Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - Capital Punishment

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

What's Omagh like for parking lads. I've only ever been to Newry for matches but that's just over the border.
    Do the PSNI allow the dumping of cars illegally for occasions like this?
    Excuse my ignorance, it's just my turn to drive.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Ken Tucky wrote: »
    What's Omagh like for parking lads. I've only ever been to Newry for matches but that's just over the border.
    Do the PSNI allow the dumping of cars illegally for occasions like this?
    Excuse my ignorance, it's just my turn to drive.

Silver Birch hotel if you'te up there early enough. 10 mins walk from the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

I was reading another GAA forum a couple of days ago and he's still posting there, must have gotten sick of here :D

The Tyrone thread is like a museum these days without him.

TBF it was must have got very lonely here ploughing a lone furrow for the Red Hand.

I do miss our Jayop.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Gael85

Jim Gavin has managed Dublin for 35 Championship games and used 42 players

Player Games Starts Subs

Rock, Dean 35 25 10
    Cluxton, Stephen 34 34 0
    Cooper, Jonny 33 33 0
    McCarthy, James 32 31 1
    O'Sullivan, Cian 32 31 1
    McManaman, Kevin 32 14 18
    Flynn, Paul 31 24 7
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 30 30 0
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 30 23 7
    McMahon, Philip 29 27 2
    Brogan, Bernard 29 23 6
    Connolly, Diarmuid 28 26 2
    Mannion, Paul 28 20 8
    Andrews, Paddy 28 19 9
    Fitzsimons, Michael 28 14 14
    McCaffrey, Jack 27 22 5
    Fenton, Brian 24 24 0
    Daly, Darren 24 5 19
    Small, John 19 13 6
    Bastick, Denis 18 5 13
    O'Gara, Eoghan 18 5 13
    O'Carroll, Rory 17 17 0
    Lowndes, Eric 17 8 9
    O'Callaghan, Con 13 10 3
    Costello, Cormac 13 1 12
    Byrne, David 12 7 5
    Brogan, Alan 12 5 7
    Scully, Niall 9 8 1
    Devereux, Nicky 7 4 3
    Brennan, Ger 6 6 0
    Howard, Brian 6 4 2
    O'Brien, Kevin 5 3 2
    Brady, Tomas 5 0 5
    Cullen, Bryan 4 1 3
    Basquel, Colm 3 0 3
    Carthy, Shane- St Vincents 3 0 3
    McHugh, Conor 3 0 3
    Comerford, Evan 2 1 1
    Murchan, Eoin 2 1 1
    Nolan, Kevin 2 1 1
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 1 0 1
    Schutte, Mark 1 0 1

Dublin have scored 67-658(859) in 34 Championship games under Jim Gavin

Player Goals Points Total

Rock, Dean 8 155 179
    Brogan, Bernard 12 76 112
    Connolly, Diarmuid 9 48 75
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 3 59 68
    Mannion, Paul 5 32 47
    Flynn, Paul 4 34 46
    Andrews, Paddy 1 40 43
    McManaman, Kevin 6 24 42
    O'Callaghan, Con 3 28 37
    O'Gara, Eoghan 5 14 29
    Fenton, Brian 1 20 23
    Cluxton, Stephen 0 22 22
    Costello, Cormac 1 19 22
    McMahon, Philip 1 13 16
    McCaffrey, Jack 2 9 15
    Brogan, Alan 0 14 14
    McCarthy, James 1 8 11
    Scully, Niall 2 3 9
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 1 5 8
    Howard, Brian 0 6 6
    OG'S 2 0 6
    O'Sullivan, Cian 0 5 5
    Basquel, Colm 0 3 3
    Brady, Tomas 0 3 3
    Carthy, Shane- St Vincents 0 3 3
    McHugh, Conor 0 3 3
    Small, John 0 3 3
    Brennan, Ger 0 2 2
    Cooper, Jonny 0 2 2
    Bastick, Denis 0 1 1
    Byrne, David 0 1 1
    Cullen, Bryan 0 1 1
    Devereux, Nicky 0 1 1
    Lowndes, Eric 0 1 1

• Registered Users Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Gael85

Jim Gavin Championship/League Record as Dublin Manager

Games Won Draw Lost Goals Points Total Goals Points Total
    Championship 2018 4 4 0 0 9 90 117 1 49 52
    League 2018 8 6 1 1 8 125 149 5 98 113
    Championship 2017 6 6 0 0 10 124 154 2 73 79
    League 2017 8 4 3 1 7 125 146 4 92 104
    Championship 2016 7 6 1 0 8 122 146 6 84 102
    League 2016 9 9 0 0 11 127 160 4 99 111
    Championship 2015 7 6 1 0 18 118 172 4 83 95
    League 2015 9 6 1 2 8 131 155 4 101 113
    Championship 2014 5 4 0 1 9 105 132 5 63 78
    League 2014 9 6 1 2 14 138 180 11 117 150
    Championship 2013 6 6 0 0 13 99 138 5 71 86
    League 2013 9 7 1 1 10 139 169 5 106 121
    87 70 9 8 125 1443 1818 56 1036 1204

• Registered Users Posts: 19,068 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

seligehgit wrote: »
    TBF it was must have got very lonely here ploughing a lone furrow for the Red Hand.

I do miss our Jayop.

I went to PM the fecker last night and he only went and blocked them (PMs that is).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I went to PM the fecker last night and he only went and blocked them.

