Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

12 years for ex-shinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I think SF have deliberately tried to confuse and evade and spin the issue in fairness.

He was a sitting SF Councillor when the waterboarding happened.

True. I mean, in general most politicians are lying bastards but SF do have a gift for bullsh*t and a marked inability to admit that they were wrong.

They'd be better off just saying something along the lines of that he was a former councillor, we had no idea what he was at, he's a scumbag and he deserves to be locked up rather than any obfuscation. That's probably the actual truth at the end of the day and plausible at the least.

jh79 wrote: »
    They found out because of his links to the Hutch drug gang, that was why his house was raided, what did SF know about that?

Probably nothing to be honest. As I said earlier it's a dissident gang who was connected to the Hutches not the Provos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,292 ✭✭✭jh79

You found examples of SF members who were involved in a conflict that is now over. Well done you!

What are you saying here? That he knew why they had posters?

SF members that carried out criminal acts and consort with criminals.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Probably nothing to be honest. As I said earlier it's a dissident gang who was connected to the Hutches not the Provos.

Hutch has been around for years hard to believe these links only started with the dissidents. Same people after all. They were provo's before they became dissidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,127 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

SF members that carried out criminal acts and consort with criminals.

Criminals know people alert.

Any comments on the murder of McNulty or Agate?

Hutch has been around for years hard to believe these links only started with the dissidents. Same people after all. They were provo's before they became dissidents.

Some were and others weren't. Most of those involved in these groups nowadays are younger than me and I'm not even 30. Even many of the older ones are newer recruits - most of them pretty low calibre.

There's massive acrimony between SF and these groups as well by the way.

It seems to me you're determined to link what Dowdall did to the IRA campaign, Ireland's political conflict and also Dublin's gang scenes.

Which is a bit silly to be honest.

Any comments on the murder of McNulty or Agate?

They shouldn't have died. I condemn those who had the responsibility to create a society where conflict would not arise. But yet refused to for 40 years and then demonstrated how easy it was and how pointless and tragic all those deaths were by simply accepting equality and parity of esteem. The GFA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

If I had a pound for every gobsh*te who said they were in the IRA while making threats I'd be richer than Bono. There's not even any speculation that he was ever even a member of that organisation from what I can see.

Look, he was a scumbag involved in a political party - was got shot of and that's that. People thinking he was some sort of trained IRA operative engaging in secret Sinn Fein interrogation tactics are off their heads. He's a dope and a thug, nothing more.

As someone else said, Fine Gael recently had one of their members attempt to glass a man in the face but we're not taking this as indicative of them and their members.

This eejit hasn't even been involved with SF for years.

Trained IRA operatives? Thugs and criminals is all any of them ever were.A few psychopaths as well. This skanger is no different whether he was in the IRA or not.

Some were and others weren't. Most of those involved in these groups nowadays are younger than me and I'm not even 30. Even many of the older ones are newer recruits - most of them pretty low calibre.

There's massive acrimony between SF and these groups as well by the way.

It seems to me you're determined to link what Dowdall did to the IRA campaign, Ireland's political conflict and also Dublin's gang scenes.

Which is a bit silly to be honest.

What Dowdall did was personal and nothing to do with SF but he used SF reputation to scare the man close to death.

He never reported the crime, what does that tell you about SF's reputation?

Mess with a SF member the IRA will get you is what we all think.

They shouldn't have died. I condemn those who had the responsibility to create a society where conflict would not arise. But yet refused to for 40 years and then demonstrated how easy it was and how pointless and tragic all those deaths were by simply accepting equality and parity of esteem. The GFA.

Did you say once a thug always a thug earlier? This goes far beyond thuggish behaviour.

What Dowdall did was personal and nothing to do with SF but he used SF reputation to scare the man close to death.

He never reported the crime, what does that tell you about SF's reputation?

Mess with a SF member the IRA will get you is what we all think.

It seems he told a pack of lies to the victim while torturing him, yeah. The man is clearly a degenerate and 12 years is good enough for him.

You don't know if they were lies.

I wouldn't mess with a member of SF for fear of ending up like Robert McCartney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

The whataboutery is strong in this thread.

Yeh...a guy commits a criminal act and it is all about SF. :)
    A FG guy commits a criminal act and it has nothing to do with FG.

:):)

Did you say once a thug always a thug earlier? This goes far beyond thuggish behaviour.

