnt matter whether she was asked or gave the details.
    Stoner wrote: »
    Lol I did. She had a habit of repeating herself in story and hygienic practice

Information overload

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Every morning for sure and sometimes in the evening before bed - helps me sleep. Not so much in the Summer but in the Winter a hot shower and into a bed with the electric blanket on is some good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Unless you are doing a physical job, you exercise or you don't use anti-perspirant and deodorant you won't stink going home from work if you have a shower the night before, in fact you won't even stink if you go home, sleep that night and go to work the next day and not have your next shower till that evening. This is the normal shower cycle for many (myself included), possibly even going 3 days on occasion and I can guarantee you in the vast majority of cases these are not the people who stink. The people who stink are not seeing a shower for very very long periods of time, not washing properly when they do or applying anti-perspirant and deodorant, have health issues or are after exercise.

I wouldn't call office work physical, but I can smell myself if I don't put on any deodorant. And I do shower every morning.

We've got a GAA lad in the office who - I assume - showers daily after practice, but doesn't seem to believe in deodorant. And I can assure you, he stinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I shower at night after work. Seeing as I am exposed to other people's blood at work, I must shower as soon as I get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

The stench off people who drink alcohol and don't shower in the morning is awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

The stench off people who drink alcohol and don't shower in the morning is awful.

Also people who smoke and don't shower/change clothes every day. I hate the smell of stale smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭BelovedAunt

I'm always intrigued by these threads. I shower daily and use anti perspirant and by the evening my arm pits smell a bit. Maybe other people smell less than I do but I can't imagine only showering every second day.

Shenshen wrote: »
    I wouldn't call office work physical, but I can smell myself if I don't put on any deodorant. And I do shower every morning.

We've got a GAA lad in the office who - I assume - showers daily after practice, but doesn't seem to believe in deodorant. And I can assure you, he stinks.

That was what I was saying, someone who showers everyday but doesn't use anti-persperant and/or deodorant will smell far more than a person who showers less often but uses these products.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

That was what I was saying, someone who showers everyday but doesn't use anti-persperant and/or deodorant will smell far more than a person who showers less often but uses these products.

Absolutely not. People will get a waft off you. You are used to it but its there.

Im sure you walk to the shop or the bus and sweat in your sleep.

Really? Where do you use those deodorants??? :eek:

Absolutely not. People will get a waft off you. You are used to it but its there.

They won't, I do not get a "waft" (what ever that is) of people I know shower every second day at most nor do they get a "waft" from me. You like many are conditioned to think showering every day is necessary, it's not. By all means do it if you want but don't try to claim those who don't are automatically smelly. I have never and will never shower more often than every second day, even less at times*. It's a boring chore that simply isn't required as often as many claim.
    Shenshen wrote: »
    Really? Where do you use those deodorants??? :eek:

Anti-persperant and deodorant under arms and deodorant only on clothes. Fairly standard I would think.

*of course there are exceptions when it's needed more often of doing physical or dirty work etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

That's like saying that a turd you've sprayed Febreeze on smells nicer than no turd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I would hate people to get a whiff off me and think I was a soap dodger.

I'm always intrigued by these threads. I shower daily and use anti perspirant and by the evening my arm pits smell a bit. Maybe other people smell less than I do but I can't imagine only showering every second day.
    What's intriguing you as most people so far have a shower once a day?

They won't, I do not get a "waft" (what ever that is) of people I know shower every second day at most nor do they get a "waft" from me. You like many are conditioned to think showering every day is necessary, it's not. By all means do it if you want but don't try to claim those who don't are automatically smelly. I have never and will never shower more often than every second day, even less at times*. It's a boring chore that simply isn't required as often as many claim.

Anti-persperant and deodorant under arms and deodorant only on clothes. Fairly standard I would think.

*of course there are exceptions when it's needed more often of doing physical or dirty work etc.

Ah man. You are covering up old deodrant with new stuff?

Whats your daily activity like? Out of bed and into the car and to the desk? No underarm sweat at all?What abouts gel?
    Having a shower every second day wouldnt be for me mon to friday.

I have 2 a day but i cycle to work. Evening shower is just water to wash the sweat off really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I disagree, very easy to detect those who are masking body odour with deodorant.

For the most part, smelly people are actually smelly because of their clothes. Unless you walk around in the office with a wifebeater on, then it's unlikely people can smell your armpits.

But if you don't shower daily and you wear the same clothes for a few days (or don't wash your clothes after wearing them), you will smell and no amount of deodorant will fix it.

If you don't shower daily, then at least change your clothes daily. Your underwear (t-shirt, jocks & socks) at a minimum. Wear once and then wash. Jumpers and jeans, maybe a week before throwing them in the wash.