Sometimes d'aul restraining order just isn't enough. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I miss that thread. The Kerry one has gone all melodramatic and the Mayo one is y'know the Mayo one.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

12 hours to go - jaysis it's gonna be a long day! Quietly confident we'll win on the basis that we outwork them in most areas of the pitch. Any idea whose reffing today? Will head up around lunch time and see if there's a warm welcome in store :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DoctaDee wrote:
    12 hours to go - jaysis it's gonna be a long day! Quietly confident we'll win on the basis that we outwork them in most areas of the pitch. Any idea whose reffing today? Will head up around lunch time and see if there's a warm welcome in store

It's all the stuff that has to be done before you head off Doc, training, the garden and the hedge Doc!
    It won't cut itself

Stoner wrote: »
    It's all the stuff that has to be done before you head off Doc, training, the garden and the hedge Doc!
    It won't cut itself

Driver's licence expired on Thursday, was thinking of renewing in Drogheda this morning - that should take me up to lunch time with the queues :rolleyes:

I miss that thread. The Kerry one has gone all melodramatic and the Mayo one is y'know the Mayo one.

The mayo thread has gone very quite.

I suspect it's all about the international kite show on this weekend.
    Seligehgit has entered the longest kite contest with his life-sized Barry Moran kite.

PARlance had to drop out of the best kite competition as the strings came off the Flying Parsons entry.

A very late David Clarke entry is favourite to win the ABD award, even though it hasn't been flown this year and it wobbles on the final approach.

http://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2018/07/20/4159167-colour-the-sky-at-mayo-international-kite-festival/

ROFL !!! :D:D:D

Safe travels to all today.

Time to unleash hell !

Had an offer to get a bus down with the lads from the job, but one of the lads that goes to the games won't go on it.

Heading up at about 2 in car now.

Had an offer to get a bus down with the lads from the job, but one of the lads that goes to the games won't go on it.

Heading up at about 2 iny car now.

I'll be right behind you.

Lads in Dungannon had a bus going. But I need to be out of Dodge after the game asap.

So it'll be park up on castle Street and off ya pop.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Raging that I can't go. Who needs families!

Anyway, PP tickets found a good home and will be reduced to listening on the wireless on earphones by all accounts.

Should be great day and hopefully the right result, but wouldn't make a prediction. MH still has that aura for me of someone who can pull a rabbit out of a hat.

Bonniedog wrote:
    Raging that I can't go. Who needs families!

Why can't you go Bonnie, can i slag you about it later on!

I'm on me toes now too, planning to meet up with the lads travelling on the bingo bus around 5ish .. might put my head into St.Endas - safe travels

Bonniedog wrote:
    MH still has that aura for me of someone who can pull a rabbit out of a hat.

I don't know, I'm getting a Billy Bingham 1993 vibe off this one.

Don't kill me Bonniedog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Why can't you go Bonnie, can i slag you about it later on!

No! I feel bad enough already, and worse I had Sky Sports until switched last month :(

It will however bring back memories of being away in the early 1990s and listening to Dublin games on Sunday Sport when Jimmy Magee was the man with the mike.

He was great broadcaster but he had irritating habit of interrupting games at crucial stages with "And now back to Carnoustie where Langer is standing over a four foot putt. Which reminds me of the time Christy O'Connor junior,,,"

For fks sake Magee, did Charlie put that free over or not!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

So Dublin vs Roscommon in Croker is going to be a pretty poor turn out. I actually wouldn't mind this one being played in Parnell park!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭muddle84

jon1981 wrote: »
    So Dublin vs Roscommon in Croker is going to be a pretty poor turn out. I actually wouldn't mind this one being played in Parnell park!

Sure come a bit early and watch Mayo in the u20's it will be just like the good auld days with mayo and dublin on the hill in harmony!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Just back now...Tyrone supporters giving the ref some abuse in the end I was in..opposite our supporters.
    Did they have a point?? Taught Coldrick? was alright!

Our forwards are going to have to sharpen up though. Pretty poor tonight again. Maybe that's because of the opposition but they are better than those last two matches

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Ken Tucky wrote: »
    Just back now...Tyrone supporters giving the ref some abuse in the end I was in..opposite our supporters.
    Did they have a point?? Taught Coldrick? was alright!

Our forwards are going to have to sharpen up though. Pretty poor tonight again. Maybe that's because of the opposition but they are better than those last two matches

One or two went against them but they did themselves no favours going to ground very easy. They were finding it hard to create chances in front of the posts so they were looking for handy frees to keep the scoreboard ticking. Colderick was onto them and the Dublin tacklers created a good picture for him in the main.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Thought Coldrick let a lot go this evening - it was great to see a ref not blowing every few seconds.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,897 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Was down the Tyrone end as well. Enjoyed the banter and the craic, much better than some of the "supporters" you find on here from other teams.

Dublin were never in any real trouble, but like the Donegal match, they were sloppy at times. Howard another very good game.

Defence was really excellent, the tackling was spot on.

Must throw out a mention for Cluxton. One goal conceded in five games. Unlike Donegal where he got away 23 out of 25, the kickout was under pressure today but he came through it again.

Thought Coldrick let a lot go this evening - it was great to see a ref not blowing every few seconds.

He let A LOT go tonight. For both sides. Not sure how I feel about that. At least it kept the players honest to a degree. No point going down & making a meal out of every tackle, if you know the ref is gonna give you eff all.

Thought Jack Flash & Johnny Copper were exceptional tonight. Am still v worried about the forwards. Still not firing on all cylinders. Still, if there is any game to get your mojo back, it's against that lot. My granny could push her walking frame thru that defense & score a handy hat trick. Who got the Man of The Match award?