Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The No Late Late/Ray Darcy Show For The Summer Thread 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Are you mad, both shows are utter crap
    I don't think this week's guests have been announced yet. When they have been, then I'll start the Mirgathread. :);)

Meanwhile, Pat Stacey doesn't have the kindest words for the show or for any part of RTE's summer schedules:

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-reviews/comment-rte-is-stuck-in-a-permanent-1974-as-summer-schedules-elsewhere-offer-brilliant-new-series-35858249.html

He's not wrong, on Sunday night at 12.30 RTE 2 had an episode of "Alan Carr Chatty Man" that was first aired on 16 November 2012. There was a joke about George Michael on it and I was thinking eh that's maybe a bit too soon so I checked the date it first went out :rolleyes:. It seems to me that about 50% of staff must feck off in RTE for the summer as the production output collapses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

It seems to me that about 50% of staff must feck off in RTE for the summer as the production output collapses.

Which might also explain why RITY gets repeated every summer. :o:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

The Late Late Show would be a great show if Miriam Margolyes was on every week. She is a wonderfully entertaining guest.

I love this clip....from the Graham Norton Show :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I missed the Imelda May interview first time around, apart from Kentish Town Waltz I wasn't a fan of her earlier music but I LOVED her most recent album Life, Love, Flesh, Blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I only watch it cos the weekly threads here are a good laugh
    Wouldn't be a fan of Imelda's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Ah, c'mere to me you can't not like Imelda May.

Meanwhile, I'm watching The Last Leg again. Such a good show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Tomorrow night's Miriam line up.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2017/06/29/staying-in-saturday-8/

Sionead Harrington writes:

Joining Miriam in studio this week is comedian John Bishop who will discuss his long awaited return to stand-up comedy later this year.

Actor and former Dancing with the Stars finalist Denise McCormack will discuss what life has been like since she came nail-bitingly close to the glitter ball trophy.
    Irish football legend John Giles will chat to Miriam about his new RTÉ One documentary called Giles. There will also be a performance from upcoming music sensation Wyvern Lingo.

Plus one lucky viewer will be in with a chance to win a whopping €10,000 at the end of the show.

Is Giles on that every season?

It should be called Stay There, John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Not Cark!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Just thinking there, having been a contender for the LLS herself, I cant imagine that Miriam was too happy that she was overlooked for The Saturday Night Show.... Especially since it was given to an "outsider", who had left the station, and was rewarded for his criticism of RTE (on TodayFM) by getting the second top job on the TV. Can you imagine when they broke the news to her.

RTE Square: "Hi Miriam, sit down there".
    Miriam: "Hoi there, and thanks for joining me. "
    RTE Square: "Listen, I have some bad news."
    Miriam: - no reaction -
    RTE Square: "Sooooooo... we evaluated all the people who applied for the job of Saturday Night Show host, and your name was right at the top of the list...... eh... 'genuinely' ... :o "
    Miriam: - stony silence -
    RTE Square: *ahem* "eh... so we have decided to give the job to a very talented broadcaster, who has years of experience, and is incredibly liked by the Irish people. So dont feel bad about...... "
    Miriam: "Who is it?"
    RTE Square: "Eh.... ehm.... It's Ray.... eh... D'Arcy".
    Miriam: "That little sh1t." - storms off -
    RTE Square: "Can I get that door for you?"
    Miriam: "STAY THERE!!!"

She'll be fine. I can't see her going hungry any time soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Just looking at 'Peter Kay's Comedy Shuffle' which I taped last Friday on BBC1 ... and who features prominently, its only a Mr Ryan J Tubridy, when he was interviewing Peter Kay on the LLS in 2009

They edited it in a way that makes our Tubs look vaguely competent ... Audrey and Kenneth from Tunbridge Wells are probably wishing they could have more of that delightful young Henry Kelly Lookalike on their screens

Not Cark!

CARK! :O

CARK! :O

Yeeeeeay!

M

I see RTE 2 tonight are showing an episode of Alan Carr Chatty Man tonight which first aired 14th December 2012 for anyone who missed it :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

When will Nathan Carter feck off.

I wanted to go to ZZ Top tonight but couldn't afford it :(

Oh isn't Nathan only lovely ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I see RTE 2 tonight are showing an episode of Alan Carr Chatty Man tonight which first aired 14th December 2012 for anyone who missed it :rolleyes:

A little bit further up to date with Masterchef The Professionals.I think it's the 2014 series they have been showing recently.Jaysus I love paying the TV licence:eek:

M

I see they are even running the text competition piece on The Nathan Carter Show despite the onscreen details saying it ends 21/11/2016, could they not have blanked/editted it out, I suppose any money taken in will help the organisation through these tough times so to speak.

How many Later with Imelda May shows are there?

I bet each episode has been repeated more times than episodes were made.

Are they even called episodes?

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Ha, Later with Imelda May. :P

Skid X wrote: »
    Ha, Later with Imelda May. :P

Last time I heard, only four episodes were made.