Yes I did. All armies attract thugs. Not all army members are thugs though. Fact of life.

I wouldn't mess with a member of SF for fear of ending up like Robert McCartney.

I can be pretty 100% certain he wasn't "head of the IRA" or "best friends with Gerry Adams".

There was enough evidence for the DPP to direct him to be tried in the special criminal court.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

Syphonax wrote: »
    My opinion on Sinn Fein has softened in recent years to the point that ive actually considered voting for them (perhaps its just years of been dismayed with the other main parties) but this news of this waterboarding just goes to show their true colours and how they truly operate out of view of the cameras.

In fairness, when he did this, he was no longer a member of Sinn Fein and was already expelled from the party. And the Garda found this evidence while raiding his home for something else.

I think it's safe to say this guy was a well known nutter and hence kicked out of Sinn Fein and known to the Garda long before anyone knew he was also waterboarding people he met on the internet for ****s and giggles.

Absolute mental story.

In fairness, when he did this, he was no longer a member of Sinn Fein and was already expelled from the party. And the Garda found this evidence while raiding his home for something else.

I think it's safe to say this guy was a well known nutter and hence kicked out of Sinn Fein and known to the Garda long before anyone knew he was also waterboarding people he met on the internet for ****s and giggles.

Absolute mental story.

He was still a member of sinn fein

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

bubblypop wrote: »
    He was still a member of sinn fein

You are correct, I thought when the statement said he was expelled from Sinn Fein for supporting a rival politician "some years ago" they meant before the event. Not two years ago.

He tortured the person in January 2015, and was expelled/"resigned" from Sinn Fein a month later in February 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

indeed. you are standing up and fighting to make the country better.
    sinn fein have nothing but the countries best interests at heart. always have always will.

Does that include killing members of the country's police force, defense forces and politicians ?
    they can run a country. they will run this country north and south. they are trusted, will be trusted, can be trusted. it's only a matter of time. it's going to happen.

To paraphrase a well known pundit "dream on baby".

Please tell us how we can trust a party led by a guy who has allegations hanging over him about murdering a widow and leaving kids orphans.
    Now of course they are unproven allegations unlike the actual fact he hid the child abusing brother of his.
    that wasn't sinn fein. that was the ira. the actions of the ira had nothing to do with sinn fein.

I seriously do worry about you sometimes.

How many key members of sinn fein were members of PIRA ?
    Did they not actually have a serving PIRA prisoner run as their election candidate and have him win a seat in parliament ?

It seems you're right, the dates and the resignations are a bit confusing to look at. The man is clearly a deranged sadist and a nasty piece of work.

Correction.
    His family are deranged sadists and nasty pieces of work.
    daddy was also involved and one of the sisters filmed the bloody thing.
    Conlan was a sitting FG councillor when he actually injured another by glassing and in the same constituency McElevaney was a recent FG councillor when caught taking bribes.

What does that say about FG?

Take your time, I could name more examples.

Go on then name them.
    I will start you off with Cosgrove and bribes.
    Now I have no time for any corrupt politicians and I dare you find anywhere I would have defended any of them.
    Also I think someone should get time for trying to "glass" someone.

But seriously how many murderers, Gaddafi gun runners, police killing apologists are their in FG, Labour or even fianna fail for that matter.
    Dowdall was and is clearly a sadistic and dangerous individual. Personally I remember when I was in Sinn F?in's youth wing in the south of Ireland fifteen years ago, there was a party member who was caught looking up child pornography. As soon as it was discovered the cops were called and he was charged and that was the end of his involvement. None of us suspected or had a bloody clue about it, on the surface he appeared and acted a normal guy. (I suppose they all do really don't they?)

I don't know how adams brother appeared to people ?
    Maybe someone from sinn fein can fill us in on that ?
    Why do you have a problem with the British Govt and the British Army?

Oh jaysus please don't go down that rabbit hole.

Or perhaps like poor 21 year old Paul Quinn who was beaten to a pulp in Monaghan.

I am not allowed discuss …

jmayo wrote: »
    Does that include killing members of the country's police force, defense forces and politicians ?

To paraphrase a well known pundit "dream on baby".

Please tell us how we can trust a party led by a guy who has allegations hanging over him about murdering a widow and leaving kids orphans.
    Now of course they are unproven allegations unlike the actual fact he hid the child abusing brother of his.