If you shower daily you'll probably get away with wearing your t-shirt for a second or third day, and maybe your jocks for a second day if you were stuck. But you'll be able to wear jumpers and jeans for weeks on end without washing.

I used to work with a load of metalheads who wore black t-shirts all the time with pictures on them - album covers, etc. They showered regularly, but they never washed their t-shirts, because that destroys the picture.

And it was really easy to tell because they stank.

So you'll smell like someone who hasn't washed, but doused on perfume... very Louis XIV of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

Where are you encountering all these smelly people? Someone smelly walking past me is a very rare occurrence and I'd say half the people out there only shower alternating days

To me, it seems to be paranoia driving a lot of people to shower daily. The jury is also out on whether such frequent showering is really that good for you.

Whats your daily activity like? Out of bed and into the car and to the desk? No underarm sweat at all?What abouts gel?
    Having a shower every second day wouldnt be for me mon to friday.

Pretty much that, up out the door to the car and straight from the car to the desk. Though when I was walking or cycling (albeit only a short distance) to work I did nothing differently. I might do a bit of exercise one or maybe two evenings a week but usually I would do it an evening I planned on a shower anyway.
    seamus wrote: »
    I disagree, very easy to detect those who are masking body odour with deodorant.

For the most part, smelly people are actually smelly because of their clothes. Unless you walk around in the office with a wifebeater on, then it's unlikely people can smell your armpits.

But if you don't shower daily and you wear the same clothes for a few days (or don't wash your clothes after wearing them), you will smell and no amount of deodorant will fix it.

If you don't shower daily, then at least change your clothes daily. Your underwear (t-shirt, jocks & socks) at a minimum. Wear once and then wash. Jumpers and jeans, maybe a week before throwing them in the wash.

If you shower daily you'll probably get away with wearing your t-shirt for a second or third day, and maybe your jocks for a second day if you were stuck. But you'll be able to wear jumpers and jeans for weeks on end without washing.

I used to work with a load of metalheads who wore black t-shirts all the time with pictures on them - album covers, etc. They showered regularly, but they never washed their t-shirts, because that destroys the picture.

And it was really easy to tell because they stank.

Well I've yet to have anyone tell me I was stink when I felt I wasn't and trust me the people I hang around with have no problem telling you and vice versa.

Everything gets worn at least twice bar socks, awful waste and bad for clothes washing them after every wear. Jeans/trousers at least a week often longer.

As another poster said, I don't encounter many smelly people and those that are it's clear showering every second day is not the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭sjb25

Everything gets worn at least twice bar socks, .

What about underwear!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

If you need to spray deodorant on your clothes you need to wash the clothes.
    Some smelly spray (teenage deodorant) on your clothes fools nobody but yourself.

Murrisk wrote: »
    Where are you encountering all these smelly people? Someone smelly walking past me is a very rare occurrence and I'd say half the people out there only shower alternating days

To me, it seems to be paranoia driving a lot of people to shower daily. The jury is also out on whether such frequent showering is really that good for you.

The jury can suck my smelly gooch and garnish their food with my armpits so

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Well the jury just arrived baby :P

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

sjb25 wrote: »
    What about underwear!!!

Turn them inside out, then back to front...... easily manage 4 days out of a pair :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

How are you getting that smelly? ;)

Meanwhile, scientists are still pondering the question.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,344 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

There really seems to be a paranoia/obsession with showering as much as possible these days. I'm in my early 40s and this obsession simply didnt exist even in the 90s unless you were going to the gym frequently or doing physical work on a hot day. When I was a kid, it was a weekly bath and a daily wash with a cloth. The shower we had in the house I grew up in was crappy and piddly until my Dad renovated the main bathroom in the 90s.

And some people just naturally smell a good bit more than others. This can be linked to diet, metabolism and hormonal factors.

There seems to a lot of judging and self-righteousness about the whole issue of personal hygiene. Yes there are foul smelling people, but these are people who hardly wash or shower/bathe at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Nope. If I've done physical work, or after exercise, I'm straight in the shower before I do anything else. But If I've a couple of days indoors literally not breaking a sweat, especially in winter, I'd leave a day or even 2! :eek:

Some people sweat and pong more than others. Some need showers twice a day, some don't. The whole hygiene nazi thing around it is bollox though. Friend of mine grew up in a house with 4 or 5 sisters and he was the only guy I know who'd be looking for a shower after taking a dump. He was nearly that bad. Wonder where he got that from!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

JupiterKid wrote: »
    There really seems to be a paranoia/obsession with showering as much as possible these days. I'm in my early 40s and this obsession simply didnt exist even in the 90s unless you were going to the gym frequently or doing physical work on a hot day. When I was a kid, it was a weekly bath and a daily wash with a cloth. The shower we had in the house I grew up in was crappy and piddly until my Dad renovated the main bathroom in the 90s.

