Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last Man Standing thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,510 ✭✭✭✭CSF

You look pretty safe!

Yeah hadn't seen the 28 point hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

CSF wrote: »
    Yeah hadn't seen the 28 point hit.

28 point hit???WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,428 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

That was a serious effort Norman, cheers

Fairly low scoring week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,127 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Patmac looks safe after Gross brings him to 29 + others to come. Jonnycage looks safe as he has 21+ Elliott and others while McBain gets 6 pts from Gross leaving him on 19pts with only Elliott to score.

Both McBain and CSF have Elliott so it just looks like CSF will need 4 pts from Cedric, Simpson, Ritchie and Vardy to be safe. Barring a monster haul from Elliott; if Ritchie and Cedric manage 4pts between them then this weeks results will be sewn up a day early.

McBain is all out for 20
    CSF is on 20 with Simpson and Vardy to come.

Everyone else is safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

You're playing a blinder Norman. I hope you stay in a while longer so we keep getting updates :P

McBain is all out for 20
    CSF is on 20 with Simpson and Vardy to come.

Everyone else is safe.

Simpson and Vardy scored 2 a piece.

McBain11 is eliminated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,510 ✭✭✭✭CSF

No idea how I’m still in this, having a nightmare season.

CSF wrote: »
    No idea how I’m still in this, having a nightmare season.

TBH that's why it's such a great format. I'm in lots of pay/prize leagues including the 'elite64' but this is the only one I am really following closely.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭McBain11

After hanging in there in a few weeks, it's my time to go. Cannot believe my 28 point transfer hit didn't see me safely through! It's been an emotional roller coaster of a game

giphy.gif

Really enjoyable though and fair play to all involved in running it and tracking the scores. Nothing more to say really

giphy.gif

Fair play for doing more than your fair share of score tracking McBain.

McBain11 wrote: »
    After hanging in there in a few weeks, it's my time to go. Cannot believe my 28 point transfer hit didn't see me safely through! It's been an emotional roller coaster of a game

Don't beat yourself up, there was literally no way you or anyone else could have forseen the impact that would have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,254 ✭✭✭✭km79

How many left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭lassykk

22 Left

Just wondering if a mid season break might be an idea here?
    Since we don't have as many players as game weeks, a mid season break could allow the 'final' to be played out on GW 38.

Just a thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Not that as it's going to affect me as I'll be gone far before then :P

But I don't really like having a head to head final with a decent chunk of money on the line left to the madness of GW38. With a lot of teams with nothing to play for I think the last couple of weeks are a bit of a crap shoot, which I why I liked having this done a few weeks early.

Just my two cents though, obviously if we want to pause by popular demand then I'll go with the flow.

ScummyMan wrote: »
    Not that as it's going to affect me as I'll be gone far before then :P

But I don't really like having a head to head final with a decent chunk of money on the line left to the madness of GW38. With a lot of teams with nothing to play for I think the last couple of weeks are a bit of a crap shoot, which I why I liked having this done a few weeks early.

Just my two cents though, obviously if we want to pause by popular demand then I'll go with the flow.
    I'd agree

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Missing Links

km79 wrote: »
    I'd agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭mectavba

Perhaps take a break over the xmas period (like they do on Boards.EU)?

In all seriousness...it would be a pain for someone to have to keep it up over that period....hard enough to remember to log in (spoken like a true casual)

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭ronan.h

I’d vote to plough on through without taking a holiday. I enjoy looking at the LMS scores coming through - it has added an extra dimension to this season

Wouldn’t want it going to the last day either.. whilst I don’t mind a 2/3 GW break at Xmas I’m not pushed on it either

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Wouldn’t want it going to the last day either.. whilst I don’t mind a 2/3 GW break at Xmas I’m not pushed on it either
    Have it over and done with before the big DGWs imo before chips become a big factor

km79 wrote: »
    Have it over and done with before the big DGWs imo before chips become a big factor

That I don’t agree with! Holding chips and wildcards till double GW’s is a tough move... why should lads playing them early benifiet but not lads playing them
    Late??

MrMac84 wrote: »
    That I don’t agree with! Holding chips and wildcards till double GW’s is a tough move... why should lads playing them early benifiet but not lads playing them
    Late??

True
    I won't hold my WC beyond january anyway :D

All the same I think we should just go with what was agreed at the start
    Let it roll baby

The initial suggestion was we start in GW 1 and eliminate 1 every week.

I’m happy to stick with original plan and not to start changing things now.

The initial suggestion was we start in GW 1 and eliminate 1 every week.

I’m happy to stick with original plan and not to start changing things now.

The original plan was to fill it up with 39 players and have a last man standing after the final GW.

Grand all the same, looks like most people prefer to have this competition finish early. Happy to go with that.

I think its too late to be making a change, we'd struggle to pick out weeks we'd like to drop, you could be looking at dropping a week where you fancy doing well. Lets just go straight through but sonething we could arrange for next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I'll be starting this week on a -8. Anyone else?

This weeks runners and riders. Best of luck all!

Johnny Cage 834504 -
    MrMac84 96640 -
    ScummyMan 392 -
    FHFC 155 -
    MissingLinks 631068 -
    ronan.h 2636 -
    Normanoffside 41736 -
    Boots234 7437 -
    Shanotheslayer 117374 -
    LightningBlue 28166 -
    LassyKK 22565 -
    km79 646 -
    $hifty 44043 -
    Klopparama 2804 -
    CSF 19571 -
    Father Hernandez 1936 -
    Green&Red 299338 -
    Scorpion Sting 2751 -
    Tailgunner 483492 -
    Patmac 14404 -
    spock. 1044 -
    Mectavba 467702 -

I'll be starting this week on a -8. Anyone else?

Me too