I seriously do worry about you sometimes.

How many key members of sinn fein were members of PIRA ?
    Did they not actually have a serving PIRA prisoner run as their election candidate and have him win a seat in parliament ?

Correction.
    His family are deranged sadists and nasty pieces of work.
    daddy was also involved and one of the sisters filmed the bloody thing.

Go on then name them.
    I will start you off with Cosgrove and bribes.
    Now I have no time for any corrupt politicians and I dare you find anywhere I would have defended any of them.
    Also I think someone should get time for trying to "glass" someone.

But seriously how many murderers, Gaddafi gun runners, police killing apologists are their in FG, Labour or even fianna fail for that matter.

I don't know how adams brother appeared to people ?
    Maybe someone from sinn fein can fill us in on that ?

Oh jaysus please don't go down that rabbit hole.

Or perhaps like poor 21 year old Paul Quinn who was beaten to a pulp in Monaghan.

The point about all parties having members or former members who commit crime was made because, as is typical, the party is only important to some when it is SF.

I know criminal acts carried out by members of political parties does not necessarily mean the party had anything to do with it or condones it. Why? Because I am not riddled by faux outrage and hypocrisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

More Free State attacks on Republicans.

they can attack away for they shall never defeat us
    Omackeral wrote: »
    Can't help but notice you thanked the following post...

Which kind of contradicts this ;

it actually doesn't. you can believe someone to be a thug and still support the political party they once served. the fg councillor who glassed another person is also a thug and plenty still support fg.
    People with mental health issues are treated worse in mental institutions than the IRA convicted prisoners wish to be treated. That is the truth.

And the victims of the Troubles will often spent their lives in and out of hospital for physical and emotional issues. They lives are destroyed. And families lose loved ones for good.

Whatever you think of how the Irish in NI are /were treated. There was another option. There are non affiliated parties the SDLP.

And if you are going to swallow SF ..swallow their communist manifesto too. And don't forget Terrorists are not an army ..they don't screen ..they take ANYONE. And they fund through crime.

And they want to be treated in prison better than the mentally ill....and people call the mentally crazy. NOPE

We had to let them partake in politics ...for the peace process ....they were instrumental in ending violence because they were the ones shooting. And after the gained ground and came to the south ..and gained ground much like trump after economic disaster...

And they are worse than trump.

In fact Gerry Adams met Trump ..years ago.

And yes ...the British at ONE point took a side in NI....but they are still a professional army bound by law...and they really did behave neutrally way before a peace was brokered.

The victims of the troubles are forgotten....In fact the biggest Whining voice of the troubles ..has been the terrorists. And now they lecture us

the british army never behaved nutrally in northern ireland. they always picked on the irish and the catholics. murdering people for being irish and then fitting them up. the IRA ended their campaign as they got almost everything they wanted, bar a united ireland which is going to happen in time via the ballot box. it won't be britain deciding the outcome, which is a big consolation.
    Why do you have a problem with the British Govt and the British Army?

because they bully in the aim of stealing countries resources. they always target civilians, implement unstable or sectarian governments in the countries they pillage, and then take no responsibility when the obvious blow-back happens.
    They made mistakes ...sure and I am not down with that at all. But the last few years I think they did an honorable job in NI.

the british army made no mistakes. their actions were always deliberate. they wouldn't know the meaning of the word honourable. they knew exactly what they were doing.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The point about all parties having members or former members who commit crime was made because, as is typical, the party is only important to some when it is SF.

I know criminal acts carried out by members of political parties does not necessarily mean the party had anything to do with it or condones it. Why? Because I am not riddled by faux outrage and hypocrisy.

while it is true that all parties have members or former members who have committed crimes, in the case of SF the crimes are heavily weighted towards the violent end of the spectrum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

they can attack away for they shall never defeat us

it actually doesn't. you can believe someone to be a thug and still support the political party they once served. the fg councillor who glassed another person is also a thug and plenty still support fg.

the british army never behaved nutrally in northern ireland. they always picked on the irish and the catholics. murdering people for being irish and then fitting them up. the IRA ended their campaign as they got almost everything they wanted, bar a united ireland which is going to happen in time via the ballot box. it won't be britain deciding the outcome, which is a big consolation.

because they bully in the aim of stealing countries resources. they always target civilians, implement unstable or sectarian governments in the countries they pillage, and then take no responsibility when the obvious blow-back happens.

the british army made no mistakes. their actions were always deliberate. they wouldn't know the meaning of the word honourable. they knew exactly what they were doing.