And some people just naturally smell a good bit more than others. This can be linked to diet, metabolism and hormonal factors.

There seems to a lot of judging and self-righteousness about the whole issue of personal hygiene. Yes there are foul smelling people, but these are people who hardly wash or shower/bathe at all.

I think there are some additional factors at play that we need to contend with nowadays such as increased pollution and overcrowded public transport etc.

I don't "judge" people who refuse to wash, but I certainly fúcking resent them if I have to endure their odour for forty minutes stuck beside them on a luas. There was a fella sitting in front of me yesterday and the stink of stale sweat off him was disgusting, and every time he moved or lifted his arm a "fresh" wave of it could be detected.

If people want to sit at home alone then they can be as crusty as they want but if they are going to be interacting with other humans then it is a basic courtesy to make sure you don't smell like a vat of sweat.

If you need to spray deodorant on your clothes you need to wash the clothes.
    Some smelly spray (teenage deodorant) on your clothes fools nobody but yourself.

I spray deodorant on fresh clothes from the hot press as I like to have the fragrance, I'd have though it's fairly common.
    sjb25 wrote: »
    What about underwear!!!

What about them, two days at the very least as I said.

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I think there are some additional factors at play that we need to contend with nowadays such as increased pollution and overcrowded public transport etc.

I don't "judge" people who refuse to wash, but I certainly fúcking resent them if I have to endure their odour for forty minutes stuck beside them on a luas. There was a fella sitting in front of me yesterday and the stink of stale sweat off him was disgusting, and every time he moved or lifted his arm a "fresh" wave of it could be detected.

If people want to sit at home alone then they can be as crusty as they want but if they are going to be interacting with other humans then it is a basic courtesy to make sure you don't smell like a vat of sweat.

Thats been my only experience of smelly people.
    Luas, bus, or in queues. If you are gonna be in one of those 3, have a wash.

Ahhh nox. Change your jocks monday to friday at least. You are definitely long term single with those habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

What's up with teenagers also? They seem to stink a fair bit more than fully grown humans.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Ush1 wrote: »
    What's up with teenagers also? They seem to stink a fair bit more than fully grown humans.

It's to do with hormones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Every morning minimum. Another shower if I'm running later or going out.

I didn't read this thread because I'm still traumatised by the last time this topic came up. Some of the responses made me gag. How can people not realise that just because they can't smell themselves other people can?

I commented the last time that I'd dumped a bloke due to poor hygiene standards (he didn't think a shower was necessary before heading out despite having spent the previous day in the pub and then having sex with me all night) and people were responding that it was none of my business. shudder.

Regarding daily showering allegedly being a new unnecessary obsession; nurse from HSE came into talk to us in sixth class about puberty, sex etc. She very clearly pressed that once we are leaving childhood it's very important to shower daily. This was in 1990. I don't think basic consideration for those around you is a new phenomenon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Katgurl wrote: »

I didn't read this thread because I'm still traumatised by the last time this topic came up. Some of the responses made me gag. How can people not realise that just because they can't smell themselves other people can?

I commented the last time that I'd dumped a bloke due to poor hygiene standards (he didn't think a shower was necessary before heading out despite having spent the previous day in the pub and then having sex with me all night) and people were responding that it was none of my business. shudder.

Regarding daily showering allegedly being a new unnecessary obsession; nurse from HSE came into talk to us in sixth class about puberty, sex etc. She very clearly pressed that once we are leaving childhood it's very important to shower daily. This was in 1990. I don't think basic consideration for those around you is a new phenomenon.

Thinly veiled "I'm a great ride" post.:p

Katgurl wrote: »

See a real man would know that it was a dead cert for sex in the shower but quess he missed out there :P

A certain minority could give the worst smelly b@stard a run for his money. Years ago I was working with a man repairing televisions and we were delivering a television to said minority and believe me you'd want a gas mask to enter their house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Sam Kade wrote: »
    A certain minority could give the worst smelly b@stard a run for his money. Years ago I was working with a man repairing televisions and we were delivering a television to said minority and believe me you'd want a gas mask to enter their house.

I think that's a generalisation and not always the case.
    I used to frequent their homes a lot with work and for every smelly home I encountered, I'd see five more that were absolutely spotless and actually gleaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭badabing106

Just about to hop into Shower #3 today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Just about to hop into shower #3 this week.