And, of course, Anne Doyle's quiz Division ran for just a single episode - which has been repeated three times since. ;)

Ooh, any one who can't wait...hahahahahaha...till the Late Late come back...hehehehehe...for their Pat Shortt fix...hahahaha....he's on this weird Daniel O'Donell repeat right now.

Jesus RTE's output tonight cost exactly Sharon Ní Bheolain's pay.

Woah. Yer wan from Tipp, from The Saturdays is on with a red stratocaster and some othe lad singing Ditmrty Old Town.

I've had two craft beers, I think they were super strong.

D'yis remember The Sundays? The Summertime song was amazing.

?

Keith Barry is on now.

What the f*ck is this booze?

Urrgh this programme displeases me.

In defence of RTE1, The Naked Gun is on after this. Which is nice. Very nice.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Only 13 sleeps to go now :D

Is anyone else completely not surprised at how the poll results have panned out? :o

Skid X wrote: »
    Urrgh this programme displeases me.

In defence of RTE1, The Naked Gun is on after this. Which is nice. Very nice.

Surely you can't be serious?

Only 13 sleeps to go now :D

Good Lord.

We all need to take a good look in the mirror and think about what we've become.

Surely you can't be serious?

I am, Shirley - and don't call me serious :P

Nah, I probably dreamt it and they are actually showing The Best of Radharc 1983-84: Volume 7 or something.

Good Lord.

We all need to take a good look in the mirror and think about what we've become.

I regret nothing, baby!

Did anyone hear the ad for the Tubridy radio show? It's a clip from an interview.

Not word for word but it went something like this.

Tubs: You don't look like a man who eats steak every night.
    Guest: That's a bit rich coming from someone who looks like one of the chips I ate last night.

M

LLS back on Friday 1st September.

My sister met Ryan and she got a selfie with him. She said he was so nice and friendly as a few people were getting autographs and pics with him. Not abit jealous :mad: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Autosport wrote: »
    My sister met Ryan and she got a selfie with him. She said he was so nice and friendly as a few people were getting autographs and pics with him. Not abit jealous :mad: :D

As close to him as you will get due to the restraining order he has on you!

Some photos to whet Autosport's appetite - at the official launch of the RTE Autumn/Winter season :D

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2017/08/24/worth-it/

http://entertainment.ie/tv/news/RTE-reveals-new-autumn-schedule-heres-what-youll-be-watching/396616.htm

Can't accuse them of not being balanced:

"Baz Ashmawy explores the topic of gambling in a probing new documentary.

We Won the Lotto - With the Lotto celebrating 30 years this year, this documentary meets some of the winners who scored really big and goes behind the scenes at Lotto HQ as one of the country’s newest millionaires arrives to collect their winnings."

I still miss Ronan Collins on the Lotto draws. :(

Does this mean 'The Ray D'Arcy Show' starts September 2nd.?

And is it sad that I want to know this? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭Sean 18

No read somewhere 23rd September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

http://entertainment.ie/tv/news/RTE-reveals-new-autumn-schedule-heres-what-youll-be-watching/396616.htm

Can't accuse them of not being balanced:

"Baz Ashmawy explores the topic of gambling in a probing new documentary.

We Won the Lotto - With the Lotto celebrating 30 years this year, this documentary meets some of the winners who scored really big and goes behind the scenes at Lotto HQ as one of the country’s newest millionaires arrives to collect their winnings."

Quote from article: 'RTE reveals new autumn schedule, here's what you'll be watching...'

Bit feckin presumptuous there eh...

Re D'Arsey, I had a horrible feeling he got a 3 year contract. F**k it anyway.

GSW, if you're reading.
    These lads were playing on Clare island last night. Maybe you 'll meet them for breakfast in the morning. Like the Chinese, they're a great bunch of lads.
    https://www.facebook.com/Rackhousepilfer/?hc_ref=ARSGm6XuChWCguHWSJ_i4L7qJk30yjWIffIlKCDvAxzgHVty7D2SIyn5WymaaBwPBoc&pnref=story

21106437_1460240870688200_3145701289071284809_n.jpg?oh=38408f380b8d8a8e5bb43ccde5188234&oe=5A2ED97D

M

sligojoek wrote: »
    GSW, if you're reading.
    These lads were playing on Clare island last night. Maybe you 'll meet them for breakfast in the morning. Like the Chinese, they're a great bunch of lads.
    https://www.facebook.com/Rackhousepilfer/?hc_ref=ARSGm6XuChWCguHWSJ_i4L7qJk30yjWIffIlKCDvAxzgHVty7D2SIyn5WymaaBwPBoc&pnref=story

She looks a touch down by the stern, a few drinkeens aboard possibly? :D

M

"Up for the Match" is on next saturday for the annual pre all Ireland hurling final eve :D.

On a side note it's on at 9.50pm because Mrs Brown's Boys is on before it, probably only the 3rd time this year it's been shown at prime time to be fair :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,544 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

All round to Ms Brown will be back again this season. I will suppose that will be scheduled before The Ray Darcy Show again once they return on RTÉ.

M

I see Raymond is back next saturday, guest lineup revealed already...
    Ken Doherty
    Eamon Dunphy
    Jessie Wallace
    Dr Mary Aiken