Wont defeat us?

Who's us?

You distinguish yourself from people living in the south yet you say sinn fein are an all Ireland party and care for everyone.

Bullsh1t.

while it is true that all parties have members or former members who have committed crimes, in the case of SF the crimes are heavily weighted towards the violent end of the spectrum.

We don't know what the political affiliations of most of those who commit the many many crimes committed in Ireland because it is only deemed important or indicative by the high moral grounders when it involves (however tenuously) SF.

We all know the tired faux outrage two step to the keyboard.

We don't know what the political affiliations of most of those who commit the many many crimes committed in Ireland because it is only deemed important or indicative by the high moral grounders when it involves (however tenuously) SF.

We all know the tired faux outrage two step to the keyboard.

Dowdall was an elected representative for SF. hardly a tenuous link.

There is no link to SF, tenuous or otherwise, to the crime he committed.
    The link is at this moment as strong as the link to FG to the glassing of an innocent pub customer. Party members commit crimes...big deal.

Now present some evidence of a link or keep contorting yourself in useless hate and prejudice. Your choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

That was not the provos you might need a history lesson
    # try NI for dummies page 1

The link is at this moment as strong as the link to FG to the glassing of an innocent pub customer. Party members commit crimes...big deal.

Now present some evidence of a link or keep contorting yourself in useless hate and prejudice. Your choice.

i never claimed he did it on behalf of SF. Just that SF seem to attract a disproportionate amount of violent thugs.

As I said, the political allegiances of violent people only seems to be important when they have had an association with SF. Tired old cliche now.

the next time a violent thug who is an elected representative of a political party is jailed i shall be sure to mention it for balance.

Given we have had two from different parties you might not have long to wait. Keyboard at the ready!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cazale

They have both been accepted onto the group formally known as the Real IRA wing in Portlaoise.

Cazale wrote: »
    They have both been accepted onto the group formally known as the Real IRA wing in Portlaoise.

very interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

they can run a country. they will run this country north and south. they are trusted, will be trusted, can be trusted. it's only a matter of time. it's going to happen.

Reads like the maniacal ramblings of an indoctrinated cult member, which is pretty accurate in all fairness.

Where did you see this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

WTF.
    He was an elected representative of the sinn fein party.
    I would hardly call that tenous.

Mr Pot say hello to Mr kettle. :rolleyes:

Of all people to lecture others about hate and prejudice.

I am not allowed discuss …

FTA69 wrote:
    Where did you see this??

Seabirds forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Seabirds forum.
    And where did the person on the seabirds forum get it?

jmayo wrote: »
    WTF.
    He was an elected representative of the sinn fein party.
    I would hardly call that tenous.

Mr Pot say hello to Mr kettle. :rolleyes:

Of all people to lecture others about hate and prejudice.

Please tell us what link SF had to the crime. That is the tenuous bit.
    As tenuous as FG's link to glassing random people in bars.

Seabirds forum.

Laughable. Just when you think these f*ckers couldn't drag Republicanism through the muck anymore.

FTA69 wrote:
    Laughable. Just when you think these f*ckers couldn't drag Republicanism through the muck anymore.

100%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I wonder if any other current Shinners (or ex shinners) have criminal convictions?

I wonder.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 40 Big Barry

12 years is a joke when only last week a peado who raped a 10 girl only got 18 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Big Barry wrote: »
    12 years is a joke when only last week a peado who raped a 10 girl only got 18 months.

Sexual assault convictions, when related to children, are unduly lenient in this country.

But anything involving kids being mistreated is brushed under the table.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭Madagascan

Big Barry wrote: »
    Then that's what the Court needs to address.
    Or someone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 40 Big Barry

Madagascan wrote: »
    Then that's what the Court needs to address.
    Or someone.

If I was the parent of that child I think I would forget about the courts and "address" the scumbag who did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Well well well

http://m.herald.ie/news/courts/exsinn-fein-councillor-on-prison-ira-wing-after-being-jailed-for-12-years-for-torture-35780299.html

Ex-Sinn Fein councillor on prison 'IRA wing' after being jailed for 12 years for torture