Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - Capital Punishment

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

EICVD wrote: »
    Cluxton on as a sub for Parnells against Peregrines right now.

Did you start the "Steevo, Steevo" chant.?" You did :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

What was he...corner back, or wing forward?

Could he do a job for us if J Coops gets injured, or Jack Flash's rehab doesn't go to plan?

Reading all the pundits last weekend, we're significantly under strength & there for the taking, blah, blah, blah. We'll need all the help we can get so. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭EICVD

He played at 6, missed a handy free though.....
    Bonniedog wrote: »
    Did you start the "Steevo, Steevo" chant.?" You did :)

I did in my arse, it was f*** you Cluxton tonight!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Gael85

EICVD wrote: »
    Cluxton on as a sub for Parnells against Peregrines right now.

Did Lowndes tog out for Peregrines? Who won the match?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Check out @ciaramcguigan4’;s Tweet: https://twitter.com/ciaramcguigan4/status/994318111112298496?s=09

Silver Park positively blooming in the growing month of May :rolleyes: This was for last night's Crokes/TDavis game. I wouldn't mind but there's a 2nd pitch there, which couldn't have been any worse

Not too late to refix the Cats there on Sunday!

Edit - just read on the Twitter machine that the footballers are out on Sunday 27th.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Who is the first person you think of? :D there's a little Bonnie in there somewhere

Check out @DCLAReadingRoom’;s Tweet: https://twitter.com/DCLAReadingRoom/status/994215818627092481?s=09

No need to making fun of Bonniesituation's age.

Or that he wore wellies to school.

Every day.

Until he was 34.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/the-medal-doesnt-mean-a-whole-lot-to-me-michael-darragh-macauley-admits-he-wasnt-happy-after-all-ireland-win-36895898.html

Good news with MDMA.

I couldn't understand why he was not brought on in the final last year, just yo do what he did the year before, his balling carrying and distribution into the inside forwards is the best Dublin have.

Had we lost that game that would have stuck with me as much as the 2012 Mayo game when it was just a bit too late by the time he came into midfield.

He is playing out of his skin, except for Boden for which there ought to be special award :-)

Not many chaps can say that their interventions won championships; 2011 when he blocked the pass, the knock on to Mackers in 2013, and indeed beating cranky puss Sheehan to the ball in 2015.

Bonniedog wrote:
    and indeed beating cranky puss Sheehan to the ball in 2015.

That ball was aimed at Sheehan, MDMA stole it from him, the pup!

He also patched up the soft spot we had in the middle up to 2009. Himself and Brennan.

Indeed. Was he starter in 2014 against Donegal?

I know Ger wasn't and there was no way that avenue down the centre would have existed if either or both were there.

Team named for Sunday. Callaghan, Moran and Malone in from Cuala. Ryan picked instead of Treacy. Be more competitive than in league, but big ask.

Bonniedog wrote:
    Indeed. Was he starter in 2014 against Donegal?

McGuinness largely tactically bypassed him in that game.

Getting stuck in so far anyway!
    Second goal was great

Nerves are shredded. Feck ya anyway Gilroy, it's only May FFS ! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Happy out, this ref and our wayward shooting is all that kepy kilkenny in it

• Registered Users Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

Cracking game ,bloody good effort from Dublin , Keaney going off was a bad blow

Bloody gutting that....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Shame we couldn't see that out. We lost all shape when Keaney and Malone departed. Subs added legs but we needed composure. Backs, as a unit were immense. Referee did indeed keep them it.

Reasons to be positive...well i never.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,769 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Bloody gutting that....

Sickening should have known better against that shower.
    In fairness Kilkenny supporters and players seemed rattled.
    It really shows up the stupidity of playing "home" games in Croke Park.
    There will be a proper acid test away on the 20th.
    At least there seems to be some sort of hope now I suppose.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Much better performance but sloppy to not make the most of it. Hopefully can make it a bit more consistent too.

Wicklow beat Offaly to face dubs in next round in football.

Robbed, /simple as that,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

We weren’t robbed, we just couldn’t close the game out. You can blame the ref all you want but we missed too many easy points and we couldn’t close the game out, not the referees fault. The ref was bad for both sides not just one.

Free out for Walsh goal. Perhaps we might not have won despite that,

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

hunter164 wrote: »
    We weren’t robbed, we just couldn’t close the game out. You can blame the ref all you want but we missed too many easy points and we couldn’t close the game out, not the referees fault. The ref was bad for both sides not just one.

Both can be true. We certainly lacked composure when it mattered but that doesn't exonerate the referee. As soon as KK sniffed the comeback they got every decision. He seemed an emotional type. Maybe he got caught up in the atmosphere.

He didn't like a physical game anyway. Two KK lads behind me were obviously Brian Cody disciples. Annoyed the **** out of them the way he kept getting involved in the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

think today was a decent performance but gilory deserves time to get a settled team together , the run cuala have been on over the last two years it wont be until next year when he finds out his best 15 , playing home games in parnell is also a far better idea then croke park, dublin virtually impossible to beat in killester (or donnycarney :confused:)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

corny wrote: »
    Both can be true. We certainly lacked composure when it mattered but that doesn't exonerate the referee. As soon as KK sniffed the comeback they got every decision. He seemed an emotional type. Maybe he got caught up in the atmosphere.

Kilkenny crowd were vocal as ever (and fair play to them) and it got to him, they were blowing the whistle for him most of the time. Not an intercounty standard ref,

Consistency has always been a problem for us so important thing now is we keep that intensity up and see how it works on bigger pitches.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭Justin10

Very positive start to the championship yesterday.
    Half back line was immense, Moran such a great addition, which also freed up Rush for the forwards.

Wexford is a massive game next week, hopefully that game brings us on, instead of setting us back.